Hawaii Medical Board

NATIONAL TAKE-BACK INITIATIVE (NTBI)

Turn in your unused or expired medication for safe, anonymous disposal.

Medical License Categories

  • Emergency Medical Technician
  • Emergency Medical Technician – Advanced
  • Emergency Medical Technician – Paramedic
  • Physician
  • Physician Assistant
  • Podiatrist
  • Osteopathic Physician

CONSUMERS…

CHECK IF A PERSON OR BUSINESS IS LICENSED BY PVL
CHECK IF THERE ARE PRIOR COMPLAINTS ON A LICENSEE
FILE A COMPLAINT ON A LICENSEE
PURCHASE LISTS OF PVL LICENSES

Federation of State Medical Boards - docinfo

Look up information on your physician at: http://www.docinfo.org/#!/search/query

  • Where is your physician licensed
  • Where did your physician attend school
  • Has your physician been disciplined

APPLICANTS…

Check on the status of your application...

Check the status of your Pending Application at

https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/

Please allow up to 7 business days for receipt and record of your status to appear on the web site

Application processing time is generally 15-20 business days, from receipt of a completed application.

Processing time may be longer or delayed for reasons below:

  • Application incomplete (missing information, fees, documents)
  • Pending receipt of 3rd party documents (education, experience, employment)
  • Pending Exam or Board/Program approval

Abandoned Applications...

Pursuant to §436B-9, Hawaii Revised Statutes, your application shall be considered abandoned and shall be destroyed if you fail to provide evidence of continued efforts to complete the licensing process for two consecutive years.

The failure to provide evidence of continued efforts includes, but is not limited to:

(1) failure to submit any required information and documents requested by the licensing authority within two consecutive years from the last date the documents and information were requested, or

(2) failure to complete any additional requirements for licensure that remain after approval of your application, such as attempting to complete an examination requirement, within two consecutive years from the date your application was approved, or

(3) failure to provide the licensing authority with any written communication during two consecutive years indicating that you are attempting to complete the licensing process.

If an application is deemed abandoned, the applicant shall be required to reapply for licensure and comply with the licensing requirements in effect at the time of the reapplication.

To reapply, a new application, current fees and all required documentation would need to be provided again.

Refer to Abandoned Application Important Notice and FAQs for more info…

ALREADY LICENSED…

Inactivate or Reactivate Your License (Physician Assistant Only)...

INACTIVATE LICENSE (Physician Assistant Only)

Please be advised that a licensee on inactive status shall be considered as unlicensed and shall not engage in the practice of the licensed profession or vocation.

Any person who violates this prohibition shall be subject to discipline under this chapter and the laws and rules of the licensing authority for that license.

It shall be the responsibility of each licensee on inactive status to maintain knowledge of current licensing and renewal requirements

 

REACTIVATE LICENSE (Physician Assistant Only)

Request for Address, Name Change or Duplicate License (pocket ID/wall certificate)

Incomplete requests will not be processed.

Please allow twenty (20) business days from receipt of your request:

  • For your change of name or address to be posted in our database
  • For your duplicate pocket ID or Wall Certificate to be mailed out

(Please note that your records will be updated only if your license is current.)

Request for a License Verification

Verification of licenses can be done on-line at no cost using our license search site at https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch.

You or the requesting agency will be able to obtain information such as original license date, license expiration date, license status, disciplinary action, etc.

The information downloaded from this site is official license information which state boards or other individuals can download for themselves.

If the above is not acceptable, please submit a written request.

Request must include:

  • The license name and license number
  • The complete name and mailing address that the verification is to be mailed to
  • Check for $15 license verification fee (check payable to Commerce and Consumer Affairs)

Mail Request To:

Licensing Branch-License Verification
P.O. Box 3469
Honolulu, HI 96801

Please allow twenty (20) business days from receipt of your request for PVL standard verification reports to be mailed out.

Hawaii Medical Board Laws and Rules (HRS/HAR)

RENEWAL AND RESTORATION…

MyPVL...

What is MyPVL?

MyPVL is a home for all PVL licensees to access information and services 24/7 from a single dashboard.

  • View your license information (status, insurance, class, employees etc…)
  • Renew your license online (MD, DOS, PO and EMTs Only)
  • Update your address with your online renewal
  • Print a copy of your online renewal

How do I access MyPVL?

“Sign up” for a free eHawaii.gov account or “login” with your existing eHawaii.gov account at pvl.ehawaii.gov

How to sign up/create free eHawaii.gov account -view help video

How to retrieve password, already have an account -view help video

 

PHYSICIAN – GOVERNMENT…

Renewal Requirements...

RENEWAL INFORMATION (Physician – Government)

Annual by January 31 every year.

On-time renewals for the licensing period of February 1, 2019 to January 31, 2020 begins November 5, 2018 and ends on January 31, 2019
Renewals Accepted: November 5, 2018 to January 31, 2019
Renewal Hardcopy Forms Mailed: November 2, 2018
Renew By License Expiration: January 31, 2019

 

Continuing Education Requirement
All licensees must submit proof of meeting continuing education requirements as contained in Subchapter 5 of the Board’s rules with hardcopy renewal.

 

On-Time Cost to Renew
Physician – Government (MDG) – $171.00

 

PROCESSING TIME FOR RENEWALS: (Early submittals are strongly recommended)
  • Processing time is 14-21 business days
  • Processing times are average and subject to licensee meeting all requirements.
  • Processing times may be longer due to high volume of renewals received.
Pocket IDs issued 7-14 Business Days After Renewal is Processed and License is Renewed.
CHECK THE STATUS OF YOUR RENEWAL AT: https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/search (select “Pending Application”)

 

Hardcopy renewal form may be requested 12 weeks before license expiration by contacting: The Professional and Vocational Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000 OR

Pick up at office location: King Kalakaua Building 335 Merchant Street, Rm. 301 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Hours of Operation: The DCCA will be open 7:45 AM – 4:30 PM (Hawaii Standard Time), Monday to Friday, except state holidays.

All licenses, regardless of issuance date, are subject to renewal by January 31 of every year.

Licenses not renewed by the renewal date of January 31 of every year are forfeited and the holders of forfeited licenses are considered unlicensed and may not practice.

The forfeited license may be restored within 1 year and subject to meeting restoration requirements.

Restoration Requirements...

RESTORATION INFORMATION (Physician – Government)

The forfeited license may be restored within 1 year and subject to meeting restoration requirements.

Restorations of forfeited licenses are accepted until January 31 of the every year with a penalty fee. After January 31, restoration is not accepted and a new application for a license is required.

Failure to restore a forfeited license within 1 year after the renewal date will result in the termination of the license and the person must apply as a new applicant and meet current licensing requirements.

 

Restorations for the licensing period of February 1, 2018 to January 31, 2019
Restorations Accepted: February 1, 2018 to January 31, 2019
Restore By: January 31, 2019

 

Cost to Restore (late renewal)
Physician – Government (MDG) – $271.00

Request restoration form by contacting: The Professional and Vocational Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000 OR

Pick up at office location: King Kalakaua Building 335 Merchant Street, Rm. 301 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Hours of Operation: The DCCA will be open 7:45 AM – 4:30 PM (Hawaii Standard Time), Monday to Friday, except state holidays.

Pursuant to Section 436B-14.5, HRS , any license held by a member of the armed forces, National Guard, or a reserve component that expires, is forfeited, or deemed delinquent while the member is on active duty and deployed during a state or national crisis shall be restored if certain restoration requirements are met. Military Renewal and Restoration Information Sheet.

 

PHYSICIAN, PODIATRIST, EMTs…

Renewal Requirements...

RENEWAL INFORMATION (Physician, Podiatrist, EMTs)

Biennial by January 31 every even numbered year.

On-time renewals for the licensing period of February 1, 2020 to January 31, 2022 begins November 4, 2019 and ends on January 31, 2020
Renew Online via MyPVL: https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/mypvl
Renewals Accepted: November 4, 2019 to January 31, 2020
Renewal Hardcopy Forms Mailed: November 1, 2019
Renew By License Expiration: January 31, 2020

 

Continuing Education Requirement
  • All licensees must meet continuing education requirements prior to renewal.
  • EMT’s must meet CE requirements contained in 16-85-55 of the Board’s rules
  • MD’s must meet CME requirements contained in Subchapter 5 of the Board’s rules
  • PO’s must meet CE requirements contained in Subchapter 8 of the Board’s rules
The board may conduct a random audit to determine whether the continuing education requirements have been met.

  • If selected for audit notification letter will be sent to licensees in October every odd-numbered year.
  • Licensees selected for audit may not renew online.

 

On-Time Cost to Renew
Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) – $138.00
Emergency Medical Technician – Advanced (EMT-A) – $138.00
Emergency Medical Technician – Paramedic (EMT-P) – $138.00
Physician (MD) – $402.00
Podiatrist (PO) – $252.00

 

PROCESSING TIME FOR RENEWALS: (Early submittals are strongly recommended)
  • Processing times are average and subject to licensee meeting all requirements.
  • Processing times may be longer due to high volume of renewals received.
Online Hardcopy
3-5 Business Days 14-21 Business Days
Pocket IDs issued 7-14 Business Days After Renewal is Processed and License is Renewed.
CHECK THE STATUS OF YOUR RENEWAL AT: https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/search (select “Pending Application”)

 

Hardcopy renewal form may be requested 12 weeks before license expiration by contacting: The Professional and Vocational Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000 OR

Pick up at office location: King Kalakaua Building 335 Merchant Street, Rm. 301 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Hours of Operation: The DCCA will be open 7:45 AM – 4:30 PM (Hawaii Standard Time), Monday to Friday, except state holidays.

All licenses, regardless of issuance date, are subject to renewal by January 31 of each even-numbered year.

Licenses not renewed by the renewal date of January 31 of each even-numbered year are forfeited and the holders of forfeited licenses are considered unlicensed and may not practice.

The forfeited license may be restored within 2 years and subject to meeting restoration requirements.

Restoration Requirements...

RESTORATION INFORMATION (Physician, Podiatrist, EMTs)

The forfeited license may be restored within 2 years and subject to meeting restoration requirements.

Restorations of forfeited licenses are accepted until January 31 of the even-numbered year with a penalty fee. After January 31, restoration is not accepted and a new application for a license is required.

Failure to restore a forfeited license within 2 years after the renewal date will result in the termination of the license and the person must apply as a new applicant and meet current licensing requirements.

 

Restorations for the licensing period of February 1, 2018 to January 31, 2020
Restorations Accepted: February 1, 2018 to January 31, 2020
Restore By: January 31, 2020

 

Cost to Restore (late renewal)
Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) – $140.00
Emergency Medical Technician – Advanced (EMT-A) – $140.00
Emergency Medical Technician – Paramedic (EMT-P) – $140.00
Physician (MD) – $408.00
Podiatrist (PO) – $268.00

Request restoration form by contacting: The Professional and Vocational Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000 OR

Pick up at office location: King Kalakaua Building 335 Merchant Street, Rm. 301 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Hours of Operation: The DCCA will be open 7:45 AM – 4:30 PM (Hawaii Standard Time), Monday to Friday, except state holidays.

Pursuant to Section 436B-14.5, HRS , any license held by a member of the armed forces, National Guard, or a reserve component that expires, is forfeited, or deemed delinquent while the member is on active duty and deployed during a state or national crisis shall be restored if certain restoration requirements are met. Military Renewal and Restoration Information Sheet.

 

PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT…

Renewal Requirements...

RENEWAL INFORMATION (Physician Assistant)

Biennial by January 31 every even numbered year.

On-time renewals for the licensing period of February 1, 2020 to January 31, 2022 begins November 4, 2019 and ends on January 31, 2020
Renewals Accepted: November 4, 2019 to January 31, 2020
Renewal Hardcopy Forms Mailed: November 1, 2019
Renew By License Expiration: January 31, 2020

 

All Physician Assistants must provide:
  • Proof of current NCCPA certification must be submitted with your hardcopy renewal.

 

Physician Assistants on an active status
  • Physician assistant’s Supervising Physician must also be renewed before license will be renewed.

 

On-Time Cost to Renew
Physician Assistant (AMD) – active status, $150.00
Physician Assistant (AMD) – inactive status, $12.00

 

PROCESSING TIME FOR RENEWALS: (Early submittals are strongly recommended)
  • Processing time is 14-21 business days
  • Processing times are average and subject to licensee meeting all requirements.
  • Processing times may be longer due to high volume of renewals received.
Pocket IDs issued 7-14 Business Days After Renewal is Processed and License is Renewed.
CHECK THE STATUS OF YOUR RENEWAL AT: https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/search (select “Pending Application”)

 

Hardcopy renewal form may be requested 12 weeks before license expiration by contacting: The Professional and Vocational Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000 OR

Pick up at office location: King Kalakaua Building 335 Merchant Street, Rm. 301 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Hours of Operation: The DCCA will be open 7:45 AM – 4:30 PM (Hawaii Standard Time), Monday to Friday, except state holidays.

All licenses, regardless of issuance date, are subject to renewal by January 31 of each even-numbered year.

Licenses not renewed by the renewal date of January 31 of each even-numbered year are forfeited and the holders of forfeited licenses are considered unlicensed and may not practice.

The forfeited license may be restored within 2 years and subject to meeting restoration requirements.

Restoration Requirements...

RESTORATION INFORMATION (Physician Assistant)

The forfeited license may be restored within 2 years and subject to meeting restoration requirements.

Restorations of forfeited licenses are accepted until January 31 of the even-numbered year with a penalty fee. After January 31, restoration is not accepted and a new application for a license is required.

Failure to restore a forfeited license within 2 years after the renewal date will result in the termination of the license and the person must apply as a new applicant and meet current licensing requirements.

 

Restorations for the licensing period of February 1, 2018 to January 31, 2020
Restorations Accepted: February 1, 2018 to January 31, 2020
Restore By: January 31, 2020

 

All Physician Assistants must provide:
  • Proof of current NCCPA certification must be submitted with your hardcopy restoration.

 

Cost to Restore (late renewal)
Physician Assistant (AMD) – active status, $150.00
Physician Assistant (AMD) – inactive status, $40.00

Request restoration form by contacting: The Professional and Vocational Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000 OR

Pick up at office location: King Kalakaua Building 335 Merchant Street, Rm. 301 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Hours of Operation: The DCCA will be open 7:45 AM – 4:30 PM (Hawaii Standard Time), Monday to Friday, except state holidays.

Pursuant to Section 436B-14.5, HRS , any license held by a member of the armed forces, National Guard, or a reserve component that expires, is forfeited, or deemed delinquent while the member is on active duty and deployed during a state or national crisis shall be restored if certain restoration requirements are met. Military Renewal and Restoration Information Sheet.

 

OSTEOPATHIC PHYSICIAN…

Renewal Requirements...

RENEWAL INFORMATION (Osteopathic Physician)

Biennial by June 30 every even numbered year.

On-time renewals for the licensing period of July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2020 begins May 7, 2018 and ends on June 30, 2018
Renew Online via MyPVL: https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/mypvl
Renewals Accepted: May 7, 2018 to June 30, 2018
Renewal Postcard Reminders Mailed: May 4, 2018
Renew By License Expiration: June 30, 2018

 

Continuing Education Requirement
All licensees must meet continuing education requirements prior to renewal.

  • DOS’s must meet CME requirements contained in Subchapter 5 of the Board’s rules
The board may conduct a random audit to determine whether the continuing education requirements have been met.

  • If selected for audit notification letter will be sent to licensees in March every even-numbered year.
  • Licensees selected for audit may not renew online.

 

On-Time Cost to Renew
Osteopathic Physician (DOS) – $312.00

 

PROCESSING TIME FOR RENEWALS: (Early submittals are strongly recommended)
  • Processing times are average and subject to licensee meeting all requirements.
  • Processing times may be longer due to high volume of renewals received.
Online Hardcopy
3-5 Business Days 14-21 Business Days
Pocket IDs issued 7-14 Business Days After Renewal is Processed and License is Renewed.
CHECK THE STATUS OF YOUR RENEWAL AT: https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/search (select “Pending Application”)

All licenses, regardless of issuance date, are subject to renewal by June 30 of each even-numbered year.

Licenses not renewed by the renewal date of June 30 of each even-numbered year are forfeited and the holders of forfeited licenses are considered unlicensed and may not practice.

The forfeited license may be restored within 2 years and subject to meeting restoration requirements.

Hardcopy renewal form may be requested 8 weeks before license expiration by contacting: The Professional and Vocational Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000 OR

Pick up at office location: King Kalakaua Building 335 Merchant Street, Rm. 301 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Hours of Operation: The DCCA will be open 7:45 AM – 4:30 PM (Hawaii Standard Time), Monday to Friday, except state holidays.

Restoration Requirements...

RESTORATION INFORMATION (Osteopathic Physician)

The forfeited license may be restored within 2 years and subject to meeting restoration requirements.

Restorations for forfeited licenses are accepted until June 30 of the even-numbered year with a penalty fee. After June 30, restoration is not accepted and a new application for a license is required.

Failure to restore a forfeited license within 2 years after the renewal date will result in the termination of the license and the person must apply as a new applicant and meet current licensing requirements.

 

Restorations for the licensing period of July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2020
Restorations Accepted: July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2020
Restore By: June 30, 2020

 

Cost to Restore (late renewal)
Osteopathic Physician (DOS) – $392.00

Request restoration form by contacting: The Professional and Vocational Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000 OR

Pick up at office location: King Kalakaua Building 335 Merchant Street, Rm. 301 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Hours of Operation: The DCCA will be open 7:45 AM – 4:30 PM (Hawaii Standard Time), Monday to Friday, except state holidays.

Pursuant to Section 436B-14.5, HRS , any license held by a member of the armed forces, National Guard, or a reserve component that expires, is forfeited, or deemed delinquent while the member is on active duty and deployed during a state or national crisis shall be restored if certain restoration requirements are met. Military Renewal and Restoration Information Sheet.

REGULATING BODY…

Hawaii Medical Board

Board Composition

11 Members

Jone Geimer-Flanders, DO, Chairperson

Peter Halford, MD, Vice-Chairperson

Gerard K. Akaka, MD

Sharon Bintliff, MD

Maria B. J. Chun, Ph.D., Public

Franklin V. H. Dao, MD

Darren K. Egami, MD

Peter D. Holt, MD

Palasi Puletasi, Public

Karen E. Sept, DO

Geri Young, MD

Qualifications

7 Physicians or Surgeons

2 Osteopathic Physicians

2 Public

Hawaii Medical Board Meeting Schedule

Meeting agendas are posted on the State Calendar site at least six calendar days before the meeting.

Board Meeting Schedule

Hawaii Medical Board Meeting Minutes