

HAWAII MEDICAL BOARD STATE OF HAWAII PROFESSIONAL & VOCATIONAL LICENSING DIVISION DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS P.O. BOX 3469, HONOLULU, HAWAII 96801-3469

10/2023

MEMORANDUM

TO: Podiatrists Selected for Random Audit

FROM: HAWAII MEDICAL BOARD

SUBJECT: 2024 Podiatric (PO) License Renewal/Continuing Education (CE) Random Audit

### LICENSE RENEWAL

The Hawaii Medical Board ("Board") would like to advise you that licenses expire on 01/31/24, unless renewed. In order to renew, podiatrists must meet the continuing education (CE) requirement as described below.

## RANDOM AUDIT

By law, the Board may conduct a random audit to determine whether the CE requirement has been met. Through a computer-generated program, you have been randomly selected for participation in the Board's audit. To this end, you are being asked to provide CE documentation when you renew your license.

CE REQUIREMENT

The CE requirement may be met and documented by:

Obtaining 40 or 20 hours of CE in the following activities between 2/1/22 - 1/31/24:

40 hours of CE are required if initially licensed prior to 2/1/22; or
20 hours of CE are required if initially licensed between 2/1/22 - 1/31/23. Beginning with the 2026 (February 1, 2024 to January 31, 2026) renewal and thereafter, 40 hours will be required.

The CE requirement may be met by:

- Completing postgraduate work in an institution or college of podiatric medicine approved or accredited by the American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA) Council on Podiatric Medical Education (CPME); or
  - Completing continuing education in podiatric medicine in a program that has been approved by the APMA CPME.

DOCUMENTATION OF CE Documentation is to consist of:

- A letter;
  - Copy of transcripts
  - Computer printout; or
  - Copy of certificates

from the CE provider which includes your name, the dates, title and number of hours of the CE.

## RENEWAL APPLICATION

In November 2023, you will receive a notice of renewal. Because you are being audited and required to submit documentation of CE with your renewal application, you will not be able to renew online. Please disregard that information. Instead, please follow the instructions below.

# TO RENEW

 Complete the enclosed renewal application; and
 Submit your completed renewal application, renewal fee and CE documentation to the Hawaii Medical Board, P.O. Box 3469, Honolulu, HI 96801.

## DO NOT SUBMIT THE ITEMS SEPARATELY AS IT WILL CAUSE A DELAY IN YOUR RENEWAL.

#### WAIVER/MODIFICATION OF CE

If you have not met the CE requirement, the Board is able to waive/modify the requirement if you:

 Practice in an isolated geographical area with an absence of opportunities for CE; or
 Are unable to devote sufficient hours to CE because of incapacity, undue hardship, or any other extenuating circumstances.

# REQUEST FOR WAIVER/MODIFICATION OF CE

If the foregoing applies and you wish to request a waiver/modification, you may renew your license by **submitting, with your renewal application and renewal fee**, an affidavit which:

- Requests a waiver/modification of the CE requirement;
  - Provides an explanation as to why you were unable to meet the CE requirement; and
    Is notarized.

## RENEWAL DEADLINE

The deadline to renew is <u>01/31/24</u>. However, to ensure that your license is renewed on/before that date, we strongly encourage you to renew as early as possible due to the anticipated volume of renewals. Further, effective April 18, 2019, you must retrieve and print your pocket ID card and wall certificate via your MyPVL account. No other notice will be provided. To create a MyPVL account, please go to: <u>https://mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov/</u>.

Thank you for your kind attention to this matter. If you have any questions regarding this memo, please call the Board's office at (808) 586-2699.

Very truly yours,

/s/ Ahlani K. Quiogue

Executive Officer