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HAWAII MEDICAL BOARD

STATE OF HAWAII

PROFESSIONAL & VOCATIONAL LICENSING DIVISION

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS

P.O. BOX 3469, HONOLULU, HAWAII 96801-3469

10/2023

MEMORANDUM

TO: EMT Selected for Random Audit

FROM:HAWAII MEDICAL BOARD

SUBJECT: 2024 EMT Certification Renewal/Continuing Education (“CE”) Audit

CERTIFICATION RENEWAL

The Hawaii Medical Board (“Board”) would like to advise you that EMT certifications expire on 
01/31/24, unless renewed. In order to renew, EMTs must meet the CE requirement as described on 
the subsequent pages of this memorandum. 

RANDOM AUDIT

By law, the Board may conduct a random audit to determine whether the CE requirement has been 
met. Through a computer-generated program, you have been randomly selected for participation in 
the Board’s audit. To this end, you are being asked to provide CE documentation when you renew 
your certificate.

RENEWAL NOTICE

In November 2023, you will receive a notice of renewal. Because you are being audited and 
required to submit documentation of CE with your renewal application, you will not be able to 
renew online. Please disregard that information. Instead, please follow the instructions below.

TO RENEW

Submit your completed renewal application (enclosed);
Renewal fee; and 
CE documentation (as described below) to the Hawaii Medical Board, P.O. Box 3469,
Honolulu, HI 96801.

DO NOT SUBMIT THE ITEMS SEPARATELY AS IT WILL CAUSE A DELAY IN YOUR RENEWAL.

RENEWAL DEADLINE

The deadline to renew is 01/31/24. However, to ensure that your certificate is renewed on/before
that date, we strongly encourage you to submit the information as early as possible due to the
anticipated volume of renewals. Effective April 18, 2019, you must retrieve and print your pocket
ID card and wall certificate via your MyPVL account. No other notice will be provided. To create
a MyPVL account, please go to: https://mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov/.

https://mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov/


Thank you for your kind attention to this matter. If you have any questions regarding this memo,
please call the Board’s office at (808) 586-2699, between the hours of 7:45 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Hawaiian Standard Time. 

CE REQUIREMENT FOR EMTs

The CE requirement may be met by having a current certificate from the National Registry of
Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT) in your respective class. Please submit a copy of your
current NREMT certificate or NREMT certification verification.

If you do not have a current NREMT certificate prior to October 15, 2016, you will need to meet
the NREMT CE requirements. The NREMT requires that 40 hours of CE be obtained in the following
three components: (1) a national component; (2) a local/state component; and (3) an individual
component.

The 40 hours of CE may be met in the following:

1. NATIONAL COMPONENT: The National Component requires EMTs to complete 20 hours of approved CE.
A maximum of 7 hours of distributive education may be used to meet the 20-hour requirement.

Airway/Respiration/Ventilation: 1.5 Hours
Ventilation
Oxygenation

Cardiovascular: 6 Hours
Post-Resuscitation Care
Ventricular Assist Devices
Stroke
Cardiac Arrest
Pediatric Cardiac Arrest

Trauma: 1.5 Hours
Trauma Triage
Central Nervous System (CNS) Injury
Hemorrhage Control

Medical: 6 Hours
Special Healthcare Needs
OB Emergencies
Infectious Diseases
Pain Management
Psychiatric and Behavioral Emergencies
Toxicological Emergencies – Opioids
Neurological Emergencies – Seizures
Endocrine Emergencies – Diabetes
Immunological Emergencies

Operations: 5 Hours
At-Risk Populations
Ambulance Safety
Field Triage—Disasters/MCIs
EMS Provider Hygiene, Safety, and Vaccinations
EMS Culture of Safety
Pediatric Transport
Crew Resource Management
EMS Research
Evidence Based Guidelines

2. LOCAL OR STATE COMPONENT: The Local or State Component requires EMTs to complete 10 hours of
CE. If specific local and/or state are not specified, these required hours are considered
flexible content but must be directly related to EMS patient care. You may use any State or
Commission on Accreditation for Pre-Hospital Continuing Education (CAPCE) approved EMS-related
education to fulfill these requirements.

3. INDIVIDUAL COMPONENT: The Individual Component requires EMTs to complete 10 hours of CE. The
individual hours are considered flexible content but must be directly related to EMS patient



care. You may use any state or CAPCE approved EMS-related education to fulfill these
requirements.

Education can be gathered through Distributive Education (online) or in person courses. As of
2022, there are no limits on how much Distributive Education (DE) you can use on your
application.

DOCUMENTATION OF CE

Documentation is to consist of:
1. A letter;
2. Copy of transcripts;
3. Computer printout; or
4. Copy of certificates
from the CE provider which includes your name and the dates, title, and number of hours of the
CE. If the employers offered the CE, we will accept documentation from them.

UNACCEPTABLE COURSES

Courses that cannot be applied towards recertification requirements include duplicate courses,
clinical rotations, instructor courses, management/leadership courses, performance of duty,
preceptor hours, serving as a skill examiner, and volunteer time with agencies.

IMPORTANT TERMINOLOGY OR WEBSITES

Distributive Education: is a method of delivering EMS education where the educator and student
are not able to interact in real time. Examples include: online courses, journal article reviews,
and videos.

CACPE: http://www.capce.org/

NREMT: https://www.nremt.org/rwd/public/document/recertification

Very truly yours,

___________________________________

Executive Officer

http://www.capce.org/
https://www.nremt.org/rwd/public/document/recertification

