

HAWAII MEDICAL BOARD STATE OF HAWAII PROFESSIONAL & VOCATIONAL LICENSING DIVISION DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS P.O. BOX 3469, HONOLULU, HAWAII 96801-3469

10/2021

MEMORANDUM

TO: Physician Assistants Selected for Random Audit

FROM: HAWAII MEDICAL BOARD

SUBJECT: 2022 Physician Assistant License Renewal/Continuing Medical Education ("CME") Audit

LICENSE RENEWAL

The Hawaii Medical Board ("Board") would like to advise you that physician assistant certificates expire on 01/31/22, unless renewed. In order to renew your certificate, physician assistants must meet the CME requirement as described in the subsequent pages of this memorandum.

RANDOM AUDIT

Hawaii Revised Statutes section 453-5.3 requires, among other things, that a physician assistant submit CME to renew their license. This law also allows the Board to conduct a random audit to determine whether the CME requirement has been met. Through a computer-generated program, you have been randomly selected for participation in the Board's audit. To this end, you are being asked to provide CME documentation when you renew your certificate.

RENEWAL NOTICE

In November 2021, you will receive a notice of renewal notice and renewal application. Please disregard that information as you are receiving this notice and renewal application. You do not have to submit two renewal applications.

TO RENEW

 Complete the enclosed renewal application; and
 Submit your completed renewal application, renewal fee and CME documentation to the Hawaii Medical Board, P.O. Box 3469, Honolulu, HI 96801.

DO NOT SUBMIT THE ITEMS SEPARATELY AS IT WILL CAUSE A DELAY IN YOUR RENEWAL.

RENEWAL DEADLINE

The deadline to renew is 01/31/22. However, to ensure that your license is renewed on/before that date, we strongly encourage you to renew as early as possible due to the anticipated volume of

renewals. Effective April 18, 2019, you must retrieve and print your pocket ID and wall certificate via your MyPVL account. No other notice will be provided. To create a MyPVL account, please go to: <u>https://mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov/</u>

Thank you for your kind attention to this matter. If you have any questions regarding this memo, please call the Board's office at (808) 586-2699, between the hours of 7:45 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Hawaii Standard Time.

CME REQUIREMENT & DOCUMENTATION

The CME requirement may be met and documented by:

Obtaining <u>40 hours of CME</u> in the following activities between February 1, 2020 and January 31, 2022

- Category 1 CME accredited by the American Medical Association (AMA);
 - Category 1A CME accredited by the American Osteopathic Association (AOA); or
 Category 1 CME accredited by the American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA);

Documentation may consist of a:

• Letter;

- Copy of transcripts or computer printout; or
- Copy of certificates

from the CME provider designating the CME as category 1 or 1A and providing the physician assistant's name, the dates, title and number of hours of the CME.

The hours may be obtained at any time during the February 1, 2020 through January 31, 2022. As such, obtaining all CME hours in a single month (for instance, 40 hours in February 2021) would be acceptable. Further, CME may be obtained in-person, online, etc., provided it meets the requirements provided above.

THE CME REQUIREMENT MAY NOT BE MET BY;

- Submitting current certification with the NCCPA;
 - Certification with a specialty board;
 - Passing a specialty board certification exam;
 - Membership in a medical organization (such as a medical society or association):
 - Teaching.

Very truly yours,

ahlai to perioque

Executive Officer