Board of Nursing

Nursing License Categories

  • Licensed Practical Nurse
  • Registered Nurse
  • Advanced Practice Registered Nurse

APPLICANTS…

Criminal History Record Check Requirement...

* * * IMPORTANT – REQUIRED* * *
CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD CHECK
Effective July 1, 2017, all new applicants for a Hawaii nurse license (LPN, RN, APRN or Prescriptive Authority) are required to submit a full set of electronic fingerprints for the purpose of obtaining federal and state criminal history record checks.
If you submit an application on or after July 1, 2017 or before July 1, 2017, but your license will not be issued/effective until on or after July 1, 2017, you will be required to the criminal history record check requirement.

 

CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD CHECK LICENSE REQUIREMENT
REQUIREMENTS AND INSTRUCTIONS
REQUIREMENTS:
  • Any licensed issued on or after July 1, 2017 or if you are applying for restoration or reactivating your Hawaii nurse license (LPN, RN, APRN or Prescriptive authority)
  • You will be required to comply with the electronic fingerprinting requirements for the purpose of obtaining federal (FBI national criminal history check) and the State of Hawaii (Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center) criminal history record checks in accordance with section 847-2.7.
ELECTRONIC FINGERPRINTING
INSTRUCTIONS:
  • Please visit Fieldprint Inc., at: http://fieldprinthawaii.com to make an appointment or to inquire about other available site locations on the Continental United States, or call (877) 614-4361;
  • Fieldprint code that you must enter is FPHIBrdNursing (not case sensitive);
  • The applicant shall bear the cost of the fingerprint processing and all fingerprinting fees shall be paid directly to Fieldprint; and
  •  You must file your license application within thirty (30) days of the fingerprinting to ensure that the results can be obtained.
  • If we are unable to obtain the results, you will be required to submit to the fingerprinting process again.
NOTE:
  • If you were previously fingerprinted by another board of nursing or employer, you still have to submit to the electronic fingerprinting for a Hawaii nurse license.  The Fieldprint code is specifically for Hawaii nurse licensees and applicants.
  • If you do not use this code, FPHIBrdNursing (not case sensitive), we will not be able to retrieve your report and you will have to go back to get fingerprinted and pay another fee.

 

Foreign Applicant Fingerprinting or Applicant Fingerprinting in Locations Fieldprint is Unable to Service
CRIMINAL HISTORY CHECK INSTRUCTIONS

Check on the status of your application...

Check the status of your Pending Application at

https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/

Please allow up to 7 business days for receipt and record of your status to appear on the web site

Application processing time is generally 15-20 business days, from receipt of a completed application.

Processing time may be longer or delayed for reasons below:

  • Application incomplete (missing information, fees, documents)
  • Pending receipt of 3rd party documents (education, experience, employment)
  • Pending Exam or Board/Program approval

Abandoned Applications...

Pursuant to §436B-9, Hawaii Revised Statutes, your application shall be considered abandoned and shall be destroyed if you fail to provide evidence of continued efforts to complete the licensing process for two consecutive years.

The failure to provide evidence of continued efforts includes, but is not limited to:

(1) failure to submit any required information and documents requested by the licensing authority within two consecutive years from the last date the documents and information were requested, or

(2) failure to complete any additional requirements for licensure that remain after approval of your application, such as attempting to complete an examination requirement, within two consecutive years from the date your application was approved, or

(3) failure to provide the licensing authority with any written communication during two consecutive years indicating that you are attempting to complete the licensing process.

If an application is deemed abandoned, the applicant shall be required to reapply for licensure and comply with the licensing requirements in effect at the time of the reapplication.

To reapply, a new application, current fees and all required documentation would need to be provided again.

Refer to Abandoned Application Important Notice and FAQs for more info…

ALREADY LICENSED…

Inactivate or Reactivate Your License...

INACTIVATE LICENSE

Request inactivation form by contacting:  The Professional and Vocational Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000 OR

Pick up at office location: King Kalakaua Building 335 Merchant Street, Rm. 301 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Hours of Operation: The DCCA will be open 7:45 AM – 4:30 PM (Hawaii Standard Time), Monday to Friday, except state holidays.

Please be advised that a licensee on inactive status shall be considered as unlicensed and shall not engage in the practice of the licensed profession or vocation.

Any person who violates this prohibition shall be subject to discipline under this chapter and the laws and rules of the licensing authority for that license.

It shall be the responsibility of each licensee on inactive status to maintain knowledge of current licensing and renewal requirements

 

REACTIVATE LICENSE

Request reactivation form by contacting:  The Professional and Vocational Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000 OR

Pick up at office location: King Kalakaua Building 335 Merchant Street, Rm. 301 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Hours of Operation: The DCCA will be open 7:45 AM – 4:30 PM (Hawaii Standard Time), Monday to Friday, except state holidays.

NOTE: Restoration and reactivation applicants are required to comply with the electronic fingerprinting requirement for a criminal history/background check prior to the restoration or reactivation of the license.

Refer to Criminal History Record Check Requirement… under the above APPLICANTS section.

Request for Address, Name Change or Duplicate License (pocket ID/wall certificate)

Incomplete requests will not be processed.

Please allow twenty (20) business days from receipt of your request:

  • For your change of name or address to be posted in our database
  • For your duplicate pocket ID or Wall Certificate to be mailed out

(Please note that your records will be updated only if your license is current.)

Request for a License Verification

IMPORTANT INFORMATION 
HAWAII LPN and RN NURSE LICENSE VERIFICATIONS
Effective November 13, 2018
The Hawaii State Board of Nursing will no longer process license verifications for Practical and Registered Nurses. All license verifications for Hawaii LPN or RN nurse licensees who are applying for endorsement into another state shall request verification via the NURSYS website at https://www.nursys.com.
Any verifications received by this office on or after November 19, 2018 will not be processed.

 

Verification of licenses can be done on-line at no cost using our license search site at https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch.

You or the requesting agency will be able to obtain information such as original license date, license expiration date, license status, disciplinary action, etc.

The information downloaded from this site is official license information which state boards or other individuals can download for themselves.

 

Nursing Laws and Rules (HRS/HAR)

 Nursing Laws and Rules (HRS/HAR)

Statute/Rule Chapter

RENEWAL AND RESTORATION…

MyPVL...

What is MyPVL?

MyPVL is a home for all PVL licensees to access information and services 24/7 from a single dashboard.

  • View your license information (status, insurance, class, employees etc…)
  • Renew your license online
  • Update your address with your online renewal
  • Print a copy of your online renewal
  • Restore your license online (after March 31, 2019, restorations will not be accepted online and must be submitted via hardcopy)

How do I access MyPVL?

“Sign up” for a free eHawaii.gov account or “login” with your existing eHawaii.gov account at pvl.ehawaii.gov

How to sign up/create free eHawaii.gov account -view help video

How to retrieve password, already have an account -view help video

Criminal History Record Check Requirement...

 

* * * IMPORTANT – REQUIRED* * *
CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD CHECK
Effective July 1, 2017, all Hawaii nurse licensees (LPN, RN, APRN or Prescriptive Authority) are required to submit a full set of electronic fingerprints for the purpose of obtaining federal and state criminal history record checks.
IMPORTANT
Renewal Requirement starting with the June 2019 renewal
ALL Nurses licensed prior to July 1, 2017 will be required to comply with the criminal history record check requirement beginning with the 2019 renewal.

  • These licensees will be randomly selected over three (3) renewal periods (2019, 2021, 2023)
  • A list of licensees by renewal period will be posted on this website prior to the 2019 renewal
  • Further instructions are forthcoming.
CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD CHECK LICENSE REQUIREMENT
REQUIREMENTS AND INSTRUCTIONS
REQUIREMENTS:
  • Any licensed issued on or after July 1, 2017 or if you are applying for renewal, restoration or reactivating your Hawaii nurse license (LPN, RN, APRN or Prescriptive authority)
  • You will be required to comply with the electronic fingerprinting requirements for the purpose of obtaining federal (FBI national criminal history check) and the State of Hawaii (Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center) criminal history record checks in accordance with section 847-2.7.
ELECTRONIC FINGERPRINTING
INSTRUCTIONS:
  • Please visit Fieldprint Inc., at: http://fieldprinthawaii.com to make an appointment or to inquire about other available site locations on the Continental United States, or call (877) 614-4361;
  • Fieldprint code that you must enter is FPHIBrdNursing (not case sensitive);
  • The applicant shall bear the cost of the fingerprint processing and all fingerprinting fees shall be paid directly to Fieldprint; and
  •  You must file your license application within thirty (30) days of the fingerprinting to ensure that the results can be obtained.
  • If we are unable to obtain the results, you will be required to submit to the fingerprinting process again.
NOTE:
  • If you were previously fingerprinted by another board of nursing or employer, you still have to submit to the electronic fingerprinting for a Hawaii nurse license.  The Fieldprint code is specifically for Hawaii nurse licensees and applicants.
  • If you do not use this code, FPHIBrdNursing (not case sensitive), we will not be able to retrieve your report and you will have to go back to get fingerprinted and pay another fee.

 

Foreign Applicant Fingerprinting or Applicant Fingerprinting in Locations Fieldprint is Unable to Service
CRIMINAL HISTORY CHECK INSTRUCTIONS

Continuing Competency Requirement...

Beginning on July 1, 2017, all Hawaii nurse licensees who do not meet one of the exemptions will be required to complete one of the learning activity options for continuing competency prior to the renewal of his/her Hawaii nurse license in 2019.  Please review the Continuing Competency Booklet.

The board may conduct a random audit to determine whether the continuing competency requirements have been met.

 

LICENSED PRACTICAL NURSE AND REGISTERED NURSE…

Renewal Requirements...

RENEWAL INFORMATION (Licensed Practical Nurse, Registered Nurse)

Biennial by June 30 every odd numbered year.

On-time renewals for the licensing period of July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2021 begins April 22, 2019 and ends on June 30, 2019
Renew Online via MyPVL:  https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/mypvl
Renewals Accepted: April 22, 2019 to June 30, 2019
Renewal Postcard Reminders Mailed: April 19, 2019
Renew By License Expiration: June 30, 2019

 

Continued Competency Requirement
Beginning on July 1, 2017, all Hawaii nurse licensees who do not meet one of the exemptions will be required to complete one of the learning activity options for continuing competency prior to the renewal of his/her Hawaii nurse license in 2019.
Please review the Continuing Competency Booklet.
 
The board may conduct a random audit to determine whether the continuing competency requirements have been met.

 

Criminal History Record Check Requirement
Effective July 1, 2017, All Hawaii nurse licensees (LPN, RN, APRN or Prescriptive Authority) are required to submit a full set of electronic fingerprints for the purpose of obtaining federal and state criminal history record checks
IMPORTANT
Renewal Requirement starting with the June 2019 renewal
ALL Nurses licensed prior to July 1, 2017 will be required to comply with the criminal history record check requirement beginning with the 2019 renewal.

  • These licensees will be randomly selected over three (3) renewal periods (2019, 2021, 2023)
  • A list of licensees by renewal period will be posted on this website prior to the 2019 renewal
  • Further instructions are forthcoming.

 

On-Time Cost to Renew
Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) – active status, $176.00
Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) – inactive status, $12.00
Registered Nurse (RN) – active status, $176.00
Registered Nurse (RN) – inactive status, $12.00

 

PROCESSING TIME FOR RENEWALS:  (Early submittals are strongly recommended)
  • Processing times are average and subject to licensee meeting all requirements.
  • Processing times may be longer due to high volume of renewals received.
Online Hardcopy
3-5 Business Days 14-21 Business Days
Pocket IDs issued 7-14 Business Days After Renewal is Processed and License is Renewed.
CHECK THE STATUS OF YOUR RENEWAL AT: https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/search  (select “Pending Application”)

 

Hardcopy renewal form may be requested 10 weeks before license expiration by contacting:  The Professional and Vocational Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000 OR

Pick up at office location: King Kalakaua Building 335 Merchant Street, Rm. 301 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Hours of Operation: The DCCA will be open 7:45 AM – 4:30 PM (Hawaii Standard Time), Monday to Friday, except state holidays.

All licenses, regardless of issuance date, are subject to renewal by June 30 of each odd-numbered year.

Licenses not renewed by the renewal date of June 30 of each odd-numbered year are forfeited and the holders of forfeited licenses are considered unlicensed and may not practice.

The forfeited license may be restored within 2 years and subject to meeting restoration requirements.

Restoration Requirements...

RESTORATION INFORMATION (Licensed Practical Nurse, Registered Nurse)

The forfeited license may be restored within 2 years and subject to meeting restoration requirements.

Restorations of forfeited licenses are accepted until June 30 of the even-numbered year with a penalty fee.  After June 30, restoration is not accepted and a new application for a license is required.

Failure to restore a forfeited license within 2 years after the renewal date will result in the termination of the license and the person must apply as a new applicant and meet current licensing requirements.

NOTE: Restoration and reactivation applicants are required to comply with the electronic fingerprinting requirement for a criminal history/background check prior to the restoration or reactivation of the license.

 

Restorations for the licensing period of July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019
Restore Online via MyPVL:  https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/mypvl
Restorations Accepted: July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019 (online submittals accepted until March 31, 2019)
Restore By: June 30, 2019

 

Cost to Restore (late renewal)
Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) – active status, $206.00
Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) – inactive status, $42.00
Registered Nurse (RN) – active status, $206.00
Registered (RN) – inactive status, $42.00

Request restoration form by contacting:  The Professional and Vocational Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000 OR

Pick up at office location: King Kalakaua Building 335 Merchant Street, Rm. 301 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Hours of Operation: The DCCA will be open 7:45 AM – 4:30 PM (Hawaii Standard Time), Monday to Friday, except state holidays.

Pursuant to Section 436B-14.5, HRS , any license held by a member of the armed forces, National Guard, or a reserve component that expires, is forfeited, or deemed delinquent while the member is on active duty and deployed during a state or national crisis shall be restored if certain restoration requirements are met. Military Renewal and Restoration Information Sheet.

 

ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSE…

RX Prescriptive Authority Requirement...

APRNs with prescriptive authority, are subject to the following additional renewal requirements and shall  submit:
  1. Renewal of RN and APRN licenses;
  2. Proof of your current national certification in your practice specialty;  and
  3. Proof of completion of at least 30 hours of continuing education of which at least  8 hours shall be in  pharmacology

Renewal Requirements...

RENEWAL INFORMATION (Advanced Practice Registered Nurse)

Biennial by June 30 every odd numbered year.

On-time renewals for the licensing period of July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2021 begins April 22, 2019 and ends on June 30, 2019
Renew Online via MyPVL:  https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/mypvl
Renewals Accepted: April 22, 2019 to June 30, 2019
Renewal Postcard Reminders Mailed: April 19, 2019
Renew By License Expiration: June 30, 2019

 

Registered Nurse License and APRN license Must be Renewed
APRN License Cannot be Renewed Unless the RN License is Renewed
 
APRNs who were licensed initially by their graduate-level nursing degree shall submit:
  1. Renewal application; and
  2. Fees.
APRNs who were licensed initially by national certification only shall submit:
  1. Renewal application;
  2. Fees; and
  3. Proof of current certification.
APRNs with prescriptive authority, are subject to the following additional renewal requirements and shall  submit:
  1. Renewal of RN and APRN licenses;
  2. Proof of your current national certification in your practice specialty;  and
  3. Proof of completion of at least 30 hours of continuing education of which at least  8 hours shall be in  pharmacology

 

Criminal History Record Check Requirement
Effective July 1, 2017, All Hawaii nurse licensees (LPN, RN, APRN or Prescriptive Authority) are required to submit a full set of electronic fingerprints for the purpose of obtaining federal and state criminal history record checks
IMPORTANT
Renewal Requirement starting with the June 2019 renewal
ALL Nurses licensed prior to July 1, 2017 will be required to comply with the criminal history record check requirement beginning with the 2019 renewal.

  • These licensees will be randomly selected over three (3) renewal periods (2019, 2021, 2023)
  • A list of licensees by renewal period will be posted on this website prior to the 2019 renewal
  • Further instructions are forthcoming.

 

On-Time Cost to Renew
Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) – active status, $36.00
Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) – inactive status, $12.00

 

PROCESSING TIME FOR RENEWALS:  (Early submittals are strongly recommended)
  • Processing times are average and subject to licensee meeting all requirements.
  • Processing times may be longer due to high volume of renewals received.
Online Hardcopy
3-5 Business Days 14-21 Business Days
Pocket IDs issued 7-14 Business Days After Renewal is Processed and License is Renewed.
CHECK THE STATUS OF YOUR RENEWAL AT: https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/search  (select “Pending Application”)

All licenses, regardless of issuance date, are subject to renewal by June 30 of each odd-numbered year.

Licenses not renewed by the renewal date of June 30 of each odd-numbered year are forfeited and the holders of forfeited licenses are considered unlicensed and may not practice.

The forfeited license may be restored within 6 months and subject to meeting restoration requirements.

Hardcopy renewal form may be requested 10 weeks before license expiration by contacting:  The Professional and Vocational Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000 OR

Pick up at office location: King Kalakaua Building 335 Merchant Street, Rm. 301 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Hours of Operation: The DCCA will be open 7:45 AM – 4:30 PM (Hawaii Standard Time), Monday to Friday, except state holidays.

Restoration Requirements...

RESTORATION INFORMATION

The forfeited license may be restored within 6 months and subject to meeting restoration requirements.

Restorations for forfeited licenses are accepted until December 31 of the odd-numbered year with a penalty fee.  After December 31, restoration is not accepted and a new application for a license is required.

Failure to restore a forfeited license within 6 months after the renewal date will result in the termination of the license and the person must apply as a new applicant and meet current licensing requirements.

NOTE: Restoration and reactivation applicants are required to comply with the electronic fingerprinting requirement for a criminal history/background check prior to the restoration or reactivation of the license.

 

Restorations for the licensing period of July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2021
Restorations Accepted: July 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019
Restore By: December 31, 2019

 

Cost to Restore (late renewal)
Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) – active status, $66.00
Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) – inactive status, $42.00

Request restoration form by contacting:  The Professional and Vocational Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000 OR

Pick up at office location: King Kalakaua Building 335 Merchant Street, Rm. 301 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Hours of Operation: The DCCA will be open 7:45 AM – 4:30 PM (Hawaii Standard Time), Monday to Friday, except state holidays.

Pursuant to Section 436B-14.5, HRS , any license held by a member of the armed forces, National Guard, or a reserve component that expires, is forfeited, or deemed delinquent while the member is on active duty and deployed during a state or national crisis shall be restored if certain restoration requirements are met. Military Renewal and Restoration Information Sheet.

REGULATING BODY…

Board of Nursing

Board Composition

9 Members

Thomas Joslyn, MS, CRNA, Chairperson

Olivia Kim, LPN, RN, Vice-Chairperson

Karen Boyer, RN

Katharyn Daub, RN, MS, EdD/Hawaii

Jomel Duldulao, Public

Judy Kodama, RN/Maui

Tammie Napoleon, APRN/Kauai

Vacant, Public

Vacant, RN

Qualifications

1 APRN

5 RN’s

1 LPN

2 Public

Board of Nursing Meeting Schedule

Meeting agendas are posted on the State Calendar site at least six calendar days before the meeting.

Board Meeting Schedule 

Board of Nursing Meeting Minutes