DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS

Amendment and Compilation of Chapter 16-84
Hawaii Administrative Rules

MM DD, YYYY

1. Chapter 16-84, Hawaii Administrative Rules,
entitled, Massage Therapy, is amended and compiled to
read as follows:

“HAWATI ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

TITLE 16

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 84

MASSAGE THERAPY

Subchapter 1 General Provisions

§16-84-1 Objective

§16-84-2 Definitions

§16-84-3 Renewal, restoration, reactivation of
massage therapist license; continuing
education; audit; forfeiture

Subchapter 2 Applications
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§16-84-6 License application for massage
establishment
§$16-84-7 Application for examination or license, or
both
§16-84-8 Apprenticeship application
Subchapter 3 Principal Massage Therapist
§16-84-11 Requirements for principal massage
therapist

Subchapter 4 Establishment Conditions

§16-84-15 Massage establishment requirements

Subchapter 4.1 Sanitation

§16-84-16 Sanitary practices
§16-84-17 1Infectious and contagious diseases

Subchapter 5 Revocation

§16-84-19 Suspension and revocation of licenses

Subchapter 6 Apprentices

§16-84-23 Requirements for apprentices

Subchapter 7 Examination

§16-84-27 Examination requirements

Subchapter 8 Repealed

§16-84-31 Repealed
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Subchapter 9 Practice and Procedure

§16-84-35 Administrative practice and procedure

Subchapter 10 Oral Testimony

§16-84-39 Oral testimony

Subchapter 11 Advertising

§16-84-43 Advertising

Subchapter 12 Massage Students

§16-84-48 Requirements for massage students

Subchapter 13 Continuing Education

§16-84-49 Continuing education courses; providers
§16-84-50 Completion certificates

SUBCHAPTER 1

GENERAL PROVISIONS

§16-84-1 Objective. This chapter is intended to
clarify and implement chapter 452, Hawaii Revised
Statutes, to the end that the provisions thereunder
may be best effectuated and the public interest most
effectively served. [Eff 3/28/66; am 4/4/70; am and
ren §16-84-1, 6/22/81; am and comp 4/9/82; comp
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7/19/87; comp 3/26/90; comp ] (Auth:
HRS §452-6) (Imp: HRS $452-6)

§16-84-2 Definitions. As used in this chapter:

"Apprentice" means a person who has been issued a
permit by the board to learn the practice of massage
under the direct supervision of a sponsoring massage
therapist[+].

"Board" means the state board of massage;

"Continuing education" means a course Or COUrsSes
that expand knowledge and education in the practice of
massage therapyl[+].

"Direct supervision" means the control,
direction, and instruction of an apprentice by the
sponsoring massage therapist who shall be on the
premises of the establishment when the apprentice is
in training and available to the apprentice during the
apprentice training period[s+].

"Establishment”" means a massage establishment[+].

"Massage therapist" means a person licensed to

practice massagel;
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"Person" means an individual, partnership, [e¥]
corporation([+] , limited liability company, oOr

business entity.

"Principal massage therapist" means a massage
therapist designated by an establishment [ard—an—out—
catt—massage—serviee] as the person in chargel[+].

"Sponsoring massage therapist" means a massage
therapist licensed in this state for at least three
years, employed by or registered with a licensed
massage establishment, and registered with the board
as being the person responsible for the direct
supervision of an apprentice. [Eff 3/28/66; am and
ren §16-84-2, 6/22/81; am and comp 4/9/82; am and comp
7/19/87; am and comp 3/26/90; am and

84-4



comp ] (Auth: HRS §452-6) (Imp: HRS
§452-1)

§16-84-3 Renewal, restoration, reactivation of
massage therapist license; continuing education;
audit; forfeiture. (a) A massage therapist license
shall expire on June 30 of every even-numbered year
and shall be renewed biennially. The massage
therapist shall be responsible for the timely renewal
of the license by submitting a complete application
and application fee prior to the expiration date of
the license.

(b) Beginning with the renewal for the licensing
biennium commencing on July 1, 2024, and every
biennial renewal thereafter, each massage therapist
shall be required to complete twelve hours of
continuing education within the two-year period
preceding the renewal date, of which two hours shall
include first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, or
other emergency-related course.

(c) Upon application for license renewal,
restoration, reactivation or reinstatement, each
licensee shall have complied with and attest to
completion of the continuing education requirement
recognized by the board pursuant to subsection (a),
during the two years preceding the application for
license renewal, restoration, reactivation or
reinstatement and shall be prepared to submit evidence
of completion if requested by the board.

(d) The board may conduct a random audit to
determine compliance with the continuing education
requirement. The board shall provide written notice
of an audit to all licensees selected for audit.
Within sixty days of notification, the licensee shall
provide the board with documentation verifying
compliance with continuing education requirement.

(e) A massage therapist who renews on inactive
status is not required to complete the continuing
education requirement until the massage therapist
licensee applies for reactivation and provides proof
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that the individual has met the requirements of
subsection (b).

(f) A massage therapist license that is not
renewed on-time shall be forfeited. A massage
therapist license may be restored within one year from
the expiration date of the license by submitting a
complete restoration application, fees, including a
late fee and proof of completion of the continuing
education requirement. A completed renewal
application sent by United States mail shall be
considered timely filed if the envelope bears a
postmark on or before the required renewal date. If
the massage therapist license is not restored within
one year from the expiration date, the massage
therapist shall apply as a new applicant and shall
meet all current license requirements, including but
not limited to take and pass the licensure examination
and satisfy all requirements for the examination,
including training, if the board is not satisfied that
the person possesses current knowledge and skills for
the practice of massage therapy. If requesting an
exam wailver after forfeiture of the license, the
applicant shall provide proof of licensure in another
jurisdiction or continuing education courses completed

since the expiration of the license. [Eff and
comp ] (Auth: HRS §452-6) (Imp: HRS
§452-106)

SUBCHAPTER 2

APPLICATIONS

§16-84-6 License application for massage

establishment [and-—eout-eall massage serviee]. [=]

Any person seeking a license for a massage
establishment [er—eut—ecall massage—serviee] shall
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submit an application on a form or forms prescribed by
the board and shall submit names and addresses for:
(1) The establishment [—er—euvt—ecall masSsayg
serviee];
(2) The principal massage therapist; and
(3) All persons connected with the establishment
[er—evt—ealtl massage——Serviee] in the
capacity of proprietor, partner, or in the
case of a corporation, officers and

directors.
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§16-84-6, 6/22/81; am and comp 4/9/82; am and comp
7/19/87; am and comp 3/26/90; am and comp

] (Auth: HRS $§452-0) (Imp: HRS
§452-13)

§16-84-7 Application for examination or license,
or both. (a) Any person applying for examination or
license to practice massage shall apply on forms
prescribed by the board.

(b) The proper fee shall accompany the
application.

(c) An applicant shall complete either the
apprenticeship program as outlined in section 16-84-23
or the course of study as a massage student outlined
in section 16-84-48 before the application for
examination is filed. [Eff 7/19/87; am and comp
3/26/90; comp ] (Auth: HRS §452-6)
(Imp: HRS §§452-12, 452-13, 452-14, 452-15)

§16-84-8 Apprenticeship application. Any person
seeking registration to practice as a massage
apprentice must apply on a form or forms prescribed by
the board, and shall submit a letter of agreement from
the sponsoring massage therapist indicating the
starting date of the practical phase of the
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apprenticeship program and the number of hours per
week the applicant will be directly supervised by the
sponsoring massage therapist and training program to

be subject to board's approval. [Eff and comp 4/9/82;
am and comp 7/19/87; comp 3/26/90; comp
] (Auth: HRS §452-6) (Imp: HRS

§§452-6, 452-13)

SUBCHAPTER 3

PRINCIPAL MASSAGE THERAPIST

§16-84-11 Requirements for principal massage
therapist. (a) The principal massage therapist shall
be responsible for maintaining a file at the office of
the board, containing the name and address of the
massage establishment, [aayeovt—ecall massage serviee;]
the names, nicknames, license numbers, and current
residence addresses of all massage therapists employed
by the massage establishment [ard—eouvt—catl massage
serviee]. The principal massage therapist shall
notify the board in writing of all changes in
addresses and in personnel (massage therapists and
apprentices) within forty-eight hours of the change.
Upon acceptance of an apprentice, the principal
massage therapist shall fill in the space allotted for
the action on the back of the apprentice's permit.

The principal massage therapist shall notify the board
of any action within the required time.

(b) The principal massage therapist shall be
responsible for the conduct of all massage therapists,
apprentices, and any other persons affiliated or
connected with the massage establishment while those
persons are within the premises of the massage
establishment.

(c) To qualify as a principal massage therapist,
a person must be licensed.
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(d) The principal massage therapist shall be
responsible for all lascivious conduct, lewdness, or
any sexual act conducted by any person in the massage
establishment.

(e) The principal massage therapist shall ensure
that every apprentice wears a conspicuously placed
name tag stating the name, and the word "apprentice."
The word "apprentice" shall have letters at least one-
third inch high.

(f) The principal massage therapist, at the end
of the apprentice's training program or termination of
sponsor's letter of agreement, shall ensure that the
sponsoring massage therapist completes a written
report for the apprentice. The report shall contain
the number of hours of training and indicate
specifically what type of practical massage techniques
were taught to the apprentice under the supervision of
the sponsoring massage therapist.

(g) The principal massage therapist shall notify
all customers when they are to be massaged by an

apprentice. [Eff 3/28/66; am and ren $§16-84-11,
6/22/81; am and comp 4/9/82; am and comp 7/19/87; comp
3/26/90; am and comp ] (Auth: HRS
§452-6) (Imp: HRS §452-6)

SUBCHAPTER 4

ESTABLISHMENT [ANBDOUF-CALLEMASSAGESERVICE]
CONDITIONS

§16-84-15 Massage establishment [andeout-eall
massage—serviee] requirements. (a) No massage
establishment [er—euvut—ecall massage——serviee] shall be
licensed or allowed to operate unless the massage
business thereof is under the direct management of a
massage therapist designated as the principal massage
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therapist and the name of the person has been recorded
with the board's office.

(b) An establishment [er—eut—ecalt massag
serviee] shall notify the board within five days after
the disassociation of its principal massage therapist.
The establishment [ard—euvut—ecall—massage—serviee] shall
have ten days from the date of disassociation of the
principal massage therapist in which to designate
another massage therapist as principal massage
therapist. If after fifteen days from the date of the
disassociation of its principal massage therapist the
establishment [er—eut—eallmassage—serviee] has not
designated another principal massage therapist, the
license of the establishment [er—eut—ecalt massag
serviee] shall be automatically suspended. Suspension
shall remain in effect until such time as a massage
therapist is designated principal massage therapist
and the person's name is recorded at the board's
office.

(c) Every establishment shall display, in a
conspicuous place, its license, together with the
licenses and permits of all persons employed by the
establishment with the current validation of the
certificates of the massage therapists and
apprentices.

(d) No establishment shall operate without a
licensed massage therapist in attendance on the
premises of the establishment at all times. During
the absence of the principal massage therapist, a
massage therapist must be designated to act in that
capacity. That designated person, with the principal
massage therapist, shall be responsible for the
operation and activities of the establishment during
the absence of the principal massage therapist.

(e) An establishment [er—euwvt—ecattmassag
serviee] may be charged either separately or with its
principal massage therapist with any violation of the
law or rules of the board.

(f) No establishment [er—eut—ecatt massag
serviee] shall employ, allow, or permit any unlicensed
person to practice massage or assist in the practice
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of massage on its premises, except i1if the person has
an apprentice permit.

(g) Every massage establishment [er—eut—eatd
massage—serviee] shall be responsible for all
lascivious conduct, lewdness, or any sexual act on its
premises.

(h) The maximum ratio of apprentices to each
massage therapist in any establishment shall be ten to
one.

(i) Every establishment shall assure proper
supervision and training of the apprentice. The
establishment shall notify all customers when they are
to be massaged by an apprentice. If upon notice the
customer does not want a massage by an apprentice, the
establishment shall furnish a massage therapist or
refund any money paid in advance by the customer for
the massage. Apprentices shall not be sent on hotel
or house calls.

(J) All establishments may be inspected at any
time during business hours by any member of the
department of health or the board or their authorized
agents. Appropriate identification shall be presented
by the investigators on request.

(k) Rest quarters provided for employees shall
not be used for massage purposes and shall be properly
identified by a sign over the doorway.

(1) No establishment shall install or permit the
use of any locks on the doors of massage rooms. Any
device used to secure a door against easy entry or
exit shall be considered a lock.

(m) An establishment [er—anout—ecaltl massage
serviee] license is nontransferable. Application for
a new license must be made within ten days after the
death of the owner or upon sale or transfer of the
establishment [ard—the—eouvt—ecall massage——serviece].

(n) When relocating an establishment, all
requirements shall be fulfilled except for the license
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and comp 4/9/82; am and comp 7/19/87; am and comp

3/26/90; am and comp ] (Auth: HRS
§452-0) (Imp: HRS §§8452-3, 452-6, 452-13, 452-15,
452-19)

SUBCHAPTER 4.1

SANTTATION

§16-84-16 Sanitary practices. (a) All massage
establishments may be inspected at any time during
business hours by any member of the board or their
authorized agents and are subject to the following
requirements:

(1) Toilet facilities shall be provided within
two hundred feet of any massage therapy
establishment;

(2) Cleaned and sanitized linens and instruments
shall be used for all clients then sanitized
again prior to use on another client; and

(3) The massage therapy establishment shall be
kept clean and in good repair, properly
lighted, and ventilated.

(b) A permanent fixed location shall be subject

to the following regquirements:

(1) If the massage therapy establishment is
located within a residence, any massage
services must be provided in a space
designated for massage only and must be
separated from any other portion of the
residence by solid permanent partitions and
a solid door and shall have a handwashing
station facility with running water
conveniently located; and

(2) In all newly constructed or existing non-
residential locations that have been
structurally renovated or requiring a
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building permit, hand washing facilities
with running water, hand cleansing soap, and
single use towels or other hand drying
devices shall be located in the operation
area.

(c) An off-site location shall be subject to the
following requirements:

(1) The therapeutic area and any equipment must
be clean, in good repair, sanitized, and
properly stored in a covered and enclosed
vessel; and

(2) A hand basin with running water or sanitary
hand cleanser and single use towels must be
provided in the operating area.

(d) All massage establishments shall have and
maintain a current written policy, guideline, or
procedure that is made available to all employees and
staff for complying with the sanitary practices
required by this section. Moreover, upon demand, any
massage establishment must disclose a copy of the
current written policy, guideline, or procedure for
inspection by the board or their authorized agents.
[Eff and comp ] (Auth: HRS §452-6)
(Imp: HRS §452-18)

§16-84-17 Infectious and contagious diseases.
Massage therapists shall be subject to the following
requirements:

(1) Massage therapists with a contagious disease

in a communicable form shall not attend to
any client;

(2) Massage therapists shall maintain a high
degree of personal hygiene and cleanliness;
and

(3) Massage therapists shall wash and clean
their hands before and after attending to
each client. [Eff and comp ]
(Auth: HRS §452-06) (Imp: HRS §452-18)
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SUBCHAPTER 5

REVOCATION

§16-84-19 Suspension and revocation of licenses.
Any establishment [er—an—eut—ecall maSsage —serviee]
license, a principal massage therapist registration, a
massage therapist license, or an apprentice permit may
be suspended or revoked upon any one of the following

grounds:

(1) Falsification or misrepresentation in the
application for a license, registration, or
permit;

(2) Practicing massage under a false name or

name other than that on the license or
apprentice permit;

(3) Use of untrue, fraudulent, misleading, or
deceptive advertising, or of any form or
manner of advertising which may directly or
indirectly suggest sexual or immoral acts;

(4) Abandoning an establishment [er—anr—ouvt—ecalt
massage—serviee] without prior notice to the
board;

(5) Violation of any law or rule concerning or
affecting the practice of massage, including
any provision of chapter 452, HRS, or this
chapter;

(6) Prescribing, administering, or making
recommendations as to medication or
injection therapy;

(7) Stating or implying through any newspaper,
magazine, directory, pamphlet, poster, card,
circular, or other writing or publication or
by any advertisement, that the registrant,
has cured, can cure, or guarantees to cure,
or has successfully treated any disease,
defect, or deformity;
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(8) Participating in or using the establishment
for any lascivious conduct, lewdness, or any
sexual act;

(9) Teaching the practical application of body
massage without the proper qualification as
outlined in this chapter; [and]

(10) Causing bodily injury by carelessness or
negligence as a result of practicing massage
[+]1; or

(11) Submitting to or filing with the board any
notice, statement, or other document
required under this chapter that is false or
untrue or contains any material misstatement
of fact, including a false attestation of
compliance with continuing education
requirement. [Eff 3/28/66; am 4/4/70; am
and ren §16-84-19, 6/22/81; am and comp
4/9/82; am and comp 7/19/87; comp 3/26/90;
am and comp ] (Auth: HRS
§452-6) (Imp: HRS §§452-6)

SUBCHAPTER 6

APPRENTICES

§16-84-23 Requirements for apprentices. (a)
The apprenticeship program shall consist of not less
than five hundred seventy hours and the applicant
shall successfully complete a cardiopulmonary
resuscitation training program. The first one hundred
fifty hours shall be academic and shall not have a
time period and shall be completed before the
practical training. The course of study shall be as
listed in subsection (i) (1) and (2).

(b) The applicant shall submit an application
for apprenticeship training to the board with the
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certificates of completion of all required courses as
listed in subsection (i) (1) and (2).

(c) A letter of agreement from the sponsoring
massage therapist as outlined in section 16-84-8 shall
be attached to the application.

(d) The remaining four hundred twenty hours
shall constitute the beginning of the practical phase
of the apprenticeship program. A permit shall be
issued upon verification of the application for
apprenticeship training.

(e) The apprenticeship training shall begin upon
the approval of the apprentice application by the
board.

(f) The apprenticeship program shall be of not
less than six nor more than twelve months duration
from the date of issuance of the permit. Extension
may be granted by the board for unusual or special
circumstances.

(g) No person may undergo an apprenticeship
training program without a permit.

(h) Upon completion of the apprenticeship
training, the applicant is not required to undergo
another apprenticeship training.

(1) The academic course of study shall be as
follows:

(1) Not less than fifty hours of anatomy,

physiology, and structural kinesiology;

(2) Not less than one hundred hours of theory
and demonstration of massage which shall
include:

(A) The proper procedure in massaging
(concerning the protection of both
client and massage therapist);

Record keeping;

Hygiene;

Theory;

Technique for specific conditions;
Contraindications of massage for
specific techniques according to
conditions;

(G) Draping; and

CICCIE
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(H) Assessment of the client's condition
and the general technique to be
applied.

The requirements of subsection (i) (1) and (2) shall be
taught by a school which is licensed by the state
department of education, the University of Hawaii or
other institutions approved by the board. The courses
outlined in subsection (i) (1) and (2) may be obtained
through workshops given by a massage therapist who has
been licensed for at least three years and who has
received approval from the board. The request for
such an approval shall include: the subject to be
taught[+], when[+], wherels], by whom[+], and the
duration of the workshop. The request for a workshop
shall be submitted to the board for approval not less
than sixty days before the commencement of each
workshop. All courses that are completed as outlined
in subsection (i) (1) and (2) shall be properly
certified and a certificate of successful completion
shall be issued by the school or an approved massage
workshop.

(7)) The course of study for the six months of
apprenticeship training program with a minimum of four
hundred twenty hours is as follows:

(1) Clinical operations - seventy hours
(A) Sanitation - (i.e., application of
department of health regulations,
linen, towels) - thirty hours
(B) Office procedures - (i.e., answering
phone, taking appointments, client
rapport) - thirty hours; and
(C) Record keeping - (client records) - ten
hours.
(2) Advanced techniques - forty hours
(A) Observation of classroom instructors -
(twenty hours); and
(B) Consulting - (twenty hours) .
(3) Hands on supervised massage with record

keeping - three hundred ten hours.
(k) This apprenticeship does not apply to all
persons who are now licensed in this State.
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(1) The apprentice may request a change in
sponsor provided that a written request is submitted
to the board for approval. The request shall include
the reason or reasons why a change is being made, the
date, and the letter of agreement with the new
sponsoring massage therapist.

(m) The apprentice shall be required to know and
understand the laws and rules regulating massage.

(n) The applicant shall show proof of having a
current certificate of completion of both the infant
and adult cardiopulmonary resuscitation [+EPR}]
training course issued by the American Red Cross or
American Heart Association. The course cannot be
completely online and must have a hands-on training
component.

(o) Cardiopulmonary resuscitation classes
sponsored by other providers will need to show
curriculum content consistent with American Heart
Association or American Red Cross guidelines.
Applicants[+] who have a [€PR] cardiopulmonary
resuscitation certification other than from the
American Red Cross or American Heart Association may
request for a waiver provided:

(1) That the applicant [shew] shows proof of a

current certificate of completion;

(2) That the applicant [previde] provides the
board with a curriculum of the [EPR]
cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification
training course;

(3) That the applicant [p¥revide] provides the
name and the address of the course sponsor;
and

(4) That the applicant [previde] provides to the
board all information pertaining to the
course sponsor's credentials and
accreditation.

(p) The apprenticeship program training report
shall be properly completed by the sponsoring massage
therapist. A copy of the training report shall be
given to the apprentice to be attached to the
application for examination. [Eff 3/28/66; am 4/4/70;
am and ren $§16-84-23, 6/22/81; am and comp 4/9/82; am
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and comp 7/19/87; am and comp 3/26/90; am and comp

] (Auth: HRS $§452-0) (Imp: HRS
§452-6)
SUBCHAPTER 7
EXAMINATION
§16-84-27 Examination requirements. (a) An

applicant for a license to practice massage shall
complete an apprenticeship program as outlined in
section 16-84-23 or the course of study as a massage
student outlined in section 16-84-48 and pass a
written clinical competency examination in the English
language. The board may contract with professional
testing services to prepare, administer, and grade the
examination. The examination shall be designed to
test an applicant as follows:
(1) Applicant's knowledge of anatomy,
physiology, and structural kinesiology; and
(2) Applicant's knowledge of the theory of
massage.
A passing grade shall be seventy-five points
[++5-00)]. An applicant must have a passing grade in
order to be licensed.
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(b) Blind persons shall not be exempt
from taking the examination to qualify, provided that
the written clinical competency examination may be

administered orally.
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massage examination prior to June 4, 1986 and failed
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one or more parts of the examination shall be given
credit for the part or parts passed and be permitted
to be reexamined in the parts failed for three
consecutive times; provided that reexamination of
parts failed will be allowed only through March 1987.
Thereafter the applicant forfeits all previous credits
and must retake the examination and meet the
requirements set forth in this section. [Eff 3/28/66;
am 4/4/70; am and ren $§16-84-27, 6/22/81; am and comp
4/9/82; am and comp 7/19/87; am and comp 3/26/90;

am and comp ] (Auth: HRS §452-6)
(Imp: HRS §§452-13(3), 452-14)

SUBCHAPTER 8

FEES-REPEALED

§16-84-31 Repealed. [R 4/9/82]

SUBCHAPTER 9

PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE

§16-84-35 Administrative practice and procedure.
The rules of practice and procedure for massage
therapists[+] and massage establishments [——ana—eut
cattmassage—serviees] shall be as provided in chapter
16-201, the rules of practice and procedure of the
department of commerce and consumer affairs which are
incorporated by reference and made a part of this
chapter. [Eff and comp 7/19/87; comp 3/26/90; am and
comp ] (Auth: HRS $§§91-2, 452-6)
(Imp: HRS §§$91-2, 452-6)
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SUBCHAPTER 10

ORAL TESTIMONY

§16-84-39 Oral testimony. (a) The board shall
accept oral testimony on any item which is on the

agenda,

provided that the testimony shall be subject

to the following conditions:

(1)

Each person seeking to present oral
testimony shall so notify the board not
later than forty-eight hours prior to the
meeting, and at that time shall state the
item on which testimony is to be presented;
The board may request that any person
providing oral testimony submit the remarks,
or a summary of the remarks, in writing to
the board;

The board may rearrange the items on the
agenda for the purpose of providing for the
most efficient and convenient presentation
of oral testimony;

Persons presenting oral testimony shall, at
the beginning of the testimony, identify
themselves and the organization, if any,
that they represent;

The board may limit oral testimony to a
specified time period but in no case shall
the period be less than five minutes, and
the person testifying shall be informed
prior to the commencement of the testimony
of the time constraints to be imposed; and
The board may refuse to hear any testimony
which is irrelevant, immaterial, or unduly
repetitious to the agenda item on which it
is presented.
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(b) Nothing in this section shall require the
board to hear or receive any oral or documentary
evidence from a person on any matter which is the
subject of another proceeding pending subject to the
[Rearings] hearing relief, declaratory relief or rule
relief provisions of chapter 16-201.

(c) Nothing in this section shall prevent the
board from soliciting oral remarks from persons
present at the meeting or from inviting persons to
make presentations to the board on any particular

matter on the board's agenda. [Eff and comp 7/19/87;
comp 3/26/90; am and comp ] (Auth:
HRS §452-6) (Imp: HRS §92-3)

SUBCHAPTER 11

ADVERTISING

§16-84-43 Advertising. (a) Any person
advertising as being able to perform massage in any
form shall have received training in the massage
technique that is being advertised.

(b) A licensee may advertise as being able to
perform the type of massage known as Rolfing if the
licensee has received basic Rolfing training in
classes sponsored by the Rolf Institute and been
certified as a Rolfer and given membership in the
institute. [Eff and comp 3/26/90; comp

] (Auth: HRS §§452-6, 452-23) (Imp:
HRS §452-23)

SUBCHAPTER 12

MASSAGE STUDENTS
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§16-84-48 Requirements for massage students.

(a) The student program shall consist of not less
[ker] than five hundred seventy hours. In addition,
the student shall successfully complete a
cardiopulmonary resuscitation training program/[—]
consistent with the requirements in section 16-84-
23(n) and (o).

(b) The curriculum of the massage school shall
contain the following:

(1) Not less than fifty hours of anatomy,

physiology, and structural kinesiology[+];

(2) Not less than one hundred hours of theory
and demonstration of massage which shall
include:

(A) The proper procedure in massaging
(concerning the protection of both
client and massage therapist);

Record keeping;

Hygiene;

Theory;

Technique for specific conditions;
Contraindications of massage for
specific techniques according to
conditions;

(G) Draping; and

(H) Assessment of the client's condition

and the general technique to the
applied;

(3) Not less than four hundred [amd] twenty
hours of practical massage training under
the supervision of a teacher in a school
setting.

(c) Students who complete a course consisting of
at least five [hundred—andseventyhours] hundred
seventy hours course from a curriculum approved school
by the American Massage Therapy Association [+AMTA)]
or the Rolf Institute shall be eligible to sit for the
written clinical competency examination.

(d) Students who complete a course of study in a
school approved by the state department of education

mEHUQwW
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shall be eligible to sit for the written clinical
competency examination if the curriculum of the school
meets the requirements of subsection (b).

(e) An applicant shall provide the board with
written proof that the applicant has successfully
completed the required course of study in a massage
school approved by the department of education,
American Massage Therapy Association [4AMTA)], or the
Rolf Institute. [Eff and comp 3/26/90; am and comp

] (Auth: HRS $§452-06) (Imp: HRS
§452-6)

SUBCHAPTER 13

CONTINUING EDUCATION

§16-84-49. Continuing education courses;
providers. (a) All eligible continuing education
categories shall be learning experiences that enhance
and expand the skills, knowledge, professionalism, or
ethics of massage therapists that enable them to
render competent professional service to clients, the
profession, and the public.

(b) Two of the continuing education hours shall
include first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, or
other emergency-related training courses. The courses
shall require the following:

(1) Be completed and include a hands-on training
component;
(2) Be sponsored by the American Red Cross or

American Heart Association. Cardiopulmonary
resuscitation classes sponsored by other
providers will need to show curriculum
content consistent with American Red Cross
or American Heart Association guidelines;
and

(3) Be limited to a maximum of two continuing
education hours per biennium.
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(c) The remaining ten continuing education hours
shall be in any category that enhances the skills and
knowledge of the massage therapist, including but not
limited to professional ethics, theory and practice of
massage therapy, modalities, and professional
development.

(d) Practice-building business courses will not
be approved.
(e) Distance learning courses will be approved.

Distance learning includes courses taken by home
study, whether delivered synchronously or
asynchronously online by computer means, by live or
recorded video or audio media, or by printed
materials.

(f) One continuing education hour must consist
of at least fifty minutes of any one clock hour during
which the student participates in a learning activity
in the presence of an instructor, or in a distance
learning activity designed and delivered by a
provider.

(g) Providers of the continuing education
courses shall include:

(1) Massage schools approved by a state board of
massage;

(2) Nationally accredited massage certifying
organizations; and

(3) Local or national professional associations.
[Eff and comp ] (Auth: HRS
§452-6) (Imp: HRS §452-16)

§16-84-50 Completion certificates. (a) Upon

completion of the continuing education course, the
continuing education provider shall issue written
evidence of attendance to each attendee. This
certificate of attendance shall include the following
information:

(1) Name of attendee;

(2) Name of provider;

(3) Course or program title, date, and location;
and

84-25



(4) Number of continuing education hours.

(b) Each licensee shall be responsible for
maintaining their own completion certificates in the
case that they are audited.” [Eff and

comp ] (Auth: HRS $§452-06) (Imp: HRS
§452-106)
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2. Material, except source notes and other
notes, to be repealed is bracketed and stricken. New
material is underscored.

3. Additions to update source notes and other
notes to reflect these amendments and compilation are
not underscored.

4. These amendments to and compilation of
chapter 16-84, Hawaii Administrative Rules, shall take
effect ten days after filing with the Office of the
Lieutenant Governor.

I certify that the foregoing are copies of the
rules, drafted in the Ramseyer format pursuant to the
requirements of section 91-4.1, Hawaii Revised
Statutes, which were adopted on MM DD, YYYY, and filed
with the Office of the Lieutenant Governor.

NADINE Y. ANDO
Director of Commerce and
Consumer Affairs

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Christopher J.I. Leong
Deputy Attorney General
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