Resident Adjuster

Resident Adjuster – Individual (Initial License)
Independent Adjuster – Public Adjuster – Work Comp Adjuster – Crop Adjuster

For initial or if you held a HI adjuster license that was inactive for more than two years.

Resident Adjuster – Individual (License Reactivation) Independent Adjuster – Public Adjuster – Work Comp Adjuster – Crop Adjuster

If you held a HI adjuster license that was inactivated within two years.

Resident Adjuster – Individual (License Renewal or  Reinstatement) Independent Adjuster – Public Adjuster

Reinstatement – If you held a HI independent or public adjuster license that has been inactive for not more than thirty days, due to nonrenewal.

Resident Adjuster – Individual (License Renewal or Reinstatement) Crop Adjuster

Reinstatement – If you held a HI crop adjuster license that has been inactive for not more than thirty days, due to nonrenewal.

Resident Adjuster – Individual (License Renewal or  Reinstatement) Work Comp Adjuster

Reinstatement – If you held a HI work comp adjuster license that has been inactive for not more than thirty days, due to nonrenewal.

For more information, refer to the Hawaii Revised Statutes, including: §431:9.

Resident Adjuster – Individual (Initial License) Independent Adjuster – Public Adjuster – Work Comp Adjuster – Crop Adjuster

Before submitting your application:

  1. Successfully pass the Hawaii Insurance License Exam(s). Adjuster exam for independent or public adjuster, workers compensation adjuster exam for work comp adjuster. Contact our exam administrator, Pearson Vue to register for an exam. Call toll free at 1-800-274-2608. View our Candidate Handbook at Pearson Vue’s website. Beginning May 18, 2021, all Hawaii Insurance exams will be available for administration through Pearson’s online proctoring process in addition to the standard test center process.
  2. To obtain fingerprints, schedule an appointment online at http://www.fieldprinthawaii.com. Fees collected by FieldPrint include state and federal submission fees. Effective September 1, 2018, all applicants must enter “HI-DCCA-INS”, the code that identifies the Insurance Division as the intended recipient of your fingerprint result, when scheduling an online appointment with Fieldprint.

 

Effective March 12, 2021, you may apply electronic and pay fees with a credit card at http://nipr.com/ or submit paper application (see instructions below). For more information, please refer to Commissioner’s Memorandum 2021-2 LIC)

To Apply electronically:

  1. Go to http://nipr.com/ to apply for the license.
  2. For public adjuster: Submit copy of the filed surety bond in the amount of $10,000 through NIPR’s Attachments Warehouse.
  3. For crop adjuster: Submit a copy of a valid, unexpired, Crop Adjuster Proficiency Program (“CAPP”) card through NIPR’s Attachments Warehouse.

 

To apply by paper (mail in):

  1. Form HPL – Hawaii Application for Individual Insurance License. Submit one with original signature.
  2. A copy of passing score report(s) of the Hawaii Insurance Licensing Exam(s). [1]
  3. Licensing Fees. Make check payable to DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS.
  4. For public adjuster: Submit copy of the filed surety bond in the amount of $10,000, as required. Refer to Hawaii Revised Statutes §431:9-223.
  5. For crop adjuster, submit a copy of a valid, unexpired, Crop Adjuster Proficiency Program (“CAPP”) card.

 

Resident Adjuster – Individual (License Reactivation) Independent Adjuster – Public Adjuster – Work Comp Adjuster – Crop Adjuster

Before submitting your application:

  1. For work comp adjuster: You may be required to successfully pass the Hawaii Insurance License Exam. Contact the Hawaii Insurance Division at 808-586-2788.
  2. To obtain fingerprints, schedule an appointment online at http://www.fieldprinthawaii.com. Fees collected by FieldPrint include state and federal submission fees. Effective September 1, 2018, all applicants must enter “HI-DCCA-INS”, the code that identifies the Insurance Division as the intended recipient of your fingerprint result, when scheduling an online appointment with Fieldprint.

 

Electronic submission is not available for reactivation.  To reactivate your license, you must submit a paper application.

A complete paper application includes:

  1. Form HPL – Hawaii Application for Individual Insurance License. Submit one with original signature.
  2. Licensing Fees. Contact the Hawaii Insurance Division at 808-586-2788 to verify the applicable fees.
    Make check payable to DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS.
  3. For public adjuster: Submit copy of the filed surety bond in the amount of $10,000, as required. Refer to Hawaii Revised Statutes §431:9-223.
  4. For crop adjuster: Submit a copy of a valid, unexpired, Crop Adjuster Proficiency Program (“CAPP”) card.

 

Resident Adjuster – Individual (License Renewal or Reinstatement) Independent Adjuster – Public Adjuster

  1. Go to https://www.ehawaii.gov/dcca/hils/renew/exe/insrenew.cgi or to http://nipr.com to renew or reinstate your licenses. DO NOT renew or reinstate an Independent Adjuster License and Public Adjuster license through both websites, just one or the other.

 

Resident Adjuster – Individual (License Renewal or Reinstatement) Crop Adjuster

You may apply electronic at http://nipr.com/ or submit by paper.

To renew or reinstate electronically:

  1. Go to http://nipr.com/tp to renew or reinstate your license.
  2. Submit a copy of a valid, unexpired, Crop Adjuster Proficiency Program (“CAPP”) card to the NIPR’s Attachments Warehouse.

 

To renew or reinstate by paper (mail in):

  1. Mail renewal or reinstatement fee:
    For renewal, make $90 check payable to Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs. For reinstatement, make $135 check payable to Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs.
  2. Mail renewal notice and check to: Insurance Division, 335 Merchant Street, Room 213, Honolulu, HI 96813
  3. Submit a copy of a valid, unexpired, Crop Adjuster Proficiency Program (“CAPP”) card.

 

Resident Adjuster – Individual (License Renewal or Reinstatement) Work Comp Adjuster

You may apply electronic at http://nipr.com/ or submit by paper.

To renew or reinstate electronically:

  1. Go to http://www.pearsonvue.com/hi/insurance/ to take and pass the Workers Comp Adjuster exam.
  2. Go to http://nipr.com/ to renew or reinstate your license.

To renew or reinstate by paper (mail in):

  1. Go to http://www.pearsonvue.com/hi/insurance/ to take and pass the Workers Comp Adjuster exam (provide an exam pass score).
  2. Mail Renewal or reinstatement fee:
    For renewal, make $90 check payable to Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs. For reinstatement, make $135 check payable to Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs.
  3. Mail renewal notice and check to: Insurance Division Merchant Street, Room 213, Honolulu, HI 96813