Veterinary Technician Program

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO ALL INDIVIDUALS REGISTERING AS A VETERINARY TECHNICIAN THROUGH SATISFACTION OF THE FIVE-YEAR PRACTICAL EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENT
This is to inform you that on July 1, 2021, the Veterinary Technician Program will no longer accept submissions of the Hawaii Experience Verification form (VT-04) pursuant to Hawaii Revised Statutes chapter 472-3(3)(C). Thus, any Hawaii Experience Verification form (VT-04) submitted on or after July 1, 2021 will NOT be considered as part of the application to take the Veterinary Technician National Examination (“VTNE”). Individuals registering as a veterinary technician thereafter must satisfy one of the following in order to be approved to take the VTNE: (1) Successfully completed a course of study at a program for veterinary technology accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities; or (2) Is a licensed, certified, or registered as a veterinary technician in good standing in another state having standards for registration comparable to those in this State. If you have any questions on the above, please do not hesitate to contact the Hawaii Veterinary Technician Program at (808) 586-2694.
Veterinary Technician Registration Types
  • Veterinary Technician
Renewal and Restoration Information
Renewal Information
  • All Licenses regardless of issuance date, are subject to renewal by June 30 of every even-numbered year, beginning June 2020
On-time renewals for the licensing period of July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2022
Renewals accepted: May 4, 2020 to June 30, 2020
Renewal Hardcopy Form Mailout: May 1, 2020
Renew By License Expiration Date: June 30, 2020

Licenses not renewed by license expiration date are unlicensed and may not practice.

Renewal Fees
On-Time Cost to Renew
Veterinary Technician (VT) – active status - $179
Veterinary Technician (VT) – inactive status - $12

 

Restoration Information
Forfeited licenses may be restored within 1 year and subject to meeting restoration requirements.
Failure to restore a forfeited license within 1 year after the license expiration date will result in the termination of the license and the person must apply as a new applicant and meet current licensing requirements.
Restoration Fees
 Cost to Restore (late renewal)
Veterinary Technician (VT) – active status - $12
Regulating Body