
HOME REPAIRS AND YARD 
MAINTENANCE 

 
If someone knocks on your door or 
approaches you in your yard 
offering to perform home repairs like 
fixing your roof, repaving your 
driveway, painting or power-washing 
your house, be careful…     
 
Check with a friend or family 
member and ask yourselves:  
  (1) is the work really necessary? 
  (2) what exactly do I need done?   
  (3) is this person reputable?  
 
Then, contact RICO’s Consumer 
Resource Center to see if the 
person is licensed and to check for 
complaints.   
 
Remember, a contractor’s license is 
required to perform work over 
$1,000 (or if a building permit is 
required).  Getting three bids or 
estimates, preferably from licensed 
contractors, may help you decide if 
the work they are proposing is really 
necessary.   
 
No matter what you decide to do, try 
not to pay cash, and never pay all 
of the money for the job in 
advance. 
 

CAR TROUBLE 
 
A motor vehicle repair license is 
required to repair motor vehicles, so 
be wary if someone knocks on your 
door or approaches you in a parking 
lot offering to fix your car.  When it 
comes to repairs, look for an 
established shop with a licensed 
mechanic.   
 
The same goes for car sales.  
Generally, a motor vehicle sales 
license is required to sell three or 
more cars each year.  Be wary if 
someone approaches you asking 
about buying or selling you a car.   

 
DON’T BE ALARMED 

 
A security alarm system can provide 
consumers with a sense of well 
being, but the opposite is true when 
consumers feel pressured into 
buying an alarm system or buy 
without first considering important 
information like installation and 
permitting requirements.     
 
If someone comes to your door 
offering to sell you a new alarm 
system or to change alarm 
companies, think before you buy.  
Get a copy of any monitoring 
agreement they’re offering and 

review it carefully.   Remember a 
contractor’s license is required in 
Hawaii to install low-voltage alarms 
and to perform electrical work.   

 
HEARING AID DEALERS  

AND FITTERS 
 
A hearing aid dealers and fitters 
license is required to measure your 
hearing and to help you select, 
adapt, or sell you a hearing aid.   
 
A medical examination by a 
physician (preferably a physician 
who specializes in diseases of the 
ear) is required.   
 

DOOR-TO-DOOR SALES 
 
A door-to-door sale is a sale of 
goods or services, solicited in 
person, and bought or signed for by 
the buyer, at a place other than the 
seller’s business address.   
 
Under Hawaii’s law on door-to-door 
sales, a buyer is entitled to a full 
refund if a cancellation notice is sent 
in writing within three business 
days. For more information   about 
door-to-door sales, visit the Office of 
Consumer Protection online at 
cca.hawaii.gov/ocp/. 



GIVE IT TIME… 

If you are interested in a deal, give 
yourself 24 hours to think it over. 
Asking someone to “act now” is a 
high-pressure sales tactic. Don’t be 
pressured into taking action 
immediately.  

DO YOUR HOMEWORK… 

Ask for information on any product 
or service you are considering and 
read the information carefully. If 
someone is asking you to sign a 
contract or monitoring agreement, 
ask to see the paperwork in 
advance and tell them you’ll need 
ample time to review it.  Once you 
receive the paperwork, read the fine 
print closely and ask a friend or 
family member to look at it as well.   

YOU’RE NOT ALONE… 
Best estimates are that 20% of all 
seniors have been victims of some 
kind of fraud.   Don’t be afraid to 
discuss your plans with someone 
you know and trust.  It can be hard to 
spot a scam, but two sets of eyes 
are always better than one.  
 
This brochure is for informational purposes only and, not 
intended for the purposes of providing legal advice.  
Information provided is subject to change. Printed material 
can be made available for individuals with special needs 
in Braille, large print or audio tape.  Submit requests to the 
RICO Complaints and Enforcement Officer at 586-2666. 

RESOURCES 
 

The Department of Commerce and 
Consumer Affairs (DCCA), and its 
Regulated Industries Complaints Office 
(RICO), offer tools, tips and services you 
can use to check out an individual or 
business.   

Information is available online at 
cca.hawaii.gov/rico/business_online/ or 
by calling (808) 587-4272. 
 
For information about filing a complaint or 
to report unlicensed activity, call RICO’s 
Consumer Resource Center at (808) 587-
4272 or visit us online at 
cca.hawaii.gov/rico/. 
 
Neighbor island residents can dial the 
following numbers, then 7-4272 followed by 
the # sign: 
 

RICO is the enforcement arm for over forty-five 
professional boards, commissions, and programs 
that are administratively attached to the 
Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs.  
RICO receives complaints, conducts 
investigations, and prosecutes licensing law 
violations.  RICO also prosecutes unlicensed 
activity through the issuance of citations and by 
filing civil lawsuits in the Circuit Courts.  RICO 
works to resolve consumer complaints where 
appropriate and provides consumer education 
about various issues relating to licensing and 
consumer protection.  RICO also administers the 
State Certified Arbitration Program (SCAP) for 
“lemon” motor vehicle claims. 
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Regulated Industries 
Complaints Office 
 
235 S. Beretania Street, Ninth Floor 
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813 
cca.hawaii.gov/rico    
 

Kauai…………... ………274-3141 
Maui……………. ………984-2400 
Hawaii…………. ………974-4000 
Lanai & Molokai. 1-800-468-4644  

http://hawaii.gov/dcca/rico/scap_llaw/

	CONSUMER PROTECTION TIPS FOR SENIORS
	Regulated Industries Complaints Office
	235 S. Beretania Street, Ninth Floor
	Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

