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Automobile Repairs 
Don’t get fixed…Fix the problem! 

 

Getting your car properly repaired can be a nightmare!  But it doesn’t have to be, IF you know your rights.  
You do not have to be an expert auto mechanic to protect yourself.  The following information is based on 
Chapter 437B, Hawaii Revised Statutes, which regulates the licensing of motor vehicle repair dealers, 

mechanics, and apprentices. 
 
Automobile repair dealers and mechanics are required to have licenses to perform any repair which involves 

maintenance of and modifications and repairs of a motor vehicle. 
 

Motor vehicle repairs DO NOT include “tire repairs, changing tires, lubricating vehicles, installing light bulbs, 
batteries, windshield wiper blades, and other minor accessories, cleaning, adjusting, and replacing spark 
plugs, replacing oil and air filters, and other minor services….”  (Section 437B-1, Hawaii Revised Statutes) 

 
MOTOR VEHICLES.  A motor vehicle includes any passenger car, truck, truck tractor, motorcycle, or motor 
scooter.  Mopeds are not considered a motor vehicle. 

 
GET A WRITTEN ESTIMATE.  BEFORE you authorize any repair of your car, be sure to obtain a written 
estimate of the work to be done.  You may be charged a “reasonable fee” for this estimate.  The final 

charge for repairs cannot exceed 15% of the estimated price, if the estimate is less than $100, or 10% of 
the estimated price, if the estimate is more than $100. 
 

ALL WORK done by the repair dealer, including warranty work, must be noted on an invoice or repair work 
order, including any parts supplied for the repairs. 
 

If crash, used, rebuilt or reconditioned parts are used, this must be stated on the invoice.  You will receive 
a copy of the invoice or work order.  The repair dealer will keep a record of all work orders for at least two 
(2) years. 

 
RETURN OF REPLACED PARTS.  If you want replaced parts to be returned to you by the repair dealer or 
mechanic, you must make the request AT THE TIME THE WORK ORDER IS TAKEN. 

 
Certain parts may be exempt from this requirement due to size, weight, or other similar factors, and may 
include such parts as the repair dealer, mechanic, or apprentice is required to return to the manufacturer or 

distributor under a warranty agreement. 
 
A motor vehicle repair dealer does not have to return the following parts: 
 

1. Transmission 
2. Differential 

3. Engine Block 

 
AUTO BODY REPAIRS, AUTO PAINTING, etc.  Auto Body shops, auto painting shops, auto glass shops, 

auto machine shops, radiator shops or other specialty shops perform work which is NOT considered an 
automobile repair.  However, if any of these shops perform work on a motor vehicle involving the removal, 
replacement, and repairing or modification, or both, of any component of the car’s engine, automatic 

transmission, brakes, electrical systems, front and rear suspensions, air conditioner, and standard 
transmission and rear axle, they must obtain a motor vehicle repair dealer license. 



 
SALVAGED, WRECKED OR DISMANTLED VEHICLES.  A motor vehicle repair dealer who works on 

restoring or rebuilding salvaged, wrecked, or dismantled vehicles must obtain a performance bond of not 
less than $25,000. 
 

If a vehicle is a salvaged vehicle, this should be noted on the Certificate of Registration of the vehicle. 
 
MOBLIE REPAIR DEALERS.  A motor vehicle repair dealer may have a mobile repair facility, but it must 

be registered with the Motor Vehicle Repair Industry Board. 
 
REGISTERED MECHANICS.  At least 50% of the mechanics employed by a dealer on a full-time basis 

must be registered-certified mechanics. 
 
This may mean that the person who does the actual work on your car may not be required to be licensed.  

The work this person performs must be supervised by the licensed mechanic(s) on the premises. 
 
ADVERTISING.  The license number of the repair dealer must be included in any advertising by the repair 

dealer.  An advertisement includes, but is not limited to, any card, sign, device, marking on or in any 
building or structure, newspaper or magazine, or directory under the listing of motor vehicle repair dealer, 
or broadcasting by airwave transmission which relates to the motor vehicle repair business. 

 
COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE REPAIR OF YOUR CAR.  If you have a complaint about the repair of your car, 

you may file a written complaint with the Consumer Resource Center, Regulated Industries Complaints 
Office, Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs.  Call (808) 587-4272 to request a complaint form 
or online at cca.hawaii.gov/rico/file-a-complaint.  When filing your complaint, enclose COPIES of the 

work order for the repair(s), proof of payment, or any other documentation pertinent to your complaint. 
 

RESOURCES 
 

The Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs (DCCA), and its Regulated Industries Complaints Office (RICO), offer 
tools, tips, and services you can use to check out an individual or business.  Information is available by calling (808) 587-
4272 or online at cca.hawaii.gov/businesscheck. 

 
For information about filing a complaint or to report unlicensed activity, call RICO’s Consumer Resource Center at (808) 587-
4272 or visit us online at cca.hawai.gov/rico. 
 
To call Oahu-RICO, dial the following toll free numbers:  Kauai 274-3141, extension 74272; Maui 984-2400, extension 
74272; Big Island 974-4000, extension 74272; Molokai and Lanai 1-800-468-4644, extension 74272, followed by the # sign. 
 
RICO is the enforcement arm for over 45 professional boards, commissions, and programs that are administratively 
attached to the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs.  RICO receives complaints, conducts investigations, and 
prosecutes licensing law violations.  RICO also prosecutes unlicensed activity through the issuance of citations and by filing 
civil lawsuits in the Circuit Courts.  RICO works to resolve consumer complaints where appropriate and provides consumer 
education about various issues relating to licensing and consumer protection.  RICO also administers the State Certified 
Arbitration Program (SCAP) for “lemon” motor vehicle claims. 
 
This brochure is for informational purposes only and not intended for the purposes of providing legal advice.  Information provided 
is subject to change. Printed material can be made available for individuals with special needs in Braille, large print or audio tape.  
Submit requests to the RICO Complaints and Enforcement Officer at 586-2666. 
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