# **INSTRUCTIONS and SCHEDULE OF FEES -REGISTRATION OF REAL ESTATE PRELICENSE EDUCATION SCHOOL**

Please read instructions in its entirety prior to completing and submitting required forms.

- ✤ A school shall not offer courses for the fulfillment of the educational requirement for a real estate license unless it first registers with the Real Estate Commission ("Commission") at least ninety days prior to the opening date of the school.
- ✤ Review Hawaii Administrative Rules, Chapter 99, Subchapter 5 REGISTERED REAL ESTATE SCHOOLS (see attached). Providers must comply with all rules outlined in this chapter.
- ✤ Each registration will expire and must be re-registered every even-numbered year. Failure to re-register will result in forfeiture of school registration. The re-registration deadline is November 30th of every even-numbered year (Example: 2026, 2028, etc.).
- Areas of study listed in the salesperson's curriculum must be covered in the salesperson prelicense class. Areas of study listed in the salesperson's and broker's curriculum must be covered in the broker prelicense class.
- ♦ Only complete applications will be reviewed and considered by the Real Estate Commission. Incomplete applications will not be considered. Please allow 45 days for processing.

# MA

<u>incomplete</u> applications will not be considered. Please allow 45 days for processing.			
MAKE CHECK PAYABLE TO "COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS"			
Initial real estate school registration			
1.	Application fee (nonrefundable)	\$50	
2.	BROKER AND SALESPERSON CURRICULUM:		
	Registration fee* <b>both</b> a broker & salesperson curriculum	\$1260	
	Compliance Resolution Fund: If applying in even-numbered year If applying in odd-numbered year <b>- OR -</b>	\$63 \$126	
	EITHER BROKER OR SALESPERSON CURRICULUM:		
	Registration fee* for <b>either</b> a broker or salesperson's curriculum	\$850	
Additional	Compliance Resolution Fund: If applying in even-numbered year If applying in odd-numbered year prelicense curriculum:	\$63 \$126	
1.	Application fee (nonrefundable)	\$50	
2.	Curriculum Registration fee*	\$420	
*Registration fee is refundable if registration is denied.			

The application fee and the posting of a bond pursuant to this application shall not be required of a NOTE: school that is an accredited State of Hawaii institution of higher education listed with the United States Department of Education as an accredited institution of higher learning. HAR §16-99-99(26)(b).

# UNTIL RECEIPT OF WRITTEN NOTIFICATION OF APPROVAL FROM THE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION, NO SCHOOL SHALL ADVERTISE, SCHEDULE CLASSES, ACCEPT APPLICATIONS OR TUITION FEES FROM PROSPECTIVE STUDENTS, OR HOLD CLASSES.

# CHECKLIST-REGISTRATION OF REAL ESTATE PRELICENSE EDUCATION SCHOOL

Ensure the following are submitted (all documents must be single-sided):
Completed Registration of Real Estate Prelicense Education School application (form attached).
The Commission does not require submission of certificates of clearance; however, providers are responsible for compliance with applicable codes and regulations, including the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requirements.
A description of the course(s) to be offered which contains the course title, timed course outline and/ or timed curriculum, curriculum objectives and procedures for student evaluation of the instructor. Submission must include these items for each curricula and each mode of instructions which you are applying. Courses MUST follow Commission-approved curricula that may be found at: https://cca.hawaii.gov/reb/real_ed/re_ed/ce_prelic/
Certificate of Good Standing or file-stamped copy of the Articles of Incorporation (dated within the last 6 months) issued by the DCCA Business Registration Division.
Completed Certification of Prelicense Education School Principal.
Signed Consent Form
Surety Bond in an amount based on the formula in Hawaii Administrative Rules ("HAR") §16-99-53 (c)(8) or an alternative form of security as described in HAR §16-99-53.1. <u>Use the Bond Form</u> . All other bond forms and re-typed versions are not acceptable. Surety bond is required for Live-Classroom courses.
School catalogue or brochure to include advertising content and media to be used. The school catalogue or brochure should include a statement of school policies and student disclosures pursuant to HAR §16-99-67.
Schedule of tuition, miscellaneous fees including any advanced deposit charged per student. Must include statement of refund policies and procedures.
Statement of advertising content and media to be used.
Student Registration and Enrollment forms, including the following:
Student Contract or School/Student agreement
Attendance Record, Student Record, or other methods of recording class attendance
A check with appropriate fee made payable to "Commerce and Consumer Affairs" (see Instructions and Schedule of Fees).
Note: Based on HAR §16-99-59(a), "Tuition rates and all other charges shall be published in the school catalogue. No school shall deviate from its published tuition rates and charges." Also, HAR §16-99-59(c) states "Tuition and other charges shall be specifically set forth in the school

HAR §16-99-59(c) states "Tuition and other charges shall be specifically set forth in the school registration form. The registration form shall expressly state in the school's policy regarding the return of tuition and other charges when a student is dismissed or withdraws voluntarily. Each student shall acknowledge acceptance of the school's tuition policies on the school's registration form."

**REAL ESTATE COMMISSION** State of Hawaii **Professional and Vocational Licensing Division Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs** 335 Merchant Street, Room 333 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY			
Approved/Date:	Reg. No.:		
Denied/Date:			
Cashier's Validation:			

## **REGISTRATION OF REAL ESTATE PRELICENSE EDUCATION SCHOOL**

1.	School's Name:				
2.	Business Address:				
3.	Classroom Location:				
4.	Business Telephone:				
	Public e-mail and/or URL:				
5.	School Principal:				
6.	Principal's Home Address:	7. Principal's Home Telephone:			
8.	Principal's e-mail:				
9.	Indicate the curriculum for which you are applying:				
	Salesperson prelicensing curriculum				
	Live-Classroom	Live-Webinar (Zoom, etc) Online/Independent (Self-paced)			
	Broker curriculum				
	Live-Classroom	Live-Webinar (Zoom, etc) Online/Independent (Self-paced)			
10.	School Ownership				
	Form of ownership:	<ul> <li>Corporation</li> <li>Partnership</li> <li>Sole Proprietorship</li> <li>Limited Liability Company (LLC)</li> <li>Limited Liability Partnership (LLP)</li> <li>Accredited institution of higher learning (college, university)</li> </ul>			
ier's Use	App \$50 905 Regis \$850/\$1260 905 CRF \$126/\$63 583	App \$50 905 Add'l \$420.00 905			

BCF

Srvc Fee \$25

Corporation:	a.	List names and mailing addresses of all persons who own 5% or more of the corporate stock:
	b.	Submit a "Certificate of Good Standing" issued by the Business Registration Division, Dept. of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, 335 Merchant Street, 2nd Floor, Honolulu, Hawaii, Phone: 586-2727. A "file-stamped" copy by the Business Registration Division of the Articles of Incorporation dated within the last 6 months may be submitted for the "Certificate of Good Standing".
Partnership:	a.	List names and mailing addresses of each partner:
	b.	Submit a "Certificate of Good Standing" issued by the Business Registration Division (see item 9 corporation b).
Sole Proprietor:	List	name and mailing address:
LLC:	 a.	List names and mailing addresses of each partner:
	b.	Submit a "Certificate of Good Standing" issued by the Business Registration Division (see item 9 corporation b).
LLP:	а.	List names and mailing addresses of each partner:

b. Submit a "Certificate of Good Standing" issued by the Business Registration Division (see item 9 corporation b). 11. List Certified Instructors (if certification is pending, attach copy of Instructor Application):

Instructor	Certification
L	

# ITEM NUMBERS 12 - 16 REFER TO ONLINE/ INDEPENDENT STUDY (SELF-PACED) COURSES.

12. Whom does the student contact and how do they contact this person when they need help and clarification?

- 13. Course and instructor evaluation: Provide the evaluation form you will use for student evaluation of the course and instructor. (Note: the ARELLO Distance Education Course Evaluation Form is attached as a guide to assist you in formulating your evaluation form.)
- 14. Submit a copy of a complete syllabus or student manual in written form for Live/LiveRemote Offering. Information about admission, progression, completion criteria, dismissal, and any applicable licensing requirements must be included. For Online/ Independent study offerings, submit a copy of the online course via thumb drive or screenshots of online course.
- 15. Submit copies of the following forms:
  - a) Obtain from each student the following certification statement:
  - "I certify that I have personally completed each assigned module of instruction."

Date

Student's Signature

- b) Certificate to be signed and dated by the instructor stating the student has:
  - 1) Completed all instructional modules required to demonstrate mastery of the material, and
  - 2) Passed the final examination.
- 16. Explain how you will provide oversight of the student's work to insure that the student who completes the work is the student who is enrolled in the course. This would include a clear policy regarding any form of cheating or misrepresenting student identity.

CHECK ANSWER TO ALL QUESTIONS. An unanswered question is an incomplete application. Questions refer to all of the following: the applicant (entity), partner, officer, director of a corporation and to the principal of the school.

a.	1)	Have you ever applied for, been granted, or held a real estate license i other state?	in Hawaii	or any
		If yes, what state, license type, and license number?		
	2)	Has an application for license or a real estate license ever been den fined, involuntarily terminated, revoked, or otherwise subject to disciplina		
	3)	Have any complaints or charges ever been filed against you, regardless the licensing agency of any state?	of outcon	ne, with
	4)	Have any charges of unlicensed activity ever been filed against you outcome, with the licensing agency of any state?	u, regard	lless of
	5)	Are there any pending disciplinary actions against you?	YES	NO
b.		the past 20 years have you ever been convicted of any misdemeanors an here has not been an order annulling or expunging the conviction?	d/or felor	nies
C.		ere any pending lawsuits, unpaid judgments, outstanding tax obligatior involuntary liens against you?	ns, or an YES	y other
d.	Are you	LESS than 18 years of age?	YES	NO
e.	Are you	an alien without authorization to work in the United States?	YES	NO
For questions a.2), a.3), a.4), a.5), b, c, d, e above, explain all "Yes" responses on a separate sheet with				eet with

For questions a.2), a.3), a.4), a.5), b, c, d, e above, explain all "Yes" responses on a separate sheet with detailed information and submit supporting documents (see next page for required documents). Any "Yes" answers to the questions will require review by the Real Estate Commission before a decision is made regarding registration.

## **CERTIFICATION OF APPLICANT:**

I hereby certify that the statements and answers on this application and accompanying document(s) are true and correct. I understand that any statement false or untrue, or any material misstatement of fact shall constitute grounds for refusal or subsequent revocation.

Signature of officer/partner/sole proprietor

Print Name and Title

# A. The following documents must be submitted with the registration application. Applications will not be considered without this material.

## Question a.1)

If you have applied for, been granted, or held a real estate license in Hawaii or any other jurisdiction, list the jurisdiction, license type, and license number in the space provided. Attach a separate page if more space is required.

## Questions a.2), a.3), a.4), and a.5)

These questions refer to complaints, charges of unlicensed activity, or pending disciplinary actions for any profession, occupation, or license, both real estate and those other than real estate. If your answer is "yes" to one or more of these questions, read paragraph B below, and you must submit the following

- i. A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances;
- ii. Copies of any documents from the agency, including final orders, petitions, complaints, findings of fact and conclusions of law, and any other relevant documents;
- iii. A resume of any employment, business activities, and education since the date of the action; and
- iv. You may also include statements from employers, business associates, clients, and others who can attest to your reputation for or record of competency, honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair dealing.

## Question b)

If your application indicates a criminal conviction, read paragraph B below, and you must submit the following:

- i. A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances leading to the conviction and detailing all activities since the conviction, including employment and business involvements. Include job title, period of employment, employer's name, description of duties, training attended, and educational courses attended;
- ii. A copy of the court order, verdict, and terms of sentence; written proof of completion and/or compliance with applicable terms of sentence, e.g., payment of fine(s) or restitution;
- iii. If applicable, a copy of the terms of probation and/or parole and a statement from your probation or parole officer as to your reputation for or record of competency, honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair dealing; and
- iv Signed statements from employers, business associates, clients, and others who can attest to your business dealings since the conviction, including a statement as to your reputation for or record of competency, honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair dealing.

#### Question c)

If you have any pending lawsuits, unpaid judgments, outstanding tax obligation, or any other type of involuntary liens against you, read paragraph B below, and you must submit the following:

- i. A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances and current status, and if no payment or payment arrangement has been made, the reason;
- ii. A resume of employment and business activities; and
- iii. Copies of the court complaint, judgment, documentation of payment arrangements, lien documents, records of any payments, and other relevant documents.
- B. If your answer to questions a.2), a.3), a.4), a.5), b., or c. is "Yes", your application will be reviewed at a monthly Real Estate Commission meeting if you have provided all applicable information and documents as described above. The Commission will not review incomplete applications. If you wish to present oral testimony at the meeting, submit a written request with your application. A courtesy notice with information on the date, time, and location of the meeting will be sent to you.