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Renew Your License by November 30
About two-thirds of Hawaii’s licensed real estate 
salespersons and brokers are members of a local 
Board of REALTORS®.  What this means is there is of-
ten CONFUSION in the minds of these licensees as far 
as the difference between their real estate LICENSE 
and their Board of REALTORS® membership. Your 
real estate license is what allows a licensee to engage 
in real estate activity in Hawaii. Both the real estate 
license and the board membership must be paid for 
and renewed. Both have continuing education re-
quirements. The information that follows is pertinent 
to your real estate LICENSE.

The license renewal deadline is November 30, 2022.  By this date, please complete the continuing education require-
ment of 20 hours which includes Parts A and B of the 2021-2022 mandatory core course, 3 credits each, and 14 hours 
of elective continuing education courses.  Part A 2021-2022 Core Course “Fair Play in Fair Housing:  It’s Not a Game, 
It’s the Law” is available and has been available since July 2021. Part B 2021-2022 Core Course “Ditch the ‘Mis’ in 
Misrepresentation” will be available July 2022. BOTH parts A and B of the core course must be completed in order 
to receive credit for completing the core course requirement.

Any licensee who fails to complete the 20-hour continuing education requirement prior to submitting their renewal 
application will be renewed on inactive status come January 1, 2023.  An inactive licensee may not engage in any real 
estate activity or receive compensation.

ONLINE license renewals will commence in October 2022. Please access your MyPVL account for the latest renewal 
information. If you answer “yes” to any of the questions on the renewal application you must file a hardcopy re-
newal application. You may not renew online.

SALESPERSONS LICENSED IN 2022:  You are not required to complete the continuing education requirement in 
order to renew your license by the November 30 deadline. THIS DOES NOT APPLY TO BROKERS LICENSED in 
2022. Brokers receiving their license in 2022 must complete the 20-hour continuing education requirement.

Any questions or concerns please contact the Real Estate Branch at (808) 586-2643, or visit our website at www.
hawaii.gov/hirec

YOUR MYPVL ACCOUNT LINK:  https://mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov
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Did You Know?...
License renewal dependencies you should be aware of:

Successful renewal of a real estate salesperson’s license is dependent on the renewal of the real estate brokerage/
entity, and its principal broker or sole proprietor, whichever is applicable.

Successful renewal of a real estate broker’s license is dependent on the renewal of the real estate brokerage/entity. 
This applies to the licenses of the principal broker, the broker(s)-in-charge, and real estate broker-salespersons as-
sociated with the renewing brokerage/entity.

https://mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov
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Your License and Continuing Education for Renewal
The new Education System is STILL being tweaked by the system developer. Please continue to notify the Real Estate Branch 
if you come across any anomalies during the use of the Education System. The issues below are now corrected.

1. CE Providers are now able to add attendees who took 
the same course 2 biennia ago for CE credit. Note: Ha-
waii Administrative Rules, Section 16-99-95 states, 
“. . . a licensee shall not take a continuing education 
course for which the licensee has already received a 
certifi-cate within two consecutive biennia.”

2. If a licensee upgrades from RS to RB, the CE history is 
now being reflected under the new RB license number.

The Education System is also working on other issues af-
fecting CE Providers and Prelicense Schools, and the is-
sues below are directly relevant to licensees. 

1. The CE Providers’ view of licensee’s CE data in the CE
Portal and the student’s view in their MyPVL account
does not reflect the Education System database. The
Education system shows make-ups, course type, # of
credits, all of which should also be in the CE Provider
and licensee views.

2. The verbiage on the course certificate is incorrect. It says use if reactivating your license after 10/31/20 when it should
be 12/31/20.

3. PB’s are unable to view their associated licensee’s CE History.

Pandemic Protocols
With the lifting of Governor Ige’s Emergency Proclamation as of 11:59 p.m. March 25, 2022, the DCCA will no longer require 
proof of vaccination or negative Covid-19 testing upon entering the building. Indoor mask-wearing is also not required, 
however, visitors are encouraged to continue to wear a mask if dealing with groups or interacting within close quarters to 
others.

The monthly Real Estate Commission committee meetings will continue to be integrated into the agenda for the monthly 
Real Estate Commission meetings, usually the last Friday of each month. Meetings will also continue to be offered 
virtually via Zoom until further notice.

Continuing education classes continue to be offered either live or remote-live, or online. The same applies to prelicense 
courses offered by prelicense schools.

The renewal deadline remains November 30, 2022, with licenses expiring December 31, 2022. 
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The Chair’s Message
Aloha Real Estate Licensees:

My eight-year term as a Commissioner expires next month and it has truly been a wonderful experience to serve on the Hawaii Real 
Estate Commission (“HIREC”).

I wish to recognize the HIREC’s remarkable staff, led by Neil Fujitani (Supervising Executive 
Officer).  The volume and variety of tasks to efficiently run this distinctive office is staggering 
and they do it well.  Commissioners are temporary, staff is the stable constant.

It has been a pleasure to know and work with my fellow Commissioners, all tops in their field 
who volunteer their valuable time and expertise to make a positive difference for the real 
estate industry.  Their cooperative and professional spirit has been truly appreciated.

Lastly, it’s been my genuine honor and privilege to serve and give back to a profession that 
has provided so much for me and my family over the past 45 years.  This was my intent in 
becoming a Commissioner and I tried my best to fulfill it.

My sincere best wishes to all for great success in your real estate endeavors.

Mahalo!

Michael Pang, Chair
Hawaii Real Estate Commission

The Change Form
“CHANGE PRINCIPAL BROKER”
Changing a brokerage’s principal broker happens often. This change must be reported to the Commission by submitting the Change 
Form, THREE of them, if applicable, within 10 days of the change. The 10 day timeframe is specified in Hawaii Administrative Rules, § 
16-99-5 Notification and filing of names, addresses, and changes.

Clear instructions are included in the Change Form. However, licensees still appear to be confused when completing this action. The 
submissions are oftentimes incomplete, signatures are missing, dates of release and hire are missing, a Change Form is not submitted for 
one of the parties involved (the old principal broker, the new principal broker, or the brokerage/entity), or signatures are not wet/original 
signatures.

The “Change Principal Broker” action will be separated into its own Change Form in the very near future. Hopefully, this will make this 
reporting easier with fewer mistakes and omissions.

Remember: Both the old and new principal brokers need their own Change Form. The brokerage entity needs its own Change Form.  
That’s three Change Forms which need to be completed and submitted with ORIGINAL/WET SIGNATURES.

The departing principal broker must fill out Section A, sign Section B, and RELEASE himself/herself in Section C of the Change Form. If 
associating with a different brokerage, the principal broker of the new brokerage must sign the departing principal broker on in Section D 
of the departing principal broker’s Change Form.

The new principal broker must fill out Section A, sign Section B, and have his current principal broker RELEASE him/her in Section C.  
The new principal broker will also sign Section D of his/her Change Form, signing himself/herself on as the new principal broker. 
The brokerage that is changing principal brokers needs its own Change Form. Sections A and B should be completed/signed by the 
departing PB. The departing PB should release himself/herself in Section C, and the new principal broker signs Section D as the new 
principal broker.

And, don’t forget to include the Entity Resolution with the Change Forms. There is a $10 fee for Change Principal Broker action.



Administrative Actions

CAMELLIA YOUNG
RS 60206

Case No. REC 2021-88-L

Dated 1/28/22

	

January 2022
RICO ALLEGATIONS:
On June 9, 2021, the Honorable James H. Ashford, 
Circuit Court Judge of the First circuit, State of 
Hawaii, entered a Final Judgment in Favor of Dr. 
Long Thanh Nguyen and against Respondent in 
a civil lawsuit for breach of fiduciary duty and 
money damages in a dispute over Respondent’s 
purchase of a unit at “The Collection” condo-
minium development at 600 Ala Moana Boule-
vard, which Mr. Nguyen had asked Respondent 
for help in purchasing.

Respondent did not report the entry of that Final 
Judgment to the Commission, in writing, within 
thirty days.

Respondent has fully cooperated with RICO’s in-
vestigation into this matter.

Any licensing claims against Respondent’s as-
sociated real estate brokerage firm and principal 
broker will be handled through other means, as 
appropriate.

Violations: 
HRS § 436B-16, HRS § 467-14(13), HRS § 467-14(20), 
and HAR § 16-99-3(b)

Sanctions: 
Fine of $4,000.00
Education Course(s) – As soon as possible, and at 
Respondent’s own expense, Respondent shall enroll 
in and successfully complete an education course or 
courses to be determined by the Commission. The 
education course or courses shall be in addition to 
and shall not take the place of nor be counted to-
ward, any continuing education requirement(s) un-
der HRS Chapter 467 and/or HAR Title 16, Chapter 
99.
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WARD L. SOTO
RB 22593

Case No. REC 2021-352-L

Dated 2/25/22

	

RICO ALLEGATIONS:
On or about October 5, 2005, Respondent was 
convicted of Driving Under the Influence by Im-
pairment (hereinafter “DUI”).

On Respondent’s initial application for his real 
estate broker’s license which was dated on or 
about May 14, 2018, Respondent answered “no” 
to question 2 which asked, “During the past 20 
years have you ever been convicted of a crime 
where there has not been an order annulling or 
expunging the conviction?”

Violations: 
HRS § 436B-19(2), HRS § 436B-19(5), HRS § 436B-
19(12), HRS § 436B-19(14), HRS § 436B-19(17), and 
HRS § 467-20

Sanctions: 
Fine of $1,000.00

February 2022

JENNIFER H. L. RANDALL
RB 77166

Case No. REC 2020-316-L

Dated 3/24/22

	

RICO ALLEGATIONS:
On or about July 9, 2020, in the District court 
of the Second Circuit, State of Hawaii, Respon-
dent pleaded guilty to and was convicted of the 
criminal offense of Operating a Vehicle Under the 
Influence of an Intoxicant, in violation of HRS § 
291E-61(a)(1).

Violations: 
HRS § 436B-19(12), HRS § 436B-19(14) and HRS § 
436B-19(17).

Sanctions: 
Fine of $500.00

March 2022
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Settlement Agreement (Allegations/Sanction):  A Settlement Agreement may or may not include an admission that the Re-
spondent violated licensing laws and/or rules on a case-by-case basis.

Disciplinary Action (Factual Findings/Order):  The respondent is found to have violated the specific laws and rules cited, 
and the Commission approves the recommended order of the Hearings Officer.

HRS §436B-16		  Notice of judgments, penalties

HRS §436B-19(2)	 Engaging in false, fraudulent, or deceptive advertising, or making untruthful or improbable statements.

HRS §436B-19(5)	 Procuring a license through fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit.

HRS §436B-19(12)	 Failure to comply, observe, or adhere to any law in a manner such that the licensing authority 
			   deems the applicant or holder to be an unfit or improper person to hold a license.

HRS §436B-19(14)	 Criminal conviction, whether by nolo contendere or otherwise, of a penal crime directly related to 
			   the qualifications, functions, or duties of the licensed profession or vocation.

HRS §436B-19(17)	 Violating this chapter, the applicable licensing laws, or any rule or order of the licensing authority.

HRS §467-14(13)	 Violating this chapter, chapters 484, 514B, 514E, or 515, or section 516-71, or the rules adopted 
			   pursuant thereto.

HRS §467-14(20)	 Failure to maintain a reputation for or record of competency, honesty, truthfulness, financial 
			   integrity, and fair dealing.

HRS §467-20		  False statement.

HAR §16-99-3(b)	 The licensee shall protect the public against fraud, misrepresentation, or unethical practices in the 
			   real estate field.  The licensee shall endeavor to eliminate any practices in the community which 
			   could be damaging to the public or to the dignity and integrity of the real estate profession.  The 
			   licensee shall assist the commission in its efforts to regulate the practices of brokers and salespersons 
			   in this State.

Statutory/Rule Violations
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Continuing Education Courses for Credit
It’s renewal year and before you start lining up your continuing education courses to complete to renew your real estate 
license current and active for the 2023-2024 biennium, please heed the following: 

1.	 Select continuing education courses from the Commission’s website, www.hawaii.gov/hirec, go to the continuing educa-
tion link and click “Download All Future Courses” to view the courses currently on offer. All of the listed courses have 
been approved by the Commission and when completed will earn Hawaii licensees continuing education credit.

2.	 DO NOT register for a continuing education course listed on any other website except the Commissions website. No 
other website will display the currently offered continuing education courses that are Hawaii-approved and offered by 
Hawaii-approved continuing education providers. 

THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® (NAR) IS NOT A HAWAII-APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION 
PROVIDER. This may seem incongruous to many Hawaii real estate licensees but the NAR has never been a Hawaii Real 
Estate Commission-approved continuing education provider.  The Hawaii Association of REALTORS® (HAR) may offer NAR-
approved continuing education courses with NAR authorization. In turn, the different local Boards of REALTORS® may also 
piggy-back with HAR on offering NAR-approved courses. HAR and the local Boards of REALTORS® are all Commission-
approved continuing education providers. The courses offered by HAR and the local Boards have all been approved by the 
Commission. The completion of these courses will result in continuing education credit to the licensee.

Other websites may offer the same continuing education course listed on the Commission’s website, BUT ONLY REGIS-
TER FOR THE COURSE THAT IS OFFERED BY THE HAWAII-APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDER AS 
LISTED IN THE COMMISSION’S WEBSITE.

There have been incidents where a Hawaii real estate licensee registered for and completed a continuing education course 
and belatedly found out that the course completion could not be attributed to the licensee, and therefore not count towards 
fulfilling the 20-hour Hawaii continuing education requirement for license renewal. For the licensee, this is a lot of wasted 
time and money.

http://www.hawaii.gov/hirec


Abe Lee Seminars				   808-942-4472
American Dream Real Estate School, LLC	 844-223-7326
At Your Pace Online, LLC			   877-724-6150
The Berman Education Company, LLC	 808-572-0853
Building Industry Association of Hawaii	 808-629-7505
Carol Ball School of Real Estate		  808-280-0470
The CE Shop, LLC.			   888-827-0777
CMPS Institute, LLC			   88-608-9800
Coldwell Banker Pacific Properties 		  808-748-3410
     Real Estate School	
Continuing Ed Express, LLC 		  866-415-8521
Dexterity CE, LLC			   512-893-6679
Eddie Flores Real Estate Continuing Education	 808-223-6301
ExceedCE				    415-885-0307
Finance of America Reverse		  330-807-8948
Franklin Energy Services, LLC		  866-735-1432
Hawaii Association of Realtors		  808-733-7060
Hawaii Business Training			   808-250-2384
Hawaii CCIM Chapter			   808-528-2246
Hawaii First Realty, LLC			   808-282-8051
Hawaii Island Realtors			   808-935-0827

Honolulu Board of Realtors		  808-732-3000
International Association of Certified Home 	 720-735-7125
     Inspectors (InterNACHI)
Kauai Board of Realtors 			   808-245-4049
Luxury Home Council, Inc.		  541-530-0484
Mbition Learn Real Estate			   800-532-7649
McKissock, LLC 				    800-328-2008
Preferred Systems, Inc.			   814-456-0406
Ralph Foulger’s School of Real Estate	 808-239-8881
Real Estate School Hawaii			   808-551-6961
Realtors’ Association of Maui, Inc.		  808-873-8585
REMI School of Real Estate 		  808-230-8200
Residential Real Estate Council		  800-462-8841, ext. 4440
Scott Alan Bly School of Real Estate, LLC 	 808-738-8818
     dba Bly School of Real Estate 
Servpro Industries, LLC			   615-451-0200
Shari Motooka-Higa			   808-492-7820
Systems Effect LLC, dba Training Cove	 480-517-1000
WebCE Inc.				    877-488-9308
West Hawaii Association of Realtors		 808-329-4874

Abe Lee Seminars				   808-942-4472
American Dream Real Estate School, LLC	 844-223-7326
American School of Real Estate Express LLC	 866-739-7277
Carol Ball School of Real Estate		  808-280-0470
The CE Shop, LLC			   888-827-0777
Coldwell Banker Pacific Properties 		  808-748-3410
     Real Estate School			 
Continuing Ed Express, LLC		  866-415-8521
Diamond Resorts Real Estate Academy – 	 480-628-9053
     Hawaii, LLC			 
Excellence in Education			   808-212-4861
     dba Maui Real Estate School				  
Hawaii Institute of Real Estate		  808-342-4061
Inet Realty				    808-955-7653
Maui Real Estate Academy, LLC		  808-633-5737
     dba Hawaii Real Estate Academy
Mayfield Real Estate, Inc., 			   573-756-0077
     dba Global Real Estate School		
Mbition Learn Real Estate			   800-532-7649
Premier Real Estate LLC, 			   808-393-9966
     dba Premier Real Estate Academy
Ralph Foulger’s School of Real Estate	 808-239-8881
Real Estate School Hawaii			   808-551-6961
REMI School of Real Estate			  808-230-8200
Scott Alan Bly School of Real Estate, LLC	 808-738-8818
     dba Bly School of Real Estate
Seiler School of Real Estate			  808-874-3100
Vitousek Real Estate Schools, Inc.		  808-946-0505

State of Hawaii Real Estate Commission
© HAWAII REAL ESTATE COMMISSION BULLETIN, May 2022 copyright 
Hawaii Real Estate Commission.  All rights reserved.  This Bulletin, or any 
part thereof, may not be reproduced without the written permission of the 
Hawaii Real Estate Commission, except permission is granted to licensed 
Hawaii real estate brokerages to reproduce and distribute copies of this 
publication, in its entirety, but not for profit, as an education service.  Fur-
thermore, if any portion of this publication is emphasized or highlighted, 
then the disclosure “Emphasis added” shall be annotated to the reproduc-
tion.  This publication is intended to provide general information and is not a 
substitute for obtaining legal advice or other or other competent professional 
assistance to address specific circumstances.  The information contained in 
the Bulletin is made pursuant to Hawaii Administrative Rules section 16-201-
92 and is not an official or binding interpretation, opinion or decision of the 
Hawaii Real Estate Commission or the Department of Commerce and Con-
sumer Affairs.  The Hawaii Real Estate Commission Bulletin is funded by the 
Real Estate Education Fund, Real Estate Commission, Professional and Voca-
tional Licensing Division, Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs.

This material may be made available to individuals with special needs.  
Please call the Senior Real Estate Specialist at 808-586-2643 to submit your 
request.

Prelicense Schools

Continuing Education Providers
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Laws & Rules Review Committee – 9:00 a.m.

Condominium Review Committee – Upon adjournment of the Laws & Rules 
Review Committee Meeting

Education Review Committee – Upon adjournment of the Condominium 
Review Committee Meeting

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

Real Estate Commission – 9:00 a.m.

Friday, April 22, 2022

Friday, May 27, 2022

Friday, June 24, 2022

Friday, July 22, 2022

Friday, August 26, 2022

Friday, September 23, 2022

Friday, October 21, 2022

Friday, November 18, 2022

Friday, December 16, 2022

*Pursuant to the ongoing COVID-19 situation, committee meetings for the foreseeable future are canceled.  Any issues needing 
Commission approval will be reviewed at the regularly scheduled Commission meeting.  Thank you for your understanding.

Meeting dates and times are subject to change without notice.  Please visit the Commission’s website at www.hawaii.gov/hirec 
or call the Real Estate Commission Office at (808) 586-2643 to confirm the dates and times of the meetings.  This material can be 
made available to individuals with special needs.  Please contact the executive officer at (808) 586-2643 to submit your request.  

2022 Real Estate Commission Meeting Schedule

http://www.hawaii.gov/hirec



