CONTINUING EDUCATION EQUIVALENCY – REAL ESTATE Instructions and Information

Access this form via web site at www.hawaii.gov/hirec

- WHO MAY FILE Hawaii-licensed real estate brokers and salespersons who hold a current, unencumbered real estate license in another state, or who hold a current, unencumbered real estate license in a jurisdiction recognized by the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO), intending to renew their Hawaii license and desire an equivalency of the ELECTIVE COURSE HOURS of the continuing education requirement. The equivalency shall be based on the successful completion of the continuing education requirements of the other state or jurisdiction prior to submission of the renewal application. Applicants shall file a complete application prior to submitting an application for license renewal.
- **PURPOSE** State law requires that a real estate broker or salesperson licensee complete twenty (20) hours of continuing education or its equivalent during the two-year period preceding the licensee's application for renewal of a license on "active" status. The continuing education equivalency is subject to the review and approval of the Real Estate Commission and shall be secured prior to submission of a renewal application.

Approval of the equivalency shall be subject to the **real estate licensee completing the commissiondesignated core course** (§467-11.5(d), Hawaii Revised Statutes) before 11/30/2020. If core courses are not completed before 11/30/2020, the equivalency will be voided and the licensee shall provide the Commission with proof of having completed at least 20 hours of continuing education courses from a Commission approved CE provider.

- **APPLICATION FORM** Complete the entire application form by typing or printing legibly in black ink. Complete Part I of the attached Verification of License form and send the form to your state's real estate licensing agency. Have the agency return the form to you. Verification of License form must be completed and issued by the out-of-state agency not more than six (6) months prior to the submission of the application form. Submit the completed and signed application form, the completed Verification of License form, and a NONREFUNDABLE application fee of \$25.00 payable to COMMERCE & CONSUMER AFFAIRS. Submit originals only faxed or photocopied forms will not be accepted. An application without the required documents is considered an incomplete application subject to termination and denial.
 - Note: One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for acceptance and processing of the application is the payment of fees as set forth in this application. You may be sent a notice of approval before the check you sent us for your required fees is honored by your bank. If your payment is dishonored, you will have failed to pay the required fee and your approval will not be valid. Also, a \$25.00 service charge shall be assessed for payments that are dishonored for any reason.

If for any reason you are denied approval, you may be entitled to a hearing as provided by Title 16, Chapter 201, Hawaii Administrative Rules, and/or Chapter 91, Hawaii Revised Statutes. Your written request for a hearing must be directed to the agency that denied your application, and must be made within 60 days of notification that your application for a continuing education equivalency has been denied.

FILING DEADLINE Submit your application, including completed Verification of License form and fee, by **November 30, 2020** (renewal application deadline), to ensure that you will receive notification of approval prior to the expiration of your real estate license on December 31, 2020. Applications received after November 30, 2020, may not be processed in time to allow for license renewal with an equivalency for the elective course hours.

Since all real estate licenses expire on December 31, 2020, applications will not be accepted if postmarked after December 31, 2020. It is the responsibility of the applicant to file a compete application in sufficient time to be granted and receive a continuing education equivalency prior to renewing the Hawaii license on active status.

ADDRESS TO FILE	Mail the complete application to:	or	Deliver the complete application to:
APPLICATION	DCCA, PVL, Licensing Branch		335 Merchant Street, Room 301
	CE Equivalency		Honolulu, HI 96813
	P. O. Box 3469		Telephone: (808) 586-3000
	Honolulu, HI 96801		

APPLICATION FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION EQUIVALENCY - REAL ESTATE Read the attached instructions before completing form.			APPROVED	Initials/date:	
filing. Complete and submit with the	irements, forms and fees in effect at time of \$25 non-refundable application fee. nd PHOTOCOPY will no be accepted.	SE ONLY	DENIED	Biennium	Cert. Sent
Legal Name (LAST)	(First-Middle)	FOR BOARD USE ONLY		·	
Mailing Address (include apt. no., c	ity, state & zip code)	5			
Email					
Phone No. (days):	Date of Birth:	Hav	waii License Number:		
		Sal	lesperson: RS		
		Bro	ker: RB		
 Please answer the following: Do you have a real estate l Law Officials (ARELLO) oth 	icense in another state or jurisdiction recognize er than Hawaii?	d by the As	sociation of Rea	l Estate License	YES NO
If YES, please provide th	e state or jurisdiction, license type, license num	ber, and ans	swer questions (a) and (b):	
State or jurisd	iction:				
License Type					
License Numb	per:				
(a) Is the real estate licer attached to the licer	nse current and unencumbered (no conditions on not a conditions of the second	or disciplina	ry actions		YES NO
(b) Have you successfull jurisdiction?	y completed the continuing education requiren	nent of the	other state or		YES NO

CERTIFICATION OF APPLICANT

I understand that it is my responsibility to read the instructions thoroughly and to file a complete application, including required documents and fees.

I hereby certify that the information provided on this application and the documents attached are true and correct. understand that misrepresentation is grounds for refusal or subsequent revocation (§710-1017, Hawaii Revised Statutes), and may result in denial of this application or revocation of license. I understand that it is unlawful to file with the Real Estate Commission any document which is false or untrue or contains any material misstatement of fact, or contains forgery. (§467-20, Hawaii Revised Statutes).

Date

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please
call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.

Signature of Applicant