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County Codes.
The building permit process. In the simplest of terms, building codes exist to ensure buildings meet minimum

safety and structural standards. Building permits are the way counties and local municipalities ensure buildings

are being constructed “to code.” Most homeowners may not give permitting or building codes much thought until

an event like a fire or natural disaster occurs. Making sure a structure meets minimum construction standards can
be the best way to avoid fire, structural failure, or a child from slipping through balcony railings that are too wide.
When is a building permit required? Each county has its own rules about when a building permit is required.

Certain areas, like steep slopes, and certain conditions, like flood zones, may have additional permitting require-
Owner-Builder Permits

ments.
(1,3)
The Chair's Message State Law.
2.3)
Real Estate Commission Licensing law requirements. In the State of Hawaii, a contractor’s license is required for any project where the
Informational Notice labor and materials is over $1,000 and for any project that requires a building permit (regardless of the cost of labor
(4-9) and materials). If the project involves electrical work, a homeowner may also need to hire a licensed electrician. If
Administrative Actions the project involves plumbing, a homeowner may also need to hire a licensed plumber.
(6-9)
New Commissioners Typically, during the permitting process, an applicant for a building permit must identify the building, electrical,
(10) or plumbing contractor who will be responsible for work on the project.
Duplicate CE Hours
(10) What is an owner-builder? Most homeowners let their contractors handle the permit process. However, the law
also allows homeowners who do the work themselves to obtain their own permits. A permit obtained by a home-
Property Management Fees
Subject to GET May owner who is responsible for the work on the project is sometimes referred to as an “owner-builder” permit. A
Not Be Divided homeowner with an “owner-builder” permit is treated as the general contractor for the project and, as such, is
(10) responsible for ensuring the project meets county building codes, and complies with the permitting process, in-

Prelicense Schools/ cluding having the project inspected by a county building inspector.

Continuing
Education Providers In addition to following county requirements, a homeowner with an owner-builder permit must also comply
(n with state laws, including contracting, employment, and tax laws. Under State law, the owner-builder must super-
Real Estate Commission vise the construction, is responsible for ensuring any subcontractors working on the project are properly licensed,
Meeting Schedule and is responsible for ensuring work safety standards are met. He or she is also responsible for ensuring the proj-

(12) ect passes building codes and building inspections, and that the project complies with employment and tax laws

for any persons working on project who are not licensed. (For a complete list of requirements, homeowners are
encouraged to carefully read Hawaii Revised Statutes chapter 444 and any other laws or rules relating to owner-

builders in Hawaii.)

(cont. page 3)
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The Chair’s Message

Aloha Real Estate Licensees:

I have been licensed since 1977 and an active real estate professional for 40 years. However, until I became

a real estate commissioner four years ago, [ knew very little about the Hawaii Real Estate Commission
(“HIREC”) and as I have learned, this is all too common among licensees. So, as the new Chair of the HIREC,
I would like to devote my first Chair’s Message to some information on the structure, function and workings
of the HIREC.

The HIREC is responsible for the licensure, education and discipline of real estate licensees; registration of

prelicense schools, continuing education providers, condominium projects, condominium associations, con-

dominium managing agents, and condominium hotel operators; and certification of prelicense and continu-

ing education courses, as well as prelicense instructors.

To carry this out, the HIREC is authorized to: grant licenses to real estate salespersons and brokers; make specific rules to regulate the
professional conduct of salespersons and brokers; inspect client trust funds; suspend or revoke licenses; issue certificates of registration to
prelicense schools and continuing education providers; certify prelicense instructors; fine licensees for violations of the license laws and
rules; and register condominiuns, condominium hotel operators and condominium managing agents (if not broker-exempt). In addition
the HIREC is responsible to administer the real estate recovery fund, real estate education fund, and the condominium education trust
fund.

The fundamental mission-objective of the HIREC, that permeates everything it does, is consumer protection, which each Commissioner

swears to uphold and, in my experience, takes very seriously.

There are nine Commissioners who serve on the HIREC. Commissioners are nominated by the Governor, confirmed by the Senate and
serve four-year terms. Each can serve a second four-year term by the same nomination-and-confirmation process, before reaching the

maximum two-term limit. Each four-year term begins July 1st and ends June 30th four years later.

By statute, at least four of the Commissioners must be licensed real estate brokers, two must be public members, four must be from Oahu

and one each must be from Maui, Kauai and the Big Island. Commissioners serve as volunteers and are not compensated.

As of June 30, 2018, the terms of Commissioners Nikki Senter (HIREC Chair, public member) and Rowena Cobb (Education Review Com-
mittee Chair, Kauai real estate broker) ended. Both were most-valuable members of the Commission who freely contributed expertise
and many hours of dedicated service over their eight years as Commissioners. They each deserve much praise and gratitude for their

esteemed service. “Ro” and Nikki leave large shoes to fill.

As of July 1, 2018, I began my second four-year term and also became the new HIREC Chair. One of the duties of the HIREC Chair is to
appoint the Chairs and Vice Chairs of the three standing committees: Laws and Rules, Education Review and Condominium. Note that all

nine Commissioners serve on each Committee.
It is my pleasure to announce the nine current Commissioners and their titles:

Scott Arakaki, Public Member, HIREC Vice Chair, Laws and Rules Review Committee Chair

Laurie Lee, Oahu Broker, Condominium Review Committee Chair

Bruce Faulkner, Maui Broker, Education Review Committee Chair

Sean Ginoza, Big Island Broker, Hilo, Laws and Rules Committee Vice Chair

John Love, Public Member, Condominium Review Committee Vice Chair

Aileen Wada, Oahu Broker, Education Review Committee Vice Chair

Aleta Klein, Oahu Broker

Russell Kyono, Kauai Broker

Michael Pang, Oahu Broker, HIREC Chair (cont. page 3)



The Chair’'s Message (cont. from page 2)

The functions and work of the HIREC, its Commissioners and committees, are supported by a staff of knowledgeable and committed
employees. In reality, although the Commissioners make most of the key decisions, it is the HIREC staff who should mostly be credited
with carrying out the ongoing duties, detailed work and responsibilities entrusted to the HIREC by statute. Commissioners will come

and go, but staff remains the steadfast constant in carrying out the mission of the HIREC.

The Commissioners and HIREC staff meet twice each month, usually Committee Meetings the second Wednesday of each month and
Commission Meetings the last Friday of each month. Most meetings are held on Oahu, in the Queen Liliuokalani Conference Room in
the King Kalakaua Building (First floor, 335 Merchant Street, next to the downtown Post Office). However, once each year, Committee
Meetings are held on Kauai, Maui and the Big Island as outreach to licensees and related industries. The agenda for each meeting is

publically posted one week prior.

At the Commission Meeting on June 29, 2018, the HIREC approved its Core B continuing education (“CE”) class, which immediately

became available to approved CE providers.

Please remember that this is a license renewal year and all renewal items (including your 20 hours of CE credit) must be completed and
submitted to the HIREC no later than November 30, 2018 to continue your license uninterrupted as of January 1, 2019. Any real estate
license not renewed by the HIREC before January 1, 2019 will be deemed forfeited and any licensed activity conducted with a forfeited

license is in violation of the rules and subject to sanction by RICO (Regulated Industries Complaints Office).

It is an honor to Chair the HIREC and support its hard-working staff. I fully understand the duties, functions and responsibilities of the

position and will do my best to excel at them.

Mahalo.

Michael Pang, Chair

Owner-Builder Permits (cont. from page 1)

Hawaii law also requires owner-builders keep and maintain certain records for up to three years after project completion, including copies
of building permits and applications, copies of contracts with the names of all persons who performed work on the project, and proof of

payment to employees, subcontractors, and the like.

Restrictions on sale or lease. Hawaii’s owner-builder law is designed to give homeowners who want to be their own contractors a way
to get a permit. The law is limited to owner-occupants, therefore, when built under the owner-builder exemption, a structure can only
be used by the owner-occupant and cannot be made available to the public. A home built with an owner-builder exemption can be sold
or leased a year following the final inspection (or verifiable date of completion). An owner-builder can apply to the Contractors License

Board for a hardship exemption, such as the need to sell a property because of a divorce.

Penalties for violating State law. The fines for violating State owner-builder laws are steep — homeowners who fail to comply with owner-
builder requirements can be fined up to $5,000 or 50% of the permit value of the work to be performed, whichever is greater. Subsequent
violations could result in a $10,000 fine or 60% of the permit value of the work to be performed, whichever is greater. Homeowners who
violate the owner-builder requirements are also prohibited from applying for new owner-builder permits for three years. Real estate
licensees who aid an owner-builder in selling a property in violation of the owner-builder law may be subject to discipline by the Hawaii

Real Estate Commission.
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February 2018
REAL ESTATE COMMISSION INFORMATIONAL NOTICE

NEW LICENSE APPLICANTS, LICENSE RENEWAL AND CONTINUING EDUCATION
REQUIREMENT

All real estate licenses must be renewed by the renewal application deadline, November 30, 2018. All real
estate licenses expire at the end of each even-numbered year, regardless of the initial date of licensure.
Submission of a complete renewal application, payment of fees, and for active licensees, completion of
continuing education courses, are required by the renewal application deadline to ensure the successful renewal
of licenses before January 1, 2019. Licenses not successfully renewed will be considered forfeited as of
January 1, 2019 and the licensee will not be able to conduct real estate activity or receive compensation.

If you are renewing your license on an active status, you must fulfill the mandatory continuing education
requirement prior to submitting your renewal application. For a new salesperson licensee with a new license
issued in 2018, see below — SALESPERSON APPLICANTS and SALESPERSON LICENSEES. If you are not
able to complete the continuing education requirement, your license may be renewed on an inactive status and
you may not conduct real estate activity or receive compensation. There is a $25.00 fee to change from inactive
status to active status, in addition to completion of the continuing education requirement.

SALESPERSON APPLICANTS and SALESPERSON LICENSEES:

+ If you apply for a new salesperson license before the end of 2018, you will have to pay license fees
twice in 2018. In addition to the fees you pay for your new license, you will have to pay renewal fees to
renew your license by November 30, 2018. Fees are not prorated and basically cover the cost of
processing, reviewing, and decision on the application.

« All salesperson licensees must complete the continuing education requirement prior to the renewal
application deadline to successfully renew on an active status, unless you were issued a new
salesperson license during calendar year 2018 and renew your license by November 30, 2018. If you
were issued a new salesperson license in calendar year 2018 and renew your license by the renewal
application deadline, you will be deemed to have completed the equivalent to the continuing education
requirement and will not have to complete the continuing education requirement for this license
renewal.



* If your new salesperson license application deadline is on or after December 31, 2018 and you do not
desire to be licensed as a salesperson in 2018, and the licensing renewal application period is in
effect, you may submit your complete salesperson license application during the renewal application
period and request that your new salesperson license be effective January 1, 2019. Please call for
specific information on this procedure. The aforementioned continuing education equivalency will not
be applicable if licensed in calendar year 2019.

BROKER APPLICANTS and BROKER LICENSEES:

* All broker applicants and broker licensees must complete the continuing education requirement prior to
the renewal application deadline in order to successfully renew their salesperson or broker license on
an active status.

» If your broker license application deadline is on or after December 31, 2018, and you do not desire to
be licensed as a broker in 2018, and you received the renewal application for your salesperson
license, you may submit your complete broker license application during the renewal application period
(must be received by November 30, 2018) and request that your salesperson license not be renewed
and the new broker license be effective January 1, 2019. This procedure does not excuse completion
of continuing education requirements for active licensees. Please call for specific information on this
procedure.

For more information, please contact our office at 586-2643, or visit our website at www.hawaii.gov/hirec.

THE LAW DOES NOT PROVIDE FOR: PRORATION OF FEES OR REFUND OR
CREDIT OF FEES PAID; EXTENSION OF TIME TO APPLY FOR LICENSE;
EXTENSION OF TIME TO RENEW A LICENSE.

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Senior Real Estate
Specialist at 586-2643 to submit your request.



Administrative Actions

NOTE: CORRECTION: A Settlement Agreement Prior to Filing of Petition for Disciplinary Action and Commission’s Final Order ap-
proved on March 23, 2018 and filed on March 27, 2018 contained errors about convictions relating to Michael B. Reece, formerly known
as Michael Petersen. Mr. Reece did not have convictions for Criminal Trespass 1 or Contempt of Court.

CORRECTION: In the matter of Scott A. Sherley and Penny T. Sherley, Case Nos. REC-2016-21-L, REC 2016-86-L, and REC 2016-227-L,
dated 1/26/18, which appeared in the Administrative Actions of the May 2018 Real Estate Commission Bulletin, “Uncontested Facts”

should read “RICO Allegations.”

April 2018

ANTHONY BARTLETT
RS 66995

Case No. REC-2017-370-L

Dated 4/27/18

Uncontested Facts:

On or about February 2014, the Respondent was
convicted in the State of Hawaii of the crime of
Operating a Vehicle Under the Influence of an In-
toxicant (“OVUII”) or what is commonly referred
to in this State as a “DUI” - Driving Under the
Influence (hereafter “Conviction”). The Respon-
dent fulfilled all Court-imposed terms and con-
ditions of the Conviction, but, answered “No” to
the question on his 2014 renewal application that

asked: “In the past 2 years have you been con-
victed of a crime in which the conviction has not
been annulled or expunged?”

Violations:
HRS § 436B-19(2), HRS § 436B-19(5) and HRS §
467-20.

Sanctions:
Fine of $750.00.

PHILLIP C. BURCHETT
RS 74228

Case No. REC-2017-367-L

Dated 4/27/18

RICO Allegations:

On or about December 28, 2005, Respondent was
convicted of the offense of Operating a Vehicle
Under the Influence of an Intoxicant (“OVUII”).
The Respondent fulfilled all Court-imposed
terms and conditions of the conviction.

On Respondent’s Application for License- Real
Estate dated January 20, 2012, Respondent
answered “no” to question number 2 which
asked, “In the past 20 years have you ever been

convicted of a crime where there has not been an
order annulling or expunging the conviction?”

Violations:
HRS § 436B-19(2), HRS § 436B-19(5), HRS §
436B-19(14) and HRS § 436B-19(17).

Terms of Settlement:
Voluntary surrender of license.

JARED C. GATES
RS 65973

Case No. REC-2017-413-L

Dated 4/27/18

RICO Allegations:

RICO alleges that on or about April 19, 2005,
Respondent answered “yes” in response to the
question, “In the past 20 years have you been
convicted of a crime that has not been annulled
or expunged?” on his initial real estate salesper-
son application.

In the explanation for the affirmative answer
above, Respondent disclosed 1993 convictions
of Burglary in the Second Degree and Criminal
Property Damage in the Second Degree.

Respondent did not disclose that on or about
August 15, 1996, Respondent was criminally
convicted in the District Court of the First
Circuit, State of Hawaii, of Driving Under the
Influence of an Intoxicating Liquor.

On or about December 3, 2008, Respondent
electronically submitted a renewal application
for his real estate salesperson’s license to the
Commission.

On the renewal, Respondent answered “no” to
question 3, “In the past 2 years have you been

convicted of a crime that has not been annulled
or expunged?”

On or about February 12, 2008, in the District
Court of the Third Circuit, State of Hawaii,
the Respondent was convicted of the criminal
offense of Driving Under the Influence of an
Intoxicant.

Representations by Respondent:
Respondent represents that he has fully com-
plied with and/or successfully completed the
terms of his convictions listed above.

Respondent was not attempting to hide his
criminal convictions and the failure to disclose
this information arose from honest errors and
mistaken belief that the 1996 conviction had
been expunged from his record.

Violations:
HRS § 436B-19(2), HRS § 436B-19(5) and HRS §
467-20.

Sanctions:

Fine of $2,500.00. (cont. page 7)



Administrative Actions (cont. from page 6)

May 2018

EVAN COLE CLARKE
RS 65748

RICO Allegations:
On February 23, 2010, Respondent was convict-
ed of a petty misdemeanor for Failure to Appear

a “DUI” - driving under the influence (here-
after “Conviction”). The Respondent fulfilled
all Court-imposed terms and conditions of the

Case No. REC-2016-214-L but failed to disclose it when answering the Conviction.
license renewal question that asks for criminal
Dated 5/25/18 convictions. Violations:
HRS § 436B-19(2), HRS § 436B-19(5), HRS §
On November 5, 2015, Respondent was convict- 436B-19(14) and HRS § 436B-19(17).
ed in Hawaii of the crime of operating a vehicle
under the influence of an intoxicant (“OVUII"”) Sanctions:
or what is commonly referred to in this state as Fine of $750.00.
JODI KURAOKA also known RICO Allegations: Violations:

as CHARITY J. KURAOKA
RS 68893

Case No. REC-2018-6-L

From approximately April of 2017 through Au-
gust of 2017, Respondent engaged in unlicensed
real estate broker activities in exchange for com-
pensation when she acted as a property manager
for a neighbor’s property.

HRS § 467-14(5) and HRS § 467-14(6).

Sanctions:
Fine of $2,000.00.

Dated 5/27/18
VINH DUC TA RICO Allegations: On or about November 19, 2012, Respondent
RS 72682 RICO alleges that on or about December 1, 2009,  electronically submitted a renewal application

Case No. REC-2018-2-L.

Dated 6/29/18

Respondent answered “No” in response to the
question, “During the past 20 years have you
ever been convicted of a crime where there has
not been an order annulling or expunging the
conviction?” on his initial real estate salesperson
application.

Respondent did not disclose that on or about De-
cember 28, 2005, Respondent was criminally con-
victed in the District Court of the First Circuit,
State of Hawaii of Driving Under the Influence
of an Intoxicant (“OVUII”) or what is commonly
referred to in this state as a “DUI”- driving un-
der the influence (hereafter “DUI Conviction”).
Respondent fulfilled all Court-imposed terms
and conditions of the Conviction.

RICO alleges that on or about December 1, 2009,
Respondent answered “No” in response to the
question, “Are there any pending law suits, un-
paid judgments, outstanding tax obligations, or
any other type of involuntary liens against you?”
on his initial real estate salesperson application.

Respondent did not disclose that he had a Judg-
ment filed against him in the District Court of
the First Circuit on or about June 24, 2009.

for his real estate salesperson’s license to the
Commission.

On the renewal application, Respondent an-
swered “no” to question 3, “In the past 3 years
have you been convicted of a crime which has
not been annulled or expunged?”

On or about May 12, 2011, in the Family Court of
the Third Circuit, State of

Hawaii, the Respondent was convicted of the
criminal offense of Disorderly Conduct.

Representations by Respondent:

Respondent did not intend to hide his criminal
convictions and judgment, and the failure to
disclose this information arose from his misun-

derstanding of the questions.

Violations:
HRS § 436B-19(2), HRS § 436B-19(5) and HRS §
467-20.

Sanctions:
Fine of $1,750.00.

(cont. page 8)



Administrative Actions (cont. from page 7)

DERK M. VAN KONYNEN-
BURG and EASTDIL SE-
CURED, LLC

RB 21715

RB 18350

Case No. REC-2018-275-L.

Dated 6/29/18

Statement of Facts:

RICO received a request for investigation of
Respondents related to their business address,
1001 Bishop Street, 19th Floor, Honolulu, Hawaii
96813, which is the listed address for Wells Fargo
Adyvisors (a trade name of Wells Fargo Clearing
Services, LLC).

On July 14, 2017, RICO investigators interviewed
Thomas McCarthy, the Complex Manager for
Wells Fargo Advisors. Mr. McCarthy stated that
he has been working for Wells Fargo Advisors
for eight years at 1001 Bishop Street, 19th Floor,
Honolulu, Hawaii 96513 and the entire 19th

floor is used only by Wells Fargo Advisors. Mr.
McCarthy had never heard of Respondents and
neither Respondents had an office on the 19th
floor.

By letter dated August 1, 2017, Respondents’
attorney informed RICO, inter alia, “Dedicated
space at 1001 Bishop Street, 19th floor in Hono-
lulu will be maintained and the Eastdil license
will be prominently displayed” and “Mr. Van
Konynenburg ... periodically will be Hawaii as
well.” (sic)

On December 14, 2017, RICO investigators
conducted a site inspection of 1001 Bishop Street,
19th floor. One vacant office within Wells Fargo
Advisors had a door plate reading “Henry Cassi-
day Eastdil Secured LLC” and no display of the
brokerage firm'’s license.

By letter dated January 23, 2018, Respondents’
counsel informed RICO:

In response to your email of January 16, 2018, be
advised that since being designated as the Prin-
cipal Broker for Eastdil Secured, L.L.C. (“East-
dil”) on January 15, 2015, Mr. Van Konynenburg
travelled to, and was present in, Hawaii for
business on the following dates:

April 3, 2015- April 12, 2015

June 13, 2015 - June 21,2015

March 25, 2016 - April 3, 2016

June 19, 2016 - June 26, 2016

December, 2016 (we are still searching for exact
date of departure) - January 2, 2017

April 8, 2017 - April 15, 2017

May 10, 2017 - May 12, 2017

June 9, 2017 - June 16, 2017

In addition, Mr. Van Konynenburg will be in
Hawaii from April 24, 2018 — April 26, 2018.

Violations:
HRS § 467-12, HAR § 16-99-3(m), HAR § 16-99-
3(n), HAR § 16-99-3(0) and HAR § 16-99-6.

Sanctions:
Fine of $15,000.00.

(cont. page 9)



Administrative Actions (cont. from page 8)

CINDY L. VICOY
RS 77818

Case No. REC-2016-40-L

Dated 6/29/18

Real Estate Commission’s Proposed Final
Order for Non-Compliance with a Settlement
Agreement:

On April 21, 2017, the Real Estate Commission
(“Commission”) adopted a Settlement Agree-
ment Prior to Filing of Petition for Disciplinary
Action and Commission’s Final Order (“Settle-
ment Agreement”) in the above-referenced mat-
ter wherein Respondent agreed to:

1. Administrative Fine. Respondent shall pay an
administrative fine of FIVE HUNDRED AND.
NO0/100 DOLLARS ($500.00). The fine is due

in full within 30 days of approval or accep-

tance of this agreement by the Commission. Or
Respondent may opt to pay the fine in equal
installments of no less than $25.00, with the
first installment due within 30 days of approval
or acceptance of this agreement by the Com-
mission and each successive installment due
monthly thereafter, on or by the last calendar
day of the month, until the fine is paid in full.
If Respondent opts to pay in installments, and
an installment is not paid on time, then section
D(2)’s automatic revocation will apply as if the
Respondent failed to pay the entire fine. . ..

Under the terms of the Settlement Agreement,
Respondent’s license shall be automatically
revoked if Respondent fails to comply with the
terms of the Settlement Agreement and an attor-
ney from the Regulated Industries Complaints
Office (“RICQO”) files an affidavit with the Board
attesting to Respondent’s failure.

2. Failure to Comply with the Settlement Agree-
ment. If Respondent fails to fully and timely

comply with the terms of this Settlement
Agreement then the license shall be revoked
automatically upon RICO's filing of an affida-
vit with the Commission attesting to Respon-
dent’s failure. . .

On February 13, 2018, John Hassler, a RICO staff
attorney, filed an affidavit attesting that RICO
last received a $25 payment from Respondent

on November 2, 2017. Mr. Hassler also attested
that Respondent has failed to pay the installment
payment which was due on January 31, 2018.
RICO requested that the Commission revoke the
Respondent’s license for her failure to comply
with the terms of the Settlement Agreement.

On February 22, 2018, the Executive Officer of
the Commission sent a letter to Respondent

at her address referred to in the Settlement
Agreement, notifying her of the Commission’s
intention to consider this matter at its meet-
ing on March 23, 2018. The letter also informed
Respondent to submit a written explanation by
March 9, 2018, if she wished to contest RICO’s
affidavit. This letter was returned to sender.

On February 27, 2018, the Executive Officer of
the Commission sent a letter similar to his first
letter to Respondent at her address of record in
the Commission’s licensing data bank. This letter
was returned to sender with a label indicating a
P.O. Box address for Respondent.

On March 1, 2018, the Executive Officer of the
Commission sent a letter similar to his first letter
to Respondent at the P.O. Box address printed
on a label pasted on the Commission’s returned
letter of February 27, 2018.

On March 16, 2018, the Commission’s staff re-
ceived a telephone. call from Respondent asking
to speak to the Executive Officer regarding the
letter she received. While the Executive Officer
was busy servicing an applicant at the window,
Respondent hung up.

Violations:
HRS § 436B-19(2), HRS § 436B-19(5), HRS §
436B-19(17) and HRS § 467-20.

Order: Revocation of License

Sanctions:
Fine of $500.00.
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New Commissioners

Effective July 1, 2019, the Commission welcomes Russell S. Kyono, Kauai commissioner, and John R. Love, Oahu
Public Member. Both terms expire June 30, 2023.

Mr. Kyono is a lifelong resident of Kauai. He attended the University of Hawaii, Manoa, and
received a degree from the School of Travel Industry Management. He received his real estate
salesperson’s license in 1981, and his broker’s license in 1991. He is the owner and principal
broker of K-ONI, Inc. dba Kauai Rentals & Real Estate, Lihue, Kauai.

Mr. Love is a partner with Cades Schutte LLP, and has been associated with the firm since 2010. He focusses on
development of residential, resort, and commercial projects, including condominium projects, commercial leasing,
real estate acquisition, sales and financing. He received his Juris Doctor degree from Northwestern University,
School of Law, and his undergraduate degree from Yale University.

Duplicate CE Hours

2018 is a renewal year. In anticipation of a much-asked question, here’s the answer!

fr

L1

Hawaii Administrative Rules (“HAR”) §16-99-95, Duplicate continuing education hours. “Except as provided by the commission or
by this subchapter, a licensee shall not take a continuing education course for which the licensee has already received a certificate within
two consecutive biennia.”

Here's the interpretation of the above rule: If a licensee took a course in 2015 (2015-2016 biennium) and wants the course marked as
make-up and credited to the 2013-2014 biennium, the biennium in which he first took the course is the marker to determine two consec-
utive biennia. That biennium marker is the 2015-2016 biennium. The licensee may then take the same course in the 2019-2020 biennia,
which is two consecutive biennia from the 2015-2016 biennium.

All continuing education courses may be used for make-up purposes EXCEPT for the commission’s core courses. Remember that
BOTH part A and part B of the core course for a biennium, must be completed for credit. If only one part is completed, the licensee will
NOT receive any core course credit.

Property Management Fees Subject to
GET May Not Be Divided by Department of Taxation

The Department would like to remind the public that fees received in exchange for managing rental property may not be divided between
real estate agents and subagents. Real estate brokers who receive income for managing rental properties owe general excise tax (GET) at the
retail rate of 4% (4.5% on Oahu) on the entirety of such income, regardless of whether they pay a portion of it to any subagents or solicitors.

Generally, under GET Law, an agent receiving income is subject to GET at the retail rate of 4% (4.5% on Oahu) on the full amount of that
income. Income that subagents or solicitors receive is also subject to GET. Depending on the facts and circumstances of the specific transac-
tion, it is possible that amounts a general agent pays to subagents or solicitors would be considered wholesale income. See §237-4(a)(10),
Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS), for more information.

Section 237-18(e), HRS, provides a form of tax relief sometimes referred to as an “income-splitting provision,” for real estate broker com-
missions. Commission income that falls under §237-18(e), HRS, is divided between the general real estate agent and subagents or solicitors,
and each party pays GET at the 4% (or 4.5% on Oahu) rate on his or her portion, effectively rendering the commission income subject to

the GET only once. Income that does not fall under §237-18(e), by contrast, is subject to tax under the general rule described above, i.e., it
would be subject to the retail rate of 4% (4.5% on Oahu), owed entirely by the general agent. The portions the general agent then pays to his
or her subagents or solicitors would be subject to tax a second time (though possibly as wholesale income under §237-4(a)(10), HRS).

The income-splitting provision under §237-18(e) applies only to real estate sales commissions. It does not apply to rental management fees
a real estate broker collects in exchange for managing rental property, nor does it apply to any other type of non-commission income. For
more information, please contact the Rules Office at (808) 587-1530.



Prelicense Schools

Abe Lee Seminars
Akahi Real Estate Network, LLC
All Islands Real Estate School
American Dream Real Estate School, LLC
Scott Alan Bly School of Real Estate, LLC
dba Bly School of Real Estate
Carol Ball School of Real Estate
CE Shop, Inc.
Coldwell Banker Pacific Properties
Real Estate School
Continuing Ed Express, LLC
Digital Learning Centers, LLC
dba REMI School of Real Estate
Inet Realty
Maui Real Estate Academy, LLC
dba Hawaii Real Estate Academy
OnCourse Learning Corporation
dba OnCourse Learning Real Estate
Ralph Foulger’s School of Real Estate
Savio Realty, Ltd.
dba Savio Real Estate Academy
Seiler School of Real Estate
Vitousek Real Estate Schools, Inc.

808-942-4472
808-331-2008
808-564-5170
720-322-5470
808-738-8818

808-871-8807
888-827-0777
808-551-6961

866-415-8521
808-230-8200

808-955-7653
808-431-1218

800-532-7649

808-239-8881
808-943-7300

808-874-3100
808-946-0505

© HAWAII REAL ESTATE COMMISSION BULLETIN, August 2018
copyright Hawaii Real Estate Commission. All rights reserved. This
Bulletin, or any part thereof, may not be reproduced without the written
permission of the Hawaii Real Estate Commission, except permission is
granted to licensed Hawaii real estate brokerages to reproduce and dis-
tribute copies of this publication, in its entirety, but not for profit, as an
education service. Furthermore, if any portion of this publication is em-
phasized or highlighted, then the disclosure “Emphasis added” shall be
annotated to the reproduction. This publication is intended to provide
general information and is not a substitute for obtaining legal advice or
other or other competent professional assistance to address specific cir-
cumstances. The information contained in the Bulletin is made pursuant
to Hawaii Administrative Rules section 16-201-92 and is not an official
or binding interpretation, opinion or decision of the Hawaii Real Estate
Commission or the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs.
The Hawaii Real Estate Commission Bulletin is funded by the Real Estate
Education Fund, Real Estate Commission, Professional and Vocational
Licensing Division, Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs.

This material may be made available to individuals with special needs.
Please call the Senior Real Estate Specialist at 808-586-2643 to submit
your request.

Continuing Education Providers

Abe Lee Seminars
All Islands Real Estate School
American Dream Real Estate School, LLC
Asentiv Hawaii
At Your Pace Online, LLC
The Berman Education Company, LLC
Scott Alan Bly School of Real Estate, LLC
dba Bly School of Real Estate
Building Industry Association of Hawaii
Carol Ball School of Real Estate
The CE Shop, Inc.
CMPS Institute, LLC
Coldwell Banker Pacific Properties
Real Estate School
Continuing Ed Express, LLC
Council of Residential Specialist, The
Dexterity CE, LLC
The Council of Residential Specialists

Eddie Flores Real Estate Continuing Education

Hawaii Association of Realtors
Hawaii Business Training
Hawaii CCIM Chapter

Hawaii First Realty, LLC

Hawaii Island Realtors

808-942-4472
808-564-5170
720-322-5470
808-960-9630
877-724-6150
808-572-0853
808-738-8818

808-629-7505
808-871-8807
888-827-0777
888-608-9800
808-551-6961

866-415-8521
800-462-8841
512-893-6679
800-462-8841
808-951-9888
808-733-7060
808-250-2384
808-528-2246
808-282-8051
808-935-0827

Ho’akea LLC dba Ku'iwalu 808-539-3580

Honolulu Board of Realtors 808-732-3000

Institute of Real Estate Management Hawaii 808-384-2801
Chapter #34 (IREM)

International Association of Certified Home 303-225-9149
Inspectors (InterNACHI)

International Council of Shopping Centers, Inc. ~ 646-728-3800

808-245-4049

800-328-2008

808-492-7820

800-532-7649

Kauai Board of Realtors
McKissock, LLC
Shari S. Motooka-Higa
OnCourse Learning Corporation

dba OnCourse Learning Real Estate
888-455-7437
808-239-8881
808-873-8585
808-230-8200
808-597-1111
615-451-0200
951-444-7363

Preferred Systems, Inc.

Ralph Foulger’s School of Real Estate

Realtors’ Association of Maui, Inc.

REMI School of Real Estate

Russ Goode Seminars

Servpro Industries Inc.*

USA Homeownership Foundation, Inc.,
dba Veterans Association of Real Estate
Professionals (VAREP)

Vitousek Real Estate Schools, Inc.

West Hawaii Association of Realtors

808-946-0505
808-329-4874
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2018 Real Estate Commission Meeting Schedule

Laws & Rules Review Committee — 9:00 a.m.
Condominium Review Committee — Upon adjournment of the Laws & Rules
Review Committee Meeting

Education Review Committee — Upon adjournment of the Condominium Real Estate Commission -~ 9:00 a.m.

Review Committee Meeting

Wednesday, August 8, 2018 Friday, August 24, 2018
*Wednesday, September 12, 2018 Friday, September 21, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018 Friday, October 26, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018 Friday, November 21, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018 Friday, December 21, 2018

All meetings will be held in the Queen Liliuokalani Conference Room of the King Kalakaua Building, 335 Merchant Street,
First Floor.

*The committee meetings will be held at the Grove Farm Building Conference Room, 3-1850 Kaumualii Highway, Lihue, Kauai.

Meeting dates, locations and times are subject to change without notice. Please visit the Commission’s website at www.hawaii.
gov /hirec or call the Real Estate Commission Office at (808) 586-2643 to confirm the dates, times and locations of the meetings.
This material can be made available to individuals with special needs. Please contact the Executive Officer at (808) 586-2643
to submit your request.



