INSTRUCTIONS AND INFORMATION FOR PRELICENSING EDUCATION EQUIVALENCY- REAL ESTATE

Access this form via website at: www.hawaii.gov/hirec

WHO FILES?

Any candidate planning to take the Hawaii real estate salesperson or broker examination and who desires an equivalency to the prelicensing education requirements and qualifies under one of the specified categories shall file a *COMPLETE* application *prior* to registering for the examination.

PURPOSE

All candidates for the Hawaii real estate salesperson or broker examination shall successfully complete a real estate prelicensing course accredited by the Hawaii Real Estate Commission unless granted a prelicensing education equivalency. The prelicensing education equivalency is subject to the review and approval of the Real Estate Commission and shall be secured prior to taking the examination. The prelicensing education equivalency certificate is valid for two years from the date of issuance. No extension of time will be granted; a new complete application must be submitted.

APPLICATION FORM

Complete the entire application form using the form-fillable form available on the Commission's website at www.hawaii.gov or print *legibly in black ink*.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

Your social security number is used to verify your identity for licensing purposes and for compliance with the below laws. For a license to be issued you must provide your social security number or your application will be deemed deficient and will not be processed further.

The following laws require that you furnish your social security number to our agency: FEDERAL LAWS:

42 U.S.C.A. §666 (a)(13) requires the social security number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and

If you are a licensed health care practitioner, **45 C.F.R.**, **Part 61**, **Subpart B**, **§61.7** requires the social security number as part of the mandatory reporting we must do to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB), of any final adverse licensing action against a licensed health care practitioner.

HAWAII REVISED STATUTES ("HRS"):

§576D-13(j), HRS requires the social security number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and

§436B-10(4) HRS which states that an applicant for license shall provide the applicant's social security number if the licensing authority is authorized by federal law to require the disclosure (and by the federal cites shown above, we are authorized to require the social security number).

FEES

The candidate shall submit a *complete* application form with the **\$50 NON-REFUNDABLE** application fee payable to *COMMERCE & CONSUMER AFFAIRS* and the required supporting documents.

NOTE: One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to be issued is the payment of fees as set forth in this application. You may be sent a license certificate before the payment you sent us for your required fees is honored by your bank. If your payment is dishonored, you will have failed to pay the required licensing fee and your license will not be valid, and you **may not** do business under that license. Also, a \$25.00 service charge shall be assessed for payments that are dishonored for any reason.

If for any reason you are denied the license/certificate you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as provided by Title 16, Chapter 201, Hawaii Administrative Rules, and/or Chapter 91, Hawaii Revised Statutes. Your written request for a hearing must be directed to the agency that denied your application, and must be made within 60 days of notification that your application for a license/certificate has been denied.

EQUIVALENCY CATEGORIES AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS The following required documents shall be attached to the application form for the specified category. An application *without the required documents or with substitute documents is considered an incomplete application subject to processing termination and denial*. No partial credit is given for a category, a candidate shall qualify for one (1) category only.

(CONTINUED ON BACK)

EQUIVALENCY CATEGORIES AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS (Cont'd)

ACTIVE AND CURRENT OUT-OF-STATE REAL ESTATE LICENSE

A current license, that was active within one year immediately prior to the date of the equivalency application as a salesperson or broker in another state with similar or superior <u>prelicensing</u> education requirements as determined by the Commission. <u>Applicant must have successfully completed the prelicensing education</u>.

Submit a completed "Verification of License" form (see attached) with application form. Candidate to complete Part I and submit form to the out-of-state agency for completion of Part II, who shall return the completed form back to the candidate. Note that some states charge a fee for completing Part II of the form. Upon receipt of the completed form, the candidate shall submit the verification of license form with the application form and required fees to Licensing Branch. (See "Address to File Application.")

Photocopies of out-of-state license will not be accepted. "Verification of License" form must be completed and issued by the out-of-state agency not more than 6 months ago.

***If submitting under "ACTIVE AND CURRENT OUT-OF-STATE REAL ESTATE LICENSE" category, also consider submitting "Application for Equivalency to the Uniform Section of the Hawaii Real Estate Licensing Examination" (separate application and \$50 fee).

***BROKER CANDIDATES – PLEASE SEE "BROKER EXAMINATION CANDIDATES" section below.

LAW DEGREE

Graduates of an accredited law school in the United States.

Submit photocopy of diploma or original certified transcripts (with school seal) with application form.

BACHELOR OF ARTS OR SCIENCE DEGREE IN REAL ESTATE OR BUSINESS (SALESPERSON CANDIDATE ONLY) Bachelor of arts or bachelor of science degree graduates of accredited colleges and universities in the United States who have majored in real estate or business.

Submit photocopy of degree/diploma if it specifically cites a degree in real estate or business, or original certified transcripts (with school seal) with the date the degree was conferred highlighted for reference with application form.

BROKER EXAMINATION CANDIDATES

Candidates for the broker examination are *required* to apply and be granted an "Experience Certificate" *prior* to registering for the examination with the testing company. To qualify, candidates must submit the "Application for Experience Certificate",\$75 non-refundable application fee, and required documents.

EQUIVALENCY TO THE UNIFORM SECTION OF THE EXAM

If you have a current real estate license in another state, and have passed the uniform section of that state's licensing examination for the equivalent level of license, you may also qualify for an equivalency to the uniform section of the Hawaii licensing examination. To qualify, you must submit the "Application for Equivalency to the Uniform Section of the Hawaii Real Estate Licensing Examination" (form UEE09_2010), \$50 non-refundable application fee, and supporting documents. If granted, instead of having to take both national and state sections of the Hawaii licensing examination, you will be required to take the Hawaii specific section only, subject to the applicant having a valid Hawaii School Completion Certificate or prelicensing Education Equivalency Certificate. Call or write the office listed below to request an application or for more information.

FILING DEADLINE

It is the responsibility of the applicant to file a complete application in sufficient time to be granted and

receive a prelicensing education equivalency certificate prior to taking the examination.

ADDRESS TO FILE APPLICATION

Mail the COMPLETE APPLICATION to:

Deliver to office location at:

DCCA, PVL, Licensing Branch

P. O. Box 3469 Honolulu, HI 96801 or 335 Merchant St., Room 301

Honolulu, HI 96813

Phone: (808) 586-3000

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.