## Hawaii Board of Dentistry Frequently Asked Questions ("FAQs") & Guidance

<u>Note</u>: The answers to general questions (e.g. change of address, name change, duplicate pocket ID/wall certificate, license verification request, etc.) can be found in the Professional and Vocational Licensing ("PVL") division's FAQs: <u>https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/faqs/</u>

<u>Note</u>: In order to become license in Hawaii, a person shall be at least 18 years of age; be a US citizen, US national, or an alien authorized to work in the US; and have a US social security number.

## Table of Contents:

- I. <u>General Questions Application Process</u>
- II. <u>General Questions After Licensure</u>
- III. Dentist (DT) Licensure
- IV. Dental Hygienist (DH) Licensure
- V. <u>Temporary (DTT & DHT) Licensure</u>
- VI. <u>Community Service (CSDT & CSDH) Licensure</u>

## I. GENERAL QUESTIONS - APPLICATION PROCESS

#### 1. How long is the application processing timeline?

All applications currently take a minimum of 45 to 60 business days to process, regardless of licensure in another jurisdiction.

If an application is deficient (e.g. documents missing, Board requests additional clarification, etc.), this may delay the processing timeline. Our office cannot continue processing applications until all deficiencies are remedied.

## 2. Can I expedite my application?

There is no option to expedite an application. All applications are reviewed in the order in which they are received.

#### 3. Can I submit online?

Yes, you may submit online by creating a "MyPVL" account: <u>https://mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov/</u>. If you submit your application online, there is also an option for online payment.

You may alternatively submit hard-copies of the application, supplementary materials, and check payment to our office by mailing:

DCCA-PVL Attn: Dental

The Board's laws, rules, and other policies are subject to change. The FAQs are provided as a guideline only and are not the final authority on licensure requirements. They are provided for informational and explanatory purposes only and are not binding on the Department or the Board in any way. Please see the Board's laws and rules for more details.

P.O. Box 3469 Honolulu, HI 96801

Check payable to: "Commerce & Consumer Affairs"

## 4. Where can I access the application form?

Application form and supplemental verification forms can be downloaded as PDFs on our website: <u>https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/dentist/application\_publications/</u>

## 5. How do I check on the status of my application?

If you submit an online application, you can track your application through the application process through your MyPVL account.

You may also contact the Licensing Branch by calling (808) 586-3000, contact Board staff by calling (808) 586-2702, or by emailing the Board at <u>dental@dcca.hawaii.gov</u>. Our normal business hours are Monday through Friday, 7:45a.m. to 4:30p.m. Hawaii Standard Time.

Please provide your full, legal first and last name, and confirm the last 4 digits of your SSN for privacy and security purposes.

Note that will not disclose any information about your application to any other individual unless they are listed as an authorized third party.

## 6. What is the general licensure process?

Your application will be first received and processed by the Licensing Branch. If there is anything missing, you will receive a "Deficiency Notice" to your email or mailing address on file. Please check your spam/junk mail.

If you answer "YES" to any of the application questions indicating prior disciplinary action, conviction, misdemeanor, professional misconduct, etc. note that your application will have to be considered by the Board at a duly notice Board meeting. Your application will only be added to the Board's agenda once all application materials have been received and reviewed.

Otherwise, complete applications are processed on an ongoing basis outside of regularly scheduled Board meetings, and approved applications are ratified by the Board. Once you receive an actual license number, you may begin practicing in the State, regardless of if the license has been formally ratified by the Board yet.

If your MyPVL portal shows that a Notice has been sent, but you have not received it, please contact our office and we can provide another copy.

The Board's laws, rules, and other policies are subject to change. The FAQs are provided as a guideline only and are not the final authority on licensure requirements. They are provided for informational and explanatory purposes only and are not binding on the Department or the Board in any way. Please see the Board's laws and rules for more details.

7. <u>Generally</u>: Submit application → Application is reviewed by the Licensing Branch → Deficiency Notice sent if anything is missing and/or certain "YES" answers reviewed by the Board at a meeting → Complete and approved applications are sent a "Notice of Licensure" with your license number and information on self-printing pocket ID and wall certificate via MyPVL portal.

## 8. How long do I have to complete the application process?

Pursuant to HRS section 436B-9, your application shall be considered abandoned and shall be destroyed if you fail to complete the licensure process <u>within one (1) year after filing an</u> <u>application</u> or fail to take and pass the examination after becoming eligible to take the examination.

If an application is deemed abandoned, you are required to re-apply for licensure and meet the licensing requirements at the time of re-application.

## 9. I'm already licensed in another state. How do I transfer my license to Hawaii or apply by reciprocity?

Your out-of-state license **<u>CANNOT</u>** be transferred to Hawaii. Hawaii does <u>not</u> license by reciprocity. Even if you hold a license in another jurisdiction, all applicants must still submit a Hawaii application form, fees, and related documents and meet the Hawaii requirements for licensure.

Please be reminded that all states have their own licensing authority and governing laws/rules over the profession. Requirements may vary state by state, sometimes significantly.

## 10. What license types does the Board offer?

You may apply with the Board for the following license types:

- DT Dentist
- DTT Temporary Dentist
- CSDT Community Service Dentist
- DH Dental Hygienist
- DHT Temporary Dental Hygienist
- CSDH Community Service Dental Hygienist

The Board also offers the following permits:

- Dentist permit to administer deep sedation/general anesthesia and/or moderate sedation
- Dental hygienist permit to administer intra-oral block anesthesia

## **11. Does Hawaii license dental assistants?**

The Board's laws, rules, and other policies are subject to change. The FAQs are provided as a guideline only and are not the final authority on licensure requirements. They are provided for informational and explanatory purposes only and are not binding on the Department or the Board in any way. Please see the Board's laws and rules for more details.

Hawaii does not currently license dental assistants.

Dental assistants are only regulated by the Board to the extent that the Board's laws and rules define dental assistants as, "a non-licensed person, who may perform dental supportive procedures authorized by the provisions of this chapter under the direct supervision of a licensed dentist" (HAR §16-79-1); and by identifying allowable and prohibited duties of dental assistants as auxiliary dental personnel in HAR §16-79-69.1 & HAR §16-79-69.5.

## **12.** How much are the fees\*?

License Type	Application & Licensure fee(s)
Dentist (DT)	If license issued in an even-numbered year: \$448
	If license issued in an odd-numbered year: \$294
Temporary Dentist (DTT)	\$75
Community Service Dentist (CSDT)	If license issued in an even-numbered year: \$373
	If license issued in an odd-numbered year: \$299
Dentist Anesthesia Permit	\$100
Dental Hygienist (DH)	If license issued in an even-numbered year: \$246
	If license issued in an odd-numbered year: \$164
Temporary Dental Hygienist (DHT)	\$75
Community Service Dental Hygienist (CSDH)	\$175
Dental Hygienist Block Anesthesia Permit	\$50
Application for Approved CE Sponsor	\$50

\*All fees are subject to change

\*\*Application fees are non-refundable

## 13. Where can I find the licensing law (HRS) and administrative rules (HAR)?

Licensing laws and administrative rules for the Dental Board can be found on our website: <u>https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/dentist/statute\_rules/</u>

## 14. The information in your application form/website/laws and rules differs from the information on available on a different website.

Please be reminded that the Board's laws (Hawaii Revised Statutes) and rules (Hawaii Administrative Rules) are the governing authority over licensure and the profession in Hawaii. You should always contact the Board <u>directly</u> to verify licensing requirements.

While the Board is a member of certain national organizations, these organizations do <u>not</u> have the authority to determine licensing requirements in the State. While we do our best to collaborate and provide the most up-to-date information on their websites, licensing laws/rules and other policies may change before those websites can be appropriately updated. Again, you should always contact the Board <u>directly</u> to verify licensing requirements for the state in which you are applying.

## 15. Someone will be helping me with my application. How do I authorize them?

The Board's laws, rules, and other policies are subject to change. The FAQs are provided as a guideline only and are not the final authority on licensure requirements. They are provided for informational and explanatory purposes only and are not binding on the Department or the Board in any way. Please see the Board's laws and rules for more details.

<sup>4</sup> 

Please be sure to fill out and sign the last page of the application form if you would like to designate "authorized third parties." We will not disclose any information about your application to any other individual unless they are listed as an authorized third party.

If you would like to add an authorized third-party mid-way through the application process, please complete and sign the last page of the application form and email it to <a href="mailto:dental@dcca.hawaii.gov">dental@dcca.hawaii.gov</a>.

## II. GENERAL QUESTIONS – AFTER LICENSURE

## 1. After licensure, how often do I have to renew?

The following license types must renew by December 31 of every odd-numbered year:

- Dentist (DT)
- Community service dentist (CSDT)
- Dental hygienist (DH)

The following license types must renew on an annual basis, based on the date of initial licensure:

- Community service dental hygienist (CSDH)

The following license types are not eligible to be renewed:

- Temporary dentist (DTT), including DTT licenses issued to post-doctoral residents
- Temporary dental hygienist (DHT)

A notice of renewal will be sent to your mailing address on file approximately two months prior to the renewal deadline as a courtesy reminder. **However, it is every licensee's sole responsibility to timely renew their license.** The Board is <u>not</u> responsible for late or no renewal and it is impossible for our office to track whether the renewal postcards are received once they leave our office.

## 2. Are there Continuing Education ("CE") requirements for renewal?

Dentist and dental hygienist licensees are required to complete CE requirements for renewal.

The Board is authorized to conduct a random audit of licensees after each renewal deadline to determine compliance with the CE requirements for the previous licensure biennium. Licensees selected for audit will be notified in writing of how to verify compliance.

Please see the Renewal FAQs available on the Board's website for more information regarding CE requirements: <u>https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/news-releases/dental\_announcements/</u>.

## 3. I did not renew my license. How do I restore it?

The Board's laws, rules, and other policies are subject to change. The FAQs are provided as a guideline only and are not the final authority on licensure requirements. They are provided for informational and explanatory purposes only and are not binding on the Department or the Board in any way. Please see the Board's laws and rules for more details.

Licenses that are not renewed by December 31 of every odd-numbered year become forfeited. A forfeited license may be restored within two (2) years of the forfeiture upon submission of a restoration application, restoration fee, and the full number of CEs for your license type.

A forfeited license may be restored within five (5) years of the forfeiture upon verification of specific requirements pursuant to HAR §16-79-3.1(b). Please contact the Board directly for more information to see if you qualify for the five-year restoration.

You may **<u>not</u>** practice in Hawaii with a forfeited Hawaii license.

To restore a license, you may call the Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000 Monday through Friday between 7:45a.m. and 4:30p.m., Hawaii Standard Time or email the Board at <u>dental@dcca.hawaii.gov</u> and request for a restoration application form to be sent to you. The restoration application must be mailed to our office with payment.

## 4. Can I place my license on "inactive" status?

To place your DT or DH license on "inactive" status, you must submit the "Inactivation" application available on the Board's website. You may <u>not</u> practice on inactive status. Inactive licenses must still be renewed by the renewal deadline; however, CEs are not required while on inactive status.

If you would like to reactivate your application in the future, you must submit the "Reactivation" application available on the Board's website.

Please contact our office by emailing <u>dental@dcca.hawaii.gov</u> if you would like to voluntarily surrender your license.

Otherwise, if you do not renew by the renewal deadline and do not subsequently restore within the restoration deadline, your license will be considered "forfeit" in our system.

## 5. I had a license that expired, and I did not renew or restore it. How do I get licensed again?

Your license is considered "forfeit" in our system. You will need to re-apply as a "new" applicant by re-submitting the application form, fees, and related documents. You must meet the requirements <u>at the time of re-application</u>.

If your re-application is approved, you will be given your original license number.

## 6. Where do I get my wall certificate and pocket ID after licensure?

Our office does not mail or email out wall certificates or pocked IDs. All licensees may self-print both documents online via their MyPVL account: <u>https://mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov/</u>

The Board's laws, rules, and other policies are subject to change. The FAQs are provided as a guideline only and are not the final authority on licensure requirements. They are provided for informational and explanatory purposes only and are not binding on the Department or the Board in any way. Please see the Board's laws and rules for more details.

## 7. How do I verify my Hawaii license?

Until you receive an actual license number, you may **NOT** practice in the State of Hawaii.

Verification of licenses can be done on-line at no cost using our license search site at: <u>https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch</u>. You or the requesting agency will be able to obtain information such as original license date, license expiration date, license status, disciplinary action, etc. The information downloaded from this site is official license information which state boards or other individuals can download for themselves.

If the above is not acceptable, please submit a written request that includes the complete address or email address of the location that the verification is to be mailed to along with a \$15 fee (check payable to *Commerce and Consumer Affairs*)

Mailing Address:	Licensing Branch – License Verification
	P.O. Box 3469
	Honolulu, HI 96801

Please allow 20 business days from the receipt of your request for PVL standard verification reports to be mailed out.

## III. Dentist (DT) Licensure

## 1. What are the requirements for DT licensure?

In addition to the general licensure requirements, all DT license applicants are required to:

- Graduate with a DDS or DMD degree from a dental college accredit by ADA CODA
- Provide verification of passage of the Integrated National Board Dental Examination ("INBDE") or Part I & Part II of the National Board Dental Examination ("NBDE")
- Provide verification of passage of all five (5) sections of the ADEX dental exam, including the optional 5<sup>th</sup> periodontal exam
- Applicants licensed as a dentist in another state shall also submit an official verification of licensure from each state in which they are license and a self-query report from the National Practitioner Data Bank ("NPDB")

## 2. Does Hawaii license by specialty?

Hawaii does <u>not</u> license by specialty. All applicants for a Hawaii dentist license must meet all the requirements including being a graduate of a dental college accredited by ADA CODA.

Completion of an advanced dental education program at a CODA accredited dental college is <u>not</u> acceptable in lieu of a DDS or DMD degree from a CODA accredited dental college.

The Board's laws, rules, and other policies are subject to change. The FAQs are provided as a guideline only and are not the final authority on licensure requirements. They are provided for informational and explanatory purposes only and are not binding on the Department or the Board in any way. Please see the Board's laws and rules for more details.

## 3. Will Hawaii accept my foreign dental training?

Only CODA-<u>accredited</u> DDS or DMD degrees are acceptable for DT licensure.

The only CODA-<u>accredited</u> non-US dental colleges as of May 2025 are the Yeditepe University Faculty of Dentistry in Istanbul, Turkey and King Abdulaziz University Dental Program in Saudi Arabia.

The Board is aware of the reciprocal <u>agreement</u> between CODA and the Canadian accreditation body CDAC, but this agreement does <u>not</u> qualify an individual for DT licensure in Hawaii currently. Individuals with CDAC-accredited dental degrees may be eligible for community service dentist (CSDT) or temporary dentist (DTT) licensure, upon meeting the other requirements for these licensure types.

# 4. Is passage of any other clinical exam (CRDTS, SRTA, WREB, NERB, etc.) other than ADEX acceptable for DT licensure?

No. You must pass all 5 parts of the ADEX exam to qualify for DT licensure in Hawaii, regardless of passage of any other regional clinical exam.

Please be advised of the following Hawaii Revised Statues:

§448-9.4 American Board of Dental Examiners (ADEX) examination; regional examinations. An applicant shall take and pass the ADEX examination, and neither the state examination nor any regional examination shall be accepted.

## 5. Are manikin-based exams acceptable?

Yes, the Board allows for acceptance of either the live patient ADEX exam or the full manikin based ADEX exam taken on or after June 5, 2020.

## IV. Dental Hygiene (DH) Licensure

## 1. What are the requirements for DH licensure?

In addition to the general licensure requirements, all DH license applicants are required to:

- Graduate from a two-year CODA-accredited dental hygiene school
- Verify passage of the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination ("NBDHE")
- Verify passage of any one of the regional clinical examinations authorized by HRS 447-1(b) and passed <u>after</u> February 1, 2005 – WREB, CRDTS, SRTA, or NERB or a national clinical exam
- Submit documentation confirming certification in administration of both intra-oral infiltration and intra-oral block anesthesia from an accredited dental hygiene school or by a certification program approved by the Board

The Board's laws, rules, and other policies are subject to change. The FAQs are provided as a guideline only and are not the final authority on licensure requirements. They are provided for informational and explanatory purposes only and are not binding on the Department or the Board in any way. Please see the Board's laws and rules for more details.

- Applicants licensed as a dental hygienist in another state shall also submit an official verification of licensure and a self-query report from the National Practitioner Data Bank ("NPDB")

## 2. Will Hawaii accept my foreign dental hygiene training?

Only two-year CODA-<u>accredited</u> dental hygiene degrees are acceptable for DH licensure.

The Board is aware of the reciprocal <u>agreement</u> between CODA and the Canadian accreditation body CDAC, but this agreement does <u>not</u> qualify an individual for DH licensure in Hawaii currently. Individuals with CDAC-accredited dental degrees may be eligible for community service dental hygienist (CSDH) licensure, upon meeting the other requirements for this license type.

## 3. Does Hawaii accept manikin-based exams?

On January 25, 2021, the Board voted to <u>accept</u> the manikin-based regional dental hygiene examination from the following testing agencies, given after February 1, 2005:

- Western Regional Examining Board (WREB);
- Central Regional Dental Testing Service, Inc. (CRDTS);
- Southern Regional testing Agency, Inc. (SRTA); or
- North East Regional Board of Dental Examiners, Inc. (NERB)

## 4. What do I do if I was not certified to administer intra-oral local anesthesia and/or intra-oral block anesthesia?

Pursuant to HRS §447-1(a)(3), all dental hygiene applicants are required to be certified in the administration of intra-oral local anesthesia <u>and</u> intra-oral block anesthesia.

If your program did not certify you in both infiltration and block, you will have to identify a CODA-accredited program in which to remediate this requirement if you want to qualify for DH licensure in Hawaii.

The Board does not recommend specific programs and does not maintain a "list" of acceptable programs. It is incumbent upon the applicant to identify an appropriate program to remediate the requirement.

The program must be 1) CODA-accredited and 2) certify you in <u>both</u> infiltration and block anesthesia.

For more guidance on how to meet the requirements for the additional permit to administer block anesthesia, please see the guidance document on the Board's website: <u>https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/news-releases/dental\_announcements/</u>.

## 5. What are the dental hygiene anesthesia privileges for licensed DHs in Hawaii?

The Board's laws, rules, and other policies are subject to change. The FAQs are provided as a guideline only and are not the final authority on licensure requirements. They are provided for informational and explanatory purposes only and are not binding on the Department or the Board in any way. Please see the Board's laws and rules for more details.

Upon initial DH application, all applicants are required to verify certification in <u>both</u> infiltration and block anesthesia.

If approved for DH licensure, a Hawaii DH may only administer infiltration.

If a DH licensee would like to <u>additionally administer block</u>, they must apply for an additional permit to administer block. The additional permit requires verification of specific education and training requirements pursuant to HRS §447-3.5.

## V. Temporary Dentist (DTT) and Temporary Dental Hygienist (DHT) licensure

## 1. What are the requirements for temporary licensure?

## DTT requirements:

- Application form & fees
- Verification of DDS or DMD degree from a CODA-accredited dental college (or reciprocal agreement with CODA)
- NBDP self-query (if licensed in another jurisdiction)
- License verifications from any other jurisdiction currently and previously licensed in
- Letter of employment by qualifying employer

## DTT (post-doctoral resident) requirements\*:

- Application form & fees
- Verification of education of DDS or DMD degree from a CODA-accredited dental college (or reciprocal agreement with CODA)
- NBDP self-query (if licensed in another jurisdiction)
- License verifications from any other jurisdiction currently and previously licensed in
- Letter confirming residency by program director

\*Please see detailed FAQs for post-doctoral dental residents on the Board's website: <u>https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/news-releases/dental\_announcements/</u>

## DHT requirements:

- Application form & fees
- NBDP self-query (if licensed in another jurisdiction)
- License verifications from any other jurisdiction currently and previously licensed in
- Letter of employment by qualifying employer

## 2. How long is the temporary license valid for?

Temporary licenses may <u>not</u> be renewed. Temporary licenses are only valid until the earliest of the following occurs:

The Board's laws, rules, and other policies are subject to change. The FAQs are provided as a guideline only and are not the final authority on licensure requirements. They are provided for informational and explanatory purposes only and are not binding on the Department or the Board in any way. Please see the Board's laws and rules for more details.

## DTT:

- Date the person leaves the authorized employment
- 396<sup>th</sup> calendar day following the date of issuance
- Date on which the person FAILS the ADEX exam (pass is okay)
- Date on which the Board revokes the license

## DTT (post-doctoral residents):

- Date the person completes or leaves the residency program
- Date on which the Board revokes the license

## <u>DHT</u>:

- Date the person leaves the authorized employment
- 365<sup>th</sup> calendar day following the date of issuance
- Date on which the person attempts (pass or fail) any of the regional clinical examinations
- Date on which the Board revokes the license

## 3. Can I enter into private practice/contract/work "side gigs" under my temporary license?

No. The temporary license <u>only</u> authorizes you to work exclusively for the specific qualifying employer who submitted your employment letter upon application (or exclusively in your residency program if a post-doctoral resident).

## 4. What is a "qualifying employer" who can sponsor my temporary license?

A qualifying employer for temporary licenses is: The State of Hawaii or any county, or any legally incorporated eleemosynary dispensary or infirmary, private school, or welfare center. (HRS §447-2 & HRS §448-12(a))

## VI. Community Service Dentist (CSDT) and Community Service Dental Hygienist (CSDH) Licensure

## 1. What are the requirements for community service licensure?

## CSDT requirements:

- Application form & fees
- Verification of DDS or DMD degree from a CODA-accredited dental college (or reciprocal agreement with CODA)
- Passage of the INBDE or Part II of the NBDE within 5 years of the date of application <u>or</u> evidence of active clinical dental hygiene practice of not less than 1,000 hours per year for the 3 years immediately prior to the date of application
- Verification of at least one active, unrestricted dentist license from another state

The Board's laws, rules, and other policies are subject to change. The FAQs are provided as a guideline only and are not the final authority on licensure requirements. They are provided for informational and explanatory purposes only and are not binding on the Department or the Board in any way. Please see the Board's laws and rules for more details.



- NBDP self-query
- License verifications from any other jurisdiction currently and previously licensed in
- Letter of employment by qualifying employer

## CSDH requirements:

- Application form & fees
- Verification of a CODA-accredited (or reciprocal agreement with CODA) dental hygiene degree
- Passage of the NBDHE within 5 years of the date of application <u>or</u> evidence of active clinical dental hygiene practice of not less than 1,000 hours per year for the 3 years immediately prior to the date of application
- Verification of at least one active, unrestricted dentist license from another state
- NBDP self-query
- License verifications from any other jurisdiction currently and previously licensed in
- Letter of employment by qualifying employer

## 2. How long is the community service license valid for?

Community service dental hygiene (CSDH) licenses may be renewed <u>annually</u> based on the date of licensure, pending review and reauthorization of the Board.

Community service dentist (CSDT) licenses may be renewed <u>biannually</u>, pending review and reauthorization of the Board by December 31 of every odd-numbered year.

CSDH and CSDT licenses are valid until the earliest of the following occurs:

## <u>CSDT</u>:

- Date the person leaves the authorized employment
- Date on which the person FAILS the ADEX (pass is okay)
- Date on which the license expires
- Date on which the Board revokes the license

## CSDH:

- Date the person leaves the authorized employment
- Date on which the person FAILS any of the regional clinical examinations (pass is okay)
- Date on which the license expires
- Date on which the Board revokes the license

## 3. Can I enter into private practice/contract/work "side gigs" under my community service license?

No. The community service license <u>only</u> authorizes you to work exclusively for the specific qualifying employer who submitted your employment letter upon application (or exclusively in your residency program if a post-doctoral resident).

The Board's laws, rules, and other policies are subject to change. The FAQs are provided as a guideline only and are not the final authority on licensure requirements. They are provided for informational and explanatory purposes only and are not binding on the Department or the Board in any way. Please see the Board's laws and rules for more details.

## 4. What is a "qualifying employer" who can sponsor my community service license?

<u>CSDH</u>: Federally qualified health center, Native Hawaiian health center, community health center, rural health clinic, mobile dental outreach program, or post-secondary dental auxiliary training program accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation (HRS §447-1.5(a))

<u>CSDT</u>: Department of health, a federally qualified health center, Native Hawaiian health center, community health center, rural health clinic, mobile dental outreach program, or post-secondary dental auxiliary training program accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation (HRS §448-9.6(a))