
REQUIREMENTS & INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING - NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATOR 
Access this form via website at: http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/

(Read thoroughly) 

Any individual who is charged with the general administration of a nursing home or immediate care facility in Hawaii must 
be licensed as a nursing home administrator under the provisions of Chapter 437-B, Hawaii Revised Statutes. 

"Nursing home" means a place authorized as such by the appropriate licensing authority of this state for the care of 
patients requiring continued nursing and/or health care such as skilled nursing facility of an immediate care facility. 

APPLICATION Complete both sides of the attached application form. Applicants are subject to requirements in effect at 
time of filing. 

• Failure to provide all the requested information will delay the processing of your application.

SOCIAL SECURITY Your social security number is used to verify your identity for licensing purposes and for compliance with 
NUMBER the below laws. For a license to be issued you must provide your social security number or your 

application will be deemed deficient and will not be processed further. 
The following laws require that you furnish your social security number to our agency: 
FEDERAL LAWS: 
42 U.S.C.A. §666(a)(13) requires the social security number of any applicant for a professional license or 
occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and 
If you are a licensed health care practitioner, 45 C.F.R., Part 61, Subpart B, §61.7 requires the social 
security number as part of the mandatory reporting we must do to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection 
Data Bank (HIPDB), of any final adverse licensing action against a licensed health care practitioner. 
HAWAII REVISED STATUTES ("HRS"): 
§576D-13(j), HRS requires the social security number of any applicant for a professional license or
occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and
§436B-10(4) HRS which states that an applicant for license shall provide the applicant's social security
number if the licensing authority is authorized by federal law to require the disclosure (and by the federal
cites shown above, we are authorized to require the social security number).

FEES ATTACH:	 Money order or check for $100 (non-refundable application fee) made payable to: 
COMMERCE & CONSUMER AFFAIRS. 

After all requirements are fulfilled, license fees will be due. 

Note: One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to be 
issued is the payment of fees as set forth in this application. You may be sent a license certificate before 
the check you sent us for your required fees clears your bank. If your check is returned to us unpaid, you 
will have failed to pay the required licensing fee and your license will not be valid, and you may not do 
business under that license. Also, a $25.00 service fee will be charged for checks which are returned by 
the bank. 

If for any reason you are denied the license you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as 
provided by Title 16, Chapter 201, Hawaii Administrative Rules, and/or Chapter 91, Hawaii Revised 
Statutes. Your written request for a hearing must be directed to the agency that denied your application, 
and must be made within 60 days of notification that your application for a license has been denied. 

AGE	 Be over 21 years of age. 

EDUCATION or All categories of requirements must be met to be eligible to take the National Association of State Boards 
EXPERIENCE of Nursing Home Administrators Examination (NAB).  Use the attached checklist as a reference. 

*Education must be obtained from a U.S. school accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the
U.S. Dept. of Education.

Applicant must complete one of the following: 

*Master's degree in: hospital administration, public health specializing in gerontology OR public health
specializing in health administration and approved 3 credit course in administration of SNF or ICF;
(arrange to have official transcripts submitted directly by a U.S. accredited school); OR
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*Bachelor's degree: (arrange to have official transcripts submitted directly by a U.S. accredited school);

All applicants (except those with a Master's degree as indicated above) must complete one of the 
following and submit appropriate verification: 

Approved course of study/program from a U.S. accredited college or university; OR 

3 years within the past 5 years of administrative work experience in a health related area. 

All applicants (except those with *Master's degree in hospital or business administration or public health) 
must meet one of the following and submit appropriate verification: 

1 year administrative experience in an SNF or ICF; OR 

Administrator-in-training program (§16-90-37); OR 

1 year administrative experience in a health related area. 

All applicants must submit verification of the applicant's fitness and suitability to be a nursing home 
administrator from one of the following: 

Persons in the field. Submit employer's statement of work performance covering the last 12 months 
prior to application; OR 

Others.  Submit employer evaluation/assessment of knowledge and training required of a nursing home 
administrator. 

Submit three (3) letters, attesting to the applicant's good moral character, from individuals engaged in 
either business or the professions, who are not the applicant's relatives or employees. 

National Association of Boards of Examiners (NAB) 
The NAB examination (exam) is administered by computer (since 1/1/00).  There is no application 
deadline. The exam is administered year round by professional testing centers on Oahu only.  After the 
candidate's application is approved, the candidate will receive an approval notice. 

Eligible candidates are to register for the Nursing Home Administrator's national examination electronically 
and submit payment directly to the National Association of Boards of Examiners of Long Term Care 
Administrators (NAB).To obtain the candidate handbook and to register electronically, go to the 
following website: www.nabweb.org. 

Candidates unable to access the internet to obtain the candidate bulletin and or to register electronically, 
are to contact the Examination Branch by calling (808) 586-2711, faxing (808) 586-2874 or emailing 
pvlexam@dcca.hawaii.gov. 

After registering for the exam, candidates should receive an Authorization to Test form approximately 
within 15 working days that will provide further instruction on scheduling to sit for the exam.  Candidates 
must sit for the exam within 60 days of PES notification. The passing scale score is 113. 

Official examination results will be processed by our office approximately within 4 weeks after sitting for 
the exam. You will receive unofficial notification of your pass/fail status at the exam site after completing 
the exam. 

Verification of your EXAM SCORES and out-of-state license must be obtained.  Mail the attached 
"Verification of License" form to the state in which you were originally licensed by examination with the 
appropriate service fee that most states charge for such requests.  Please verify with the respective state 
board for fee information. 

A limited and temporary license may be issued provided the applicant meets the conditions set forth in 
Chapter 90, Hawaii Administrative Rules, and all examination requirements.  Submit Temporary Permit 
fee of $100 payable to: COMMERCE & CONSUMER AFFAIRS and applicable documents. 
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ADDRESS	 Incomplete and/or irregular applications will not be accepted.  Applications are kept on file for two (2) 
years. Failure to complete the licensing requirements within two (2) years will void your application. 

Mail to: Office location at:
Nursing Home Administrator Program or
DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch 335 Merchant St., Rm. 301 
P.O. Box 3469 Honolulu, HI 96813 
Honolulu, HI 96801 

Ph. No. (808) 586-3000 

Instructions for "Yes" Answers to Questions (4c) through (5) of the Application for License (NHA-01) 

A 	The following documentation must be submitted with the license application.  Applications for license will not be 
considered without this material. 
1. Questions 4c and 4d refer to complaints, charges of unlicensed activity, or pending disciplinary actions for any

profession, occupation, or license. If your answer is "yes" to one or more of these questions, you must submit the
following:

i. A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances; and

ii. Copies of any documents from the agency, including final orders, petitions, complaints, findings of fact and
conclusions of law, and any other relevant documents;

2. If your applicant indicates a criminal conviction you must submit the following:

i. A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances leading to the conviction and detaining all activities
since the conviction, including employment and business involvements.  Include job title, period of employment,
employer’s name, description of duties, training attended, and educational courses attended;

ii. A copy of the court order, verdict, and terms of sentence; and

iii. If applicable, a copy of the terms of probation and/or parole and a notarized statement from your probation or
parole officer as to your compliance with the court orders;

iv. A current criminal history record check in your name, which you may obtain from the Hawaii Criminal Justice 
Data Center. Contact the Department of the Attorney General, Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center, Kekuanao'a 
Building, 465 S. King Street, Rm. 101, Honolulu, HI  96813. Ph: (808) 587-3100 or visit their website at: 
ecrim.ehawaii.gov to request a "Criminal History Record Check" form.

LAWS & RULES	 All applicants are required to read Chapters 457-B, HRS, and Chapter 90, Hawaii Administrative Rules, 
and Chapter 94, Hawaii Administrative Rules. 

To obtain a copy of the laws and rules relating to the licensing of nursing home administrators, send a 
written request to our address above. Chapter 436B, Hawaii Revised Statutes, the Professional and 
Vocational Licensing Act should be read in conjunction with the nursing home administrator statutes. 
Indicate the specific chapter in your request. 

The laws and rules are also available on our website at: http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/. Look under 
"Nursing Home Administrator". 

To obtain a copy of Chapter 94 the Department of Health local health regulation, call (808) 586-4080. 

APPLICANTS WITH	 If you are requesting special testing arrangements due to a disability, call (808) 586-2711 immediately to 
SPECIAL NEEDS	 obtain a Disability Certification Form which must be completed by an approved professional, and 

submitted preferably prior to your exam application, but no later than the exam filing deadline. 
Determination of qualification for special testing arrangements will then be made and if so, the type of 
special testing arrangements will be provided. 

No action will be taken to provide special testing arrangements until your exam application has been 
approved. 
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LICENSE RENEWALS 

ADDRESS/NAME 
CHANGES 

ABANDONMENT 

OF APPLICATION
 

All licenses, regardless of issuance date, expire on June 30 of each EVEN-NUMBERED year and are 
subject to renewal by the license expiration date. Renewal applications are sent about 60 days prior to 
the license expiration date. To ensure receipt of mail, keep us informed of your current address.  If you 
do not receive a renewal application at least 30 days prior to the license expiration date, contact our 
office. Renewals received after the license expiration date are subject to late renewal fees and may be 
restored up to three years.  After three years, a new application for licensure is required.  Each licensee is 
ultimately responsible for timely renewals of license and should not depend on license renewal notice 
from the DCCA. 

It is the responsibility of the applicant to notify us of any changes in writing. If you have a name change 
after your application was originally filed, you must provide a photocopy of the name change document 
along with a letter requesting the change, or you may use a "Name Change Affidavit" form from our 
office. 

All address changes must be submitted in writing. No changes will be accepted over the phone.  We will 
not be responsible for nonreceipt of any correspondence. 

Pursuant to HRS §436B-9 your application shall be considered abandoned and shall be destroyed if 
you fail to provide evidence of continued efforts to complete the licensing process for two consecutive 
years. The failure to provide evidence of continued efforts includes but is not limited to:  (1) failure to 
submit any required information and documents requested by the licensing authority within two 
consecutive years from the last date the documents and information were requested, or (2) failure to 
complete any additional requirements for licensure that remain after approval of your application was 
approved, or (3) failure to provide the licensing authority with any written communication during two 
consecutive years indicating that you are attempting to complete the licensing process.  If an 
application is deemed abandoned the applicant shall be required to reapply for licensure and comply 
with the licensing requirements in effect at the time of the reapplication. 

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request. 
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APPLICATION FOR EXAM & LICENSE - NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATOR APPROVED [     ]  Initials/date 
DENIED [     ]

Read the attached “REQUIREMENTS & INSTRUCTIONS FOR 
FILING - NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATOR” before completing this form. 

License No. 
  NHA - 

Eff: 

Legal Name (First, Middle) (LAST) 

Residence Address (Include apt. no., city, state & zip code) 

Mailing Address (ONLY if different from residence) 

Social Security No. Phone No. (days) Temporary Permit # Effective Date: 

  Experience Requirement (check one): 

[   ] One (1) year as a nursing home administrator or 
Administrator-in-Training. 

[   ] Masters of Public Health, Business Administration or 
hospital administration degree with specialization in 
health services administration from a U.S. accredited 
school. 

[   ] One (1) year of administrative experience in a health-
related area. 

Nursing Home Course Requirement - except those with 
Master's degree (check one): 

[   ] Baccalaureate or post-baccalaureate education earned 
from a U.S. accredited school imparted an equivalent 
knowledge and skills. 

[   ] Three years of administrative work experience in a 
health-related area attained within the last five years. 

Are you requesting to sit for the NAB?  ..................... YES     NO 

Circle your answers.  If response is "Yes" to questions 4c to 5, refer to the instructions for additional documents that must be submitted 
with this application. 

1) Are you over 21 years of age? ................................................................................................................................... YES     NO

2) Are you a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the United States? ............................................. YES     NO

3) Have you completed at least 4 years of college level study in a U.S. accredited institution of higher learning
and were you awarded a baccalaureate degree?........................................................................................................... YES     NO 

4)a. Are you currently licensed as a nursing home administrator in another state? .................................................................. YES     NO 
(If yes, complete the “Applicant Section” on attached license verification form and send it to 
the state in which you were originally licensed by examination.) 

b. Give name of all state(s) in which licensed and license numbers:

c. Has any license ever been suspended, revoked or otherwise subject to disciplinary action? ............................................... YES     NO
If “YES”, you are required by law to arrange to have certified documents from each state in which disciplinary action was 
taken sent directly to the Board.  (Include Findings of Fact, Conclusion of Law, Recommended Order, Final Order, and 
whether you have been re-instated.  If re-instated, date and conditions of license.) 

d. Are there any disciplinary actions pending against you? ................................................................................................ YES     NO
If “YES”, specify all states where action was or may be imposed.  You are required to arrange to have certified documents 
from each state in which disciplinary action or investigation occurred or is pending against you sent directly to the Board. 

5) Have you ever been convicted of a crime in any jurisdiction that has not been
annulled or expunged? .............................................................................................................................................. YES     NO 
If “Yes”, you are required by law to arrange to have certified court documentation on the date, place, violation for each
conviction and fulfillment of conditions of each sentence sent directly to the Board.

6) Are you seeking a temporary license to work as an administrator in a nursing home? ....................................................... YES     NO
IF “YES,” LIST NAME, ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER OF THE NURSING HOME ON A SEPARATE SHEET. 

(CONTINUED ON BACK)

NHA: App ................... 443 ................... $100 1/2 Ren ................ 440 ............... $65 
Lic .................... 445 ................... $130 Temp ................... 446 ............... $100 
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 Name of Institution/Employer Address 
Dates (mo/yr) 

Position TitleFrom To 
Nursing Home/Care Facility 

Nursing Home/Care Facility 

Other Employment 

Other Employment 

Affidavit of Applicant: 

I hereby certify that the statements, answers and representations made in this application and in the documents attached are true 
and correct. I certify that I have read, understand, and shall obey all the laws and rules of the Nursing Home Administrator Program 
(Chapter 457B, Hawaii Revised Statutes and Chapter 90, Hawaii Administrative Rules).  I further certify that I have read, understand, and 
shall obey the local health regulations (Chapter 94, Administrative Rules of the Department of Health).  I understand that any 
misrepresentation is grounds for refusal or subsequent revocation of license and is a misdemeanor (Section 710-1017, Sections 436B-19 
and 457B-3.2, Hawaii Revised Statutes.) 

_________________________________________ _____________________________________________________________
 Date Signature of Applicant 

Release of Information to Third Party: 

To assist me in the licensing process, I authorize the staff to release any and all information regarding my application (including but not 
limited to, application status) to: 

Print Name of Indivudial who is assisting you: 

Name of Organization: 

Signature of Applicant Date 

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request. 
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NHA EXAMINATION APPLICANT CHECKLIST 


Education (§16-90-7.5): *Program accredited by an accrediting body recognized by the U.S. D.O.E. 

*Master's Degree in: 	 hospital administration or public health specializing in gerontology or public
health specializing in health administration and approved 3 credit course in 
administration of SNF of ICF. 

or
1.  *Baccalaureate degree; 

and 

2. Approved course of study/program from college/University;* 
or 

3 years within the past 5 years of administrative work experience in a health related area. 

Practical Experience (§6-90-70.10): 

1 year administrative experience in an SNF or ICF 
or 

Administrator-in-training program meeting §6-90-37. 
or 

*Master's degree in:  hospital administration; business administration or public health, with
specialization in health services administration. 

or 
1 year administrative experience in a health related area. 

Fitness and Suitability (§6-90-7.15 & §6-90-8): 

Persons in the field:  Employer's statement of work performance covering the last 12 months prior 
to the application. 

Others:  Employer evaluation/assessment of knowledge and training required of a nursing 
administrator. 

Three (3) letters of recommendation. 
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State of Hawaii
NHA ProgramVERIFICATION OF LICENSE - NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATOR 

Access this form via website at: http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/

APPLICANT:  Complete top portion of this page and forward to ORIGINAL state of license. 

Name (LAST, First, Middle) Maiden Name 

Address (Include apt. no., city, state and zip code) Phone No. Social Security No. 

Current License status: [ ] Active 
[ ] Inactive 
[ ] Lapsed 

LICENSE NUMBER DATE ISSUED

I hereby authorize the nursing home administrator licensing agency in the State of  to furnish to the Department 
of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, State of Hawaii, the information below. 

Date SIGN HERE:

This is to certify that the above named individual was issued license number . 

Above individual's social security number is . 

Nursing Home Administrator's license was issued on . 

Individual was licensed as an NHA by: [ ] Examination 
[ ] Endorsement
[ ] Waiver

Individual's current NHA license status: [ ] Active 
[ ] Inactive
[ ] Lapsed

The Nursing Home Administrator's license expires: 

Has this license ever been encumbered in any way (revoked, suspended, limited, placed on probation)? .......................... [  ] Yes [ ] No 

If YES, please send certified copy of board's: (1) Findings of Fact 

(2) Conclusions of Law

(3) Final Order

(4) All other pertinent documents

Did the individual pass the NAB Examination with at least the passing scale score of 113? ............................................ [ ] Yes [ ] No 

Signature

Title

State

Date

SEAL 

TO THE BOARD: Return this form directly to the Hawaii NHA Program, P.O. Box 3469, Honolulu, Hawaii  96801. 
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