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calendar as required by Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS), section 92-7(b).


https://youtu.be/mXeq4v_N2KE?si=oi0pq1de7nY13xcC

Call to Order:

Introduction of

Board Members:

Purpose:

Notice of Public
Hearing:

A short video regarding virtual meetings was played to explain
procedures for the virtual meeting and how members of the public can
participate and interact with the Board during the meeting.

In accordance with Act 220, SLH 2021, all Board members attending
virtually confirmed that they were alone in their nonpublic location. After
taking roll, a quorum was established, and Chair Nagashima called the
public hearing to order at 9:09 a.m. with Vice Chair Arakaki and Darci
Frankel excused.

Chair Nagashima introduced the Board members, stating the
following Board members were present for this public hearing: Shanon
Skoog, Sean St. Louis, and herself.

Amendments to Chapter 16-84, Hawaii Administrative Rules (“HAR”)
— Massage Therapy

EO Ho stated the purpose of today’s public hearing is to afford all
interested persons an opportunity to submit data, views, or
recommendations, orally or in writing, on the proposed administrative
rules revisions for the Board of Massage Therapy.

EO Ho stated that the notice of public hearing published in the Garden
Island, Maui News, West Hawaii Today, Hawaii Tribune-Herald, and Star
Advertiser newspapers, both in-print and online, on Thursday, October
10, 2024. The notice reads, as follows:

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

Pursuant to Hawaii Revised Statutes (“HRS”) section 452-
6 and Chapter 91, notice is hereby given that the Board of
Massage Therapy (“Board”) will hold a public hearing on
Wednesday, November 13, 2024 at 9:00 a.m. in the Queen
Liliuokalani Conference Room, 1st Floor, King Kalakaua Building,
Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, 335 Merchant
Street, Honolulu, Hawaii, 96813, and virtually via Zoom to hear all
persons interested in the proposed amendments to Hawaii
Administrative Rules (“HAR”) Chapter 16-84, pertaining to
Massage Therapy. Please visit our Board of Massage Therapy
meeting schedule website —
https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/massage/board-meeting-
schedule/ -- where you will find the necessary information to
access the public hearing virtually.

The purpose of the proposed amendments is to: (1) require
massage therapists to complete 12 hours of continuing education
upon renewal of their license; (2) establish standards of sanitary
practices for massage therapy establishments; (3) establish
requirements and standards that continuing education courses
shall meet to obtain recognition and approval from the board; (4)
expand the definition of “person” to include a limited liability
company and business entity; (5) clarify that adult and infant
cardiopulmonary resuscitation courses cannot be completed



Testimony:

completely online; and (6) align cardiopulmonary resuscitation
training requirements for massage students with massage
apprentices.

All interested persons shall be afforded the opportunity to
submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing, at the time of
hearing. All persons wishing to submit written testimony are
requested to submit 10 copies of their written testimony by
November 6, 2024 to: DCCA-PVL, Attn: Board of Massage
Therapy, P.O. Box 3469, Honolulu, HI 96801 or email to
massage@dcca.hawaii.gov.

A copy of the proposed rules will be mailed to any person
who requests a copy upon receipt of $5.57 for the copy and
postage. Please submit your request to the Professional and
Vocational Licensing Division at the address noted above or
contact the Board’s office by email.

Copies may be picked up at the following address between
7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding
holidays: Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs,
Professional and Vocational Licensing Division, 335 Merchant
Street, Room 329, Honolulu, Hawaii 96813. The cost of a copy,
$2.70, is due and payable at the time of pick up.

Further, the proposed rules may be reviewed in person
free of charge at the Professional and Vocational Licensing
Division at the address and hours of operation printed above. In
addition, the full text of the proposed rules is available and can be
downloaded free of charge from the web site of the Department of
Commerce and Consumer Affairs:
https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/har/proposed/

Individuals who require special needs accommodations are
invited to call Risé Doi at (808) 586-2696 at least four (4) working
days prior to the hearing.

Olivia Nagashima, Chair
Hawaii State Board of Massage Therapy

EO Ho stated that testimony will be received in the order indicated on the
sign-up sheet, if attending in-person, or at the top of the list as indicated
virtually on Zoom which is the order that hands are raised. Written
testimony was also received prior to the public hearing.

There will be no discussion regarding any testimony between the testifiers
and Board members or staff. A time limit of five (5) minutes is in place to
ensure all testifiers have the same amount of time to provide oral
testimony.

After the public hearing, all testimony will be considered, and a
determination will be provided during the Board meeting immediately
following the adjournment of the public hearing.



EO Ho indicated there are no public attendees present in-person wishing
to provide oral testimony. The Board proceeded to accept oral testimony
from public attendees attending virtually through Zoom.

Matthew Mathis raised his hand on Zoom and was promoted to panelist.

Mr. Mathis stated he is the owner of Oahu Sports Massage, located on
Oahu, and is the governance chair for the American Massage Therapy
Association (“AMTA”) — Hawaii Chapter.

He stated that the national standard for education and training hours for
massage therapist licensure is increasing to 600 hours and requested the
Board comment on this increase. Hawaii currently requires 570 hours of
education and training for massage therapist (“MAT”) licensure.

He agrees with the proposed new rules establishing the requirements for
continuing education (“CE”), including the requirement that CPR courses
must be completed in-person. AMTA agrees that massage
establishments must continue to be held accountable for sanitation and
proper practices, especially after COVID. AMTA supports the State in its
decisions.

Mr. Mathis was returned to attendee on Zoom.

Chair Nagashima stated that the Board also received written testimony
from Rick Rosen.

Mr. Rosen raised his hand on Zoom and was promoted to panelist.

Mr. Rosen stated he is a massage therapist on the Big Island, who has
held a massage therapist license for 45 years beginning in Florida and
has been licensed in Hawaii since 2015. His testimony was as follows:

o §16-84-43 Advertising: Subsection (b) states, “A licensee may
advertise as being able to perform the type of massage known as
Rolfing if the licensee has received basic Rolfing training in classes
sponsored by the Rolf Institute and has been certified as a Rolfer and
given membership in the institute.” Mr. Rosen stated there are
hundreds of named modalities in their profession today and it is not
within the purview of the Board to regulate the use of proprietary trade
names; it is a private business matter not enforceable by the Board.

In terms of this specific trade name, there are currently 12 certified
Rolfers in the state, so he recommends that the Board remove
subsection (b), as subsection (a) is broadly encompassing and
renders mention of a specific modality as unnecessary.

e §16-84-48 Requirements for massage students: Mr. Rosen stated
that he believes the part of this rule which mentions the school
approval process is factually incorrect. This section states that that
American Massage Therapy Association (“AMTA”) or the Rolf Institute



Procedures after
Hearing:

are the two massage school approval bodies. Mr. Rosen stated that
neither the AMTA nor the Rolf Institute are approval/accreditation
bodies. Years ago, the AMTA had a very small national school
approval program which was sunset 30 years ago. There are seven
different accrediting agencies that accredit massage schools and
programs, but less than half the programs in the country are
accredited. Furthermore, only COMTA has specific curriculum
standards for the small number of schools under its accreditation
process. The Rolf Institute is a one-modality school based in Boulder,
Colorado which is also not a school approval entity.

Mr. Rosen submitted the following proposed language to update
outdated language in subsection (c). He stated that this amendment
would provide the Board the flexibility to evaluate training provided
within the state and outside the state:

HAR 16-84-48 (c) Students who have graduated from a massage
therapy school that: (i) offers a curriculum that meets or is
substantially equivalent to the standards set forth in paragraph (b),
above; and (ii) is licensed or approved by the requlatory authority for
schools of massage therapy in the state, province, territory, or country
in which it operates or is exempt by law.

HAR 16-84-48(e) (e) An applicant shall provide the board with written
proof that the applicant has successfully completed the required
course of study in a massage school approved by the state
department of education, or an institution outside the State that is
licensed or approved by the regulatory authority for schools of
massage therapy in the state, province, territory, or country in which it
operates or is exempt by law.

e §16-84-49 Continuing education requirements: Mr. Rosen
recommends the Board remove the requirement that the biennial First
Aid/CPR training be hands-on or live in-person. These are non-
essential skills and unrelated to the practice of massage therapy.
Massage therapists are not front-line healthcare providers, nor
emergency responders. To receive a license, an individual is required
to have received in-person training, and this should be sufficient.
Biennial renewal with the CPR requirement completed via online
courses should be sufficient, especially for those on the neighbor
islands where it may be difficult to complete such courses locally.

Chair Nagashima asked if there was anyone else wishing to provide
testimony.

There were none.

EO Ho stated the Board’s procedures following the adjournment of this
public hearing will be as follows:

o The Board will consider adoption of the amended rules at the Board



meeting immediately following the adjournment of this public hearing;
¢ |f adopted, the rules will be sent to the Deputy Attorney General’s
office and Governor’s office for approval; and
e The rules will remain in the Lieutenant Governor’s office for a period
of ten (10) days after approval by the Governor before becoming final.

Conclusion of EO Ho stated the public hearing is adjourned as there is no further oral
Public Hearing: testimony to be provided.

Adjournment: Chair Nagashima adjourned the public hearing at 9:23 a.m.

Taken by: Reviewed by:

/s/ Marc Yoshimura /sl Sheena Choy

Marc Yoshimura Sheena Choy

Secretary Executive Officer

2/21/25

[ X ]Minutes approved as is.
[ ] Minutes approved with changes; see minutes of:
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