#### **INSTRUCTIONS FOR TEMPORARY NURSING PERMITS – LPNs and RNs**

## You are only eligible for a Temporary Permit if:

- 1. You are at least 18 years old; AND
- 2. You are a U.S. citizen, U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the U.S.; AND
- 3. You are seeking a temporary permit to practice as an LPN or RN, as Hawaii does not offer temporary permits to practice as an APRN; AND
- You have a valid and unencumbered LPN or RN license in another state, territory, or country;
   AND
- 5. No disciplinary action is pending/has been taken by a nursing authority against any of your nursing licenses; AND
- 6. You have been appointed or accepted employment with a single health care entity in the State, as defined by Hawaii Revised Statutes Section 321-11(10).

# What do I need to submit to apply for a Temporary Permit?

- 1. A completed application form, including certification from your Hawaii employer;
- 2. If you hold a multistate license in another state or territory, then a Nursys verification report;
- 3. If you do not hold a multistate license in another state or territory, then either:
  - a. A Nursys verification report; OR
  - b. A license verification showing a valid and unencumbered license in another state, territory, or country;
- 4. \$50 **nonrefundable** fee, as set by Hawaii Administrative Rules 16-53-27(5). This fee can be paid either by mailed check payable to "Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs" or online on MyPVL (only for applicants applying online). See the next page for more information on how to pay the permit fee. **This fee is not refundable, even if you are not granted a temporary permit or fail to meet the requirements for a temporary permit.**

#### Can I apply for an LPN or RN license and a Temporary Permit at the same time?

Yes, you may apply for both a license and a temporary permit separately. You will be required to pay separate fees for both the temporary permit and licensure by endorsement. Please be advised that the requirements for a temporary permit and a license by endorsement are different.

#### Does my Hawaii employer have any obligations related to my Temporary Permit?

Your Hawaii employer must provide a signed certification confirming your employment at the time you apply. Your employer may sign the certification form included with the temporary permit application, or provide a signed, letterheaded letter confirming your employer. Additionally, your employer must contact our Department via mail or email (<a href="mailto:nursing@dcca.hawaii.gov">nursing@dcca.hawaii.gov</a>) at the time that your employment ends or in the event that your employment is terminated.

#### How do I apply for a Temporary Permit? Where do I send my application documents?

You can apply for a temporary permit online at MyPVL: https://mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov/

Your completed application and supporting documents can be uploaded to your MyPVL account. Electronic payment of the **nonrefundable** \$50 permit fee can be submitted through MyPVL as well.

Alternatively, you can mail your completed application, documents, and payment (\$50 check only, made payable to "Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs") to the following address:

Hawaii Board of Nursing P.O. Box 3469 Honolulu, HI 96801

Lastly, you may email any supporting documentation or questions to <a href="mailto:nursing@dcca.hawaii.gov">nursing@dcca.hawaii.gov</a>. Do not email applications to this email address, as we do not accept applications via email.

### How do I obtain a Nursys verification report?

Go to <a href="www.nursys.com">www.nursys.com</a> and order a Nursys verification report, then email <a href="mailto:nursing@dcca.hawaii.gov">nursing@dcca.hawaii.gov</a> once the report has been ordered. <a href="www.nursys.com">We do not accept Nursys QuickConfirm Verifications.</a>

#### What is the status of my application?

If you applied online via MyPVL, you may check the status of your application by logging into your MyPVL account. If your application is incomplete, then a deficiency notice will be sent to the email address that you provided in your application. Please check your inbox, spam, and junk folders for this message, which will explain the items we need to complete your application. Once your temporary permit is granted, you will also receive an email notice.

#### How long is a Temporary Permit valid for?

A temporary permit is valid for six months from the date of issuance.

# <u>I am accompanying an out-of-state patient(s) to Hawaii for less than two weeks. Do I still need to apply for a Temporary Permit?</u>

If you are accompanying a patient or patients from out of state into Hawaii for less than two weeks and you are not employed by or affiliated with a health care entity in the State, then you are not required to apply for a temporary permit.

APPLICATION FOR TEMPORARY PERMIT – NURSE Access this form via website: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl				Approved Eff Date:	Initials/Date Temp Permit No
	eck type of Nurse permit you are app				
		CAL NURSE	USE	Expiration Date:	
Rea	ad attached instructions before filing.		OFFICE	NURSYS verification:	or license verification)
	Legal Name (First-Middle)  Other Names Used (include maiden name):	(Last)	FOR OF		
	Residence Address (Include Apt. No., City, Sta	te and Zip Code)	Pho	one No. (Daytime):	
APPLICANT	Mailing Address (ONLY if different from above)		PER	SONAL E-mail Address:	
APPL	Social Security No.  Check answers; and explain when required	Date of Birth:			
	1. Are you at least 18 years old?				
	Release of Information to Third Party To assist me in the licensing process, I (including but not limited to, application	authorize the BON and staff to release any	y and :	all information regard	ing my application
	Name of Individual Assisting You				
	Email Address of Individual Assisting You				
	Name of Organization Assisting You				
	Address of Organization Assisting You				
l u fi	inderstand that any misrepresentation is gro	, and representations made in this applicatio ounds for refusal or subsequent revocation of by the provisions of Hawaii Revised Statutes	licens	se (Section 710-1017, I	Hawaii Revised Statutes). I
_	Signature of A	pplicant			Date
	This material can be made available for individual the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 58			Permit 437 Service Fee BCF	

# APPLICATION FOR TEMPORARY PERMIT – NURSE EMPLOYER CERTIFICATION FORM

I, Agent for the Hawaii Health Care Entity named below, certify that the Temporary Permit Applicant named below will be employed by the Hawaii Health Care Entity on the Employment Start Date listed below or upon issuance of a temporary permit, whichever is later. I further certify that it is my responsibility to notify the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Professional and Vocational Licensing Division, in writing if the Temporary Permit Applicant leaves the employ of the Hawaii Health Care Entity.

Name of Temporary Permit Applicant		
Employment Start Date		
Name of Hawaii Health Care Entity		
Address of Hawaii Health Care Entity		
Agent for Hawaii Health Care Entity (Print Your Name)	Agent's Position/Title at Hawaii Health Care Entity	
Email Address of Hawaii Health Care Entity		
Signature of Hawaii Health Care Entity Agent	 	