
REQUIREMENTS & INSTRUCTIONS FOR PRE-NEED FUNERAL AUTHORITY
Access this form via website at:  cca.hawaii.gov/pvl

1.  Complete and sign application.  Failure to provide the requested information will delay the process of the application.

2.  Submit the following documents: 
  
      (a) If the application is for a corporation, partnership, LLC or LLP, we will require the following proof to show that the entity 
 is properly registered with the Business Registration Division (BREG), Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, 
 State of Hawaii, P.O. Box 40, Honolulu, Hawaii  96810.  (Please call them for the proper forms at (808) 586-2727 or visit 
 their website at: cca.hawaii.gov/breg to order Certificates of Good Standing, forms, etc.) 
  
 If the entity has been registered in this State for LESS THAN ONE (1) YEAR, ATTACH a "filed-stamped" copy of the 
 document filed with BREG; or the same certificate mentioned below. 
  
 If the entity has been registered in this State for MORE THAN ONE (1) YEAR, ATTACH a "Certificate of Good Standing" 
 or "Certificate of Qualification". 
  
     (b) File-stamped copy of the articles of incorporation (for a corporation or partnership) or a file-stamped copy of the 
 articles of organization (for a LLC or LLP) as filed with our Business Registration Division. 
  
      (c) If applicant will be using a trade name, ATTACH a CURRENT "filed-stamped" copy of the "Application for Registration of  
 Trade Name" approved by the Business Registration Division.  You may contact them at (808) 586-2727. 
  
      (d) Current financial statements (not more than 1 year old) consisting of a balance sheet, income statement and statement 
 of changes in stockholders equity, prepared and signed by a licensed certified public accountant or public accountant. 
 The financial statements may be compiled, reviewed or audited and may be prepared on a cash or accrual basis.  If CPA 
 is licensed out-of-state, provide copy of license. 
  
      (e) A current credit report covering not less than the previous five years on the individual applicant; each partner of a  
 partnership; each officer of a corporate entity; or each member or manager of an LLC or LLP (from a credit reporting 
 agency issued not more than 6 months ago.) 
  
      (f) A current Hawaii State Tax Clearance (not more than 6 months old) with an original Department of Taxation stamp. 
  
      (g) Executed copy of the declaration of the trust between applicant and the designated trustee of the trust fund for 
 each trust fund. 
  
      (h) A copy of the sales contract form to be used in the selling of pre-need services.

CEM-13 0824R

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2)

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 
     Your Social Security Number is used to verify your identity for licensing purposes and for compliance with the below laws.  For 
     a license to be issued you must provide your Social Security Number or your application will be deemed deficient and 
     will not be processed further. 
     The following laws require that you furnish your Social Security Number to our agency: 
     FEDERAL LAWS: 
     42 U.S.C.A. §666 (a)(13) requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational license 
     be recorded on the application for license; and  
     If you are a licensed health care practitioner, 45 C.F.R., Part 61, Subpart B, §61.7 requires the Social Security Number as part 
     of the mandatory reporting we must do to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB), of any final adverse 
     licensing action against a licensed health care practitioner. 
     HAWAII REVISED STATUTES ("HRS"): 
     §576D-13(j), HRS requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational license be 
     recorded on the application for license; and 
     §436B-10(4), HRS which states that an applicant for license shall provide the applicant's Social Security Number if the  
     licensing authority is authorized by federal law to require the disclosure (and by the federal cites shown above, we are 
     authorized to require the Social Security Number).



NOTE:  One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to be issued is the  payment of fees 
as set forth in this application.  You may be sent a license certificate before the check you sent us for your required fees clears your 
bank.  If your check is returned to us unpaid, you will have failed to pay the required licensing fee and your license will not be valid, and 
you may not do business under that license.  Also, a $25.00 service fee will be charged for checks which are returned by the bank. 
  
If for any reason you are denied the license you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as provided by Title 16, Chapter 201, 
Hawaii Administrative Rules, and/or Chapter 91, Hawaii Revised Statutes.  Your written request for a hearing must be directed to the 
agency that denied your application, and must be made within 60 days of notification that your application for a license has been 
denied. 

5.  Mail all required items to: 
  
 Cemetery and Funeral Trust Program    Deliver to office location at: 
 DCCA, PVL, Licensing Branch   OR   335 Merchant Street, Room 301 
 P. O. Box 3469       Honolulu, HI  96813 
 Honolulu, HI  96801      Phone: (808) 586-3000

6.  To obtain a copy of the laws, Chapter 441, Hawaii Revised Statutes and Rules, Chapter 75, Hawaii Administrative Rules  
      relating to Cemetery and Funeral Trusts, send a written request to:  Cemetery and Funeral Trust Program, Commerce and  
      Consumer Affairs, P.O. Box 3469, Honolulu, Hawaii  96801.  Chapter 436B, Hawaii Revised Statutes, the Professional and 
      Vocational Licensing Act should be read in conjunction with Chapters 441 and 75. 
      The laws and rules are also posted on our website at:  cca.hawaii.gov/pvl.  Look under "Cemetery and Pre-Need Funeral 
      Authority". 
  
RENEWAL OF LICENSE 
      (a)  Pay appropriate fee. 
      (b)  Continuation of bond.  (Bond is continuous unless cancelled.) 
      (c)  Renew on or before December 31 of every odd numbered year. 
      (d)  Submit a trust fund report. 
  
RESTORATION OF FORFEITED LICENSE 
      (a)  Submit written application for restoration accompanied by restoration fees.  (Renewal fee plus 10% penalty). 
             Forfeiture results from failure to renew license on time. 
      (b)  License may be restored within one year only.
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4.  Attach the appropriate fee.  Make check payable to:  COMMERCE & CONSUMER AFFAIRS. (check must be in U.S. dollars and be 
from a U.S. financial institution.) 
  
 If filing in an even-numbered year, pay . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $888 
 (Application*-$100 + License-$320 + Compliance Resolution Fund-$148 + one-half of  
 the biennial renewal-$320) 
  
 If filing in an odd-numbered year, pay . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $494** 
 (Application*-$100 + License-$320 + Compliance Resolution Fund-$74) 
  
 *Application fee is not refundable. 
 **Subject to renewal on or before December 31 of each odd-numbered year, regardless of issuance date.

3.  Submit a bond in the amount of $50,000 (bond form attached).  In addition, for each trust fund that is administered by a board 
      of trustees, submit a bond in the amount of $100,000 and an affidavit by the chairperson of the board of trustees attesting 
      that no member of the board is affiliated with the applicant who is seeking licensure.



This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.
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RELEASE OF INFORMATION 
      If an agency or individual is assisting you with the licensure process, we will not be able to release any information to them 
     unless you provide us with authorization.  If you wish to do so, please complete the portion on Release of information to 
     Third Party, sign and date it.

ABANDONMENT OF APPLICATION 
     Pursuant to HRS §436B-9, your application shall be considered abandoned and will be destroyed, if you fail to complete the 
     license process within one year after filing an application or fail to take and pass the examination after becoming eligible to 
     take the examination.   
  
     If an application is deemed abandoned, the applicant shall be required to reapply for licensure and comply with the licensing 
     requirements at the time of the reapplication.



Mailing Address , ONLY if different from above (Include suite no., city, state & zip code):

Applicant is a:

License No.:

APPLICATION FOR LICENSE  - PRE-NEED FUNERAL AUTHORITY 

Access this form via website at:  cca.hawaii.gov/pvl 
Read "Requirements & Instructions" before completing this form.

FO
R 

O
FF

IC
E 
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SE

 O
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LY

Business Address (Include suite no., city, state & zip code):

Trade Name (if one will be used):

Person Responsible for Daily Operations:

AssociationIndividual (Sole Owner)

Subsidiary of a

Partnership

Corporation

LLP
LLC

     PNF -
Eff. Date:

Indicate the type of Business Entity:

Check answers and give details if required:

1. Was this Pre-Need Funeral Plan in operation before July 14, 1969? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

 Appl. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 085. . . . . . . . . $100 
 Lic. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 086. . . . . . . . . $320 
 CRF . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 087. . . . . . . . . $74/$148 
 ½ Ren . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 080. . . . . . . . . $320 
 Service Fee . . . . . . . . . . . . BCF . . . . . . . . $25

NOYES
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Name (Individual - First, Middle, Last) OR (Name of Corporation/Partnership/LLC/LLP):

2. Does the applicant have perpetual existence? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . NOYES

3. Trust Fund 
  
 a) Name of Pre-Need Trust: 
  
 b) How is it administered?  (Check one) 
  
 c) For a pre-need trust that is administered by a board of trustees, submit the name, address, principal place of employment, 
 and office held on the board for each member on a separate sheet of paper.

CORPORATION, PARTNERSHIP, LLC, LLP

List Name & Title Residence Phone 
No.

Social Security 
No.

President/Partner/Manager or Member

Residence Address

Vice President/Partner/Manager or Member

Secretary/Partner/Manager or Member

Treasurer/Partner/Manager or Member

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2)

Nonprofit OrganizationProfit

Corporation

Trust CompanyBoard of Trustees

Phone No.:

Fax No.:

APPROVED: DENIED:

Initials/Date:

Email Address:



 Are any board members affiliated with the authority that appointed the board? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT 
  
I hereby certify that the statements, answers, and representations made in this application and in the documents attached are true and 
correct.  I understand that any misrepresentation is grounds for refusal or subsequent revocation of license and is a misdemeanor 
(Section 710-1017, Sections 436B-19 and 441-23, Hawaii Revised Statutes). 
  
I further certify that I have read and will abide by the provisions of Hawaii Revised Statutes, Chapter 441 and Hawaii Administrative Rules, 
Chapter 75.

(Authorized Officer or Agent) Date

NOYES

 Are the majority of board members residents of the State? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

 Name and address of the Custodian of Trust Funds:

 d) For a pre-need trust that is administered by a trust company:

NOYES

By:

Title:

Name of trust company:

Name of trust officer:

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.
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Print Name of Applicant:

Release of Information to Third Party: 
  
To assist me in the licensing process, I authorize DCCA's staff to release any and all information regarding my application (including, but not 
limited to application status) to the following third party:

Print Name of Individual who is assisting you:

Name of Organization:

Signature of Applicant Date
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