REQUIREMENTS & INSTRUCTIONS FOR LICENSE - DENTAL HYGIENIST

Access this form via website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/dentist

AGE	Be at least 18 years of age.						
APPLICATION	Complete the on-line fillable application form or print legibly in dark ink and sign application. Applicants are subject to requirements in effect at the time of filing.						
	• Failure to provide all the requested information will delay the processing of your application.						
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER	Your Social Security Number is used to verify your identity for licensing purposes and for compliance with the below laws. For a license to be issued you must provide your Social Security Number or your application will be deemed deficient and will not be processed further. The following laws require that you furnish your Social Security Number to our agency. <u>FEDERAL LAWS</u> : 42 U.S.C.A. §666 (a)(13) requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and if you are a license health care practitioner, 45 C.F.R., Part 61, Subpart B, §61.7 requires the Social Security Number as part of the mandatory reporting we must do to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB), of any final adverse licensing action against a licensed health care practitioner. <u>HAWAII REVISED STATUTES ("HRS")</u> : §576D-13(j), HRS requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and §436B-10(4), HRS which states that an applicant for license shall provide the applicant's Social Security Number if the licensing authority is authorized by federal law to require the disclosure (and by the federal cites shown above, we are authorized to require the Social Security Number).						
FEES	ATTACH appropriate amount made payable to: COMMERCE & CONSUMER AFFAIRS. (check must be in U.S. dollars and be from a U.S. financial institution.) If you expect to receive a license in an EVEN-NUMBERED year, pay\$246 (Application-\$50*, License-\$64, Compliance Resolution Fund-\$100, 1/2 renewal for the second year of the two-year license period-\$32);						
	<u>OR</u>						
	If you expect to receive a license in an ODD-NUMBERED year, pay (Application-\$50*, License-\$64, Compliance Resolution Fund-\$50).						
All licenses are subject to renewal on or before December 31 of each ODD-NUMBERED year.							
	*Application fee in not refundable.						
	NOTE : One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to be issued is the payment of fees as set forth in this application. You may be sent a license certificate before the payment you sent us for your required fees is honored by your bank. If your payment is dishonored, you will have failed to pay the required licensing fee and your license will not be valid, and you may not do business under that license. Also, a \$25.00 service charge shall be assessed for payments that are dishonored for any reason.						
	If for any reason you are denied the license you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as provided by Title 16, Chapter 201, Hawaii Administrative Rules, and/or Chapter 91, Hawaii Revised Statutes. Your written request for a hearing must be directed to the agency that denied your application, and must be made within 60 days of notification that your application for a license has been denied.						
DENTAL HYGIENE EDUCATION	Be a graduate of a dental hygiene school accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation. ATTACH a copy of diploma or certificate of graduation or an official transcript verifying your degree.						

LOCAL ANESTHESIA CERTIFICATION	ATTACH documentary proof of your certification in the administration of intra-oral infiltration local anesthesia and block anesthesia. Documentary proof may consist of copies of course completion certificates, original letter from school or instructor verifying your certification or school transcripts with a course description attached.						
			porting documents and a fee are required to ard for an application or download from website				
NATIONAL BOARD EXAM	Pass the National Board Dental Hygiene Ex	amination.					
EXAMINATION REQUIREMENT	Pursuant to Section 447-1, Hawaii Revised S following four regional examinations give		hall require an applicant to take and pass one of the , 2005 , by:				
	 The Western Regional Examining Board The Central Regional Dental Testing Set The Southern Regional Testing Agency, The North East Regional Board of Denta Competency Assessments ("CDCA"). 	rvice, Inc. ("CRDTS"); , Inc. ("SRTA"); or), currently known as the Commission on Dental				
	<u>Arrange</u> to have verification of passing th <u>attach</u> your <u>original</u> official score report to		e passed sent directly to the Board <u>OR</u> you may				
			Board of Dentistry voted to accept the manikin-based revised Statutes section 447-1 (b), from the following				
	 (1) The Western Regional Examining Board (2) The Central Regional Dental Testing Ser (3) The Southern Regional Testing Agency, (4) The North East Regional Board of Denta Competency Assessments ("CDCA"). 	rvice, Inc. ("CRDTS"); , Inc. ("SRTA"); or), currently known as the Commission on Dental				
	Dental Hygiene licensure applicants must still pass all sections of the licensure examination in their entirety.						
		er 79, Hawaii Admir	ation requirement due to legislation or amendments nistrative Rules. Therefore, please continue to e future.				
	Should you have any questions or concerns regarding this notice, please submit them in writing without delay to the Board of Dentistry at: P. O. Box 3469, Honolulu, HI 96801.						
NATIONAL PRACTITIONER DATA BANK ("NPDB") VERIFICATION	Center at: 1-800-767-6732 or go online at:	https://www.npdb	e directed to call the Data Bank Customer Service .hrsa.gov/ext/selfquery/SQHome.jsp for ginal report titled "SELF-QUERY RESPONSE" to				
ADDRESS	Mail all required items to:	Deliv	er to Office Location at:				
	Board of Dentistry DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch P.O. Box 3469	OR	335 Merchant Street, Room 301 Honolulu, HI 96813				
	Honolulu, HI 96801		Phone: (808) 586-3000				
		ON PAGE 3)					

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 3)

LICENSE VERIFICATION	On the application, list all the licenses you hold or have held at any time.
VENIFICATION	ARRANGE to have all jurisdictions complete the "Verification of License" form (DT-14) and have it sent directly to the Hawaii Board of Dentistry. This form may be duplicated as needed. Some jurisdictions charge a fee for verification service. Contact the appropriate licensing agency for information on requirements. The applicant is responsible for any fees incurred.
LAWS & RULES	A copy of the laws, Chapter 447 and 448, Hawaii Revised Statutes, and rules, Chapter 79, Hawaii Administrative Rules, relating to the practice of dental hygiene may be obtained by submitting a written request to the address above. Chapter 436B, Hawaii Revised Statutes, the Professional and Vocational Licensing Act should be read in conjunction with Chapters 447 and 79.
	The laws and rules are also posted on our website at: <u>cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/dentist</u> . Click on "Statutes/Rule Chapter".
ABANDONMENT OF APPLICATION	Pursuant to HRS §436B-9, your application shall be considered abandoned and will be destroyed, if you fail to complete the license process within one year after filing an application or fail to take and pass the examination after becoming eligible to take the examination.
	If an application is deemed abandoned, the applicant shall be required to reapply for licensure and comply with the licensing requirements at the time of the reapplication.
RELEASE OF INFORMATION	If an agency or individual is assisting you with the licensure process, we will not be able to release any information to them unless you provide us with authorization. If you wish to do so, please complete the portion on " <u>Release of Information to Third Party</u> ", sign and date it.
BIENNIAL RENEWAL	All licenses, regardless of issuance date, are subject to renewal on or before December 31, of each ODD-NUMBERED year.
	The failure to timely renew a license, including payment of fees and completion of the continuing education requirement, shall cause the license to be automatically forfeited. A license which has been forfeited may be restored within two (2) years after the date of forfeiture upon compliance with the licensing renewal requirements and payment of all applicable fees.
	In addition, a forfeited license may be restored after two years from the date of expiration upon: (1) written application and payment of all applicable fees; (2) submitting evidence of being engaged in the practice of dental hygiene for at least three years preceding the date of the written application which includes: (A) evidence of active clinical practice of not less than one thousand hours per year for the three years immediately prior to the date of request; and (B) a certification from the appropriate state board or licensing authority in the other jurisdiction that the licensee was authorized to practice during the term of said active practice; (3) submitting evidence of completion of the continuing education requirements; (4) submitting a self-query report from the National Practitioner Data Bank ("NPDB") and in addition may require a background check from an independent background check service approved by the board; and (5) if the person is unable to meet the above requirements, the person may be required to reapply as a new applicant, take and pass the licensure examination.
	If the person has not restored the license for more than five years from the date of expiration, the person shall be required to reapply as a new applicant, take and pass the licensure examination, submit a self-query report from NPDB, and submit a report from an independent background check service approved by the board.

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 4)

CONTINUING EDUCATION ("CE")

To renew a license, all dental hygienists are required to complete continuing education ("CE") credit hours from an approved sponsor during the biennium period. A licensee initially licensed in the first year of the biennium shall complete 10 CE credit hours. A licensee initially licensed in the second year of the biennium shall not be required to complete any CE credit hours. All other licensees shall be required to complete 20 CE credit hours.

UNITED STATES ("U.S.") CITIZEN, U.S. NATIONAL, OR AN ALIEN AUTHORIZED TO WORK IN THE U.S.

Pursuant to section 436B-10, Hawaii Revised Statutes, all applicants <u>are required</u> to be a U.S. citizen, U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the United States in addition to meeting the academic, clinical and examination requirements for licensure. Therefore, even if an applicant meets the academic, clinical training and examination requirements for licensure, that applicant shall <u>not</u> be issued a license if that applicant is not a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the U.S.

However, the Board will issue the applicant a <u>conditional approval</u> that signifies that the applicant has met the education, experience, and examination requirements for licensure; provided that this conditional approval shall <u>not</u> be considered a license to engage in the profession and shall <u>not</u> authorize the applicant to work in our State.

To obtain authorization to work in our State, the applicant shall be required to contact the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services ("USCIS"); <u>http://uscis.gov</u>; U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services, 1-800-375-5283. Once the applicant submits evidence to the Board that the USCIS has authorized the applicant to work in the U.S. (without conditions or other encumbrances), provides a Social Security Number <u>and</u> has met all of the licensing requirements (including, but not limited to, the requirement that the applicant has not been convicted of any crime that is directly related to the profession), the applicant shall be issued a license.

This conditional approval shall be valid for two (2) years. An applicant must obtain the appropriate USCIS authorization within this two (2) year period in order to have a license issued. If the applicant is unable to meet this deadline, the applicant may be required to reapply for licensure and meet all of the requirements in effect at that time.

APPLICATION FOR LICENSE - DENTAL HYGIENIST				APPROVED:	Initials/Date:	
Access this form via website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/dentist Follow the instructions and read requirements.				DH School	Regional	
		-	🗌 National Board	From 02/01/05		
Leganian		(Last)				Local Anesthesia
01	and a large large large		N1 -		Lic Verif	
Other nan	nes used or known by	ADA DENTPIN I	NO.	NLY	License Effective:	License No.
				SEO		DH -
Residence Address (Include apt. no., city, state & zip code) - REQUIRED			OFFICE USE ONLY		Add ADDP:	
				OFF		
				FOR		
Mailing Ad	ddress (ONLY if different from above)	En	nail Address:	1		
Social Soc	urity Number			-		
SOCIAI SEC	urity Number Phone No. (Days)	Da	ite of Birth			
Check exa	m taken:					
WREB		CDCA	Date Passed aft	er 02	/01/05:	
1.	Are you at least 18 years of age?					
2. Are you a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the United States? \dots Pes No						
3. Are you a graduate of at least a two-year dental hygiene school accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation?						
4. Are you certified in the administration of intra-oral infiltration local anesthesia and block anesthesia? \Box Yes \Box No						
	If "NO", provide date you expect to complete:					
5. Have you taken and passed the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination?						
6.						
	b. Where?	Lie	cense No.:			
7. Has any license ever been suspended, revoked or otherwise subject to disciplinary action?						
8.	8. Are there any disciplinary actions pending against you?					
	(If "YES" to question 7 or 8, explain	on separate	sheet & arrange to have	certi	fied documents sent to	o the Board.)
9.	Have you ever been convicted of a	crime in any j	jurisdiction that has not be	een a	innulled or expunged?	Yes No
	(If "YES", explain on separate sheet and attach certified court documentation on the date, place, violation of each conviction and fulfillment of conditions of each sentence.)					
			i cucii sentente./			

Affidavit of Applicant:

I hereby certify that the statements, answers, and representations made in this application and the documents submitted are true and correct. I understand that any misrepresentation is grounds for refusal or subsequent revocation of license and is a misdemeanor (Section 710-1017, Sections 436B-19, and 477-6 HRS). I further certify that I have read, understand, and agree to comply with the provisions of Chapter 447, Hawaii Revised Statutes, and Chapter 79, Hawaii Administrative Rules that the Board determines are required for licensure.

			Date		
	(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2)				
DT-06 0421R	Appl	\$64	CRF 1/2 Ren Service Charge	160	\$32

_

Release of Information to Third Party:

To assist me in the licensing process, I hereby authorize DCCA's staff to release any and all information regarding my application (including, but not limited to application status) to the following third party:

Print name of individual who is assisting you:

Name of Organization:

Signature of Applicant

Date

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.