
REQUIREMENTS/INFORMATION FOR LICENSE - BEHAVIOR ANALYST
Access this form via website at:  cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/programs

APPLICATION 
FORM

Complete the on-line application form or print legibly in black ink.  Sign and date the form.  Submit it to 
the address below with the required fees.  Failure to provide all requested information will delay the 
processing of your application.  Applicants are subject to meet all requirements in effect at the time of 
filing.

Mailing address: 
 
 Behavior Analyst Program 
 DCCA-PVL Licensing Branch 
 P.O. Box 3469 
 Honolulu, HI  96801

Walk-in address: 
 
 335 Merchant Street 
 Room 301 
 Honolulu, HI  96813 
 Phone No.:  (808) 586-3000

OR

BA-00  0824R

A license may be issued to applicants who have passed the Board Certified Behavior Analyst (BCBA) 
examination and maintain active status with the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB) as a 
board certified behavior analyst or board certified behavior analyst-doctoral. 
  
Applicants who have passed the BCBA examination and maintain active status with BACB are to:

REQUIREMENTS 
FOR LICENSURE

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2)

1.

There are two pathways to licensure.

2. Alternatively, a license may be issued through licensure by endorsement.  To qualify through this 
route, the applicant must hold a current and unencumbered license in another state, provided that 
the  requirements in that state at the time the applicant was licensed are equivalent or higher than 
Hawaii's. 
  
Applicants who are applying through licensure by endorsement are to send the "Verification of 
License for Licensure by Endorsement" (BA-05) to the state in which the applicant holds a current 
and unencumbered license and whose requirements for a license are equivalent to or higher than 
Hawaii's. 
  
Applicants must also send the "Verification of License" (BA-04) to all the states in which the 
applicants are/were licensed to request that they complete the form and return it to the Behavior 
Analyst Program.

a)

b)

go to the BACB website at:  http://bacb.com, click on Find a Certificant and 
conduct a self-search by inserting your last name.  Print the Certificant 
Contact information and attach it to your Behavior Analyst application; and

go to the BACB website at: http://bacb.com, click on Verify a Certificant and 
request a Verification Letter by completing the online form and paying the $25 
fee for verification.  On the form, ensure that the email address where the 
document should be sent is ba@dcca.hawaii.gov.



In addition to the license requirements, an applicant shall be beyond the age of majority (18 years of 
age), a United States citizen, a United States national, or an alien authorized to work in the United States.  
If you are not a citizen or national of the United States or alien authorized to work in the United States, 
your application may be denied.  Reforms in the immigration laws of the United States have led to new 
requirements for aliens who seek to enter the United States for the purpose of performing labor as a 
health-care worker, including behavior analyst.  Federal law mandates that any such alien is inadmissible 
from the country unless the alien presents a certificate from an independent credentialing organization 
approved by the Attorney General (See U.S.C. 1182(a)(5)).

AGE OF  
MAJORITY AND 
U.S. CITIZEN

SOCIAL 
SECURITY 
NUMBER

Your Social Security Number is used to verify your identity for licensure purposes and for compliance with 
the laws mentioned below.  For a license to be issued you must provide your Social Security Number or 
your application will be deemed deficient and will not be processed further.  The following laws require 
that you furnish your Social Security Number to our agency: 
  
FEDERAL LAWS: 
42 U.S.C.A. §666 (a)(13) requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license 
or occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and if you are a licensed health care 
practitioner, 45 C.F.R., Part 61, Subpart B, §61.7 requires the Social Security Number as part of the 
mandatory reporting we must do to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank, of any final 
adverse licensing action against a licensed health care practitioner. 
  
HAWAII REVISED STATUTES ("HRS"): 
§436B-10(4), HRS which states that an applicant for license shall provide the applicant's Social Security 
Number if the licensing authority is authorized by federal law to require the disclosure (and by the federal 
cites shown above, we are authorized to require the Social Security Number).

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 3)
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NOTE:  One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to be issued 
is the payment of fees as set forth in this application.  You may be sent a license certificate before the payment 
you sent us for your required fees is honored by your bank.  If your payment is dishonored, you will have failed 
to pay the required licensing fee and your license will not be valid, and you may not do business under that 
license.  Also, a $25.00 service charge shall be assessed for payments that are dishonored for any reason.

If for any reason you are denied the license you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as provided 
by Title 16, Chapter 201, Hawaii Administrative Rules, and/or Chapter 91, Hawaii Revised Statutes.  Your 
written request for a hearing must be directed to the agency that denied your application, and must be made 
within 60 days of notification that your application for a registration has been denied.

If applying for licensure between January 1, EVEN-NUMBERED year and 
December 31, EVEN-NUMBERED year, pay . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $260 
(Application fee - $50* + License fee - $50 + CRF - $100 + 1/2 Renewal - $60) 
 
If applying for licensure between January 1, ODD-NUMBERED year and 
December 31, ODD-NUMBERED year, pay . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $150 
(Application fee - $50* + License fee - $50 + CRF - $50)

ATTACH the appropriate fees.  Make check or money order payable to:  COMMERCE AND CONSUMER 
AFFAIRS.  (check must be in U.S. dollars and be from a U.S. financial institution.)

FEE



All Behavior Analyst licenses, regardless of issuance date, shall be renewed biennially (every two years) on 
or before December 31, with the first renewal occurring on December 31, 2017.  Failure to renew a license 
shall result in the forfeiture of the license.  A forfeited license may be restored within one year from the 
expiration date upon payment of the renewal and restoration fees, including any penalty or delinquent 
fees.  Failure to restore a forfeited license within one year shall result in the automatic termination of the 
license.  A person whose license has been terminated shall be required to reapply for a new license as a 
new applicant.  A person whose license has been forfeited may not practice as a Behavior Analyst until 
the license has been restored.

It is the responsibility of the Behavior Analyst to know and comply with the laws pertaining to the 
practice of behavior analysis.  To obtain a copy of the Behavior Analyst law, Act 199, SLH 2015, visit our 
website at:  cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/programs, then click on "Statute/Rule" on the right.  Chapter 436B, 
Hawaii Revised Statutes, the Professional and Vocational Licensing Act, should also be read.

Pursuant to HRS §436B-9, your application shall be considered abandoned and will be destroyed, if you 
fail to complete the license process within one year after filing an application or fail to take and pass the 
examination after becoming eligible to take the examination.   
  
If an application is deemed abandoned, the applicant shall be required to reapply for licensure and 
comply with the licensing requirements at the time of the reapplication.

BIENNIAL 
RENEWAL

LAWS

ABANDONED 
APPLICATIONS
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This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit 
your request.

If an agency or individual is assisting you with the licensure process, we will not be able to release any 
information to them unless you provide us with authorization.  If you wish to do so, please complete the 
portion on Release of Information to Third Party, sign and date it.

RELEASE OF 
INFORMATION

If for any reason you are denied the license you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as 
provided by Title 16, Chapter 201, Hawaii Administrative Rules, and/or Chapter 91, Hawaii Revised 
Statutes.

LICENSE 
DENIAL



APPLICATION FOR LICENSE - BEHAVIOR ANALYST
Access this form via website at:  cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/programs

Read the Requirements/Information page before completing this form. 
Type or print legibly in black ink.

CHECK ONE: Passed BACB License by endorsement

Legal Name (First, Middle) (Last)

FO
R 

 O
FF

IC
E 

 U
SE

  O
N

LY

BA Checklist

BACB 
Certification Fees $260 / $150OR

Lic. Verification: ________________________

Approved Initials/Date:

License No.: Effective Date:

   BA - 
Other Names Used (include maiden name):

Residence Address (Include Apt. No., City, State & Zip Code):

Social Security No.: Date of Birth: Phone No. (days):

Mailing Address (ONLY if different from above):

( )

BA
CB

  
CE

RT
IF

IC
A

TI
O

N

I hold the following certificate issued by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB):

Certificate No.:

Issue Date:

Provide date you requested the Verification of Certification (BA-03):

ST
A

TE
 L

IC
EN

SE
S

Name of State (Attach additional sheets if needed) License Number Date Issued License current?

Please have verification of your behavior analyst license from the licensing authority of each state in which you hold or 
held a license at any time sent directly to our department.

BA-01  0824R

Appl . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  263   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $50 
Lic . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  264   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $50 
CRF . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 265   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $100/$50 
1/2 Renewal. . . . . . . . 260   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $60 
Service Charge . . . . .  BCF . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $25 

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2)

Expiration Date:

Endorsement Verification

Email Address:



Print Name of Applicant: Date:

Please check your answer to the following questions as it pertains to the individual applying for a behavior analyst license:

1. Are you at least 18 years of age? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . YES NO

2. Are you a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the United States? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Have you taken and passed the Board Certified Behavior Analyst Examination?  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .3.

YES NO

YES NO

If "YES", provide passage date:

4. Have you ever been denied a registration, certificate, or license to practice behavior analysis? . . . . . . . . . . . . . YES NO

YES NO
Has any license, recognition, authority, registration or national credentials ever been revoked,  
suspended, encumbered or otherwise subject to disciplinary action?  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

5.

6. Are you presently being investigated or is any disciplinary action pending against your license, 
recognition, authority or registration in this State or any other jurisdiction?  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . YES NO

YES NOHave you ever been convicted of a crime in any jurisdiction that has not been annulled or expunged? . . . . .7.

If you answered "YES" to questions 4, 5, 6 or 7, please provide a detailed statement signed by you explaining the 
circumstances and certified copies of documents pertaining to the prior or pending disciplinary action(s) or conviction(s).

AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT: 
  
 I hereby certify that the statements, answers, and representations made in this application and in the documents 
attached are true and correct.  I understand that any misrepresentation is grounds for refusal to grant or subsequent revocation 
of license and is a misdemeanor (Section 710-1017 and Section 436B-19, Hawaii Revised Statutes and Act 199, SLH 2015). 
  
 I further certify that I have read and will abide by the provisions of Act 199, SLH 2015 and 436B and the Hawaii 
Administrative Rules when they are promulgated.

Signature of Applicant Date

Signature of Applicant Date

Release of Information to Third Party: 
  
To assist me in the licensing process, I authorize DCCA's staff to release any and all information regarding my application 
(including, but not limited to application status) to the following third party:

Print Name of Individual who is assisting you:

Name of Organization:

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.
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