
REQUIREMENTS FOR EXEMPT OUT-OF-STATE COLLECTION AGENCY DESIGNATION
Visit our website at:  cca.hawaii.gov/pvl 
  
Read entire requirements sheet.  You are responsible for knowing and understanding these requirements.  Retain this sheet for future reference.

WHO IS EXEMPT?  A collection agency may apply for designation as an exempt out-of-state collection agency; provided that the collection 
   agency: 
  
   1.  Is licensed or registered as a collection agency under the laws of a state that: 
  
        a)  Regulates collection agencies; and 
        b)  Does not require a Hawaii collection agency to obtain a license or register to collect debts in that state if the activities 
              of the Hawaii collection agency are limited to those described in paragraphs 2, 3 and 4; 
  
   2.  Is collecting debts on behalf of an out-of-state creditor; 
  
   3.  Does not solicit or engage in collection activities for clients in this State; and 
  
   4.  Only collects debts in this State using interstate communication methods, including telephone, facsimile, or mail. 
  
   Contact your state licensing authority regarding requirement 1a and 1b prior to submitting an application to avoid delaying 
   the processing of your application.  You may also contact us at (808) 586-3000. 
  
REQUIRED  Complete the online fillable application and: 
DOCUMENTS 
   1.  SUBMIT copy of a current collection agency license, permit, or registration to conduct business as a collection agency in 
         another state that regulates collection agencies and reciprocates with Hawaii; and 
  
   2.  SUBMIT an original license verification (see attached CA-18) from the state agency that license collection agencies 
         indicating that the collection agency is in good standing with and has complied with the laws of that state that includes, 
         the name and address of the collection agency, the effective and expiration date of the collection agency license, an 
         indication if any disciplinary action had been taken against that collection agency and a copy of a bond by the state; 
         and 
  
   3.  By signing and submitting this application, you attest to comply with the requirements of all the laws of the State of  
          Hawaii that regulate collection practices, other than registration and bonding as specified in HRS 443B-5, and including 
         but not limited to the requirements of HRS, Chapter 480D, collection practices.  
  
   4.  SUBMIT a detailed statement or resume if you answered "YES" to question #1 on the application form. 
  
   5.  SUBMIT the required fees, $25 (non-refundable) application fee made payable to:  Commerce and Consumer Affairs. 
        (check must be in U.S. dollars and be from a U.S. financial institution.)  Upon approval of an out-of-state collection agency 
        exemption, the following compliance resolution fund ***(CRF) fee will be required; 
  

     •  $74 if applying during July 1 of an odd-numbered year to June 30 of an even-numbered year; 
          OR 

     •  $148 if applying for designation during July 1 of an even-numbered year to June 30 of an odd-numbered year. 
  
         You may submit 2 separate checks, application fee and CRF fee, along with your application. 
  
         NOTE:  One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to be issued is the payment 
          of fees as set forth in this application.  You may be sent a license certificate before the payment you sent us for your required 
          fees is honored by your bank.  If your payment is dishonored, you will have failed to pay the required licensing fee and your 
          license will not be valid, and you may not do business under that license.  Also, a $25.00 service charge shall be assessed for 
          payments that are dishonored for any reason.

   ***The Compliance Resolution Fund (CRF) was established by the 1982 Legislature (§26-9(m), Hawaii Revised Statutes) to 
         expedite resolution of consumer complaints filed with the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs.  Assessment  
         amounts are based on the services rendered complaints.  Assessment is due for the issuance of a new license as well as 
         for the renewal of a license.
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SOCIAL SECURITY        Your Social Security Number is used to verify your identity for licensing purposes and for compliance with the below 
NUMBER         laws.  For a license to be issued you must provide your Social Security Number or your application will be deemed 
         deficient and will not be processed further. 
         The following laws require that you furnish your Social Security Number to our agency:

         FEDERAL LAWS: 
         42 U.S.C.A. §666(a)(13) requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational 
         license be recorded on the application for license; and 
         If you are a licensed health care practitioner, 45 C.F.R., Part 61, Subpart B, §61.7 requires the Social Security Number as 
         part of the mandatory reporting we must do to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB), of any final 
         adverse licensing action against a licensed health care practitioner. 
         HAWAII REVISED STATUTES ("HRS"): 
         §576D-13(j), HRS requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational license 
         be recorded on the application for license; and 
         §436B-10(4), HRS which states that an applicant for license shall provide the applicant's Social Security Number if the 
         licensing authority is authorized by federal law to require the disclosure (and by the federal cites shown above, we are 
         authorized to require the Social Security Number).

RELEASE OF        If an agency or individual is assisting you with the licensure process, we will not be able to release any information to 
INFORMATION        them unless you provide us with authorization.  If you wish to do so, please complete the portion on Release of 
         Information to Third Party, sign and date it.

MAILING ADDRESS       Mail the completed application, fees and applicable documents to: 
  
    Collection Agency Program    Deliver to office location at: 
    DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch  OR  335 Merchant Street, Room 301 
    P. O. Box 3469     Honolulu, HI  96813 
    Honolulu, HI  96801    Phone:  (808) 586-3000

Instructions for "YES" Answers Questions (4) through (5) of the Application for License (CA-13) 
  
 A. The following documentation must be submitted with the license application.  Applications for license will not be considered without 
  this material. 
   1.  Questions 4a and 4b refer to complaints, charges of unlicensed activity, or pending disciplinary actions for any profession, 
         occupation, or license.  If your answer is "yes" to one or more of these questions you must submit the following: 
  
    i.  A detailed statement signed by you explaining the circumstances; and 
  
                     ii.  Copies of any documents from the agency, including final orders, petitions, complaints, findings of fact and 
         conclusions of law, and any other relevant documents; proof of payment of any fines and  
  
                    iii.  A resume of any employment, business activities, and education since the date of the action. 
  
     2.  If your application indicates a criminal conviction, you must submit the following: 
  
                      i.  A detailed statement signed by you explaining the circumstances leading to the conviction and detailing all  
         activities since the conviction, including employment and business involvements.  Include job title, periods of  
         employment, employer's name, description of duties, training attended, and educational courses attended. 
  
                     ii.  A copy of the court order, verdict, and terms of sentence; proof of payment of any fines and 
  
                    iii.  If applicable, a copy of the terms of probation and/or parole and a statement from your probation or parole 
        officer as to your compliance with the court order; 
  
                                      iv.  A current criminal history record check in your name from the Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center (HCJDC) 
         dated within six months.  Contact them at Ph: (808) 587-3100 or visit their website at: www.ecrim.ehawaii.gov 
         to request a "Criminal History Record Check".
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  NOTE: If your criminal conviction occurred in a state or states other than Hawaii, a current criminal history record check will be 
   required from each state AND Hawaii.  Contact the local authority or board in each state for their forms, instructions 
   and fees on obtaining criminal history record checks.
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         It is your responsibility to know and understand the laws and rules governing collection agencies.

BIENNIAL        Every exempt out-of-state collection agency, regardless of issuance date, is subject to renewal on or before June 30 
RENEWAL        of each even-numbered year.  Failure, neglect, or refusal to pay the renewal fee shall constitute a forfeiture of the 
         registration.  If you have not received a renewal application 30 days prior to the expiration date printed on your 
         registration card, call (808) 586-3000 or write to our mailing address. 
  
         You will be required to submit an original license verification FROM THE STATE in which you are claiming the 
         exemption verifying the status of your collection agency. 
  
DELINQUENT        Any collection agency which has failed to renew its registration may restore it by filing an application and payment of 
REGISTRATION        any delinquent renewal fees and a restoration fee. 
  
         Failure to restore a forfeited registration within sixty (60) days of forfeiture shall cause the registration to be 
         terminated.

CHANGE OF        To report changes to the principal collector, submit written notice to our office.  Your letter must include the following 
PRINCIPAL        information: 
COLLECTOR   1.  Name of the Principal Collector who will be responsible for the direct management and control of the daily 
         operation of the office; 
    2.  Residence address; 
    3.  Social Security Number; and 
    4.  Phone No. 
  
ABANDONMENT       Pursuant to HRS §436B-9, your application shall be considered abandoned and will be destroyed, if you fail to complete 
OF APPLICATION        the license process within one year after filing an application or fail to take and pass the examination after becoming 
        eligible to take the examination.   
  
        If an application is deemed abandoned, the applicant shall be required to reapply for licensure and comply with the 
        licensing requirements at the time of the reapplication.

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your 
request.
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LAWS AND RULES        To obtain a copy of the collection agencies laws, Chapter 443B, Hawaii Revised Statutes, and rules, Chapter 112, 
         Hawaii Administrative Rules, send a written request to:  Commerce and Consumer Affairs, P. O. Box 3469, Honolulu, HI 
         96801.  Chapter 436B, Hawaii Revised Statutes, the Professional and Vocational Licensing Act should be read in 
         conjunction with the above statutes and rules. 
  
         The laws and rules are also posted on our website at:  cca.hawaii.gov/pvl.  Click on "Collection Agency".



3. Do you hold or have you ever held a registration in Hawaii or in another state or jurisdiction? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

1. Have you ever been associated in any capacity in the operation or business of a collection agency? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
 If "YES", attach a detailed statement or resume.

Phone No. (Include area code):

Registration No.

APPLICATION FOR EXEMPT OUT-OF-STATE 
                          COLLECTION AGENCY DESIGNATION 
Please read the "Requirements for Exempt Out-of-State Collection Agency".

FO
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Out-of-State Business Address (Include suite no., city, state & zip code):

Trade Name or Business Name (if one will be used):

Social Security Number (Individual):

LLCIndividual (Sole Owner)

Partnership

Corporation LLP

COLAX -

PRINCIPAL COLLECTOR (Name of Principal Collector who is responsible for the direct 
management and control of the daily operation of the office):

Residence Address of Principal Collector:

)(
Business Phone No.:

Date Registered:

Indicate the type of Business Entity:

Principal Collector Social Security Number:

5. Have you ever been convicted of a crime in any jurisdiction that has not  been annulled or expunged? . . . . . . . . . . . . .

The following questions pertain to the applicant and any persons (principal collector(s), all officers, directors, partners, managers or members, 
etc.), responsible for the exempt out-of-state collection agency.  Check your answers.  If any response to question 4 through 5 is "YES", refer to 
the instructions for additional documents that must be submitted with this application and EXPLAIN ALL "YES" responses on a separate sheet 
and include official documentation to substantiate your answer.

2. Are you a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the United States? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

NOYES

4. a. Have you ever had any registration, license or permit revoked, suspended or otherwise 
 subject to disciplinary action? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2)

 Appl . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 094 . . . . . . . . .$25 
 CRF . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 096 . . . . . . . . .$74/$148 
 Service Charge. . . . . . . . . BCF . . . . . . . . .$25

NOYES

NOYES

CA-13 0824R

6. Will the agency's business be conducted in connection with any other business? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
 If "YES", attach a detailed statement.

Name (Individual - First, Middle, Last) OR (Name of Corporation/Partnership/LLC/LLP):

Mailing Address, ONLY if different from above (Include suite no., city, state & zip code):

Email  Address:

)(

NOYES

NOYES

 If "YES", provide state(s):

 What state are you basing your exemption on?

 b. Is any disciplinary action pending or any licenses or registration being investigated? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . NOYES

NOYES

APPROVED

DENIED

Date:

Provide the Collection Agency License/Registration No.:



APPLICATION FOR EXEMPT OUT-OF-STATE COLLECTION AGENCY  - (Cont.)

Print Name of Applicant: Date:

SOLE OWNER, CORPORATION, PARTNERSHIP, LLC, LLP

List Name & Title Residence Phone No. Social Security No.

Sole Owner/President/Partner/Manager/Member

Residence Address 
(Include city, state, zip code)

Vice President/Partner/Manager/Member

Secretary/Partner/Manager/Member

Treasurer/Partner/Manager/Member

AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT: 
  
 I/We certify that the statements, answers, and representations made in this application and the documents attached are true and correct.   
I/We, as an individual/an officer/a partner/a manager/a member, have authority to sign this application and to make the statements contained 
herein.  I/We understand that any misrepresentation is grounds for refusal or subsequent revocation of registration and is a misdemeanor 
(Sections 710-1017, 436B-19 and 443B-4.57, Hawaii Revised Statutes). 
  
 By signing and submitting this form, I/We attest to comply with the requirements of all laws of the State of Hawaii that regulate collection 
practices, other than registration and bonding as specified in HRS 443B-5, and including but not limited to the requirements of Chapter 480D.  
      
 I further certify that I have read, understand, and shall obey all laws and rules pertaining to the Collection Agency program.

DateSignature of Sole Owner, Officer, Partner, Manager, or Member

Print Your Name/Title

Signature of Principal Collector

Release of Information to Third Party: 
  
To assist me in the registration process, I authorize DCCA's staff to release any and all information regarding my application (including but not 
limited to, application status) to the following third party:

Print Name of Individual who is assisting you:

Name of Organization:

Signature of Applicant Date

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.
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