REQUIREMENTS FOR COMMUNITY SERVICE LICENSE - DENTIST

Access this form via website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/dentist

AGE

Be at least 18 years of age.

APPLICATION

Complete the on-line fillable application form or print legibly in dark ink and sign application. Applicants are subject to requirements in effect at the time of filing.

· Failure to provide the requested information will result in this form being returned to you for completion.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

Your Social Security Number is used to verify your identity for licensing purposes and for compliance with the below laws. For a license to be issued, you must **provide your Social Security Number or your application will be deemed deficient and will not be processed further.**

The following laws require that you furnish your Social Security Number to our agency.

FEDERAL LAWS:

42 U.S.C.A. §666(a)(13) requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and

if you are a licensed health care practitioner, **45 C.F.R., Part 61, Subpart B, §61.7** requires the Social Security Number as part of the mandatory reporting we must do to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB), of any final adverse licensing action against a licensed health care practitioner.

HAWAII REVISED STATUTES ("HRS"):

§576D-13(j), HRS requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and

§436B-10(4), HRS which states that an applicant for license shall provide the applicant's Social Security Number if the licensing authority is authorized by federal law to require the disclosure (and by the federal cites shown above, we are authorized to require the Social Security Number).

FEES

ATTACH fee of \$373 (\$100 - Application* + \$125 - License + \$148 - Compliance Resolution Fund) if licensed in even-numbered year and \$299 (\$100 - Application* + \$125 - License + \$74 - Compliance Resolution Fund) if licensed in odd-numbered year.

Make check payable to: **COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS**. (check must be in U.S. dollars and be from a U.S. financial institution.)

*Application fee is not refundable.

NOTE: One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to be issued is the payment of fees as set forth in this application. You may be sent a license certificate before the check you sent us for your required fees clears your bank. If your check is returned to us unpaid, you will have failed to pay the required licensing fee and your license will not be valid, and you **may not** do business under that license. Also, a \$25.00 service fee will be charged for checks which are returned by the bank.

If for any reason you are denied the license you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as provided by Title 16, Chapter 201, Hawaii Administrative Rules, and/or Chapter 91, Hawaii Revised Statutes. Your written request for a hearing must be directed to the agency that denied your application, and must be made within 60 days of notification that your application for a license has been denied.

FAILURE OF EXAMINATION

Any person who has failed the ADEX dental examination <u>after 7/2/2004</u> shall not have the benefit of a community service license.

DENTAL GRADUATE

Be a graduate of a dental program accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation. <u>ATTACH</u> a copy of diploma.

NATIONAL BOARD EXAMINATION

Pass the National Board Dental Examination Part I & II. There shall be a 5-year limit of recognition of Part II of the National Board dental exam. Such time shall be computed from the date the exam is passed to the date of application.

<u>Arrange</u> to have the final report of the National Board Examination Data Score Card forwarded to the Board or attach an <u>original</u> score card to license application. Copies are not acceptable. Contact the National Board at (312) 440-2678 to request that scores be sent to the Board.

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2)

NATIONAL BOARD EXAMINATION (Continued)

If your examination is beyond the 5-year limit of recognition and unable to qualify pursuant to the alternative below, make arrangements with the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations to retake the examination, if applicable.

OR

VERIFICATION OF ACTIVE CLINICAL DENTAL PRACTICE Alternatively, provide evidence of active clinical dental practice of not less than 1,000 hours per year for the 3 years immediately prior to the date of application by having another licensed dentist complete the attached "Verification of active Clinical Dental Practice" form.

NATIONAL PRACTITIONER DATA BANK ("NPDB")/ **HEALTHCARE INTEGRITY** AND PROTECTION DATA **BANK ("HIPDB")**

Call the Data Bank at 1-800-767-6732 to request a form for self-query or you may download the form from their website at: www.npdb-hipdb.hrsa.gov and click on "Perform a Self-Query". After completing the form, return it directly to the NPDB. They will send the reports back to you. You are then to forward all pages of the correct report titled "NPDB Response to Self-Query" to our office.

LICENSE VERIFICATION

All applicants for a community service license **MUST** hold an active, unrestricted license from another state. Have all jurisdictions where you hold or held a license at any time, complete the attached "Verification of License" form. This "Verification" form may be duplicated as needed. Allow at least 6 weeks for other jurisdictions to complete the form. Some jurisdictions charge a fee for verification service. Contact the appropriate licensing agency for information on requirements. The applicant is responsible for any fees incurred.

EMPLOYMENT

Attach an original letter of employment prepared by your prospective employer giving specific employment dates. Also, have your prospective employer provide documentation of qualifying as a federally qualified health center, Native Hawaiian health systems center, or post-secondary dental auxiliary training program accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation.

TERMINATION OF EMPLOYMENT

Pursuant to Chapter 448, Hawaii Revised Statutes, a community service license authorizes the licensee to practice dentistry only within the employment of an eligible organization and shall be in force until the date the person leaves the employment authorized under the community service license. Therefore, employers shall inform the Board's office when the employment of the community service licensee expires or terminates.

CONTINUING EDUCATION ("CE")

Community Service licensees shall actively participate in a formal and ongoing program of clinical quality assurance. Dentist are required to complete 32 hours of CE credits during the biennium.

RENEWAL

Licenses expire on December 31, odd-numbered years and may be renewed biennially. A renewal will be mailed to your employer approximately 60 days before the expiration of your license.

RELEASE OF INFORMATION

If an agency or individual is assisting you with the licensure process, we will not be able to release any information to them unless you provide us with authorization. If you wish to do so, please complete the portion of Release of Information to Third Party, sign and date it.

335 Merchant St., Room 301

Honolulu, HI 96813

Phone: (808) 586-3000

ADDRESS OF BOARD

Mail all required items to: Deliver to office location at: **Board of Dentistry** DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch OR P. O. Box 3469 Honolulu, HI 96801

LAWS & RULES PUBLICATION

A copy of the laws, Chapter 448, Hawaii Revised Statutes, and rules, Chapter 79, Hawaii Administrative Rules, relating to the practice of dentistry may be obtained by submitting a written request to the address above. Chapter 436B, Hawaii Revised Statutes, the Professional and Vocational Licensing Act should be read in conjunction with Chapters 448 and 79.

The laws and rules are also posted on our website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl. Click on "Dentists and Dental Hygienist". Then click on "Statute/Rule Chapter".

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 3)



Pursuant to HRS §436B-9, your application shall be considered abandoned and will be destroyed, if you fail to complete the license process within one year after filing an application or fail to take and pass the examination after becoming eligible to take the examination.

If an application is deemed abandoned, the applicant shall be required to reapply for licensure and comply with the licensing requirements at the time of the reapplication.

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.

APPLICATION FOR COMMUNITY SERVICE LICENSE - DENTIST						diploma	☐ NPDB		
Access this form via website at: <u>cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/dentist</u>						NB (w/in 5 yrs) OR	Employm	ent Ltr	
Follow the instructions and read requirements.						Active Practice	Lic Verif		
Legal Name ((First, Middle)		(Last)		Ì	Approved	Initials/Date:		
						License No.	Eff. Date:		
Residence Ac	ddress (Include apt. no., city, state &	zip cod	e) - REQUIRED		֡֟֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓֓	LICENSE NO.	Lii. Date.		
				\	3	Employer: xxx-	Exp. Date:		
					<u> </u>				
Mailing Address (ONLY if different from residence)		ce) Er	Employer Name & Address:		5				
Social Securit	ty No	Data of	Dieth						
Social Securit	ty No.	Date of	ate of Birth						
Phone No. (D	lave)	Other r	names used:						
THORE NO. (D	(ays)	Otherr	rther flathes used.		nai	l Address:			
1) Are you at least 18 years of age?								No	
8)	documents sent to the Board.) 8) Have you actively practiced clinical dentistry of not less than 1,000 hours per year for the three years immediately prior to the date of application?								
9) Have you previously taken and failed the Hawaii dental licensure examination or the ADEX dental examination after 07/02/04?								s No	
10) Have you ever had or have pending legal or regulatory action relating to claims of malpractice, or personal or professional misconduct? (If "YES", explain on separate sheet.)								s No	
11) Have you ever been convicted of a crime in any jurisdiction that has not been annulled or expunged? (If "YES", explain on a separate sheet and attach court documentation on the date, place, violation of each conviction and fulfillment of conditions of each sentence.)							Ye	s No	
			(CONTINUED ON PA	GE 2)					
					۸n	nl 160	٠٠	100	

 Appl
 168
 \$100

 Lic
 173
 \$125

 CRF
 169
 \$74/\$148

 Service Fee
 BCF
 \$25

APPLICATION FOR COMMUNITY SERVICE LICENSE - DENTIST

Prin	t Name of A	pplicant: _			Dat	te:	
	Dates (mo/yr)			D			
	From	То	Semester or Credit Hrs	Degree Earned & Date Earned	Name of Institution	Location (City/Country)	
					College/University (other than dental)		
_							
ō							
EDUCATION					Dental		
ž							
Ш							
					Graduate		
AFFI	DAVIT OF AI	PPLICANT:					
	Lhava	£	a al tila a avva ati a ma i	- +b - fi		فريم والمنازين بالمغم المحموم المحمود	
rese					plication and have answered them truthf er institutions, employers (past and prese		
					d instrumentalities (local, state, federal or		
			Hawaii any inform	ation, files or record	ds requested by the Board in connection	with the processing of	
this	application.						
	I hereb	v expressly	waive all provisio	ns of law forbiddin	g any physician or other person who has	attended or examined me, or who	
may					edge or information which is thereby acq		
any	knowledge (or informat	ion be disclosed to	o the Board of Dent	tistry in the State of Hawaii.		
	Lhereb	ov certify th	at the statements.	answers, and repre	esentations made in this application and	in the documents submitted are true	
and					s for refusal or subsequent revocation of I		
(Sec	tion 710-101	17, Sections	436B-19, and 448	8-17, Hawaii Revised	d Statutes).		
	l furthe	er certify th	at I have read unc	lerstand and agree	e to the provisions of Chapters 448 and 43	36B. Hawaii Revised Statutes, and	
Cha			strative Rules.	ierstaria, aria agree	to the provisions of chapters 440 and 45	oob, Hawaii Nevisea Statutes, and	
		Si	ignature of Applic	ant		 Date	
			.g., a.a				
Rele	ase of Info	mation to	Third Party:				
_						L II. 6	
					ntistry and DCCA's staff to release any an- mination scores, disciplinary or criminal h		
	ort) to the fo			ilcation status, exai	mination scores, disciplinary or criminarii	istory, National Fractitioner Data Bank	
·		_					
Nan	ne of Individ	ual who is a	assisting you:				
Nan	ne of Organi	zation:					
Add	ress of Orga	nization:					
		_					
		Si	ignature of Applic	ant	_	 Date	

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.