
INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING – BEAUTY INSTRUCTOR (EXAM WAIVER) 
Access this form via website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl

NIC EXAM 
REQUIRED 

All applicants are required to obtain a passing score on the National-Interstate Council of State Boards of 
Cosmetology (“NIC”) examination.  If you have not yet taken the NIC examination, please refer to the 
“Beauty Instructor (By Exam)” application.  If you are unsure if your jurisdiction administered the NIC, 
please refer to the Examination Waiver List at the end of the application.

STEP 1 – SATISFY THE QUALIFICATION REQUIREMENTS AND SELECT ONE PATHWAY 

SOCIAL SECURITY 
NUMBER 

If you are applying as an individual/sole proprietor, your Social Security Number is used to verify your 
identity for licensing purposes and for compliance with the below laws.  For a licensed to be issued, you 
must provide your Social Security Number, or your application will be deemed deficient and will not be 
processed further.  The following laws require that you furnish your Social Security Number to our agency: 

FEDERAL LAWS: 
42 U.S.C.A. §666(a)(13) requires that Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or 
occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and if you are a licensed health care 
practitioner, 45 C.F.R., Part 61, Subpart B, §61.7 requires the Social Security Number as part of the 
mandatory reporting we must do to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB), of any final 
adverse licensing action against a licensed health care practitioner. 

HAWAII REVISED STATUTES (“HRS”): 
§576D-13(j), HRS requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or
occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and §436B-10(4), HRS which states that an
applicant for license shall provide the applicant’s Social Security Number if the licensing authority is
authorized by federal law to require the disclose (and by the federal cites shown above, we are authorized to
require the Social Security Number).

HAWAII BEO 
LICENSE 

You must possess a current and valid Hawaii Beauty Operator (BEO) license. 

OPERATOR 
EXPERIENCE 

You must have experience as a licensed Beauty Operator for at least one (1) year in Hawaii OR in another 
jurisdiction with standards substantially similar to Hawaii. 

LICENSE 
PATHWAYS 

You may qualify for licensure through two pathways.  Select the pathway which best applies to your training 
and refer to Page 2 to determinate what documentation must be included with your application. 

(1) I have completed at least 600 hours of Beauty INSTRUCTOR training at a beauty school;
(2) I possess an Instructor license in another jurisdiction.

STEP 2 – SUBMIT YOUR APPLICATION WITH APPLICABLE FEES AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS 

APPLICATION 
FORM 

Complete the online fillable form or print legibly in black ink and ATTACH appropriate documentation. 

FAILURE TO PROVIDE ALL REQUIRED INFORMATION WILL DELAY THE PROCESSING OF YOUR APPLICATION. 

LICENSE FEES ATTACH the applicable license fee below. 

Applicant who will be licensed in an EVEN-numbered year, pay . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $165 
(Application-$20 + License-$22 + CRF-$100 + 1/2 Renewal-$23) 

Applicant who will be licensed in an ODD-numbered year, pay . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$92* 
(Application-$20 + License-$22 + CRF-$50) 

Make checks payable to: COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS 
Checks must be in U.S. dollars and be from a U.S. financial institution. 

The Compliance Resolution Fund (CRF) was established by the 1982 Legislature (Section 26-9(m), Hawaii 
Revised Statutes) to expedite resolution of consumer complaints filed with DCCA. 
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LICENSE FEES 
(CONT.) 

NOTE: One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to be issued 
is the payment of fees as set forth in this application.  You may be sent a license certificate before the 
payment you sent us for your required fees is honored by your bank.  If your payment is dishonored, you will 
have failed to pay the required licensing fee and your license will not be valid, and you may not do business 
under that license.  Also, a $25.00 service charge shall be assessed for payments that are dishonored for 
any reason. 

FOREIGN 
LANGUAGE 

All documents must be in English. If documents are not in English, the documents must be translated into 
English. Submit a copy of the foreign document with (1) the ORIGINAL English translation and (2) an 
ORIGINAL declaration from the translator that the translation is accurate, and that the translator is fluent in 
both the foreign language and English. The translator cannot be the applicant. Supporting documents in 
other names MUST be listed on your application under the “Other Names Used” section.  

Example: “I certify that I am competent in both the English language and the (language of the document) 
language and that this is a true and complete translation of the foreign language original.”  

HAWAII BEO 
LICENSE 

On the application, provide your Hawaii Beauty Operator License Number and check the appropriate box(es) 
indicating the license classifications you currently possess. 

OPERATOR 
EXPERIENCE 

ATTACH “Experience Verification Form(s)” totaling at least one year of licensed beauty OPERATOR 
experience.  Refer to “Experience Verification Form” instructions below. 

PATHWAY (1): 
INSTRUCTOR 
TRAINING 

ATTACH a copy of your beauty school transcript that reflects your Instructor training of at least 600 hours. 

PATHWAY (2):  
OUT-OF-STATE 
LICENSE 

ATTACH a copy of your Instructor license or a state board verification. 

If your jurisdiction requires LESS hours than Hawaii, ATTACH “Experience Verification Form(s)” totaling at 
least one (1) year of licensed beauty INSTRUCTOR experience.  Refer to “Experience Verification Form” 
instructions below. 

EXPERIENCE 
VERIFICATION 
FORM 

Have a qualified person(s), owner, manager, supervisor, etc. complete the form. You must provide the 
ORIGINAL and completed hardcopy to us. Your experience must total at least ONE (1) YEAR of licensed 
Beauty Instructor experience.  

The “Experience Verification” form is attached to this application and can also be found on the Board’s 
website at: http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/barber/application_publications/.  

If you were self-employed, you may provide verification of your business through appropriate 
documentation (copy of shop/business license, tax records, or state board verification, etc.) in lieu of the 
“Experience Verification” form.  

INCOMPLETE 
APPLICATIONS 

Incomplete applications will not be accepted, and a notice of deficiency will be sent. It is your responsibility 
to file a complete application in sufficient time to be approved to take the examination.  

RELEASE OF 
INFORMATION 

If an agency or individual is assisting you with this licensure process, we will not be able to release any 
information to them unless you provide us with authorization. If you wish to do so, please complete, sign, 
and date the portion on Release of Information to Third Party.  

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 3) 
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR “YES” ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS (5) THROUGH (7) 
If you answered “YES” to questions 5-7, your application may be reviewed at a Barbering and Cosmetology Board meeting. The 
following documentation must be submitted with your application prior to Board review. The Board will not review incomplete 
applications.  

• Questions 5 and 6 refer to complaints, charges of unlicensed activity, or pending disciplinary actions for any profession,
occupation, or license. If your answer is “YES” to one or more of these questions, ATTACH:

i. A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances; and

ii. Copies of any documents from the agency, including final orders, petitions, complaints, findings of facts and
conclusions of law, and any other relevant documents;

• Question 7 refers to criminal convictions. If your answer is “YES” to this question, ATTACH:

i. A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances leading to the conviction and detailing all activities
since the conviction, including employment and business involvements. Include job title, period of employment,
employer’s name, description of duties, training attended, and educational courses attended;

ii. A copy of the court order, verdict, and terms of sentence;

iii. If applicable, a copy of the terms of probation and/or parole and notarized statement from your probation or
parole officer as to your compliance with the court orders;

iv. Signed statements from employers, business associates/clients, and others who can attest to your business
dealings, including a statement as to your reputation for or record of experience, competency, honesty,
truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair dealings; and

v. A current criminal history record check in your name, which you may obtain from the Hawaii Criminal Justice
Data Center. Contact the Department of the Attorney General, Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center, Kekuanao’a
Building, 456 S. King Street, Rm. 101, Honolulu, HI 96813. Phone: (808) 587-3100 or visit their website at :
ecrim.ehawaii.gov to request a “Criminal History Record Check” form.

NOTE: If your criminal conviction occurred in a state or states other than Hawaii, a current criminal history
record check will be required from each state AND Hawaii. Contact the local authority or board in each state for
their forms, instructions and fees on obtaining criminal history record checks.

SEND YOUR 
APPLICATION 

VIA MAIL:  
Board of Barbering and Cosmetology 
DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch  
P.O. Box 3469  
Honolulu, HI 96801  

 OR DELIVER IN-PERSON:  
DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch  
335 Merchant St., Room 301 
Honolulu, HI 96813  
Phone: (808) 586-3000  

BOARD REVIEW All applications are subject to review by the Board; thus, please schedule the submittal of your application to 
allow for additional time that may be required for review and approval by the Board. 

LICENSE DENIAL If for any reason you are denied the license you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as 
provided by the Hawaii Administrative Rules, Title 16, Chapter 201, and/or Hawaii Revised Statutes, Chapter 
91. Your written request for a hearing should be directed to the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology and
must be received by the Board within 60 days of the date that your application for licensure was denied.

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 4) 
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ABANDONMENT 
OF APPLICATION 

Pursuant to HRS §436B-9, your application shall be considered abandoned and will be destroyed, if you fail to 
complete the license process within one year after filing an application or fail to take and pass the 
examination after becoming eligible to take the examination.  

If an application is deemed abandoned, the applicant shall be required to reapply for licensure and comply 
with the licensing requirements at the time of the reapplication.

STEP 3 – MAINTAIN YOUR LICENSE 

RENEWAL All licenses, regardless of date issued, expire on DECEMBER 31 of every ODD-NUMBERED year.  Licenses 
must be renewed on or before the expiration date.  Approximately two months before the expiration date, a 
“Renewal Application” is mailed to all licensees at their mailing address of record.  If you do not receive a 
renewal application one month prior to the expiration date, contact the Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000. 

LAWS AND RULES To obtain a copy of the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology’s laws and rules, submit a written request to 
the address on Page 2 of these instructions, or you may download them from cca.hawaii.gov/pvl.  

• Barber law: Hawaii Revised Statutes chapter 438
• Barber rules: Hawaii Administrative Rules chapter 16-73
• Cosmetology law: Hawaii Revised Statutes chapter 439
• Cosmetology rules: Hawaii Administrative Rules chapter 16-78
• Professional and Vocational Licensing Act: Hawaii Revised Statutes chapter 436B

 

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit 
your request. 

-4-



APPLICATION FOR LICENSE – BEAUTY INSTRUCTOR (EXAM WAIVER) 
Read “Requirements & Instructions” before completing this form. 
Please type or print LEGIBLY in black ink. 

FO
R 

BO
AR

D 
U

SE
 O

N
LY

 

    Application Fee 600 hours 
      or 

    1,500 hours O.S. license 
Legal Name (First, Middle) (Last)      Approved (Initials/date): 

Eff Date: Lic No.: 
I - 

OTHER NAMES USED (Previous surnames, maiden name, nicknames and aliases) 

Residence Address (Include Apt. No., City, State, & Zip Code) - REQUIRED 

Mailing Address (ONLY if different from residence location) 

Social Security No. 
Phone No. (Days) 
Res: 

Bus: 
HAWAII BEAUTY OPERATOR LICENSE: Provide your Hawaii Beauty Operator license number and check the box(es) of classifications you possess. 
 

BEO - ______________               Cosmetology  Hairdressing  Esthetics               Nail Technology 
 

INSTRUCTOR TRAINING: Identify your training/experience and ATTACH applicable documentation to show proof of training.   

      (1) 600 Hours of Instructor Training from Beauty School 
      (2) Out-of-State Instructor License 

 (if less hours than Hawaii, attach proof of one (1) year licensed Instructor exp.) 

        Total hours completed: __________________ 

OUT-OF-STATE TRAINING & EXPERIENCE 
 

State of Training 

_________________ 

Length of Training (Mo/Yr) 

 

From: ________   To: ________ 
C 
Check your answers.  If answer is “YES” to Questions 5-7, refer to the instructions for additional documents that must be submitted. 

1.  Are you at least 16 years of age? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .     YES NO 

2.  Are you a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the United States? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  YES NO 

3.  Do you have at least one (1) year of experience as a licensed Beauty Operator? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  . . . . .       YES      NO 

            If “YES”, provide the jurisdiction and ATTACH “Experience Verification” form (State/Country): __________________ 

4.  Have you taken and passed the NIC examination? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  YES NO 

If “YES”: ATTACH applicable proof.  When did you pass? _______________   What jurisdiction? ______________ 

If “NO”: DO NOT complete this application.  Refer to the “Beauty Instructor License (By Exam)” application. 

5. Has any license/certification/registration ever been suspended, revoked or otherwise subject to disciplinary action? . . . YES NO

6.  Are there are any disciplinary actions pending against you? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  . . . .  YES NO 

7.  Have you ever been convicted of a crime in any jurisdiction that has not been annulled or expunged? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . YES NO 

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2 – SIGNATURE REQUIRED ON APPLICATION) 

Instructor:  Appl . . . . . 141 . . . . . . $20 
Permit . . . 152 . . . . . . $40 

Lic . . . . . . 146 . . . . . . $22 
CRF . . . . . 142 . . . . . . $50/$100 
1/2 (ren) . 130 . . . . . . $23 
Svc Chrg . . BCF . . . . . . $25 
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IN
ST

RU
CT

O
R 

LI
CE

N
SE

S Name of State  
(submit copy of license) Method of Licensure Type of License Held Date First Licensed 

State Exam         Reciprocity 

State Exam         Reciprocity 

Affidavit of Applicant: 
I hereby certify that the statements, answers and representations made in this application and in the documents attached are true 

and correct.  I understand that any misrepresentation is grounds for refusal to grant or subsequent revocation of license and is a misdemeanor 
(Section 710-1017, Section 436B-19, and Section 439-19, Hawaii Revised Statutes).  I further certify that I have read and will abide by the 
provisions of Hawaii Revised Statutes, Chapter 439 and Hawaii Administrative Rules, Chapter 16-78. 

_______________________________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant 

________________________ 
Date 

Release of Information to Third Party 
To assist me in the licensing process, I authorize DCCA’s staff to release any and all information regarding my application (including but 

not limited to, application status) to: 

Print Name of Individual who is assisting you:  ___________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant 

________________________ 
Date 

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request. 
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Print Applicant Name: _________________________________________ Date: ___________________________ 

Failure to provide all the requested information will delay the processing of your application. 
EM

PL
O

YM
EN

T 
H

IS
TO

RY
 Name of Employer Address of Employer 

Dates Employed (mo/yr) Average Hours 
Per Week Position Title 

From To 



EXPERIENCE VERIFICATION FORM – BEAUTY INSTRUCTOR 
Access this form via website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl 

PART I.  TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT 

Instructions: A. Complete information in Part I only.
B. Have a qualified person complete Part II and sign the form.
C. ATTACH the completed ORIGINAL form to the application.  Copies are not acceptable.

Applicant’s Name: (First, Middle) (LAST) 

Complete Mailing Address: (include Apt. No., City, State and Zip Code) Phone No.: (days) 

Date: 

PART II. TO BE COMPLETED BY EMPLOYER OR SUPERVISOR WITH INSTRUCTOR EXPERIENCE. 
IF SELF EMPLOYED, COMPLETE THIS FORM AND ATTACH SHOP/BUSINESS LICENSE.  
Failure to provide all requested Information will delay processing of application.   

The above person is applying for a beauty instructor license in Hawaii.  The applicant is required to submit proof of out-of-state 
experience as a licensed operator or licensed instructor.  Please supply the following information, sign the form, then return this 
form to the person at the above address. 
Employment Date Termination Date Total Length of Employment 

______ yrs.  ______ mos. 

Avg. Hrs. Per Wk. Applicant worked as an: (check one) 

      OPERATOR       INSTRUCTOR 

Describe the work performed by beauty operator or instructor: 

I hereby certify that the information provided on the above-named person is true and correct and that I am a licensed operator or 
qualified person.  

________________________________________________________ 
Print Name of Out-of-State Employer/Supervisor/Qualified Person 

________________________________________________________ 
Signature of Out-of-State Employer/Supervisor/Qualified Person 

_______________________________ 
Employer/Supervisor License No. 

________________________________________________________ 
Address of Employer (Line 1) 

________________________________________________________ 
Address of Employer (Line 2) 

(_________)_____________________ 
Phone Number 

_________________ 
Date 

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request. 
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EXAMINATION WAIVER LIST - JURISDICTIONS ADMINISTERING THE NIC 
X – Denotes Administration of the NIC (subject to change without notice) 

States/Districts/ 
Territories Barber Cosmetologist Hairdresser Esthetician Nail 

Technician Instructor 

ALABAMA X X X X X 
ALASKA X X X X X 

ARIZONA X X X X X 
ARKANSAS X X X X 

CALIFORNIA X X X X 
DELAWARE X X X X X 
GEORGIA X X X X X X 

GUAM X X X X X 
IDAHO X X X X X 

ILLINOIS X X X 
IOWA X X X X X 

KANSAS X 
KENTUCKY X X X X 
LOUISIANA X X X X 

MAINE X X X X X 
MISSISSIPPI X 
MISSOURI X X X X X X 
MONTANA X X X X X 
NEBRASKA X X X X 

NEVADA X 
NEW HAMPSHIRE X X X X X 

NEW MEXICO X X X X X 
NORTH CAROLINA X X X X X 
NORTH DAKOTA X X X X 

OKLAHOMA X X X X 
RHODE ISLAND X X X X X 

SOUTH CAROLINA X X X X X 
SOUTH DAKOTA X X X X 

UTAH X X X X X X 
VERMONT X X X X 

VIRGIN ISLANDS X X X X 
VIRGINIA X X X X X 

WASHINGTON X X X X X X 
WASHINGTON DC X X X X X 
WEST VIRGINIA X X X X X 

WISCONSIN X X X X 
WYOMING X X X X X X 
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