




INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING - CPA LICENSE
Access this form via website at:  cca.hawaii.gov/pvl

APPLICATION 
FORM

Complete the online fillable "Application for License - CPA" form (CPA-04) OR type/print in dark ink and 
sign.  Attach applicable fee and supporting documents.  Original signature required.

SOCIAL  
SECURITY 
NUMBER

Your Social Security number is used to verify your identity for licensing purposes and for compliance with 
the below laws.  For a license to be issued you must provide your Social Security number or your 
application will be deemed deficient and will not be processed further. 
The following laws require that you furnish your Social Security number to our agency: 
  
FEDERAL LAWS: 
42 U.S.C.A. §666(a)(13) requires the Social Security number of any applicant for a professional license  
or occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and 
If you are a licensed health care practitioner, 45 C.F.R., Part 61, Subpart B, §61.7 requires the Social 
Security number as part of the mandatory reporting we must do to the Healthcare Integrity and  
Protection Data Bank (HIPDB), of any final adverse licensing action against a licensed health care 
practitioner. 
HAWAII REVISED STATUTES ("HRS"): 
§576D-13(j), HRS requires the Social Security number of any applicant for a professional license or 
occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and  
§436B-10(4), HRS which states that an applicant for license shall provide the applicant's Social Security 
number if the licensing authority is authorized by federal law to require the disclosure (and by the  
federal cites shown above, we are authorized to require the Social Security number).

FEES ATTACH appropriate amount made payable to:  COMMERCE & CONSUMER AFFAIRS.  (check must be 
made in U.S. dollars and be from a U.S. financial institution.) 
  
If you expect to receive a license in an EVEN-NUMBERED year, pay . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $215 
(Application - $25*, License - $64, Compliance Resolution Fund - $100, 
1/2 renewal for the second year of the two-year license period - $26); 
   
If you expect to receive a license in an ODD-NUMBERED year, pay . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $139 
(Application - $25*, License - $64, Compliance Resolution Fund - $50). 
  
All licenses are subject to renewal on or before December 31 of each ODD-NUMBERED year.

*Application fee is not refundable. 
  
NOTE:  One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to be issued 
is the payment of fees as set forth in this application.  You may be sent a license before the payment you sent 
us for your required fees is honored by your bank.  If your payment is dishonored, you will have failed to pay 
the required licensing fee and your license will not be valid, and you may not do business under that license. 
Also, a $25.00 service charge shall be assessed for payments that are dishonored for any reason. 
  
If for any reason you are denied the license you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as provided 
by Title 16, Chapter 201, Hawaii Administrative Rules, and/or Chapter 91, Hawaii Revised Statutes.  Your 
written request for a hearing must be directed to the agency that denied your application, and must be made 
within 60 days of notification that your application for a license has been denied.
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UNIFORM 
CPA EXAM

Passed Exam in Hawaii:  No further evidence of passing is required since your exam records are on file. 
  
Passed Exam in Another State:  Have the other state agency complete Form CPA-05, Verification of 
License/Exam Scores.



COMPETENCE 
CERTIFICATES

Submit three (3) Certificate of Competence (LB-03) forms completed by responsible persons who are 
personally or professionally acquainted with you and who will attest to your competence, 
trustworthiness and fairness.  Forms should not be completed by relatives.  This form may be duplicated. 
Failure to provide complete forms will delay the processing of your application.

EDUCATION

Submit certified transcripts (with official seal of the educational institution1 ) indicating:

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 3)
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1  "Education institution" means a four-year degree-granting college, school, or university accredited by a regional or national accrediting agency or association 

approved by the Board.

• "National accrediting agency or association" includes, without limitation, the American Association of Schools and Colleges, and other similar agencies 
and associations approved by the Board.

• "Regional accrediting agency or association" includes, without limitation, the Western Association of Schools and Colleges, and other similar agencies 
and associations approved by the Board.
To be acceptable, the educational institution shall be accredited at the time the applicant is granted the degree.•

2  "Upper division courses"  means courses usually taken at the junior or senior undergraduate level, and typically do not include introductory courses.

3  "Business-related courses" include:  accounting and auditing; taxation; management services; computer science; economics; business law; legal and social 

environment of business; functional fields of business (finance, production, marketing, personnel relations, and business management); organization, group, 
and individual behavior; quantitative applications in business; communication skills; business ethics; globalization; total-quality management; and other 
business-related courses as approved by the Board.

To assist us/you in determining the coursework you wish to be applied towards the fulfillment of the 
education requirements, please complete the "Coursework Form - Certified Public Accountant" form (CPA-16).
  
Courses that are listed on the "Coursework" form must be found on the school transcripts.  A course 
may be applied only once and may not be repeated.  ATTACH the completed form to your application. 
If we are unable to determine if a course was taken for a specific subject (i.e. accounting or auditing), 
you will be asked to have your school provide a letter that the course was taken for that subject.

2)  Applicants who passed the Uniform CPA Examination before December 31, 2000, or held 
      conditional credits before December 31, 2000 and subsequently passed the examination before 
      the conditional credits expired, may continue to meet the following education requirements: 
  
      a. A baccalaureate or higher degree conferred by an educational institution, or evidence that the 
 baccalaureate or comparable degree qualifies the applicant for acceptance into an advanced 
 degree program at an educational institution; AND 
      b. 30 semester (45 quarter) hours of upper division or graduate level business-related courses (in 
 addition to the baccalaureate degree); or 
 30 months of experience with a public accounting firm (this experience may not also be 
 credited toward the experience requirement); AND 
      c. 18 semester (27 quarter) hours of upper division or graduate level accounting or auditing 
 courses (which may have been earned while obtaining the baccalaureate degree).

1)  Applicants who passed the Uniform CPA Examination after December 31, 2000, did not hold 
      conditional credits before December 31, 2000 and did not subsequently pass the examination 
      before the conditional credits expired, must meet the following education requirements: 
  
      150 semester (225 quarter) hours of college education from an educational institution of higher 
      learning, within which an applicant shall have: 
      a. A baccalaureate or higher degree conferred by an educational institution, or evidence that the 
 baccalaureate or comparable degree qualifies the applicant for acceptance into an advanced 
 degree program at an educational institution; AND 
      b. 24 semester (36 quarter) hours in accounting courses, including, without limitation, courses in 
 financial accounting, auditing, taxation, and managerial accounting, of which 18 semester 
 (27 quarter) hours are upper division2 or graduate level accounting courses; AND 
      c. 24 semester (36 quarter) hours in upper division or graduate level accounting or non- 
 accounting business-related3 courses.



of this application for a Hawaii CPA certificate.
You have been in the active practice of public accountancy for at least 5 years preceding the date• 

from another state for at least 10 years preceding the date of this application for a Hawaii CPA 
certificate; and 

You hold, and have continued to hold, a valid comparable CPA certificate, registration, or license• 

You may be eligible for an exemption from the education requirements if the following conditions 
are met pursuant to Hawaii Revised Statutes section 466-5(c)(2):

EDUCATION 
(cont'd)

If you sat for the Uniform CPA Examination in May 1998 or later as a Hawaii candidate, and you are 
applying for CPA licensure within five (5) years of passing the exam, you need not submit your  
educational transcripts with this application.  The transcripts that you submitted to CPA Examination 
Services in order to qualify to take the exam should have been forwarded to the Board once you passed 
the examination.  In the event your transcripts were not transmitted from CPA Examination Services, 
you will be contacted to provide them to the Board.
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 Provide signed Certificate of Public Accountancy Experience (CPA-14) forms from employers 
 certifying 30 months of full-time experience (35 or more hours per week) with a public  
 accounting firm, and indicating employment dates, hours worked, and details of your 
 experience.

OR

NOTE:   Highlight on the transcript all courses that you wish to have applied toward the 30 semester 
 (45 quarter) hours of upper division or graduate level business-related courses;

EXEMPTION FROM 
THE EDUCATION 
REQUIREMENTS

1.  A written request for the waiver of the education requirements. 
2.  A completed Form CPA-05, Verification of License/Exam Scores from the Board of Accountancy of your 
     state of licensure verifying your term of licensure for at least ten (10) years preceding the date of your 
     Hawaii application. 
3.  A completed Form CPA-14, Certification of Public Accountancy Experience, certifying your active practice 
     of public accountancy for a minimum of at least five (5) years preceding the date of your Hawaii 
     application.

Submit the following documentation verifying that you meet the above cited conditions:

STUDENTS/ 
GRADUATES OF 
FOREIGN 
COLLEGES

Applicants with educational credentials from foreign colleges or universities must have their foreign 
education evaluation if they wish to have their hours of college education considered in qualifying for 
a CPA certificate.  Please be advised that your evaluation MUST indicate which courses are upper 
division or graduate level courses. 
  
You must provide satisfactory evidence that the degree or college credits you received from a foreign 
university, college, or other four-year educational institution are equivalent to a degree or credits one 
would receive from an accredited university, college, or other four-year educational institution in the 
United States, by having your academic credentials evaluated by the following Board-approved  
evaluation service: 
  
National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) 
International Evaluation Services (NIES) 
P. O. Box 198727 
Nashville, TN  37219 
  
(855) 468-5382 or (615) 277-9077 
Fax:  (615) 324-1268 
Email:  nies@nasba.org 
Website:  http://www.nasba.org/products/nasbainternationalevaluationservices/



EXPERIENCE All applicants must submit a signed original Certification of Public Accountancy Experience form (CPA-14) 
from your employer or supervisor who holds or had held a CPA license in Hawaii or in another state or 
jurisdiction during the time of your employment.  This form should verify the duration and scope of your 
experience.  On the form, your employer or supervisor should provide specific starting and ending 
dates of your employment, the total number of chargeable audit hours worked (if you are choosing to 
fulfill the experience requirement for licensure as a CPA with 1,500 chargeable hours in the performance 
of audits),  verifying your duties and responsibilities in one of the following:

1)  1,500 chargeable hours in the performance of audits involving generally accepted accounting 
      principles and auditing standards earned while employed on a full-time basis (35 or more hours per 
      week) in public accounting practice; OR 
2)  Two (2) years of full-time professional work experience (35 or more hours per week) in public 
      accounting practice, private industry, government, or education.
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The form should also include the CPA license number of the certifying employer or supervisor who is 
signing the form, and the state or jurisdiction where your employer or supervisor is licensed as a CPA or 
was licensed as a CPA during the time that you were under his/her supervision.  If licensed outside of 
Hawaii, attach a copy of the CPA license.

NOTE: If your experience was gained in the private, government, or academic sectors, and not 
at a CPA firm, it is crucial that the description of your duties and responsibilities be as 
comprehensive and inclusive as possible so that the Board has the information required 
for it to determine whether your experience is equivalent to experience gained at a CPA 
firm.

IMPORTANT NOTICE:  This experience requirement is in addition to the 30-month experience option 
that satisfies the 30 semester hours of additional study requirement for applicants who passed the 
Uniform CPA Exam before December 31, 2000, and subsequently passed the exam before the conditional 
credits expired.

NOTE: For those applicants who have been self employed, you may self attest and personally  
complete the experience form provided you:

• Submit a state verification of a valid CPA license that verifies that it was current and 
valid during the time period being claimed.

BIENNIAL 
RENEWAL

Licensees shall renew licenses on or before December 31 of each odd-numbered year.  Renewal 
applications are sent approximately 30 days prior to December 31.  Licensees are advised to keep the  
Board informed of any change in their mailing address. 
  
NOTE:  A current permit to practice is also required to practice public accountancy in this State.   
Separate application forms for a current permit to practice are available.

BOARD LAWS 
AND RULES

Copies of the Accountancy laws, Chapter 466, HRS, and Title 16, Chapter 71, Hawaii Administrative Rules 
are available by submitting a written request to:  Board of Public Accountancy, Commerce and Consumer 
Affairs, P.O. Box 3469, Honolulu, HI  96801.  Chapter 436B, Hawaii Revised Statutes, the Professional and 
Vocational Licensing Act, should be read in conjunction with HRS Chapter 466 and HAR Chapter 71. 
  
The laws and rules are also posted on our website and may be downloaded free of charge at: 
hawaii.gov/dcca/pvl.  Click on "Accountancy".  Then click on "Statute/Rule Chapter" in the yellow box 
to the right.



Pursuant to HRS §436B-9, your application shall be considered abandoned and will be destroyed, if you fail to 
complete the license process within one year after filing an application or fail to take and pass the 
examination after becoming eligible to take the examination.   
  
If an application is deemed abandoned, the applicant shall be required to reapply for licensure and comply 
with the licensing requirements at the time of the reapplication.
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ABANDONMENT 
OF APPLICATION

Deliver to office location at: 
  
 335 Merchant Street 
 Room 301 
 Honolulu, HI  96813 
 Phone:  (808) 586-3000

Mail all required items to: 
  
 Board of Public Accountancy 
 DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch 
 P.O. Box 3469 
 Honolulu, HI  96801

OR

BOARD'S 
ADDRESS

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 6)

RELEASE OF  
INFORMATION

If an agency or individual is assisting you with the licensure process, we will not be able to release any 
information to them unless you provide us with authorization.  If you wish to do so, please complete the 
portion on "Release of Information to Third Party", sign, and date it.



ATTENTION 
  

 ALL CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANTS 
and PUBLIC ACCOUNTANTS 

   
Effective for the December 31, 2011 renewal of your CPA or PA License, and for every 

biennial license renewal thereafter, you are required to complete 4 hours of continuing 
professional education ("CPE") in ETHICS or PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT, 

pursuant to Hawaii Administrative Rules section 16-71-2. 
  

This is a MANDATORY REQUIREMENT for ALL Hawaii-licensed CPAs and PAs, not only 
for those who renew a permit to practice.  You must obtain the CPE hours from a CPE 

sponsor that is approved by the Hawaii Board, or by the NASBA National registry, or by 
another state board of accountancy. 

  
For the next renewal on December 31, 2011, you must earn the 4 hours of CPE in  

ethics or professional conduct during the biennium from January 1, 2010 to 
December 31, 2011.  Failure to do so will result in the forfeiture of your license. 

  
Questions on the mandatory CPE in ethics or professional conduct should be directed 

to the Board's office at (808) 586-2696.
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This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit 
your request.



APPLICATION FOR LICENSE - CPA

FO
R 

 O
FF

IC
E 

 U
SE

Legal Name (First, Middle) (Last)

Other names used (previous surnames, maiden name, etc.)

Residence Address (Include Apt. No., City, State & Zip Code)

Mailing Address (ONLY if different from Residence)

Social Security No. Phone No.:

Res:

Bus:

License No. Effective
CPA - 

ANSWER all of the following questions by checking your answers. 
PROVIDE details and explanations when needed or required.

1.  Are you at least 18 years of age? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . YES NO

2.  Are you a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the United States? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . YES NO

3.   a) Have you passed all sections of the Uniform CPA Examination? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . YES NO

      c) Date of passing all sections of the examination:

      b) In what state(s)?

4.   a) If you passed the Uniform CPA Examination after December 31, 2000, did not hold conditional credits
 before December 31, 2000, and did not subsequently pass the CPA Exam before the conditional  
 credits expired, ANSWER the following questions:

• Have you completed at least 150 semester (225 quarter) hours of college education? . . . . . . . . . . . . . YES NO

• Do you hold a baccalaureate or higher degree conferred by an accredited college or university? . . YES NO

• Have you completed at least 24 semester (36 quarter) hours of accounting and auditing courses,

of which 18 semester (27 quarter) hours are upper division or graduate level accounting and

auditing courses? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . YES NO

• Have you completed at least 24 semester (36 quarter) hours of upper division or graduate 

YES NOlevel (accounting or non-accounting) business-related courses? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

      b) If you passed the Uniform CPA Examination before December 31, 2000, or held conditional
 credits before December 31, 2000, and subsequently passed the CPA Exam before the conditional 
 credits expired, ANSWER the following questions:

• Do you hold a baccalaureate or higher degree conferred by an accredited college or university? . . YES NO

• Have you completed at least 18 semester (27 quarter) hours of upper division or graduate level 

accounting and auditing courses? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . YES NO

CPA-04  0822R

(SIGNATURE REQUIRED ON PAGE 2)

Appl. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 005. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $25 
Lic. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 009. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $64 
CRF. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 006. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $50/$100 
1/2 Ren. . . . . . . . . . . . . 001. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $26 
Service Charge. . . . . . BCF. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $25

YOU MUST ANSWER QUESTION 4a OR 4b.

Email Address:



• Have you completed at least 30 semester (45 quarter) hours of business-related courses in addition

to your baccalaureate degree? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

(exclusive of the experience requirement indicated in question 5) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . YES NO

     b)   Have you completed at least two (2) years of full-time professional work experience in public

       accounting practice, private, industry, government, or education? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . YES NO

6.  If you hold an out-of-state CPA license, ANSWER the following questions:

• What state of jurisdiction issued your CPA license?

• Date of licensure?

•

•

•

Expiration date?

Has your license ever been revoked, suspended, or otherwise subjected to disciplinary action? . . . . YES NO

(If you answer "YES", you MUST provide an explanation and have the licensing authority of the  
state of your licensure submit any pertinent documents.)

Are you presently being investigated or are there any disciplinary actions pending against your

license? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . YES NO

(If you answer "YES", you MUST provide an explanation and have the licensing authority of the  
state of your licensure submit any pertinent documents.)

7.  Has any license granted to you ever been suspended, revoked, or otherwise subjected to disciplinary action? YES NO

      (If you answer "YES", you MUST provide an explanation and have the licensing authority of the state of 
      your licensure submit any pertinent documents.)

8.  Are there any current or pending liens, suits, or judgments against you? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . YES NO

      (If you answer "YES", you MUST provide an explanation and submit any pertinent documents.)

9.  Have you ever been convicted of a crime in any jurisdiction that has not been annulled or expunged?. . . . . YES NO

      (If you answer "YES", you MUST provide an explanation and provide certified court documentation on the 
      date, place, and nature of each conviction, and the status of fulfillment of conditions of each sentence.)

EXPLANATIONS:  (If additional space is required, attach a separate sheet.)
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Applicant's Name: Date:

Are you requesting an exemption from the education requirements? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . NOYES

YES NO

• OR do you have at least 30 months of work experience in a public accounting practice?

NOYES

5.  a) Have you completed at least 1,500 chargeable hours in the performance of audits involving generally
 accepted U.S. accounting principles and auditing standards earned while in public accounting 
 practice? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 3)

APPLICATION FOR CPA LICENSE

• If "YES", attach a written request for the waiver of the education requirements.

• See instructions for documents required to verify that you have been in the active practice of 
public accountancy for at least 5 years preceding the date of your application.



Affidavit of applicant: 
 I hereby certify that the statements, answers and representations made in this application and in the documents  
submitted are true and correct.  I understand that any misrepresentation is grounds for refusal or subsequent revocation and is 
a misdemeanor (Section 710-1017, Sections 436B-19, and 466-9, Hawaii Revised Statutes).  I further certify that I have read and 
will abide by the provisions of Chapter 466, Hawaii Revised Statutes, and Title 16, Chapter 71, Hawaii Administrative Rules.

Signature Date

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.
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APPLICATION FOR CPA LICENSE

Applicant's Name: Date:

Release of Information to Third Party: 
  
To assist me in the licensing process, I authorize DCCA's staff to release any and all information regarding my application 
(including, but not limited to, application status) to the following third party:

Print Name of individual who is assisting you:

Name of Organization:

Signature of Applicant Date
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