
INFORMATION & INSTRUCTIONS - ACUPUNCTURE LICENSE 
Access this form via website at:  cca.hawaii.gov/pvl

NO RECIPROCITY Hawaii does not reciprocate with any other jurisdiction.  The Board of Acupuncture ("Board") does not accept the 
California exam and/or California Route 8.  All applicants are required to meet the academic, clinical training and 
examination requirements in effect at the time the application is filed and according to Hawaii laws and rules.  Passage 
of the NCCAOM exam is required.

APPLICATION FORM Type or print legibly in dark ink and sign application.  Incomplete applications will not be accepted.  Failure to provide 
all the requested information will delay the processing of your application.

BOARD'S MAILING  
ADDRESS

Board of Acupuncture 
DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch
P.O. Box 3469 
Honolulu, HI  96801 
  
Phone: (808) 586-3000

Office location: 
335 Merchant Street, Rm 301 
Honolulu, HI  96813

Toll free voice access numbers for neighbor islands: 
Kauai - 274-3141 Ext. 6-3000 
Maui - 984-2400 Ext. 6-3000 
Hawaii - 974-4000 Ext. 6-3000 
Molokai - 1-800-468-4644 Ext. 6-3000 
Lanai - 1-800-468-4644 Ext. 6-3000

EDUCATION and  
TRAINING 
REQUIREMENTS

Complete a formal program of acupuncture and receive a certificate or diploma from an institute, school, or college 
that was accredited or recognized as a candidate for accreditation by Accreditation Commission for Acupuncture and 
Herbal Medicine (ACAHM), recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, at the time of the applicant's graduation; 
or in the case of a foreign school, one that was licensed, approved or accredited by the appropriate foreign government 
agency at the time of the applicant's graduation and whose curriculum is approved by the Board. 
  
The program shall have consisted of at least 2,175 hours as follows:

(a)  Academic program in the science of acupuncture (traditional oriental medicine) of at least 1,515 hours; and

(b)  Clinical training program of at least than 660 hours.

SCHOOL DOCUMENTS 
REQUIRED

Evidence of academic and clinical training: 
ALL DOCUMENTS must be in English.  If your documents are in a foreign language, refer to the section entitled 
"DOCUMENTS IN A FOREIGN LANGUAGE" (below) for more information. 
  
(1) OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPT WITH SCHOOL SEAL:  Attach an official transcript with your application.  The 
 transcript must contain the school's seal (copies are not accepted).  If the transcripts are not in English, 
 please refer to the section entitled "DOCUMENTS IN A FOREIGN LANGUAGE" (below) for more information. 
  
AVOID PROCESSING DELAYS, be sure the transcript has a breakdown of the number of hours you studied by 
category.  For example: 
  
  TOTAL ACADEMIC HOURS COMPLETED:  _____________ 
  TOTAL CLINICAL HOURS COMPLETED:  ______________ 
  
If the school transcript does not list the total academic hours and clinical hours, SUBMIT AN ORIGINAL LETTER 
from the school, signed by a school official, written on school letterhead that states the total academic and total 
clinical hours you studied. 
  
If the total hours are not provided on the transcript or a letter from the school is not submitted, processing of 
the application will be delayed. 
  
If the school uses a system other than "hours", be sure to submit the school's conversion of the point system to "hours". 
  
(2) CERTIFICATE OR DIPLOMA:  Attach a photocopy of your certificate or diploma.  If the diploma is not in 
 English, please refer to the section entitled "DOCUMENTS IN A FOREIGN LANGUAGE" (below) for more 
 information.
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GRADUATES OF 
FOREIGN 
ACUPUNCTURE 
INSTITUTES, 
SCHOOLS 
OR COLLEGES

Foreign acupuncture school graduates are required to have their transcripts and curriculum evaluated by one of the 
following credentials evaluation services.  The review shall determine that the foreign education is at least equivalent to 
the U.S. accredited acupuncture program, and that the institution attended was licensed, approved or accredited in the 
respective foreign jurisdiction.  Order the "Course-by-Course" evaluation, pay the required fee and request the 
evaluation report be sent to the Board. 
  
Foundation for International Services, Inc. (FIS) 
www.fis-web.com 
  
Academic Credentials Evaluation Institute, Inc. (ACEI) 
www.acei-global.org 
  
International Consultants of Delaware, Inc. (ICD) 
www.icdeval.com 
  
You still are required to submit official school transcripts and a copy of your diploma to the Hawaii Board. 
  
Submit an original letter from the appropriate foreign government agency verifying that the institute, school or college 
was licensed approved or accredited at the time of your graduation.

EXAMINATION 
REQUIREMENT

All applicants shall pass the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture & Oriental Medicine ("NCCAOM") 
Acupuncture Comprehensive Written Exam ("CWE") or its equivalent.  NCCAOM revised the exam and declared 
the following exam modules as equivalent to the CWE:  
  

               Foundations of Oriental Medicine 
               Acupuncture with Point Location 
               Biomedicine

APPLICANTS WHO 
ALREADY PASSED 
THE NCCAOM 
EXAM

Request  NCCAOM to transmit your score report to the Board directly.  You need to comply with NCCAOM's policies and 
fees, if any. 
  
  NCCAOM 
  2001 K Street, 3rd Floor North 
  Washington, DC  20006  Phone:  (888) 381-1140 
  www.nccaom.org   Email:    info@thenccaom.org 
  
NCCAOM staff is available Monday through Thursday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Friday from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. (Eastern Time). 
  
All applicants are subject to Hawaii's academic, clinical training, and other requirements based on the date of 
application.
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(CONTINUED ON PAGE 3)

ALL DOCUMENTS must be in English.  Documents that are in a foreign language must be translated in English.  The 
translator must be someone other than the applicant.  The translator must also submit an affidavit (see below example 
of affidavit).  The affidavit must be signed before a notary public.  Attach the translation and the affidavit. 
  
Example of translator's affidavit:  The following is an example of a translator's affidavit and contains all of the 
elements required by the Board. 
  
"I swear that I am competent in both the English language and the ___________ language (language of the document) 
and that this is a true and complete translation of the foreign language original."

DOCUMENTS IN A 
FOREIGN LANGUAGE



LICENSE 
VERIFICATION 
REQUIRED

Have all jurisdictions where you hold or held a license at any time, complete the attached "Verification of License" form.
This "Verification" form may be duplicated as needed.  Allow at least 6 weeks for other jurisdictions to complete the 
form.  Some jurisdictions charge a fee for verification service.  Contact the appropriate licensing agency for information 
on requirements.  The applicant is responsible for any fees incurred.

MAINTAINING 
YOUR LICENSE

All licenses, regardless of issuance date, expire on June 30 of odd-numbered years.  Licenses are subject to renewal 
on or before the license expiration date. 
  
You must report your changes to the Board within thirty (30) days of the changes.  All changes must be reported in 
writing.  If you let your license lapse for longer than one year, you must file a new application and meet requirements, 
including the academic, clinical training and national examination requirements that are in effect at the time of filing.
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 NOTE:  One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to be issued is the payment 
of fees as set forth in this application.  You may be sent a license certificate before the check you sent us for your required fees 
clears your bank.  If your check is returned to us unpaid, you will have failed to pay the required licensing fee and your license 
will not be valid, and you may not do business under that license.  Also, a $25.00 service fee will be charged for checks which 
are returned by the bank. 
  
If for any reason you are denied the license you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as provided by Title 16,   
Chapter 201, Hawaii Administrative Rules, and/or Chapter 91, Hawaii Revised Statutes.  Your written request for a hearing 
must be directed to the agency that denied your application, and must be made within 60 days of notification that your 
application for a license has been denied.

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 4)

Attach the appropriate fee, depending on when license will be issued. 
  
License Fee -  
  
If license is to be issued between July 1, odd-numbered year and June 30, even-numbered year pay.................................$377 
 ($50 - non-refundable application fee + $130 - license + $100 - Compliance Resolution Fund + $97 - fee  
 for the second year of two year period) 
  
If license is to be issued between July 1, even-numbered year and June 30, odd-numbered year pay.................................$230 
 ($50 - non-refundable application fee + $130 - license + $50 - Compliance Resolution Fund)

FEES Attach the appropriate fee. All fees are payable to "COMMERCE & CONSUMER AFFAIRS".  (check must be in U.S. 
dollars and be from a U.S. financial institution.) The non-refundable application fee is $50.

LAWS & RULES Laws and rules are available online. 
To obtain a copy of the acupuncture laws (Chapter 436E, Hawaii Revised Statutes) and rules (Title 16, Chapter 72, Hawaii 
Administrative Rules),  send a written request to:  Board of Acupuncture, Commerce & Consumer Affairs, P.O. Box 3469, 
Honolulu, HI  96801.  Chapter 436B, Hawaii Revised Statutes, the Professional and Vocational Licensing Act should be 
read in conjunction with the above statutes. 
  
The laws and rules are also posted on our website at:  cca.hawaii.gov/pvl.  Look under "Acupuncture".



However, the Board will issue the applicant a conditional approval that signifies that the applicant has met the 
education, experience, and examination requirements for licensure;  provided that this conditional approval shall not 
be considered a license to engage in the profession and shall not authorize the applicant to work in our State. 
  
To obtain authorization to work in our State, the applicant shall be required to contact the U.S. Citizenship and 
Immigration Services ("USCIS"); http://uscis.gov; U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services, 1-800-375-5283.  Once the 
applicant submits evidence to the Board that the USCIS has authorized the applicant to work in the U.S. (without 
conditions or other encumbrances), provides a Social Security Number and has met all of the licensing requirements 
(including, but not limited to, the requirement that the applicant has not been convicted of any crime that is directly 
related to the profession), the applicant shall be issued a license. 
  
This conditional approval shall be valid for two (2) years.  An applicant must obtain the appropriate USCIS authorization 
within this two (2) year period in order to have a license issued.  If the applicant is unable to meet this deadline, the 
applicant may be required to reapply for licensure and meet all of the requirements in effect at that time.
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U.S. CITIZEN, U.S.  
NATIONAL, OR AN 
ALIEN AUTHORIZED 
TO WORK IN THE U.S.

Pursuant to section 436B-10, Hawaii Revised Statutes, all applicants shall be a U.S. citizen, U.S. national, or an alien 
authorized to work in the United States in addition to meeting the academic, clinical and examination requirements for 
licensure.  Therefore, even if an applicant meets the academic, clinical training and examination requirements for 
licensure, that applicant shall not be issued a license if that applicant is not a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national, or an alien 
authorized to work in the U.S.

ABANDONMENT 
OF APPLICATION

Pursuant to HRS §436B-9, your application shall be considered abandoned and will be destroyed, if you fail to complete 
the license process within one year after filing an application or fail to take and pass the examination after becoming 
eligible to take the examination.   
  
If an application is deemed abandoned, the applicant shall be required to reapply for licensure and comply with the 
licensing requirements at the time of the reapplication.

SOCIAL 
SECURITY 
NUMBER

Your Social Security Number is used to verify your identity for licensing purposes and for compliance with the below 
laws.  For a license to be issued, you must provide your Social Security Number or your application will be 
deemed deficient and will not be processed further.  The following laws require that you furnish your Social Security 
Number to our agency: 
  
FEDERAL LAWS: 
42 U.S.C.A.  §666(a)(13) requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational 
license be recorded on the application for license; and  
If you are a licensed health care practitioner, 45 C.F.R., Part 61, Subpart B, §61.7 requires the Social Security Number 
as part of the mandatory reporting we must do to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB), of any 
final adverse licensing action against a licensed health care practitioner. 
  
HAWAII REVISED STATUTES ("HRS"): 
§576D-13(j), HRS requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational 
license be recorded on the application for license; and 
§436B-10(4), HRS which states that an applicant for license shall provide the applicant's Social Security Number if the 
licensing authority is authorized by federal law to require the disclosure (and by the federal cites shown above, we are 
authorized to require the Social Security Number).

If an agency or individual is assisting you with the licensure process, we will not be able to release any information to 
them unless you provide us with authorization.  If you wish to do so, please complete the portion on Release of  
Information to Third Party, sign and date it.

RELEASE OF 
INFORMATION

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.



 4. Have you ever held a license in Hawaii?

 APPLICATION FOR EXAM & LICENSE  - ACUPUNCTURE 
 Read "Requirements & Instructions" before completing this form. 
 Complete on-line fillable form at:  cca.hawaii.gov/pvl or print legibly in black ink.  

FO
R 

O
FF

IC
IA

L 
U

SE
 O

N
LYResidence Address (Include apt. no., city, state & zip code) - REQUIRED

Mailing Address (Only if different from above):

(Last)

Other Names Used:

Social Security Number

Date of Birth:

Phone No. (days)

Lic. No. 
ACU-

Eff. date

Check answers and give details when required:
 1. Are you at least 18 years of age? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
 2. Are you a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the U.S.? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
 3. Do you now hold or have you ever held an acupuncture license in another jurisdiction? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 5.  Have you ever been convicted of a crime in any jurisdiction that has not been annulled or expunged? . . . . . . . . . . . 

 7.  Are there any disciplinary actions pending against you? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
  (If responses to Nos. 5, 6 or 7 are "YES", provide information on date, place, and type of conviction or 
  disciplinary action on a separate sheet of paper.  Attach copies of the court order, board's final order or 
  pending action and a written explanation of the circumstances leading to the conviction or disciplinary action.) 

 6. Has any license ever been suspended, revoked or otherwise subject to disciplinary action? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

License No. Exp. Date:

Name of School Location of School (City/State) Course of Study Degree Earned

(If more space needed, attach a separate sheet) 
 (CONTINUED ON PAGE 2) 
  
 Appl...........................................  024................................  $50 CRF......................................  027.............................  $50/$100 
 License.....................................  026................................  $130 ½ Renewal........................  020.............................  $97 
      Service fee........................  BCF.............................  $25 
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Name of State License Number
License Current?

NOYES
NOYES
NOYES
NOYES

NOYES
NOYES
NOYES

From To

Dates (mo/yr)

Date Issued
Date you requested that your 
license verification be sent to 

Hawaii

ST
A

TE
 L

IC
EN

SE
S YES NO

Legal Name (First-Middle)

ED
U

CA
TI

O
N

 
(D

o 
no

t i
nc

lu
de

 A
cu

pu
nc

tu
re

 
ed

uc
at

io
n)

NCCAOM Exam

Initials/date:

APPROVED

DENIED

Cashier official 
use only

Email Address:



  
                          (Check one)

At the date of graduation noted above, was the school Accredited or a candidate for accreditation 
by the Accreditation Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine ("ACAOM") or respective 
foreign government, if you attended school outside of the U.S.?

Complete Address of SchoolName of Acupuncture School

A
CU

PU
N

CT
U

RE
 E

D
U

CA
TI

O
N

ToFrom

Dates Attended 
(mo/yr) Degree Earned Date of 

Graduation

List number of hours of academic training that is verified on your official transcript or an official document 
from the school (must be at least 1515).  

Does your transcript state the total academic hours you studied?  If not, refer to the instructions entitled 
"DOCUMENTS REQUIRED".

List number of hours of clinical training that is verified on your official transcript or an official document from 
the school (must be at least 660). 

Does your transcript state the total clinical academic hours you studied?  If not, refer to the instructions entitled 
"DOCUMENTS REQUIRED".

AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT: 
  
 I hereby certify that the answers and statements contained in this application and the documents attached are true and correct.  I certify 
that I have read, understand, and shall obey all the laws and rules of the Acupuncture Board (Chapter 436E, Hawaii Revised Statutes and Title 16, 
Chapter 72, Hawaii Administrative Rules).  I understand that misrepresentation is grounds for refusal or subsequent revocation of license and is 
a misdemeanor (Section 710-1017, and Sections 436B-19, and 436E-10, Hawaii Revised Statutes).

Signature of Applicant

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.

CandidateAccredited

Total academic hours

Total clinical hours

Date
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Release of Information to Third Party: 
  
To assist me in the licensing process, I authorize DCCA's staff to release any and all information regarding my application (including, but not  
limited to, application status) to the following:

Print Name of individual who is assisting you:

Name of Organization:

Signature of Applicant Date

Print Name of Applicant: Date:



VERIFICATION OF LICENSE  - ACUPUNCTURIST 
Access this form via website at:  cca.hawaii.gov/pvl

Name (First-Middle)

A
PP

LI
CA

N
T

(Last)

Address (Include apt. no., city, state & zip code)

Social Security No.

Date Issued

Has this certificate ever been encumbered in any way (revoked, suspended, 
surrendered, limited, placed on probation, currently pending disciplinary 
action, being investigated)? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

ACU-05 0924R

State of Hawaii 
Board of Acupuncture 

P.O. Box 3469 
Honolulu, HI 96801 TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT:

License Number

I hereby authorize the licensing agency of to furnish the 
information below to the State of Hawaii Board of Acupuncture.

Date: SIGN HERE

TO BE COMPLETED BY LICENSING AGENCY:

LI
CE

N
SI

N
G

 A
G

EN
CY

This is to certify that the above-named individual was issued license number
 to practice as an acupuncturist:

Date issued:

Date license/certificate expires:

 License status: current

lapsed since:

inactive since:

NOYES

(Please explain "yes" response and attach copy of Board's order and related information.)

NOYES

(Please explain "yes" response and attach copy of Board's order and related information.)
Do your files contain any derogatory information on this applicant? . . . . . . . . . . 

COMMENTS:

            Title:  

          State:

          Date:

  Signature:

BOARD SEAL

 TO THE APPLICANT:   Attach original with Board's seal to your application form or the licensing agency may send directly to the Board.

THIS FORM MAY BE DUPLICATED

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.

http://www.hawaii.gov/dcca/areas/pvl
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