INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING - BEAUTY INSTRUCTOR (BY EXAM)

Access this form via website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl

NIC EXAM REQUIRED All applicants are required to obtain a passing score on the National-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology ("NIC") examination. If you have already taken the NIC examination in another jurisdiction, please refer to the "Beauty Instructor License (Exam Waiver)" application.

STEP 1 – SATISFY THE QUALIFICATION REQUIREMENTS AND SELECT ONE PATHWAY

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

If you are applying as an individual/sole proprietor, your Social Security Number is used to verify your identity for licensing purposes and for compliance with the below laws. For a licensed to be issued, you must provide your Social Security Number, or your application will be deemed deficient and will not be processed further. The following laws require that you furnish your Social Security Number to our agency:

FEDERAL LAWS:

42 U.S.C.A. §666(a)(13) requires that Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and if you are a licensed health care practitioner, **45 C.F.R.**, Part **61**, Subpart B, §61.7 requires the Social Security Number as part of the mandatory reporting we must do to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB), of any final adverse licensing action against a licensed health care practitioner.

HAWAII REVISED STATUTES ("HRS"):

§576D-13(j), HRS requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and **§436B-10(4), HRS** which states that an applicant for license shall provide the applicant's Social Security Number if the licensing authority is authorized by federal law to require the disclose (and by the federal cites shown above, we are authorized to require the Social Security Number).

HAWAII BEO LICENSE You must possess a current and valid Hawaii Beauty Operator (BEO) license.

OPERATOR EXPERIENCE

You must have experience as a licensed Beauty Operator for at least one (1) year in Hawaii **OR** in another jurisdiction with standards substantially similar to Hawaii.

LICENSE PATHWAYS

You may qualify for licensure through two pathways. Select the pathway which best applies to your training and refer to Page 2 to determinate what documentation must be included with your application.

- (1) I have completed at least 600 hours of Beauty INSTRUCTOR training at a beauty school;
- (2) I possess an Instructor license in another jurisdiction.

STEP 2 – SUBMIT YOUR APPLICATION WITH APPLICABLE FEES AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS FOR EXAMINATION

APPLICATION FORM

Complete the online fillable form or print legibly in black ink and **ATTACH** appropriate documentation.

FAILURE TO PROVIDE ALL REQUIRED INFORMATION WILL DELAY THE PROCESSING OF YOUR APPLICATION.

APPLICATION FEE

<u>ATTACH</u> the application fee of \$20.00 made payable to: *COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS*. Checks must be made in U.S. dollars and be from a U.S. financial institution. If you are requesting a **temporary permit** (see "Temporary Permit" section on Page 3), include an additional fee of **\$40.00**.

 Application
 \$20

 Temporary Permit
 \$40

Make checks payable to: **COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS**Checks must be in U.S. dollars and be from a U.S. financial institution.

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2)

APPLICATION FEE (CONT.)

NOTE: One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to be issued is the payment of fees as set forth in this application. You may be sent a license certificate before the payment you sent us for your required fees is honored by your bank. If your payment is dishonored, you will have failed to pay the required licensing fee and your license will not be valid, and you may not do business under that license. Also, a \$25.00 service charge shall be assessed for payments that are dishonored for any reason.

FOREIGN LANGUAGE

All documents must be in English. If documents are not in English, the documents must be translated into English. Submit a copy of the foreign document with (1) the <u>ORIGINAL</u> English translation and (2) an <u>ORIGINAL</u> declaration from the translator that the translation is accurate, and that the translator is fluent in both the foreign language and English. <u>The translator cannot be the applicant</u>. Supporting documents in other names MUST be listed on your application under the "Other Names Used" section.

Example: "I certify that I am competent in both the English language and the (<u>language of the document</u>) language and that this is a true and complete translation of the foreign language original."

HAWAII BEO LICENSE

On the application, provide your Hawaii Beauty Operator License Number and check the appropriate box(es) indicating the license classifications you currently possess.

OPERATOR EXPERIENCE

<u>ATTACH</u> "Experience Verification Form(s)" totaling at least one year of licensed beauty <u>OPERATOR</u> experience. Refer to "Experience Verification Form" instructions below.

PATHWAY (1): INSTRUCTOR TRAINING

ATTACH a copy of your beauty school transcript that reflects your Instructor training of at least 600 hours.

PATHWAY (2): OUT-OF-STATE LICENSE

ATTACH a copy of your Instructor license or a state board verification.

If your jurisdiction requires <u>LESS</u> hours than Hawaii, <u>ATTACH</u> "Experience Verification Form(s)" totaling at least one (1) year of licensed beauty <u>INSTRUCTOR</u> experience. Refer to "Experience Verification Form" instructions below.

TEMPORARY PERMIT

The temporary permit is <u>OPTIONAL</u> and allows you to work and train under the supervision of a qualified licensee while waiting to take and pass the licensing examination. If you are requesting a temporary permit, **ATTACH** the temporary permit application with applicable fees with your Barber application.

The temporary permit is valid for a period covering four (4) consecutive **examination windows** (approximately one year) and is issued **one time only and cannot be extended or renewed**.

EXPERIENCE VERIFICATION FORM

Have a qualified person(s), owner, manager, supervisor, etc. complete the form. You must provide the **ORIGINAL** and completed hardcopy to us. Your experience must total at least **ONE (1) YEAR** of licensed Beauty Instructor experience.

The "Experience Verification" form is attached to this application and can also be found on the Board's website at: http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/barber/application publications/.

If you were **self-employed**, you may provide verification of your business through appropriate documentation (copy of shop/business license, tax records, or state board verification, etc.) in lieu of the "Experience Verification" form.

INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS

Incomplete applications will not be accepted, and a notice of deficiency will be sent. It is your responsibility to file a complete application in sufficient time to be approved to take the examination.

RELEASE OF INFORMATION

If an agency or individual is assisting you with this licensure process, we will not be able to release any information to them unless you provide us with authorization. If you wish to do so, please complete, sign, and date the portion on **Release of Information to Third Party**.

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 3)

INSTRUCTIONS FOR "YES" ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS (5) THROUGH (7)

If you answered "YES" to questions 5-7, your application may be reviewed at a Barbering and Cosmetology Board meeting. The following documentation must be submitted with your application prior to Board review. The Board will not review incomplete applications.

- Questions 5 and 6 refer to complaints, charges of unlicensed activity, or pending disciplinary actions for any profession, occupation, or license. If your answer is "YES" to one or more of these questions, <u>ATTACH</u>:
 - i. A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances; and
 - ii. Copies of any documents from the agency, including final orders, petitions, complaints, findings of facts and conclusions of law, and any other relevant documents;
- Question 7 refers to criminal convictions. If your answer is "YES" to this question, <u>ATTACH</u>:
 - i. A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances leading to the conviction and detailing all activities since the conviction, including employment and business involvements. Include job title, period of employment, employer's name, description of duties, training attended, and educational courses attended;
 - ii. A copy of the court order, verdict, and terms of sentence;
 - iii. If applicable, a copy of the terms of probation and/or parole and notarized statement from your probation or parole officer as to your compliance with the court orders;
 - iv. Signed statements from employers, business associates/clients, and others who can attest to your business dealings, including a statement as to your reputation for or record of experience, competency, honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair dealings; and
 - A current criminal history record check in your name, which you may obtain from the Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center. Contact the Department of the Attorney General, Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center, Kekuanao'a Building, 456 S. King Street, Rm. 101, Honolulu, HI 96813. Phone: (808) 587-3100 or visit their website at : ecrim.ehawaii.gov to request a "Criminal History Record Check" form.

NOTE: If your criminal conviction occurred in a state or states other than Hawaii, a current criminal history record check will be required from each state **AND** Hawaii. Contact the local authority or board in each state for their forms, instructions and fees on obtaining criminal history record checks.

SEND YOUR APPLICATION

VIA MAIL: Board of Barbering and Cosmetology DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch P.O. Box 3469 Honolulu, HI 96801 OR DELIVER IN-PERSON:

DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch 335 Merchant St., Room 301 Honolulu, HI 96813

Phone: (808) 586-3000

BOARD REVIEW

All applications are subject to review by the Board; thus, please schedule the submittal of your application to allow for additional time that may be required for review and approval by the Board.

LICENSE DENIAL

If for any reason you are denied the license you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as provided by the Hawaii Administrative Rules, Title 16, Chapter 201, and/or Hawaii Revised Statutes, Chapter 91. Your written request for a hearing should be directed to the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology and must be received by the Board within 60 days of the date that your application for licensure was denied.

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 4)

STEP 3 – PASS THE NIC EXAMINATION

ABOUT THE NIC EXAM

The testing agency, **Prometric**, administers the NIC examination to applicants after the application has been approved; thus, all inquiries regarding the examination should be directed to Prometric at **(808) 261-8182**. The examination is provided in the English language (theory only; practical not required) and is offered in different formats depending on the island. Refer to the appropriate instructions below. **Additional computer-based testing centers are anticipated to open.**

Computer-based Format Hawaii & Oahu

Written Format Kauai & Maui

COMPUTER-BASED FORMAT

If your application is approved by the Board, you will receive an email from ISO Quality Testing (registrations@isoqualitytesting.com) with instructions to pay the required testing fee in order to schedule an appointment to take the examination.

WRITTEN FORMAT

If your application is approved by the Board, a "Letter of Approval" will be sent to your mailing address with an "Examination Registration" form, and an informational brochure. You must register <u>directly</u> with Prometric by submitting the completed "Examination Registration" form, along with a <u>copy of your "Letter</u> of Approval", and the required testing fee by their examination registration deadline.

After registering with Prometric, you will receive an "Admission Ticket" by mail approximately ten (10) days prior to the examination date. If you have not received the "Admission Ticket" within five (5) days of the examination date, please contact Prometric.

Written examinations are scheduled four times a year, usually in March, June, September, and December. It is your responsibility to meet the filing deadlines and examination dates.

TAKING EXAM IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION

You may request to take the Hawaii NIC examination in another jurisdiction. Please verify you have access to a Prometric testing center in that jurisdiction. Send a <u>SIGNED</u> letter to the Board indicating (1) your current mailing address; and (2) which state you will be taking the Hawaii NIC examination.

EXAMINATION RESULTS

Examination results will be mailed two weeks after the examination date. Applicants who receive a "Pass" notice will receive a "Fees Due" notice with instructions to apply for Board licensure. Applicants who receive a "Fail" notice will receive instructions on re-examination.

ABANDONMENT OF APPLICATION

Pursuant to HRS §436B-9, your application shall be considered abandoned and will be destroyed, if you fail to complete the license process within one year after filing an application or fail to take and pass the examination after becoming eligible to take the examination.

If an application is deemed abandoned, the applicant shall be required to reapply for licensure and comply with the licensing requirements at the time of the reapplication.

STEP 4 – PAY REMAINING LICENSE FEES AND MAINTAIN YOUR LICENSE

LICENSE FEES

After obtaining a passing score on the examination, follow the instructions on your "Fees Due" notice to submit required fees.

RENEWAL

All licenses, regardless of date issued, expire on <u>DECEMBER 31</u> of every <u>ODD-NUMBERED</u> year. Licenses must be renewed on or before the expiration date. Approximately two months before the expiration date, a "Renewal Application" is mailed to all licensees at their mailing address of record. If you do not receive a renewal application one month prior to the expiration date, contact the Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000.

LAWS AND RULES

To obtain a copy of the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology's laws and rules, submit a written request to the address on Page 2 of these instructions, or you may download them from **cca.hawaii.gov/pvl**.

- Barber law: Hawaii Revised Statutes chapter 438
- Barber rules: Hawaii Administrative Rules chapter 16-73
- Cosmetology law: Hawaii Revised Statutes chapter 439
- Cosmetology rules: Hawaii Administrative Rules chapter 16-78
- Professional and Vocational Licensing Act: Hawaii Revised Statutes chapter 436B

APPLICATION FOR LICENSE -		•		Application	Fee	600 hours	;
Read "Requirements & Instructions" before completing this form. Please type or print LEGIBLY in black ink.			1,500 hour	\$	O.S. licens	se.	
Legal Name (First, Middle)	(Last)				(Initials/date)		
Legar Name (First) Middle)	(Lust)			Eff Date:	(minials) date)	Lic No.:	
						1-	
OTHER NAMES USED (Previous sur	names, maiden name, nicki	names and aliases)					
Email Address (Required for examin	nation)		6				
			OUSE				
Residence Address (Include Apt. No., City, State, & Zip Code) - REQUIRED			FOR BOARD USE ONLY				
Mailing Address (ONLY if different f	from residence location)						
Cartal Carrotte Na	Dhara Na (Dava)						
Social Security No.	Phone No. (Days) Res:						
	Bus:						
HAWAII BEAUTY OPERATOR LICEN		auty Operator license	numbei	r and check the	box(es) of cl	lassifications y	ou possess.
BEO	Cosmetology	☐ Hairdressi	ng	☐ Esth	etics	☐ Nail Te	echnology
INSTRUCTOR TRAINING: Identify yo		d <u>ATTACH</u> applicable d	ocumer			_	
(1) 600 Hours of Instructor Train						NG & EXPERIE	
(2) Out-of-State Instructor Licen (if less hours than Hawaii, attack		Instructor exp.)	St	tate of Training	Len	gth of Training	(Mo/Yr)
Tota	al hours completed:				From:	To	:
Check your answers. If answer is "	YES" to Questions 5-7, refe	r to the instructions f	or addi	tional documen	ts that mus	t be submitted	d.
1. Are you at least 16 years of age?	·					YES	NO
2. Are you a U.S. citizen, a U.S. nati	ional, or an alien authorized	d to work in the United	d States	?		YES	NO
3. Do you have at least one (1) year	r of experience as a license	d Beauty Operator?				YES	□NO
If "YES", provide the jurisdict	tion and <u>ATTACH</u> "Experien	ce Verification" form (State/C	Country):			
4. Have you ever held a beauty inst	tructor license in Hawaii? .					YES	☐ NO
If "YES": Do not complete	this form. Contact the Lice	ensing Branch for a Re	storatio	on application at	t (808) 586-3	3000.	
5. Has any license/certification/reg	gistration ever been suspen	ded, revoked or other	wise su	bject to disciplir	nary action?	TYES	☐ NO
6. Are there are any disciplinary ac	tions pending against you?					TYES	☐ NO
7. Have you ever been convicted o	f a crime in any jurisdiction	that has not been ann	nulled o	r expunged?		YES	☐ NO
(0	CONTINUED ON PAGE 2	– SIGNATURE REQU	JIRED (ON APPLICATION	ON)		
		•	•	141 \$20 152 \$40	CRF 1/2 (ren) .	146 \$22 142 \$50, 130 \$23 BCF \$25	/ \$100

Print Applicant Name:				Date:				
	Failure to pro	vide all the requested informa	tion will delay	the processin	g of your ap	plicatio	n.	
КY	Name of Employer	Address of Employer	Dates Employed (mo/yr		Average F		Position Title	
NT HISTO								
EMPLOYMENT HISTORY								
E								
ENSES	Name of State (submit copy of license)	Method of Licensure	thod of Licensure Type of License Held			Held Date First Lice		
INSTRUCTOR LICENSES		State Exam Reciprocit	у					
INSTRU		State Exam Reciprocit						
and c	orrect. I understand that any on 710-1017, Section 436B-19	statements, answers and represent misrepresentation is grounds for 19, and Section 439-19, Hawaii Revites, Chapter 439 and Hawaii Admir	refusal to grant o sed Statutes). I	or subsequent re further certify th	evocation of li	icense ar	nd is a misdemeanor	
Signature of Applicant				_		Date		
	ase of Information to Third To assist me in the licensi mited to, application status) to	ing process, I authorize DCCA's sta	ff to release any	and all informa	tion regarding	g my app	lication (including bu	
Print	Name of Individual who is	assisting you:						
_				_				
_	Signature of Applicant			_	Date			

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.

APPLICATION FOR TEMPORARY PERMIT - BEAUTY INSTRUCTOR				Permit No.		Eff. Date		
Read "Requirements & Instructions" before completing this form. Please type or print <u>LEGIBLY</u> in black ink. <u>ATTACH</u> \$40.00 fee to this form.						Exp. Date	9	
Legal Name (First, Middle)		(Last)			Mailed:			
OTHER NAMES USED (previous surnames, maiden name, nicknames and aliases)				ONLY	ALL	HAIR	ESTN	NAIL
Residence Address (Include Apt. No., City, State, & Zip Code) - REQUIRED				FOR BOARD USE ONLY				
Mailing Address (ONLY if different		_						
Social Security No.	Phone No. (Day Res: Bus:	ys)						
Check your answers and give details when required:								
Are you aware that the temporary permit is a privilege to train and work <u>in Hawaii</u> while awaiting the examination?								
2. Are you a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the United States? YES NO								
If "NO": You will not be issued a Temporary Permit, therefore, do not complete this form.								
3. Are you aware that you are required to apply and qualify for the examination to become eligible for a Temporary Permit?								
4. Are you aware that the temporary permit is valid for three examinations scheduled by the Board (approx. one year), in which time you are required to take and pass the examination?								
5. Are you aware that once the temporary permit expires, the temporary permit may not be EXTENDED OR REISSUED , however, you are still eligible to take the examination, but not work? YES NO								
6. For this reason, are you aware that the Board encourages you, once approved for examination, to register with the testing agency and take the first available and all subsequent examinations? YES NO								
If "YES": Please provide the month and year of the examination you intend to register for:								

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2 – SIGNATURE REQUIRED ON APPLICATION)

Print Applicant Name:	Date:
Affidavit of Applicant: I hereby certify that the statements, answers and representation documents attached are true and correct. I understand that any misresubsequent revocation of license and is a misdemeanor (Section 710-1 Hawaii Revised Statutes). I further certify that I have read and will abiochapter 439 and Hawaii Administrative Rules, Chapter 16-78.	epresentation is grounds for refusal to grant or L017, Section 436B-19, and Section 439-19,
Signature of Applicant	Date
Release of Information to Third Party To assist me in the licensing process, I authorize DCCA's staff tapplication (including but not limited to, application status) to: Print Name of Individual who is assisting you:	
Signature of Applicant	 Date
DO NOT DETACH	
TEMPORARY BEAUTY INSTRUCTOR'S PERMIT	Board of Barbering and Cosmetology State of Hawaii P.O. Box 3469 Honolulu, HI 96801
This temporary permit authorizes the individual named in the block below the beauty instructor in the category(ies) noted below. The individual shall be eather supervision of a licensed beauty instructor. This permit shall be valid for a DNLY ONCE AND WILL NOT BE EXTENDED OR REISSUED. The applicant is, the available and all subsequent scheduled examinations.	employed in a properly licensed beauty school under the period stated, approximately one year, IS ISSUE
PRINT YOUR NAME & COMPLETE MAILING ADDRESS IN THE BLOCK BELOW:	Licensure Category
	☐ Cosmetologist
	Hairdresser
	☐ Esthetician
	☐ Nail Technician
	Effective Date:
	Expiration Date:
PERMIT NO	
VALID ONLY WHEN EXECUTED BY THE EXECUTIVE OFFICER OF THE	Executive Officer
	LACCULIVE OTHCE

BOARD OF BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY, STATE OF HAWAII.

EXPERIENCE VERIFICATION FORM – BEAUTY INSTRUCTOR

Access this form via website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl

PART I. TO BE	COMPLETED BY AF	PPLICANT				
Instructions: A	A. Complete information	on in Part I only.				
E	3. Have a qualified per	son complete Part II aı	nd sign the	e form.		
C	c. <u>ATTACH</u> the comple	ted <u>ORIGINAL</u> form to	the applic	ation. Copies are I	not acceptable.	
Applicant's Name: (F	irst, Middle)			(LAST)		
Complete Mailing Ad	dress: (include Apt. No.	, City, State and Zip Code)	Phone No.:	(days)	
				Date:		
				Date:		
PART II. TO BE	COMPLETED BY EN	APLOYER OR SUPER	VISOR W	ITH INSTRUCTOR	EXPERIENCE.	
		PLETE THIS FORM A				
		uested Information				
		ty instructor license in			•	of of out-of-state
		nsed instructor. Pleas				
•	at the above address				,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,	,
Employment Date	Termination Date	Total Length of Employ	ment	Avg. Hrs. Per Wk.	Applicant worked a	s an: (check one)
. ,				J		,
		yrs	_ mos.		☐ OPERATOR	INSTRUCTOR
Describe the work	performed by beauty	y operator or instructo	or:			
	t the information pro	vided on the above-na	med pers	on is true and corre	ect and that I am a	licensed operator or
qualified person.						
Drint Name of Our	h of Chata Faralacca /Com	aminan/Ovalified Dansen		^		- 1)
Print Name of Ou	t-of-State Employer/Sup	ervisor/Qualified Person		Add	ress of Employer (Lin	e 1)
Signature of Out-	-of-State Employer/Supe	ervisor/Qualified Person		Add	ress of Employer (Lin	e 2)
J	i / - /	,			F - / - (=	•
			1	1		
E	mployer/Supervisor Lice	ense No.	\.	Phone Nui	mber	Date

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request. COSM-02B 0824