REQUIREMENTS & INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING - ACUPUNCTURE INTERN PERMIT

Access this form via website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl

APPLICATION
FORM

FEE

PROOF OF
EDUCATION
REQUIREMENT

PERMIT APPROVAL

REPORT CHANGES

VERIFICATION OF
YOUR CLINICAL
TRAINING

SOCIAL

SECURITY
NUMBER

ACU-07 0924R

Type or print legibly in black ink. Complete all items. Failure to provide all the requested information will delay
the processing of your application.

Attach the $50 application fee (non-refundable), made payable to: "COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS".
(check must be in U.S. dollars and be from a U.S. financial institution.) Your application will not be processed
without this fee.

NOTE: One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new permit to be issued is the
payment of fees as set forth in this application. You may be sent a certificate before the check you sent us for your
required fees clears your bank. If your check is returned to us unpaid, you will have failed to pay the required fee
and your permit will not be valid, and you may not do business under that permit. Also, a $25.00 service fee will be
charged for checks which are returned by the bank.

If for any reason you are denied the permit you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as provided by Title
16, Chapter 201, Hawaii Administrative Rules, and/or Chapter 91, Hawaii Revised Statutes. Your written request for
a hearing must be directed to the agency that denied your application, and must be made within 60 days of
notification that your application for a permit has been denied.

Completion of at least three (3) semesters of instruction at an approved school.

Submit one of the following documents that verifies completion of at least three (3) semesters of instruction
at an approved school:

(1) Copy of diploma; or
(2) Official transcript; or
(3) Original letter from the dean or registrar of an approved school.

Upon approval, the permit will allow the applicant to engage in the practice of acupuncture under the immediate
supervision of a duly licensed acupuncturist in a school setting or in another setting for a period of four (4) years.

An acupuncture intern permit may be reissued once, for a period not to exceed one year, upon written request to
the Board and payment of $50 application fee (non-refundable).

The permit will be mailed to the applicant showing the effective and expiration dates.

Report all changes to the information in your application immediately and in writing to the Board.

Have the school report the hours of clinical training on the official school transcript.

Your Social Security Number is used to verify your identity for licensing purposes and for compliance with

the below laws. For a license to be issued, you must provide your Social Security Number or your
application will be deemed deficient and will not be processed further. The following laws require that you
furnish your Social Security Number to our agency:

FEDERAL LAWS:

42 U.S.C.A. §666(a)(13) requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or
occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and

If you are a licensed health care practitioner, 45 C.F.R., Part 61, Subpart B, §61.7 requires the Social Security
Number as part of the mandatory reporting we must do to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank
(HIPDB), of any final adverse licensing action against a licensed health care practitioner.

HAWAII REVISED STATUTES ("HRS"):

§576D-13(j), HRS requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational
license be recorded on the application for license; and

§436B-10(4), HRS which states that an applicant for license shall provide the applicant's Social Security Number if
the licensing authority is authorized by federal law to require the disclosure (and by the federal cites shown above,
we are authorized to require the Social Security Number).

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2)



ABANDONMENT Pursuant to HRS §436B-9, your application shall be considered abandoned and will be destroyed, if you fail to complete
OF APPLICATION the license process within one year after filing an application or fail to take and pass the examination after becoming
eligible to take the examination.

If an application is deemed abandoned, the applicant shall be required to reapply for licensure and comply with the
licensing requirements at the time of the reapplication.

LAWS & RULES To obtain a copy of the acupuncture laws (Chapter 436E, HRS) and rules (Title 16, Chapter 72, HAR), send a written
request to: Board of Acupuncture, Commerce & Consumer Affairs, P. O. Box 3469, Honolulu, HI 96801. In addition,
Chapter 436B, Hawaii Revised Statutes, the Professional and Vocational Licensing Act should be read in
conjunction with the above statutes.

The laws and rules are also posted on our website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl. Click on "Acupuncture".

ADDRESS OF Mailing address:  Board of Acupuncture Deliver to office location at:
BOARD DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch OR 335 Merchant Street
P.O.Box 3469 Room 301
Honolulu, HI 96801 Honolulu, HI 96813

Status of your application:  You may write, or call the Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000.
Toll free voice access numbers for the neighbor islands:

Kauai - 274-3141 Ext. 6-3000 Lanai - 1-800-468-4644 Ext. 6-3000
Maui - 984-2400 Ext. 6-3000 Molokai - 1-800-468-4644 Ext. 6-3000
Hawaii - 974-4000 Ext. 6-3000

RELEASE OF If an agency or individual is assisting you with the registration process, we will not be able to release any
INFORMATION information to them unless you provide us with authorization. If you wish to do so, please complete the portion
on Release of Information to Third Party, sign, and date it.

Print Form

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.



DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS

BOARD OF ACUPUNCTURE
P.O. Box 3469
Honolulu, Hawaii 96801
APPLICATION FOR PERMIT - ACUPUNCTURE INTERN Approved/denied Date of Approval
Type or print legibly in black ink.
Legal Name (First, Middle) (Last) Effective Expiration
z
Residence Address (Include apt. no., city, state, zip code) - REQUIRED g Permit No. Mailed
w
w
=)
-
<
]
Mailing Address (only if different from residence) g
o
o
'S
Other names used:
Social Security No. Date of Birth Phone No. (days) Email Address
Name of school under which training will occur Name of Acupuncturist who will provide immediate supervision License No.
ACU-
Check answers & explain when needed:
1. Are you at least 18 Years Of @gE7 .. ... .t i ittt ittt ettt [ JYES [JNO
2. Areyou a United States citizen, a United States national, or an alien authorized to work in the United States?.......... |:|YES |:|NO
3. Areyou actively enrolled in an accredited acupuncture program? .........ooiiinin i |:|YES |:|NO
4. (a) Do you hold or have you ever held an acupuncture license or permit in this or any other jurisdiction?........... |:|YES |:|NO
If"yes" Jurisdiction:
License or Permit No. Effective Date(s):
(b) Was any license or permit ever revoked, suspended or otherwise subject to disciplinary action?................. |:|YES |:|NO
If "yes" Date: Place:
Type of disciplinary action:
(c) Areyou presently being investigated or is any disciplinary action presently pending againstyou?............... |:|YES |:|NO
If "yes" Date: Place:
Type of disciplinary action:
5. Have you ever been convicted of a crime in any jurisdiction that has not been annulled or expunged?............... |:|YES |:|NO
If "yes" Date: Place:

Type of conviction:

Attach copies of court documents and/or records pertaining to conviction, or documents pertaining to disciplinary action if you answered "yes"
to questions 4 and 5, above.

Affidavit of Applicant:

| hereby certify that all answers and statements contained in this application are true and correct. | understand that misrepresentation is grounds for
refusal or subsequent revocation of permit (Sec. 436E-10 and 436B-19, Hawaii Revised Statutes), and/or grounds for criminal prosecution (Sec. 710-1017, Hawaii
Revised Statutes).

Signature of Applicant Date

INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED TO THE APPLICANT. THIS SHALL RESULT IN A DELAY IN PROCESSING YOUR APPLICATION.
HAVE YOU REMEMBERED TO:
1. Sign your application; keep a copy for your file.
2. Attach appropriate amount made payable to: COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS. (check must be in U.S. dollars and be from a U.S. financial
institution.)
3. Attach documentation that you completed at least 3 semesters in acupuncture instruction at an approved school.

NOTE:  Upon approval, your permit will be mailed to you showing the effective and expiration dates (4 years only). You must report, in writing, any changes to

the above information. I B
{ rint Form I

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please
call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request. Appl 024 $50

ACU-06 0924R Service Fee............ BCF............ $25
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