REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE - VETERINARIAN
Access this form via website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl

REQUIREMENTS

APPLICATION

SOCIAL SECURITY
NUMBER

EDUCATION

VET-02 0624R

1.  Fulfill the education requirements as described below;
2. Pass the National Board Examination ("NBE");

¢ Currently, the NBE is the North American Veterinary Licensing Examination ("NAVLE")

3. Complete and submit the application form (VET-01) using the on-line fillable form or by printing legibly in
dark-colored ink AND attach the initial application fee of $100.00;

4.  Pass the State of Hawaii Board of Veterinary Medicine licensing examination; AND

5. Payremaining licensure fees.

Should you have a question or concern regarding the requirements for licensure, contact the Licensing Branch at
(808) 586-3000.

If you are calling from the neighbor islands, call the following toll-free access number:

Kauai: 274-3141 ext. 3000 Maui: 984-2400 ext. 3000
Hawaii:  974-4000 ext.3000 Molokai: 1-800-468-4644 ext. 3000
Lanai: 1-800-468-4644 ext. 3000

Answer all questions, provide explanations and supporting documents when required, sign, and date the application
form. If your application lacks the required documentation for the examination or for licensure, it will not be
considered or reviewed by the Board. Itis the applicant's responsibility to ensure that all documents are received.

Your Social Security Number is used to verify your identity for licensing purposes and for compliance with the below
laws. For a license to be issued you must provide your Social Security Number or your application will be
deemed deficient and will not be processed further.

The following laws require that you furnish your Social Security Number to our agency:

FEDERAL LAWS:

42 U.S.C.A. §666(a)(13) requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or
occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and If you are a licensed health care practitioner, 45
C.F.R., Part 61, Subpart B, §61.7 requires the Social Security Number as part of the mandatory reporting we must
do to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB), of any final adverse licensing action against a
licensed health care practitioner.

HAWAII REVISED STATUTES ("HRS"):

§576D-13(j), HRS requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational
license be recorded on the application for license; and

8§436B-10(4), HRS which states that an applicant for license shall provide the applicant's Social Security Number if
the licensing authority is authorized by federal law to require the disclosure (and by the federal cites shown above,
we are authorized to require the Social Security Number).

You must be a graduate of a veterinary college accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA).
However, you will be allowed to take the NAVLE if you are expected to graduate within 6 months from an AVMA
accredited veterinary college, upon submittal of written verification from an official of the college.

Request that an official copy of your transcripts or a certified copy of your diploma be sent directly to the Board at the
mailing address listed on page four (4) of the instructions.

(NOTE: You must graduate before being able to take the Board licensing exam.)

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2)



Graduates of foreign veterinary colleges must have their foreign education evaluated by either the AVMA or the

EDUCATION -
FOREIGN AAVSB if they wish to have their college degree(s) considered and accepted by the Board. The contact information
for the evaluations are:
AVMA Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG)
American Veterinary Medical Association Phone: (800) 248-2862 or (847) 925-8070
ATTN: ECFVG FAX: (847) 925-9329
1931 N. Meacham Rd., Ste. 100 E-mail: ECFVG@avma.org
Schaumburg, IL 60173-4360 Website: www.avma.org/education/ecfvg
AAVSB Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence (PAVE)
American Association of Veterinary State Boards Phone: (877) 698-8482
ATTN: PAVE Program FAX: (816) 931-1604
380 W. 22" Street, Suite. 101 E-mail: pave@aavsb.org
Kansas City, MO 64108 Website: aavsb.org/pave
NBE - The NAVLE is acomputer-based examination administered by the International Council for Veterinary Assessment
NAVLE ("ICVA"). The NAVLE is administered only on Oahu and is scheduled twice a year with testing windows in April and

November-December.
Deadline and examination dates are available at our website.

Contact the ICVA to register for the examination at:

International Council for Veterinary Assessment Phone: (701) 224-0332
P.O. Box 1356 FAX: (701) 224-0435
Bismark, ND 58502 E-mail: mail@icva.net

Website: www.icva.net

TRANSFERRING

NAVLE OR NBE +
CCT SCORES If you have passed the NAVLE or the NBE + CCT, please have your scores sent directly to the Board. To request your

scores, contact the American Association of Veterinary State Boards' (AAVSB) Veterinary Information Verifying
Agency (VIVA) at:

Candidate information can be downloaded from the ICVA website at: www.icva.net/navle.

American Association of Veterinary State Boards Phone: (877) 698-8482

ATTN: VIVA FAX: (816) 931-1604

380 W. 22" street, Suite 101 E-mail: viva@aavsb.org

Kansas City, MO 64108 Website: www.aavsb.org
APPLYING VIA NBE Prior to the NAVLE, if you have taken the National Board examination AND if the Clinical Competency Test (CCT) was
WITHOUT CCT NOT required at the time you were licensed out-of-state, the Board requires:

1.  Your NBE scores sent directly to the Board (see "Transferring NAVLE or NBE + CCT Scores" above)
2. Astatement or your resume with your experience in the practice of veterinary medicine; AND

3. Notarized statements from at least two veterinary colleagues attesting to your veterinary experience for ten out
of twelve immediately preceding years.

LICENSE On the application list ALL licenses you hold or held. Contact each jurisdiction that you hold or held a license and
VERIFICATION request that they send a Verification of License directly to the Board. The applicant is responsible for any fees

incurred. You may utilize the "Verification of License" form (VET-04).

STATE OFHAWAII NOTE: You must GRADUATE before being able to take the Board licensing exam.

LICENSING The State examination is administered by PSI Services LLC. Once you are approved you will receive notification to

EXAMINATION book your examination with PSI Exams along with the required candidate ID. If you do not pass the examination,
you must wait 60 days before retesting. The filing deadline is 60 days prior to the examination date you are
requesting.

The examination fee is $30 and is payable via credit card to PSI at the time you book your examination.

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 3)



STATE OF HAWAII
LICENSING
EXAMINATION
(cont'd)

TEMPORARY
PERMITS

LICENSE FEES

BOARD'S OFFICE

PSI provides a candidate bulletin with a list of study reference materials on its website at:
https://test-takers.psiexams.com/hitrade/test.

Please refer to the PSI candidate bulletin regarding postponing, withdrawing, or rebooking an examination.

All PSI examination centers are equipped to provide access in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act
(ADA) of 1990. To request special accommodations to take the examination, please use the Test
Accommodations Request form which can be accessed through the “Clicking Here” link on the online candidate
bulletin under the heading “EXAM ACCOMMODATIONS (ADA)".

A temporary permit allows you to work for a maximum of 24 months under the supervision of a veterinarian licensed
to practice in Hawaii until the results of the State of Hawaii Board of Veterinary Medicine licensing examination are
known. You must have filed all required documents, paid all applicable fees, and the temporary permit supervisor
form (VET-03) signed by the supervising Hawaii-licensed veterinarian. Please refer to Hawaii Administrative Rules §
§16-101-29.1 and 16-101-30 for more details on these conditions. Only one (1) permit shall be issued and is not
renewable. Check the appropriate box on the application and submit Form (VE-03).

After all requirements are met, license fees will be due. You will be sent notification of amounts of these fees at the
appropriate time.

$360 If your license isissued between July 1 of even-numbered years and June 30 of odd-numbered years.
(License Fee - $130 + CRF - $100 + 1/2 Renewal - $130)

$180 If yourlicense is issued between July 1 of odd-numbered years and June 30 of even-numbered years.
(License Fee - $130 + CRF - $50)

Make your check payable to: COMMERCE & CONSUMER AFFAIRS (check must be in U.S. dollars and be from a U.S.
financial institution.)

The Compliance Resolution Fund (CRF) was established by the 1982 Legislature (Section 26-9(m), Hawaii Revised
Statutes) to expedite resolution of consumer complaints filed with DCCA.

Once you are licensed as a Veterinarian in Hawaii, ALL FEES PAID are non-refundable.

NOTE: One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to be issued is the
payment of fees as set forth in this application. You may be sent a license certificate before the payment you sent us
for your required fees is honored by your bank. If your payment is dishonored, you will have failed to pay the
required licensing fee and your license will not be valid, and you may not do business under that license. Also, a
$25.00 service charge shall be assessed for payments that are dishonored for any reason.

Submit your application and all supporting documentation to:

Mailing Address Office Location
Board of Veterinary Medicine OR 335 Merchant Street, Room 301
DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch Honolulu, HI 96813
P.O. Box 3469
Honolulu, HI 96801 Phone: (808) 586-3000

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 4)


https://test-takers.psiexams.com/hitrade/test

LICENSE
DENIAL

ABANDONMENT
OF APPLICATION

LAWS & RULES

BIENNIAL
RENEWAL

CHANGE OF
ADDRESS

RELEASE OF
INFORMATION

If for any reason you are denied the license you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as provided by the
Hawaii Administrative Rules, Title 16, Chapter 201, and/or Hawaii Revised Statutes, Chapter 91. Your written request
for a hearing should be directed to the Board of Veterinary Medicine and must be received by the Board within 60
days of the date that your application for licensure was denied.

Pursuant to HRS §436B-9 your application shall be considered abandoned and shall be destroyed if you fail to
complete the license process within one year after filing an application or fail to take and pass the examination after
becoming eligible to take the examination.

If an application is deemed abandoned, the applicant shall be required to reapply for licensure and comply
with the licensing requirements at the time of the reapplication.

By signing your application form (VET-01), you are certifying that you have read and will abide by the provisions of
HawaiiRevised Statutes Chapter471 (the Board's laws), Hawaii Administrative Rules Title 16, Chapter 101 (the Board's
rules) and Hawaii Revised Statutes Chapter 436B (the Professional and Vocational Licensing Act).

To obtain a copy of any of these publications, please send a written request to the Board's Address, or you may
download the publications from the Board's website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl. Click on "Veterinary", then on "Statute/
Rule Chapter".

All veterinary medicine licenses (regardless of issuance date) expire on June 30 of each EVEN-NUMBERED year and
must be renewed on or before the license expiration date. Renewals that are received after the license expiration
date are subject to late renewal fees.

A forfeited (non-renewed) veterinary medicine license can be restored up to 3 years from the date of forfeiture, upon
the filing of a restoration application and payment of all required fees.

After three (3) years from the date of license forfeiture, a forfeited license may be restored upon the filing of a
restoration application, payment of all required fees, and verification provided to the Board that the former licensee
is qualified to practice veterinary medicine.

You mustimmediately report any changes of address to the Licensing Branch in writing so that your records can be
updated.

If an agency or individual is assisting you with the licensure process, we will not be able to release any information to
them unless you provide us with authorization. If you wish to do so, please complete the portion on "Release of
Information to Third Party", sign, and date it.

Print Form

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.



APPLICATION FOR EXAM/LICENSE - VETERINARIAN License No.

Access this form via website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl

VE -

Effective Date

Temp Permit No.

Legal Name (First, Middle) (LAST)

Effective Date

Other Names Used (include maiden name): Date of Birth:

Residence Address (include apt. no., city, state & zip code) | Social Security No.:

Phone No. (days):

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

Mailing Address (ONLY if different from above)

EMAIL ADDRESS

NOTE: Your application must be complete and approved by the applicable deadline dates

cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/veterinary.

. See exam dates & deadlines at:

Answer all the following questions by checking your answers. PROVIDE details and explanations when needed or required.

1.
2.

Are you at 1east 18 Years Of @882 . ...ttt ittt et e e e e
Are you a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the United States? ..............cooviiinnn..
Did you graduate (or expect to graduate within 6 months) from an AVMA-accredited veterinary college? .......... .

Date of Graduation:

Have you passed the National Board eXamination? .. ......u ittt et eas

¢ If "YES", when did you request scores to be sent directly to the Board?

[ Jves
[ ]Yes
[ Jves

[ Jves

¢ Which National Board examination did you pass? ONAVLE O NBE + CCT ONBE w/o CCT

¢ |f you have passed the NBE w/o CCT, refer to instructions on "Applying via NBE without CCT".
Do you hold, or ever held an out-of-state veterinarian icense? .......... ..ottt e

If "YES", complete table on page 2.

Has any license ever been revoked, suspended, or otherwise subjected to disciplinary action? ......................
If "YES", you MUST provide an explanation and have the licensing authority of the state of your

licensure submit pertinentdocuments.

Are you presently being investigated or are there any disciplinary actions pending against your license? . ...........

If "YES", you MUST provide an explanation and have the licensing authority of the state of your

licensure submit pertinentdocuments.

Have you ever been convicted of a crime in any jurisdiction that has not been annulled or expunged?..............

If "YES", you MUST provide an explanation and provide certified court documentation on the date,

place, and nature of each conviction, and the status of fulfillment of conditions of each sentence.

Are you requesting a temporary permit, valid until the results of the State examinationareknown? .................

If "YES", submit Form VET-03 with original supervising veterinarian signature.

[ Jves

[ ]Yes

[ Jves

[ JNo
[ ]no
[ ]no

[ ]no

[ JNo

[ ]no

[ no

VET-01 0724 Service Charge

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2)
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License...

1/2 Renewal.....




Print Name of Applicant (Veterinarian):

Date:

List all out-of-state licenses (Attach additional sheets as needed). Please ensure that all license verifications are submitted from
each jurisdiction in which you hold or have held a license.

State or
Jurisdiction

Date Issued

Expiration
Date

License No.

Method of Licensure

Date "Verification of
License" was
requested

[INationalBoard Exam
[Jstate Licensing Exam

[Jendorsement

|:|Nationa| Board Exam
[Jstate Licensing Exam

[[Jendorsement

[INational Board Exam
[Jstate Licensing Exam

DEndorsement

DNationaI Board Exam
DState Licensing Exam

DEndorsement

[INationalBoard Exam
[Jstate Licensing Exam

DEndorsement

Affidavit of Applicant:

| hereby certify that the statements, answers and representations made in this application and the documents attached are true and
correct. | understand that any misrepresentation is grounds for refusal to grant or subsequent revocation of license and is a misdemeanor
(Section 710-1017, Sections 436B-19, and 471-10, Hawaii Revised Statutes). | further certify that | have read and will abide by the provisions of
Chapter 471, Hawaii Revised Statutes, Chapter 16-101, Hawaii Administrative Rules, and Chapter 436B, Hawaii Revised Statutes.

Signature of Applicant

Release of Information to Third Party:

Date

To assist me in the licensing process, | hereby authorize DCCA's staff to release any and all information regarding my application (including, but

not limited to application status) to the following third party:

Print Name of Individual who is assisting you:

Name of Organization:

Signature of Applicant

Date

Print Form

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.



VERIFICATION OF LICENSE-VETERINARIAN

Access this form via website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl

State of Hawaii

Board of Veterinary Medicine
P.O. Box 3469

Honolulu, HI 96801

Legal Name (First, Middle) (LAST) Social Security No.
Address (include apt. no., city, state and zip code) License No.
- VE -
2
<
o Date Issued
-
o
o
<
| hereby authorize the licensing agency of the State of to furnish the information below to
the State of Hawaii Board of Veterinary Medicine.
Date: SIGN HERE:
This is to certify that the above-named individual was issued license number to practice veterinary medicine on
the basis of: |:| ICVA administered exam(s) Date issued:
(NAVLE or NBE/CCT) Date License expires:
|:| Endorsement License status: |:| current
|:| State-constructed exam |:| lapsed since:
|:| Reciprocity |:| inactive since:
Has this license ever been encumbered in any way (revoked, suspended,
surrendered, limited, placed on probation, currently pending disciplinary
action, beinginvestigated? . ......... ittt i i i it e e |:| NO
|:| YES (Please explain "YES" response and
> attach copy of Board's order and
g related information.)
w |COMMENTS:
(]
<
U]
<
0
2
m
O
=
Signature:
Title:
State: BOARD SEAL
Date:
TO THE BOARD: Return this form directly to the Hawaii Board of Veterinary Medicine at the address shown at the top of the page.

(This form may be duplicated)

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to
yourrequest. VET-0724R

Print Form

submit



SUPERVISOR VERIFICATION - VETERINARY
TEMPORARY PERMIT
Access this form via website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl >
2
SUBMIT THE ORIGINAL FORM. COPIES WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED. 8
This form is required upon application for a temporary permit. g
Ll
If the temporary permittee fails to take or fails the examination, the E
temporary permit is automatically terminated and must be returned B
immediately to the Board. Only one (1) temporary permit shall be issued and is
not transferrable.
Legal Name (First, Middle) (Last)
Residence Address (Include apt. no., city, state & zip code) Mailing Address (ONLY if different from residence)
E-mail address: Phone No. - Include area code Date of Birth

Pursuant to HAR §16-101-30, the temporary permit shall be issued subject to the following conditions:

(1) The temporary permittee shall practice veterinary medicine only under the supervision of a veterinarian licensed to practice in Hawaii.
At all times when the temporary permittee is engaged in the practice of veterinary medicine, the licensed veterinarian shall be physically
present on the same island as the temporary permittee and must be available on a daily basis for consultation with the permittee; (2) Only
one permit, which shall be nonrenewable, shall be issued to an applicant; and (3) the temporary permit shall be valid until the results of
the Hawaii state board examination taken by the permittee are known.

SECTION A. TO BE
COMPLETED BY APPLICANT

| hereby certify that the information contained in my original application remain unchanged as of this date. | also certify
that | will engage in the practice of veterinary medicine only under the supervision of the Hawaii-licensed veterinarian designated below
and that the statements contained in this application are true and correct.

Signature of Temporary Permit Applicant Date

Legal Name of Veterinarian (First, Middle) (Last)

Hawaii License No.: Business Address of Veterinarian (Include apt. no., city, state & zip code)

VE -

Email Address: The temporary permit must be issued prior to commencing the practice of veterinary medicine in Hawaii.

Anticipated Start Date:

I hereby state that | will provide direct supervision over the above-named temporary permit holderin accordance with subchapter 7,
Hawaii Administrative Rules and chapter 471, Hawaii Revised Statutes.

SECTION B. TO BE COMPLETED
BY THE SUPERVISING VETERINARIAN

Signature of Supervising Veterinarian Date
Mail to:  Hawaii Board of Veterinary Medicine OR Deliver to office location: Hawaii Board of Veterinary Medicine
DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch 335 Merchant Street, Room 301
P.O. Box 3469 Honolulu, HI 096813
Honolulu, HI 96801 Phone: (808) 586-3000

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000 to submit your

request. VET-03 0724
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