
APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION -  
ELEVATOR MECHANIC APPRENTICE
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Initials/Date:
Approved:

Date Registered: Reg. No.: 
 EVA - 

Access this form via website at:  cca.hawaii.gov/pvl

Legal Name (First, Middle): (Last):

Mailing Address (include apt. no., city, state, zip code - P.O. Box is not acceptable):

Other names used (include maiden name):

Social Security No.: Phone No. (days):

Check answers.  If response is "YES" to Question 4, refer to instructions for additional documents that must be submitted with this application.

1. Are you at least 18 years of age? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . YES NO

2.

3.

Are you a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the United States? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Have you ever been convicted of a crime in any jurisdiction that has not been annulled or expunged?  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

YES NO

YES NO

EM-04  0724R

Appl . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   202 . . . . . . . .  $100 
Service Fee  . . . . . . . .   BCF . . . . . . . .  $  25

Instructions for Filing
1. Complete Section 1 by using the online fillable form or by printing legibly in 

dark ink.

2. Have the Supervising Elevator Mechanic or the Responsible Managing
Employee (RME) complete Section 2.

Attach the fee of $100 (Application - $40 + Permit - $60).
Make check payable to:  COMMERCE & CONSUMER AFFAIRS (check must be in
U.S. dollars and be from a U.S. financial institution).  NOTE:  A $25 service charge 
shall be assessed for payments dishonored for any reason.

3.

4. Mail to: Deliver to Office Location at:

Elevator Mechanic Licensing Board 
DCCA, PVL, Licensing Branch 
P.O. Box 3469 
Honolulu, HI  96801

335 Merchant St., Room 301 
Honolulu, HI  96813 

Phone:   (808) 586-3000

OR

SECTION 1.  To be completed by Applicant

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2)

4.

Are you aware that the four-year apprentice period starts with the date of registration with DCCA and  
not the date of employment? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

YES NO

Date of Birth: Email Address:



Affidavit of Applicant: 
  
 I hereby certify that all statements, answers, and representations made in this application and on the documents attached are true 
and correct.  I understand that any misrepresentation is grounds for refusal or subsequent revocation of apprentice registration and is a 
misdemeanor (Section 710-1017 and Section 436B-19, Hawaii Revised Statutes and Section 16-81-29, Hawaii Administrative Rules.)  I further 
certify that I have read and will abide by the provisions of Chapter 448, HRS and Chapter 81, HAR.

Signature of Applicant: Date:

Release of Information to Third Party: 
  
 To assist me in the permitting process, I authorize the DCCA staff to release any and all information regarding my application 
(including but not limited to, application status) to the following third party:

Print name of individual who is assisting you:

Signature of Applicant: Date:

-2-

SECTION 2.  To be completed by Supervising Elevator Mechanic or RME of Contracting Firm
Name & Address of Employer:

EVM - 

Description of duties to be performed by the apprentice:

I certify that the statements contained in Section 2 of this application are true and correct and that I will provide direct or general 
supervision of all work performed by the apprentice.  (Elevator Mechanic)

I certify that the statements contained in Section 2 of this application are true and correct and that I will insure that a licensed elevator 
mechanic shall provide direct or general supervision of all work performed by the apprentice.  (RME of Contracting Firm)

Date Print Name of Elevator Mechanic/RME of Contracting Firm

Signature of Elevator Mechanic/RME of Contracting Firm

Date:Print Name of Applicant:

CT - 

License No.:

/

CHECK ONE:

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 3)



This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.

-3-

Instructions for "YES" Answer to Question 4 of the Application for Registration (EM-04)

If your application indicates a criminal conviction, the Board requires you submit the following:

A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances leading to the conviction and detailing all activities since the 
conviction, including employment and business involvements.  Include job title, period of employment, employer's name, 
description of duties, training attended, and educational courses attended; and

i.

ii.

iii.

A copy of the court order, verdict, and terms of sentence; and 

If applicable, a copy of the terms of probation and/or parole and a statement from your probation or parole officer as to your 
compliance with the court orders; and

iv.

v.

vi.

At least one letter of recommendation from a member of the community (no relative) who can objectively attest in writing to 
a firm belief that you have been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant the public's trust; and

If applicable, a letter of recommendation from your current employer regarding your reliability and trustworthiness to work 
as an elevator mechanic; and

A current criminal history record check in your name, which you may obtain from the Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center.  
Contact the Department of the Attorney General, Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center, Kekuanao'a Building,  
465 S. King Street, Room 101, Honolulu, HI 96813.  Phone: (808) 587-3100 or visit their website at: 
ag.hawaii.gov/hcjdc to request a "Criminal History Record Check" form.

NOTE:  If your criminal conviction occurred in a state or states other than Hawaii, a current criminal history record check will be 
required from each state AND Hawaii.  Contact the local authority or Board in each state for their forms, instructions and fees on 
obtaining criminal history record checks. 
  
Your application will be reviewed at an Elevator Mechanic's Board meeting if you have provided all applicable information 
and documents as described above.  The Board will not review incomplete applications.  If you wish to present oral testimony 
at the meeting, submit a written request with your application.

Pursuant to HRS §436B-9, your application shall be considered abandoned and will be destroyed, if you fail to complete the 
license process within one year after filing an application or fail to take and pass the examination after becoming eligible to take 
the examination.   
  
If an application is deemed abandoned, the applicant shall be required to reapply for licensure and comply with the licensing 
requirements at the time of the reapplication.

Abandonment of Application
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