INSTRUCTIONS AND REQUIREMENTS — ELECTROLOGIST (BY EXAM)

Access this form online at: https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/programs/electrologist/application_publications/

GENERAL INFORMATION

Electrology is the practice of removing hair from the human body using a needle inserted into the hair follicle and using direct electrical current or shortwave alternating current, or a combination, to disable the follicle. The practice of electrology does not include any hair removal system that does not penetrate the skin.

NATIONAL EXAM

Hawaii does not reciprocate with any jurisdiction; therefore, a person shall apply, qualify, be tested, and pay the necessary fees to become licensed as an electrologist in the State of Hawaii. All applicants are required to obtain a passing score on the National-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology ("NIC") examination. If you already passed the NIC examination in another jurisdiction, please review the "Electrologist License (Exam Waiver)" application instructions on the Program's website:

https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/programs/electrologist/application publications/

STEP 1 – SATISFY THE QUALIFICATION REQUIREMENTS AND SELECT ONE PATHWAY

AGE

You must be at least sixteen (18) years of age.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

If you are applying as an individual/sole proprietor, your Social Security Number is used to verify your identity for licensing purposes and for compliance with the below laws. For a license to be issued, you must provide your Social Security Number, or your application will be deemed deficient and will not be processed further. The following laws require that you furnish your Social Security Number to our agency:

FEDERAL LAWS:

42 U.S.C.A. §666(a)(13) requires that Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and if you are a licensed health care practitioner, **45 C.F.R.**, Part **61**, Subpart B, §61.7 requires the Social Security Number as part of the mandatory reporting we must do to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB), of any final adverse licensing action against a licensed health care practitioner.

HAWAII REVISED STATUTES ("HRS"):

§576D-13(j), HRS requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and §436B-10(4), HRS which states that an applicant for license shall provide the applicant's Social Security Number if the licensing authority is authorized by federal law to require the disclose (and by the federal cites shown above, we are authorized to require the Social Security Number).

LICENSE PATHWAYS

You may qualify for licensure through multiple pathways. Select **ONE** pathway which best applies to your training and refer to Page 2 to determine what documentation must be included with your application.

- (1) I have attained 600 hours of schooling from an electrology school accredited by a national or regional accrediting agency, or is licensed in any U.S. jurisdiction as an electrology school;
- (2) I have attained 800 hours of qualified apprenticeship over a period of not less than six (6) months;
- (3) I possess an electrologist license in another jurisdiction and have at least one year of licensed experience.

STEP 2 – SUBMIT YOUR APPLICATION WITH APPLICABLE FEES AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS FOR EXAMINATION

APPLICATION FORM

Complete the online fillable form or print legibly in black ink and **ATTACH** appropriate documentation.

FAILURE TO PROVIDE ALL REQUIRED INFORMATION WILL DELAY THE PROCESSING OF YOUR APPLICATION.

INITIAL FEE

<u>ATTACH</u> the application fee of \$50.00 made payable to: *COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS*. Checks must be made in U.S. dollars and be from a U.S. financial institution

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2)

INITIAL FEE (CONTINUED)

NOTE: One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to be issued is the payment of fees as set forth in this application. You may be sent a license certificate before the payment you sent us for your required fees is honored by your bank. If your payment is dishonored, you will have failed to pay the required licensing fee and your license will not be valid, and you may not do business under that license. Also, a \$25.00 service charge shall be assessed for payments that are dishonored for any reason.

FOREIGN LANGUAGE

All documents must be in English. If documents are not in English, the documents must be translated into English. Submit a copy of the foreign document with (1) the <u>ORIGINAL</u> English translation and (2) an <u>ORIGINAL</u> declaration from the translator that the translation is accurate, and that the translator is fluent in both the foreign language and English. <u>The translator cannot be the applicant</u>. Supporting documents in other names MUST be listed on your application under the "Other Names Used" section.

Example: "I certify that I am competent in both the English language and the (<u>language of the document</u>) language and that this is a true and complete translation of the foreign language original."

PATHWAYS (1): ELECTROLOGY SCHOOL

ATTACH Form EL-02. The form must be signed by your trainer who must be a licensed electrologist. Include supporting documents (such as transcripts of accredited or licensed schools) with information on the subjects and hours per subject you completed. Form EL-03 may be completed and signed by a supervisor or employer who is a licensed electrologist for any out-of-state training.

PATHWAY (2): APPRENTICESHIP

ATTACH Form EL-02. The form must be signed by your trainer who must be a licensed electrologist. Include supporting documents (such as apprenticeship training records) with information on the subjects and hours per subject you completed. Form EL-03 may be completed and signed by a supervisor or employer who is a licensed electrologist for any out-of-state training.

PATHWAY (3): OUT-OF-STATE LICENSE

<u>ATTACH</u> a copy of your out-of-state electrologist license <u>AND</u> Form EL-03 to verify your out-of-State experience. If you are licensed as an electrologist in another U.S. jurisdiction, then you may complete and sign the form.

INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS

Incomplete applications will not be accepted, and a notice of deficiency will be sent. It is your responsibility to file a complete application in sufficient time to be approved to take the examination.

OR

SEND YOUR APPLICATION

VIA MAIL: Electrologist Licensing Program DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch P.O. Box 3469

Honolulu, HI 96801

DELIVER IN-PERSON:

Phone: (808) 586-3000

DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch 335 Merchant St., Room 301 Honolulu, HI 96813

LICENSE DENIAL

If for any reason you are denied the license you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as provided by the Hawaii Administrative Rules, Title 16, Chapter 201, and/or Hawaii Revised Statutes, Chapter 91. Your written request for a hearing should be directed to the Electrologist Licensing Program and must be received by the Program within 60 days of the date that your application for licensure was denied.

STEP 3 – PASS THE NIC EXAMINATION

ABOUT THE NIC EXAM

The testing agency, **Prometric**, administers the NIC examination to applicants after the application has been approved. The examination is provided in the English language (theory only; practical not required). **Additional computer-based testing centers are anticipated to open.**

COMPUTER-BASED FORMAT

If your application is approved by the Electrology Program, you will receive an email from ISO Quality Testing (registrations@isoqualitytesting.com) with instructions to pay the required testing fee in order to schedule an appointment to take the examination.

TAKING EXAM IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION

You may request to take the Hawaii NIC examination in another jurisdiction. Please verify you have access to a Prometric testing center in that jurisdiction. Send a <u>SIGNED</u> letter to the Electrology Program indicating (1) your current mailing address; and (2) which state you will be taking the Hawaii NIC examination.

EXAMINATION RESULTS

An official score report will be sent via email within two weeks after your examination date. Applicants who receive a "Pass" notice will receive a "Fees Due" notice with instructions to apply for Electrology licensure. Applicants who receive a "Fail" notice will receive instructions on re-examination.

ABANDONMENT OF APPLICATION

Pursuant to HRS §436B-9, your application shall be considered abandoned and will be destroyed, if you fail to complete the license process within one year after filing an application or fail to take and pass the examination after becoming eligible to take the examination.

If an application is deemed abandoned, the applicant shall be required to reapply for licensure and comply with the licensing requirements at the time of the reapplication.

STEP 4 – PAY REMAINING LICENSE FEES AND MAINTAIN YOUR LICENSE

LICENSE FEES

After obtaining a passing score on the examination, **SUBMIT** your "Fees Due" notice with license fees:

The Compliance Resolution Fund (CRF) was established by the 1982 Legislature (Section 26-9(m), Hawaii Revised Statutes) to expedite resolution of consumer complaints filed with DCCA.

RENEWAL

All licenses, regardless of date issued, expire on <u>December 31</u> of every even-numbered year. Licenses must be renewed on or before the expiration date.

License renewal after the expiration date and within the one-year restoration period is subject to penalty fees. After the one-year period, you will need to reapply for licensure as a new applicant.

LAWS AND RULES

To obtain a copy of the Electrology laws and rules, Chapter 448F, Hawaii Revised Statutes, and Chapter 16-113, Hawaii Administrative Rules, submit a written request to the address on Page 3 of these instructions, or you may download them from cca.hawaii.gov/pvl. Chapter 436B, Hawaii Revised Statutes, the Professional and Vocational Licensing Act, should be read in conjunction with the Electrology laws and rules.

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.

APPLICATION FOR LICENSE – ELECTROLOGIST (BY EXAM) Read "Requirements & Instructions" before completing this form.				School/Appren	tice or 1 yr experience	
Please type or print <u>LEGIBLY</u> in	-				O/S license	
<u></u>					O/3 licelise	
Legal Name (First, Middle)	(Last)			Approved (Initials/date):		
OTHER NAMES USED (Previous sur	names,	maiden name, nicknames and aliases)		Eff Date:	Lic No.:	
			ONLY		EL-	
Email Address (Required for Exam)		Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy)	USE			
Residence Address (Include Apt. No	o., City,	State, & Zip Code) - REQUIRED	FOR OFFICE			
Mailing Address (ONLY if different to	from re	sidence location)				
Social Security No.	Phone	e No. (Days)				
	Res:					
	Bus:					
Mark your answers and give de		-				
1. Are you at least 18 years of age?	?				YES NO	
2. Are you a U.S. citizen, a U.S. nat	ional, o	r an alien authorized to work in the Unite	d States	?	YES NO	
3. Have you ever applied for an ele	ectrolog	gist license in Hawaii?			YES NO	
If "YES": When (month/ye	ear) dic	you apply?				
4. Have you ever been declared me	entally	incompetent by any court?			YES NO	
If "YES": Give details on a	separa	te sheet.				
	liction v	on ever been suspended, revoked or other where action took place, penalty imposed ment documents.				
	on whe	ending against you?				
If "YES": Explain on a sepa	arate sh	ne in any jurisdiction that has not been an eet, and submit certified court document of conditions for each sentence.				
	(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2 – SIGNAT	URE R	EQUIRED)		
		dividuals with special needs. Please) 586-3000 to submit your request.		License	702\$50 703\$48 710\$50/\$100 701\$48	

Service Fee BCF \$25

EDUCATION		Location of School (city, state, country)	Dates Attended		Highest Grade		School Recognition	
	Name of School		(mo/yr) From To		or Hours Completed	Accredited	License	
	Electrology School	(city, state, country)			Hr			
	Other Schooling				Hr	s		
RY			Mo/Yr Er (mo,	/yr)	Length of	Average Hrs	Hrs	
STC	Name of Trainer	Address of Trainer	From	То	Apprenticeship	Per Week	Completed	
APPRENTICE HISTORY					Yrs Mo	S		
APPRE					Yrs Mo	s		
			Dates En	nployed				
EMPLOYMENT HISTORY			(mo		Length of	Average Hrs	Position	
	Name of Employer	Address of Employer	From	То	Employment	Per Week	Title	
					Yrs Mo	s		
					Yrs Mo	S		
ב					Yrs Mo	S		
NSES	Name of Jurisdiction (State/Country)		Method of Licensure kam, State Exam, Reciprocity)			Licensure Date	Expiration Date	
ELECTROLOGY LICENSES								
Ë								

Date

Signature of Applicant

SCHOOLING/APPRENTICESHIP VERIFICATION – ELECTROLOGIST

Access this form online at: https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/programs/electrologist/application-publications/

PART I. TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT						
Fill in your Name and Address only. Your Trainer must complete Part II. ATTACH completed form to your application.						
Name of Applicant (First, Middle)		(Last)				
Mailing Address of Applicant			Date			
PART II. TO BE COMPLETED BY TRAINER OF APP	PLICANT					
The above applicant is applying for the Hawaii Electrologist license. Your assistance as a qualified person in the trade is necessary to provide valid and accurate verification of training. Please complete, sign, and return this completed form to the APPLICANT .						
Please indicate your qualifications in the practice of elect	rology and provi	de apprentice tra	aining information below:			
Name and Address of Trainer: Apprentice Training:						
	Start Date:					
	End Date:					
Title:	Longth of Train	ain a				
Years of Experience:	Length of Trair	g	-			
License No.: Average Hours Per Week:						
License Eff. Date: Exp. Date:						
subject. If more space is needed, attach a separate sheet (8.5" x 11"). Subjects: The			licant is an APPRENTICE, list umber of training hours for ch of the subjects below: / · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·			
		TOTAL				
I hereby certify that the information provided on the above-named applicant is true and correct, and that I am a licensed electrologist or qualified person.						
	Sign	ature of Trainer,	Qualified Person			
Phone	No.:		Date:			

EXPERIENCE VERIFICATION – ELECTROLOGIST

Access this form online at: https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/programs/electrologist/application-publications/

PART I. TO BE COMPLET	ED BY APPLICANT					
Fill in your Name and Address only. Your supervisor/employer must complete Part II unless you were self-employed. ATTACH completed form to your application. If self-employed, include a copy of your shop or business license.						
Name of Applicant (First, Mid	dle)		(Last)			
Mailing Address of Applicant				Date		
PART II. TO BE COMPLET	TED BY SUPERVISOR/EI	MPLOYER OF A	APPLICANT			
The above applicant is applying for the Hawaii Electrologist license. Your assistance as a qualified person in the trade is necessary to provide valid and accurate verification of training. Acceptable verification is from a qualified person in the practice working with and/or responsible for the applicant. Please complete, sign, and return this completed form to the APPLICANT.						
Please indicate your qualificat	·	trology and provi	de apprentice	training information below:		
Name and Address of Superv	isor/Employer:					
		Title:				
		Years of Exper	ience:			
		License No:		Years Licensed:		
Applicant's Employment Info	rmation:					
Employment Date	Termination Date	Total Length	of Employme	nt Average Hours Per Week		
			yrs. mo	os.		
Experience: Describe work pe	rformed. If more space is r	needed, attach a s	separate sheet	(8.5" x 11").		
	·					
I hereby certify that the information provided on the above-named applicant is true and correct, and that I am a licensed electrologist or qualified person.						
Signature of Supervisor/Employer/Qualified Person						
	Phor	ne No.:		Date:		