REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE - VETERINARIAN

Access this form via website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl

REQUIREMENTS

- 1. Fulfill the education requirements as described below;
- 2. Pass the National Board Examination ("NBE");
 - Currently, the NBE is the North American Veterinary Licensing Examination ("NAVLE")
- 3. Complete and submit the application form (VET-01) using the on-line fillable form or by printing *legibly* in dark-colored ink <u>AND</u> attach the initial application fee of \$100.00;
- 4. Pass the State of Hawaii Board of Veterinary Medicine licensing examination; AND
- 5. Pay remaining licensure fees.

Should you have a question or concern regarding the requirements for licensure, contact the Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000.

If you are calling from the neighbor islands, call the following toll-free access number:

Kauai: 274-3141 ext. 3000 Maui: 984-2400 ext. 3000 Hawaii: 974-4000 ext. 3000 Molokai: 1-800-468-4644 ext. 3000

Lanai: 1-800-468-4644 ext. 3000

APPLICATION

Answer all questions, provide explanations and supporting documents when required, sign, and date the application form. If your application lacks the required documentation for the examination or for licensure, it will not be considered or reviewed by the Board. It is the applicant's responsibility to ensure that all documents are received.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

Your Social Security Number is used to verify your identity for licensing purposes and for compliance with the below laws. For a license to be issued you must **provide your Social Security Number or your application will be deemed deficient and will not be processed further.**

The following laws require that you furnish your Social Security Number to our agency:

FEDERAL LAWS:

42 U.S.C.A. §666(a)(13) requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and If you are a licensed health care practitioner, **45 C.F.R., Part 61, Subpart B, §61.7** requires the Social Security Number as part of the mandatory reporting we must do to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB), of any final adverse licensing action against a licensed health care practitioner.

HAWAII REVISED STATUTES ("HRS"):

§576D-13(j), HRS requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and

§436B-10(4), HRS which states that an applicant for license shall provide the applicant's Social Security Number if the licensing authority is authorized by federal law to require the disclosure (and by the federal cites shown above, we are authorized to require the Social Security Number).

EDUCATION

You must be a graduate of a veterinary college accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA). However, you will be allowed to take the NAVLE if you are expected to graduate within 6 months from an AVMA accredited veterinary college, upon submittal of written verification from an official of the college.

(NOTE: You must graduate before being able to take the Board licensing exam.)

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2)

EDUCATION - FOREIGN

Graduates of foreign veterinary colleges must have their foreign education evaluated by either the AVMA or the AAVSB if they wish to have their college degree(s) considered and accepted by the Board. The contact information for these evaluations are:

AVMA Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG)

American Veterinary Medical Association Phone: (800) 248-2862 or (847) 925-8070

ATTN: ECFVG FAX: (847) 925-9329 1931 N. Meacham Rd., Ste. 100 E-mail: ECFVG@avma.org

Schaumburg, IL 60173-4360 Website: www.avma.org/education/ecfvg

AAVSB Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence (PAVE)

American Association of Veterinary State Boards
ATTN: PAVE Program
ARX: (816) 931-1604
FAX: (816) 931-1604

NBE -NAVLE

The NAVLE is a computer-based examination administered by the International Council for Veterinary Assessment ("ICVA"). The NAVLE is administered only on Oahu and is scheduled twice a year with testing windows in April and November-December.

Deadline and examination dates are available at our website.

Contact the ICVA to register for the examination at:

International Council for Veterinary Assessment
Phone: (701) 224-0332
P.O. Box 1356
Bismark, ND 58502
FAX: (701) 224-0435
E-mail: mail@icva.net
Website: www.icva.net

Candidate information can be downloaded from the ICVA website at: www.icva.net/navle.

TRANSFERRING NAVLE OR NBE + CCT SCORES

If you have passed the NAVLE or the NBE + CCT, please have your scores sent **directly** to the Board. To request your scores, contact the American Association of Veterinary State Boards' (AAVSB) Veterinary Information Verifying Agency (VIVA) at:

American Association of Veterinary State Boards
ATTN: VIVA
FAX: (816) 931-1604
Fax: (8

APPLYING VIA NBE WITHOUT CCT

Prior to the NAVLE, if you have taken the National Board examination **AND** if the Clinical Competency Test (CCT) was **NOT** required at the time you were licensed out-of-state, the Board requires:

- 1. Your NBE scores sent directly to the Board (see "Transferring NAVLE or NBE + CCT Scores" above)
- 2. A statement or your resume with your experience in the practice of veterinary medicine; AND
- 3. Notarized statements from at least two veterinary colleagues attesting to your veterinary experience for ten out of twelve immediately preceding years.

LICENSE VERIFICATION

On the application list **ALL** licenses you hold or held. Contact each jurisdiction that you hold or held a license and request that they send a Verification of License **directly** to the Board. The applicant is responsible for any fees incurred. You may utilize the "Verification of License" form (VET-04).

STATE OF HAWAII LICENSING EXAMINATION

NOTE: You must **GRADUATE** before being able to take the Board licensing exam.

The State examination is administered by PSI Services LLC. Once you are approved you will receive notification to book your examination with PSI Exams along with the required candidate ID. If you do not pass the examination, you must wait 3 months before retesting. The filing deadline is 60 days prior to the examination date you are requesting.

The examination fee is \$30 and is payable via credit card to PSI at the time you book your examination.

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 3)

STATE OF HAWAII LICENSING EXAMINATION (cont'd)

PSI provides a candidate bulletin with a list of study reference materials on its website at: <u>Test Details | PSI Online</u> (psexams.com)

Please refer to the PSI candidate bulletin regarding postponing, withdrawing, or rebooking an examination

All PSI examination centers are equipped to provide access in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990. To request special accommodations to take the examination, please use the Test Accommodations Request form which can be accessed through the "Clicking Here" link on the online candidate bulletin under the heading "EXAM ACCOMODATIONS (ADA)".

TEMPORARY PERMITS

A temporary permit allows you to work for a maximum of 24 months under the supervision of a veterinarian licensed to practice in Hawaii until the results of the State of Hawaii Board of Veterinary Medicine licensing examination are known. You must have filed all required documents, paid all applicable fees, and provide to the Board a letter of employment signed by your supervising Hawaii-licensed veterinarian. Your employment letter must indicate your start date. Please refer to Hawaii Administrative Rules § §16-101-29.1 and 16-101-30 for more details on these conditions. Only one (1) permit shall be issued and is not renewable.

LICENSE FEES

After all requirements are met, license fees will be due. You will be sent notification of amounts of these fees at the appropriate time.

- \$360 If your license is issued between July 1 of even-numbered years and June 30 of odd-numbered years. (License Fee \$130 + CRF \$100 + 1/2 Renewal \$130)
- \$180 If your license is issued between July 1 of odd-numbered years and June 30 of even-numbered years. (License Fee \$130 + CRF \$50)

Make your check payable to: COMMERCE & CONSUMER AFFAIRS (check must be in U.S. dollars and be from a U.S. financial institution.)

The Compliance Resolution Fund (CRF) was established by the 1982 Legislature (Section 26-9(m), Hawaii Revised Statutes) to expedite resolution of consumer complaints filed with DCCA.

Once you are licensed as a Veterinarian in Hawaii, <u>ALL FEES PAID</u> are non-refundable.

NOTE: One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to be issued is the payment of fees as set forth in this application. You may be sent a license certificate before the payment you sent us for your required fees is honored by your bank. If your payment is dishonored, you will have failed to pay the required licensing fee and your license will not be valid, and you **may not** do business under that license. Also, a \$25.00 service charge shall be assessed for payments that are dishonored for any reason.

BOARD'S OFFICE

Submit your application and all supporting documentation to:

Mailing Address

Board of Veterinary Medicine DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch P.O. Box 3469 Honolulu, HI 96801

Office Location

335 Merchant Street, Room 301 Honolulu, HI 96813

Phone: (808) 586-3000

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 4)

OR

LICENSE DENIAL

If for any reason you are denied the license you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as provided by the Hawaii Administrative Rules, Title 16, Chapter 201, and/or Hawaii Revised Statutes, Chapter 91. Your written request for a hearing should be directed to the Board of Veterinary Medicine and must be received by the Board within 60 days of the date that your application for licensure was denied.

ABANDONMENT OF APPLICATION

Pursuant to HRS \$436B-9, your application shall be considered abandoned and will be destroyed, if you fail to complete the license process within one year after filing an application or fail to take and pass the examination after becoming eligible to take the examination.

If an application is deemed abandoned, the applicant shall be required to reapply for licensure and comply with the licensing requirements at the time of the reapplication.

LAWS & RULES

By signing your application form (VET-01), you are certifying that you have read and will abide by the provisions of Hawaii Revised Statutes Chapter 471 (the Board's laws), Hawaii Administrative Rules Title 16, Chapter 101 (the Board's rules) and Hawaii Revised Statutes Chapter 436B (the Professional and Vocational Licensing Act).

To obtain a copy of any of these publications, please send a written request to the Board's Address, or you may download the publications from the Board's website at: **cca.hawaii.gov/pvl**. Click on "Veterinary", then on "Statute/Rule Chapter".

BIENNIAL RENEWAL

All veterinary medicine licenses (**regardless of issuance date**) expire on <u>June 30 of each EVEN-NUMBERED</u> year and must be renewed on or before the license expiration date. Renewals that are received after the license expiration date are subject to late renewal fees.

A forfeited (non-renewed) veterinary medicine license can be restored up to 3 years from the date of forfeiture, upon the filing of a restoration application and payment of all required fees.

After three (3) years from the date of license forfeiture, a forfeited license may be restored upon the filing of a restoration application, payment of all required fees, <u>and</u> verification provided to the Board that the former licensee is qualified to practice veterinary medicine.

CHANGE OF ADDRESS

You must immediately report any changes of address to the Licensing Branch in writing so that your records can be updated.

RELEASE OF INFORMATION

If an agency or individual is assisting you with the licensure process, we will not be able to release any information to them unless you provide us with authorization. If you wish to do so, please complete the portion on "**Release of Information to Third Party**", sign, and date it.

APPLICATION FOR EXAM/LICENSE - VETERINARIAN				License No.	Effective Date	Effective Date	
Acc	ess this form via website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl		VE -	Effective Dete	Effective Date		
Legal Name (First, Middle) (L		(LAST)		Temp Permit No.	Effective Date	2	
Otł	ner Names Used (include maiden name):	Date of Birth					
Res	sidence Address (include apt. no., city, state & zip code) Social Security No.:	ONLY				
	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,		USE				
		Phone No. (days):	빌				
		. Hone Hot (days),	OFFICE				
Ma	iling Address (ONLY if different from above)		FOR				
Em	ail Address:						
NO	TE: Your application must be complete and app	proved by the applicable deadline da	tes s	See exam dates & deadlines	at·		
	ı.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/veterinary.	oroved by the applicable acadime da		ce exam dates & deddimes	at.		
<u>An</u>	swer all the following questions by checking yo	ur answers. PROVIDE details and exp	olana	tions when needed or requi	red.		
1. Are you at least 18 years of age?							
2. Are you a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the United States?						NO	
3.	B. Did you graduate (or expect to graduate within 6 months) from an AVMA-accredited veterinary college?						
	Date of Graduation:						
4.	Have you passed the National Board examinat	ion?			. YES	NO	
	If "YES", when did you request scores to be sent directly to the Board?						
	Which National Board examination did you pass? NAVLE						
	• If you have passed the NBE w/o CCT, refer to instructions on "Applying via NBE without CCT".						
5.	Do you hold, or ever held an out-of-state veter	rinarian license?		• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •	. YES	NO	
	If "YES", complete table on page 2.						
6.	Has any license ever been revoked, suspended	d, or otherwise subjected to disciplina	ry ac	tion?	. YES	NO	
	If "YES", you <u>MUST</u> provide an explanation and have the licensing authority of the state of your licensure submit pertinent documents.						
7.	Are you presently being investigated or are th	ere any disciplinary actions pending a	again	st your license?	YES	NO	
	If "YES", you <u>MUST</u> provide an explanation licensure submit pertinent documents.	and have the licensing authority of	the	state of your			
8.	Have you ever been convicted of a crime in an	y jurisdiction that has not been annu	lled c	or expunged?	. YES	NO	
	If "YES", you <u>MUST</u> provide an explanation and provide certified court documentation on the date, place, and nature of each conviction, and the status of fulfillment of conditions of each sentence.						
9.	9. Are you requesting a temporary permit, valid until the results of the State examination are known?						
	If "YES", provide a letter of employment sig	ned by your supervising Hawaii-lic	ense	d veterinarian.			
		(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2)					
	Appl	654 \$100		License 656	\$1	30	
VET	-01 0424R			CRF	\$5 \$1	0/\$100 30	

	te licenses (<i>Attach</i> ch you hold or ha		•	se ensure that all license verifications	are submitted from
State	Date Issued	Expiration Date	License No.	Method of Licensure	Date "Verification of License" was requested
				National Board Exam	
				State Licensing Exam	
				☐ Endorsement	
				☐ National Board Exam	
				State Licensing Exam	
				☐ Endorsement	
				☐ National Board Exam	
				State Licensing Exam	
				☐ Endorsement	
				☐ National Board Exam	
				State Licensing Exam	
				☐ Endorsement	
				☐ National Board Exam	
				State Licensing Exam	
				☐ Endorsement	
correct. I understa Section 710-1017, S	certify that the state and that any misrepi Sections 436B-19, an	resentation is gro nd 471-10, Hawaii	ounds for refusal to g Revised Statutes). I fu	made in this application and the documen rant or subsequent revocation of license ar rther certify that I have read and will abide e Rules, and Chapter 436B, Hawaii Revised	nd is a misdemeanor by the provisions of
	Signa	ature of Applican	t		Date
Release of Inform	ation to Third Part	t y :			
	licensing process, I ication status) to th			ase any and all information regarding my a	pplication (including, but
Print Name of Indiv	vidual who is assisti	ing you:			
Name of Organizat	tion:				
	Signa	ature of Applican	t		Date

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.

VERIFICATION OF LICENSE - VETERINARIAN

State of Hawaii Board of Veterinary Medicine P.O. Box 3469 Honolulu, HI 96801

Access this form via website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl

	Legal Name (First, Middle)	(LAST)		Social Security No.			
	Address (include apt. no., city, state and zip code)			License No.			
ħ				VE -			
APPLICANT				Date Issued			
	I hereby authorize the licensing agency of the state of the State of Hawaii Board of Veterinary Medicine.	of		to furnish the information below to			
	·	RE:					
	This is to certify that the above-named individual was issued li	icense number		to practice veterinary medicine on			
	the basis of:	Date issued:					
	(NAVLE or NBE/CCT)	Date License ex					
	☐ Endorsement	License status:	current				
	State-constructed exam		lapsed sir	nce:			
	Reciprocity		inactive s	ince:			
	Has this license ever been encumbered in any way (revoked, suspended, surrendered, limited, placed on probation, currently pending disciplinary action, being investigated?						
				(Please explain "YES" response and attach copy of Board's order and related information.)			
ENSING AGENCY	COMMENTS:						
SING A							
LICEN							
	Signature:						
	Title:						
	State:			BOARD SEAL			
	Date:						
	TO THE BOARD: Return this form directly to the Hawaii Board of	Veterinary Medicine	at the address	shown at the top of the page.			

(This form may be duplicated)

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.