2024 Engineer, Architect, Surveyor, & Landscape Architect Licenses Renewal Requirements and FAQs

Renew your license online at https://mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov

(If you have not already done so, you can create a MyPVL account)

Continuing Education Requirement (Architects):

Unless you qualify for one of the exemptions or have received prior approval for an extension by the Hawaii EASLA Board, **ALL** Hawaii <u>Architect</u> licensees must complete their required continuing education requirements.

Note for all EASLA Licensees:

If you do not renew your engineer, architect, surveyor, or landscape architect license by **April 30, 2024**, you may NOT practice in this State.

If you do not renew your EASLA license by April 30, 2024, you have two (2) years (until April 30, 2026) to <u>restore</u> your license.

Please note that while the board sends a courtesy reminder, pursuant to HRS §464-9(c), it is each licensee's responsibility to ensure timely renewal, completion of CE requirements as applicable, and the satisfaction of any other renewal requirements provided by law.

General Renewal FAQs

1. When is the deadline to renew my license?

All engineer, architect, surveyor, and landscape architect licensees must renew their licenses by **April 30, 2024,** regardless of the date that the license was issued.

2. Can I renew online?

You may renew online at <u>https://mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov/</u> unless you are an architect licensee requesting a waiver from the CE renewal requirements.

3. How do I request a hardcopy renewal form?

Hardcopy renewal form may be requested 8 weeks before license expiration date by:

- a) <u>Phone</u>: Professional and Vocational Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000
- b) <u>Email</u>: <u>EASLA@dcca.hawaii.gov</u> include your name, license number, last 4 digits of your SSN, and complete mailing address
- c) <u>In-person</u>: King Kalakaua Building 335 Merchant Street, Rm. 301 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Hours of Operation: The DCCA will be open 7:45 AM – 4:30 PM (Hawaii Standard Time), Monday to Friday, except state holidays.

4. How early can I submit my renewal application?

Renewals will be accepted from March 4, 2024 to April 30, 2024. We encourage licensees to submit their renewals as early as possible during the renewal period to avoid delays.

 I was recently issued a license; do I still need to renew and pay fees? All licenses, regardless of issuance date, are subject to renewal by April 30 of every even-numbered year.

6. Will I receive a reminder from the board to renew?

The board will send a courtesy renewal reminder postcard mailed out on March 1, 2024 to the latest mailing address we have on file. It shall be the licensee's responsibility to provide written notice of any change of address within 30 days of the change. (HRS §436B-17).

<u>Please note that the reminder postcard is a courtesy. Pursuant to HRS</u> <u>§464-9(c) it is each licensee's responsibility to ensure timely renewal,</u> <u>completion of CE requirements, and the satisfaction of any other renewal</u> <u>requirements provided by law.</u>

Please be advised that it is almost impossible for DCCA to verify whether or not a licensee has received the postcard reminder. It is not the board's responsibility to track postcard deliveries once they have been mailed out.

7. Do I have to submit CEs to renew?

At the time of renewal, each <u>ARCHITECT</u> licensee shall certify on the renewal application that the licensee has satisfied all CE requirements pursuant to HRS §464-9(d) and HAR §16-115-60, §16-115-60.5, and §16-115-61.

Please see the CE Requirement section below.

Please do NOT send the board your CE records unless you are requested to do so. The board performs a random audit <u>after</u> the renewal period is closed and all on-time renewals have been processed. Those randomly audited will be contacted with instructions by mail.

Engineer, Surveyor, and Landscape Architect licensees do <u>not</u> have a CE requirement.

8. What are the renewal fees? <u>On-Time Cost to Renew:</u>

- Architect (AR) \$204
- Landscape Architect (LA) \$204
- Land Surveyor (LS) \$204
- Professional Engineer (PE) \$204

9. How long does it take for my renewal to process?

Processing times are average and subject to licensee meeting all requirements. Processing times may be longer due to the high volume of renewals received.

Online: 3-5 business days; hardcopy 14-21 business days

10. How will I know whether or not my renewal was successful? Please check the licensee look-up to monitor whether your renewal was processed. Your license status will reflect that it is, "CURRENT, VALID & IN GOOD STANDING" and the expiration date will be updated to: 4/30/2026.

Please note that you must retrieve and print your pocket ID online via your MyPVL account at: <u>https://mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov</u>. **NO OTHER NOTICE WILL BE PROVIDED.**

11. What if I missed the renewal deadline of April 30, 2024?

Your license will be considered "forfeited." Forfeited licenses can be restored within two years after the date of expiration upon compliance with the licensing renewal requirements provided by law and upon written application and payment of all applicable renewal fees, penalty fees, and compliance resolution fund fees (HRS §464-9(c)).

12. Is there an option to place my license on "inactive" status?

There is <u>no</u> option to place an engineer, architect, surveyor, or landscape architect license on "inactive" status.

If you do not renew your EASLA license by the renewal deadline of April 30, 2024, your license will be considered "forfeit" and you will not be able to practice in Hawaii. If, after forfeiture, you would like your license back, you may either RESTORE your license if it is within the 2-year restoration period (until April 30, 2026) or else you will have to re-apply as a new applicant. If re-applying as a new applicant, if your application is approved, you will be assigned your original license number.

Continuing Education Requirements for Architect Renewal

1. What are the Architect CE requirements I must meet to renew?

Your CEs must have been completed between May 1, 2022 to April 30, 2024.

Please reference detailed information regarding CE requirements in Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS) §464-9(c) and Hawaii Administrative Rules (HAR) §16-115-60, §16-115-60.5, and §16-115-61.

To receive CE credits, courses shall be in public protection subjects related to the health, safety, and welfare ("HSW") of the public, pursuant to HAR §16-115-60.5.

Architect CE Requirements HRS §464-9(d)(1)-(3)		
Licensed anytime <u>before</u> April 30, 2022	Licensed anytime from May 1, 2022 – April 30, 2023	Licensed anytime from May 1, 2023 – April 30, 2024
16 total	8 total	0 total

2. Does the board accept virtual CEs?

Pursuant to HAR §16-115-60.5(a)(2), virtual CEs are accepted, provided they meet the other requirements of HAR §16-115-60.5.

3. What happens if I am audited for CEs?

Pursuant to HRS §464-9(d)(4) and HAR §16-115-61, at the time of renewal, each architect licensee shall certify on the renewal application that the licensee has satisfied all of the CE requirements.

In order to determine whether the CE requirements have been met, the Board will conduct a random audit of architect licensees after all on-time renewal applications have been processed. All selected licensees will be notified by mail and will be required to submit copies of the original documents or evidence of attendance to be attached to the summary form provided by the Board.

4. Which CE courses are approved by the Board?

The Board shall not pre-approve individual courses or programs. Pursuant to HAR §16-115-60.5(b), HSW hours in courses approved or offered by organizations such as the American Institute of Architects (AIA), Constructions Specifications Institute (CSI), National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB), University of Hawaii School of Architecture (UHSoA) or similar organizations devoted to architectural education, design, or construction technology education, as approved by the Board, may be acceptable.

5. Waiver or modification of requirements:

Pursuant to HRS §464-9(d)(6) and HAR §16-115, the Board may waive or modify the CE requirements based on the following:

- Member of the armed forces, National Guard, or a reserve component on full-time active duty and deployed for a period of time exceeding 120 consecutive days during the renewal period, where such activity restricts participation in a CE program;
- 2. Documented medical disability, illness, or other clearly extenuating circumstances to the satisfaction of the Board;
- 3. Retired from practice but wishes to maintain a license, provided that the licensee has not performed any architectural services and have not sealed or signed any documents in the preceding two-year period.

If you are requesting a waiver, you must submit a **hard-copy** renewal form with a **written waiver request** pending approval by the Board. You <u>cannot</u> renew online.

FORFEITURE OF LICENSE

Pursuant to HRS §464-9(c) and HAR §116-15-60(c), the failure to timely renew a license, the failure to pay all applicable fees, the failure to complete the CE

requirements, the dishonoring of any check upon first deposit, or the failure to comply with any other requirement provided by law, shall cause the license to be automatically forfeited.

The Board recommends all practitioners familiarize themselves with licensing laws and rules at their website: <u>https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/engineer/</u>

REFERENCES

- HRS § 464-9 (renewal requirements for all EASLA licenses)
- > HRS § 464-9(d) (continuing education requirements for architects)
- ► HAR § 16-115-60 (continuing education requirements for architects)
- ► HAR § 16-115-60.5 (requirements for approval by the board)
- ➤ HAR § 16-115-61 (certification of compliance and audit)