




INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING & REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE - SPEECH PATHOLOGIST or AUDIOLOGIST
Access this form via website at:  cca.hawaii.gov/pvl 
Applicants are subject to requirements in effect at the time of filing.

INSTRUCTIONS TO ALL APPLICANTS

APPLICATION Complete the on-line fillable form, type, or print legibly in dark ink.  Answer ALL questions and sign the application.

• Failure to provide all the requested information will delay the processing of your application.

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2)
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SOCIAL SECURITY 
NUMBER

Your Social Security Number is used to verify your identity for licensing purposes and for compliance with the below 
laws.  For a license to be issued you must provide your Social Security Number or your application will be 
deemed deficient and will not be processed further. 

The following laws require that you furnish your Social Security Number to our agency: 
FEDERAL LAWS: 
42 U.S.C.A.  §666(a)(13) requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or 
occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and  
If you are a licensed health care practitioner, 45 C.F.R., Part 61, Subpart B, §61.7 requires the Social Security 
Number as part of the mandatory reporting we must do to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank 
(HIPDB), of any final adverse licensing action against a licensed health care practitioner.   
HAWAII REVISED STATUTES ("HRS"): 
§576D-13(j), HRS requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational 
license be recorded on the application for license; and 
§436B-10(4), HRS which states that an applicant for license shall provide the applicant's Social Security Number if 
the licensing authority is authorized by federal law to require the disclosure (and by the federal cites shown above, 
we are authorized to require the Social Security Number).

FEES ATTACH appropriate amount made payable to:  COMMERCE & CONSUMER AFFAIRS. (check must be in U.S. dollars 
and be from a U.S. financial institution.)     

If license will be issued in an EVEN-NUMBERED year, pay . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $264 
(Application - $50**, License - $76, Compliance Resolution Fund - $100, 1/2 Renewal - $38)

If license will be issued in an ODD-NUMBERED year, pay . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $176* 
(Application - $50**, License - $76, Compliance Resolution Fund - $50)

Subject to renewal December 31, odd-numbered year. 
Application fee is not refundable.

* 
**

NOTE:  One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to be issued is the 
payment of fees as set forth in this application.  You may be sent a license certificate before the payment you sent us for 
your required fees is honored by your bank.  If your payment is dishonored, you will have failed to pay the required licensing 
fee and your license will not be valid, and you may not do business under that license.  Also, a $25.00 service charge shall 
be assessed for payments that are dishonored for any reason. 

If for any reason you are denied the license you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as provided by Title 16, 
Chapter 201, Hawaii Administrative Rules, and/or Chapter 91, Hawaii Revised Statutes.  Your written request for a hearing 
must be directed to the agency that denied your application, and must be made within 60 days of notification that your 
application for a license has been denied.

BOARD'S 
ADDRESS

Mail all required items to:

Board of Speech Pathology & Audiology 
DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch 
P.O. Box 3469 
Honolulu, HI  96801

OR

Deliver to office location at:

335 Merchant St., Room 301 
Honolulu, HI  96813 

Phone:  (808) 586-3000



LAWS & RULES 
PUBLICATION

The Speech Pathology and Audiology laws, Chapter 468E, HRS, and rules, Chapter 16-100, HAR, are posted on our 
website at:  cca.hawaii.gov/pvl.  Click on "Speech Pathology and Audiology".  Chapter 436B, Hawaii Revised 
Statutes, the Professional and Vocational Licensing Act is also available.

METHODS OF LICENSURE

CERT. OF CLINICAL 
COMPETENCE (CCC) 
AWARDED BY THE 
AMERICAN SPEECH-
LANGUAGE-
HEARING 
ASSOCIATION (ASHA)

Contact ASHA at 1-800-638-8255 and have an official "Verification of Certification" letter sent directly to the Board 
indicating that you currently hold the ASHA CCC in speech pathology or audiology.  The letter must be dated within 
six (6) months of the date of your application and must contain your ASHA account number and the date the 
certificate was issued.  You may also visit their website at:  www.asha.org. 
  
See attached SAMPLE for acceptable evidence of current certification.

DOCTOR OF 
AUDIOLOGY

Arrange for the school to send directly to the Board, official transcripts (with school seal & authorized signature) 
verifying the date the doctor of audiology (AuD) degree was conferred. 
  
Arrange for the Educational Testing Service (ETS) to send directly to the Board, official verification of passing the 
Audiology Praxis Exam.

AMERICAN BOARD 
OF AUDIOLOGY 
(ABA) BOARD 
CERTIFICATION IN 
AUDIOLOGY

Contact ABA at 1-800-881-5410 or aba@audiology.org and have an official "Credential Verification" letter sent 
directly to the Board indicating that you are Board Certified in Audiology.  The letter must be dated within six (6) 
months of the date of your application and must contain your certificate number and the date the ABA board 
certification was issued.  You may also visit their website at:  www.boardofaudiology.org. 
  
Arrange for the ETS to send directly to the Board, official verification of passing the Audiology Praxis Exam.

LICENSURE BY 
EXAMINATION

Before submitting an application for license by examination, it is highly recommended that you review the laws and 
rules regarding speech pathology and audiology.  Section 16-100-20, HAR sets forth the Board's requirements.  (See 
previous section entitled "Laws & Rules Publication" on how to obtain copies.) 
  
DOCUMENTS REQUIRED (Only for Licensure by Examination): 
(DISREGARD if you have submitted an ASHA CCC, ABA Board Certification or AuD)

Arrange for the school to send directly to the Board, official transcripts (with school seal and authorized 
signature) verifying the date the master's degree was conferred.*

1.

2. Complete the Clinical Observation and Clinical Practicum Verification Form.  A minimum of 375 hours of 
supervised clinical observation and clinical practicum with individuals who present a variety of communication 
disorders, which experience shall have been obtained within the training institution or a cooperating program.

Complete the Clinical Fellowship Verification Form.  A clinical fellowship shall have begun after the academic 
coursework and clinical practicum were completed and consisted of at least 36 weeks of full-time professional 
experience or its part-time equivalent under the supervision of an individual possessing the ASHA CCC in the 
area of practice for which licensure is being sought; or board certification in audiology from the ABA.

3.

Three (3) letters of recommendation from supervisors or colleagues on your work experience or university 
training in speech pathology or audiology.

4.

5. Evidence that you have successfully passed the written examination.**  Arrange with the testing service to have 
the original examination results verifying your passing score sent directly to the Board.

* The Board will recognize a degree equivalent to a master's degree as provided in Section 16-100-20(d), HAR.  In 
addition to all other required documents:

COMPLETE the Verification of Course Work form; 
ARRANGE for the school to send directly to the Board official transcripts, including the school's seal, 
verifying the date the bachelor's degree was conferred; and  
ARRANGE for the school to send directly to the Board official transcripts, including the school's seal, 
verifying completion of specific coursework as provided in Section 16-100-20(d), HAR.
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ETS - The Praxis Series 
P.O. Box 6051 
Princeton, NJ  08541-6051 
 Phone:  1-609-771-7395 or 1-800-772-9476 

www.ets.org/praxis/asha/requirements

REGISTER 
TEMPORARY SERVICE 
WITH THE BOARD

Apply directly to Educational Testing Service (ETS) to take the Praxis II Specialty Area Test in Speech Pathology or 
Audiology at: 

**LICENSURE BY 
EXAMINATION 
(Cont'd)

MAINTAINING A 
LICENSE

ABANDONMENT OF 
APPLICATION

RELEASE OF 
INFORMATION

If you are not a resident of Hawaii and are not a licensed speech pathologist or audiologist in Hawaii and are 
performing these services temporarily in Hawaii and in cooperation with a speech pathologist or audiologist licensed 
in Hawaii, you must register with the Board. 

Submit a letter signed by you and the licensee stating the period covered and pay a non-refundable $30 fee. 

5 working days maximum allowable in any calendar year if you meet requirements for license as provided in Section 
468E-5, Hawaii Revised Statutes (possess a master's degree or its equivalent in speech pathology or audiology and 
meet the requirements for ASHA's CCC in speech pathology or audiology; and passed the Praxis examination. 

30 working days maximum allowable in any calendar year if you are licensed in another state with requirements at 
least equal to Section 468E-5, Hawaii Revised Statutes, or hold ASHA's CCC in speech pathology or audiology.

All licenses, regardless of issuance date, expire on December 31 of odd-numbered years.  Licenses are subject to 
renewal on or before license expiration date.  About four to six weeks before license expiration date, a courtesy 
renewal notice/application is mailed to each current licensee at the last known address of record.  Therefore, you 
must inform the Board of changes in your address in writing.

Pursuant to HRS §436B-9, your application shall be considered abandoned and will be destroyed, if you fail to 
complete the license process within one year after filing an application or fail to take and pass the examination after 
becoming eligible to take the examination.  

If an application is deemed abandoned, the applicant shall be required to reapply for licensure and comply with the 
licensing requirements at the time of the reapplication.

If an agency or individual is assisting you with the licensure process, we will not be able to release any information to 
them unless you provide us with authorization.  If you wish to do so, please complete the portion on Release of 
Information to Third Party, sign and date it.

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit 
your request. 
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APPLICATION FOR LICENSE - SPEECH PATHOLOGIST or AUDIOLOGIST
Access this form via website at:  cca.hawaii.gov/pvl 

READ INSTRUCTIONS BEFORE COMPLETING THIS FORM. Approved

Denied

Initials/Date:

FO
R 

 O
FF

IC
E 

 U
SE

Name (First-Middle) (Last)

Residence Address (include Apt. No., City, State & Zip Code)

Mailing Address (ONLY if different from residence)

Social Security No.

Phone No. (days)

Date of Birth

Other Names Used

Check your answers:

Are you at least 18 years of age?  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1. YES NO

2. Are you a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the U.S.?  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . YES NO

3. Were you previously licensed in Hawaii?  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . YES NO

If "yes", date: License No.:

4.

Have you ever been convicted of a crime in any jurisdiction that has not been annulled or expunged? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

YES NO

(EXPLAIN A "YES" RESPONSE ON A SEPARATE SHEET AND SUBMIT PERTINENT DOCUMENTS.)

5.

Has any license/certification/registration ever been suspended, revoked or otherwise subject to disciplinary action? . .

YES NO

(EXPLAIN A "YES" RESPONSE ON A SEPARATE SHEET AND SUBMIT PERTINENT DOCUMENTS.)

6.

Are there any disciplinary actions pending against you? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

YES NO

(EXPLAIN A "YES" RESPONSE ON A SEPARATE SHEET AND SUBMIT PERTINENT DOCUMENTS.)

M
ET

H
O

D
 O

F 
LI

CE
N

SU
RE

Check the method of licensure you are seeking (see attached instructions for explanation of each category):

ASHA CERTIFICATE OF CLINICAL COMPETENCE

EXAMINATION

DOCTOR OF AUDIOLOGY DEGREE (AuD)

ABA BOARD CERTIFICATION IN AUDIOLOGY

• Provide date you requested letter to be sent to the Board:

ED
U

CA
TI

O
N

Name & Location (city/state) 
of College/University Course of Study

Dates (mo/yr)
From To Degree Earned

SP-01  0324R

1/2 Ren  . . . . . . . . . . . . 600 . . . . . $38 
Temp Reg . . . . . . . . . . 606 . . . . . $30 
Service Charge . . . . . BCF . . . . . $25

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2)

Appl . . . . . 603 . . . . . .  $50 
Lic . . . . . . . 604 . . . . . . $76 
CRF . . . . . . 607 . . . . . . $50/$100

Check Type of License applying for (one only): 
If applying for both licenses, submit 2 separate 
applications with required documents and fees.

SPEECH PATHOLOGIST

AUDIOLOGIST

Lic. No.: Eff. Date:

 (Check box only if applying for:) 
Temporary Military Spouse License

Email Address



Print Name of Applicant: Date:

Affidavit of Applicant: 
  
 I hereby certify that the answers and statements on this application and documents attached are true and correct.  I understand that 
any misrepresentation is grounds for refusal or subsequent revocation of license and is a misdemeanor, Section 710-1017, 436B-19 and 
468E-13, Hawaii Revised Statutes.

Signature of Applicant Date

Release of Information to Third Party: 
  
 To assist me in the licensing process, I hereby authorize DCCA's staff to release any and all information regarding my application 
(including, but not limited to application status) to the following third party:

Print name of Individual who is assisting you:

Name of Organization:

Signature of Applicant Date
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This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit 
your request.
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