
6/15/2023 

 

Notice Regarding the Controlled Substance Education Requirement 

for DEA Registration 

 
The Board of Dentistry (“Board”) is aware of the new controlled substance education 

requirement for the U.S. Department of Justice Drug Enforcement Administration (“DEA”) 

registration that will go into effect on June 27, 2023.  

 

Sec. 1263 of the spending bill Congress passed in December 2022 requires controlled 

substance prescribers to complete 8 hours of one-time training on safe controlled substance 

prescribing as a condition of receiving or renewing a DEA registration. 

 

It is the responsibility of each licensee to familiarize themselves with the new DEA 

training requirement. DEA registration is not a process that is overseen by the Board. 

 

Please note that the 8-hours of DEA training may count towards the Board’s 2023 renewal CE 

requirements only if: 

 

1) The course falls under the eligible CE categories listed in Hawaii Administrative Rules 

(HAR) 16-79-141; and 

2) The course is offered by an approved sponsoring organization listed under HAR 16-79-

142; and 

3) The training is a continuing education course; and 

4) The course was completed within the biennium renewal period (i.e. CEs submitted for 

2023 renewal period must have been completed between 1/1/2022 – 12/31/23) 

 

Please see “2023 Dentist & Dental Hygienist Licenses Renewal Requirements and FAQs” for 

general information about the Board’s CE requirements for the 2023 renewal period: 

https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/news-releases/dental_announcements/.  

 

 

Additional Resources: 

 

Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS) 447 & 448: 

https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/dentist/statute_rules/  

 

Hawaii Administrative Rules (HAR) 16-79: 

https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/dentist/statute_rules/  

 

American Dental Association (ADA) FAQs: https://www.ada.org/resources/practice/legal-and-

regulatory/dea-registration  

 

For official answers from the DEA, please email your questions to the Diversion Control Division 

Policy Section at ODLP@dea.gov, call 571-362-3260, or visit deadiversion.usdoj.gov. 
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