INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING - BEAUTY INSTRUCTOR (BY EXAM)

Access this form via website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl

NIC EXAMAll applicants are required to obtain a passing score on the National-Interstate Council of State Boards ofREQUIREDCosmetology ("NIC") examination. If you have already taken the NIC examination in another jurisdiction,
please refer to the "Beauty Instructor License (Exam Waiver)" application.

STEP 1 – SATISFY THE QUALIFICATION REQUIREMENTS AND SELECT ONE PATHWAY

SOCIAL SECURITYIf you are applying as an individual/sole proprietor, your Social Security Number is used to verify yourNUMBERidentity for licensing purposes and for compliance with the below laws. For a licensed to be issued, youmust provide your Social Security Number, or your application will be deemed deficient and will not be
processed further. The following laws require that you furnish your Social Security Number to our agency:

FEDERAL LAWS:

42 U.S.C.A. §666(a)(13) requires that Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and if you are a licensed health care practitioner, **45 C.F.R., Part 61, Subpart B, §61.7** requires the Social Security Number as part of the mandatory reporting we must do to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB), of any final adverse licensing action against a licensed health care practitioner.

HAWAII REVISED STATUTES ("HRS"):

§576D-13(j), **HRS** requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and **§436B-10(4)**, **HRS** which states that an applicant for license shall provide the applicant's Social Security Number if the licensing authority is authorized by federal law to require the disclose (and by the federal cites shown above, we are authorized to require the Social Security Number).

HAWAII BEO You must possess a current and valid Hawaii Beauty Operator (BEO) license.

OPERATORYou must have experience as a licensed Beauty Operator for at least one (1) year in Hawaii <u>OR</u> in another**EXPERIENCE**jurisdiction with standards substantially similar to Hawaii.

- LICENSEYou may qualify for licensure through two pathways. Select the pathway which best applies to your training
and refer to Page 2 to determinate what documentation must be included with your application.
 - (1) I have completed at least 600 hours of Beauty INSTRUCTOR training at a beauty school;
 - (2) I possess an Instructor license in another jurisdiction.

STEP 2 – SUBMIT YOUR APPLICATION WITH APPLICABLE FEES AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS FOR EXAMINATION

APPLICATION Complete the online fillable form or print legibly in black ink and **ATTACH** appropriate documentation.

FORM FAILURE TO PROVIDE ALL REQUIRED INFORMATION WILL DELAY THE PROCESSING OF YOUR APPLICATION.

APPLICATION FEE ATTACH the application fee of \$20.00 made payable to: COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS. Checks must be made in U.S. dollars and be from a U.S. financial institution. If you are requesting a temporary permit (see "Temporary Permit" section on Page 3), include an additional fee of \$40.00.

Make checks payable to: COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS

Checks must be in U.S. dollars and be from a U.S. financial institution.

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2)

LICENSE

APPLICATION FEE (CONT.)	NOTE: One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to be issued is the payment of fees as set forth in this application. You may be sent a license certificate before the payment you sent us for your required fees is honored by your bank. If your payment is dishonored, you will have failed to pay the required licensing fee and your license will not be valid, and you may not do business under that license. Also, a \$25.00 service charge shall be assessed for payments that are dishonored for any reason.
FOREIGN LANGUAGE	All documents must be in English. If documents are not in English, the documents must be translated into English. Submit a copy of the foreign document with (1) the ORIGINAL English translation and (2) an ORIGINAL declaration from the translator that the translation is accurate, and that the translator is fluent in both the foreign language and English. <u>The translator cannot be the applicant</u> . Supporting documents in other names MUST be listed on your application under the "Other Names Used" section.
	Example: "I certify that I am competent in both the English language and the (<i>language of the document</i>) language and that this is a true and complete translation of the foreign language original."
HAWAII BEO LICENSE	On the application, provide your Hawaii Beauty Operator License Number and check the appropriate box(es) indicating the license classifications you currently possess.
OPERATOR EXPERIENCE	<u>ATTACH</u> "Experience Verification Form(s)" totaling at least one year of licensed beauty <u>OPERATOR</u> experience. Refer to "Experience Verification Form" instructions below.
PATHWAY (1): INSTRUCTOR TRAINING	ATTACH a copy of your beauty school transcript that reflects your Instructor training of at least 600 hours.
PATHWAY (2):	ATTACH a copy of your Instructor license or a state board verification.
OUT-OF-STATE LICENSE	If your jurisdiction requires <u>LESS</u> hours than Hawaii, <u>ATTACH</u> "Experience Verification Form(s)" totaling at least one (1) year of licensed beauty <u>INSTRUCTOR</u> experience. Refer to "Experience Verification Form" instructions below.
TEMPORARY PERMIT	The temporary permit is OPTIONAL and allows you to work and train under the supervision of a qualified licensee while waiting to take and pass the licensing examination. If you are requesting a temporary permit, ATTACH the temporary permit application with applicable fees with your Barber application.
	The temporary permit is valid for a period covering four (4) consecutive examination windows (approximately one year) and is issued one time only and cannot be extended or renewed .
EXPERIENCE VERIFICATION FORM	Have a qualified person(s), owner, manager, supervisor, etc. complete the form. You must provide the <u>ORIGINAL</u> and completed hardcopy to us. Your experience must total at least <u>ONE (1) YEAR</u> of licensed Beauty Instructor experience.
	The "Experience Verification" form is attached to this application and can also be found on the Board's website at: <u>http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/barber/application_publications/</u> .
	If you were self-employed , you may provide verification of your business through appropriate documentation (copy of shop/business license, tax records, or state board verification, etc.) in lieu of the "Experience Verification" form.
INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS	Incomplete applications will not be accepted, and a notice of deficiency will be sent. It is your responsibility to file a complete application in sufficient time to be approved to take the examination.
RELEASE OF INFORMATION	If an agency or individual is assisting you with this licensure process, we will not be able to release any information to them unless you provide us with authorization. If you wish to do so, please complete, sign, and date the portion on Release of Information to Third Party .

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 3)

INSTRUCTIONS FOR "YES" ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS (5) THROUGH (7)

If you answered "YES" to questions 5-7, your application may be reviewed at a Barbering and Cosmetology Board meeting. The following documentation must be submitted with your application prior to Board review. The Board will not review incomplete applications.

- Questions 5 and 6 refer to complaints, charges of unlicensed activity, or pending disciplinary actions for any profession, occupation, or license. If your answer is "YES" to one or more of these questions, <u>ATTACH</u>:
 - i. A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances; and
 - ii. Copies of any documents from the agency, including final orders, petitions, complaints, findings of facts and conclusions of law, and any other relevant documents;
- Question 7 refers to criminal convictions. If your answer is "YES" to this question, ATTACH:
 - i. A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances leading to the conviction and detailing all activities since the conviction, including employment and business involvements. Include job title, period of employment, employer's name, description of duties, training attended, and educational courses attended;
 - ii. A copy of the court order, verdict, and terms of sentence;
 - iii. If applicable, a copy of the terms of probation and/or parole and notarized statement from your probation or parole officer as to your compliance with the court orders;
 - iv. Signed statements from employers, business associates/clients, and others who can attest to your business dealings, including a statement as to your reputation for or record of experience, competency, honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair dealings; and
 - A current criminal history record check in your name, which you may obtain from the Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center. Contact the Department of the Attorney General, Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center, Kekuanao'a Building, 456 S. King Street, Rm. 101, Honolulu, HI 96813. Phone: (808) 587-3100 or visit their website at : ecrim.ehawaii.gov to request a "Criminal History Record Check" form.

NOTE: If your criminal conviction occurred in a state or states other than Hawaii, a current criminal history record check will be required from each state **AND** Hawaii. Contact the local authority or board in each state for their forms, instructions and fees on obtaining criminal history record checks.

SEND YOUR APPLICATION	VIA MAIL: Board of Barbering and Cosmetology DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch P.O. Box 3469	OR	DELIVER IN-PERSON: DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch 335 Merchant St., Room 301 Honolulu, HI 96813
	P.O. Box 3469 Honolulu, HI 96801		Phone: (808) 586-3000

BOARD REVIEW All applications are subject to review by the Board; thus, please schedule the submittal of your application to allow for additional time that may be required for review and approval by the Board.

LICENSE DENIAL If for any reason you are denied the license you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as provided by the Hawaii Administrative Rules, Title 16, Chapter 201, and/or Hawaii Revised Statutes, Chapter 91. Your written request for a hearing should be directed to the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology and must be received by the Board within 60 days of the date that your application for licensure was denied.

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 4)

STEP 3 – PASS THE NIC EXAMINATION

ABOUT THE NIC EXAM	The testing agency, Prometric , administers the NIC examination to applicants after the application has been approved; thus, all inquiries regarding the examination should be directed to Prometric at (808) 261-8182 . The examination is provided in the English language (theory only; practical not required) and is offered in different formats depending on the island. Refer to the appropriate instructions below. Additional computer-based testing centers are anticipated to open.			
	<u>Computer-based Format</u> Hawaii & Oahu	<u>Written Format</u> Kauai & Maui		
COMPUTER- BASED FORMAT	If your application is approved by the Board, you will r (<u>registrations@isoqualitytesting.com</u>) with instruction an appointment to take the examination.			
WRITTEN FORMAT	If your application is approved by the Board, a "Letter an "Examination Registration" form, and an information Prometric by submitting the completed "Examination <u>of Approval"</u> , and the required testing fee by their exa	Registration" form, along with a copy of your "Letter		
	After registering with Prometric, you will receive an "Admission Ticket" by mail approximately ten (10) days prior to the examination date. If you have not received the "Admission Ticket" within five (5) days of the examination date, please contact Prometric.			
	Written examinations are scheduled four times a year is your responsibility to meet the filing deadlines and	, usually in March, June, September, and December. It I examination dates.		
TAKING EXAM IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION		n another jurisdiction. Please verify you have access to <u>SIGNED</u> letter to the Board indicating (1) your current the Hawaii NIC examination.		
EXAMINATION RESULTS	Examination results will be mailed two weeks after the notice will receive a "Fees Due" notice with instruction a "Fail" notice will receive instructions on re-examinat	ns to apply for Board licensure. Applicants who receive		
ABANDONMENT OF APPLICATION	The failure to provide evidence of continued efforts in required information and documents requested by the the last date the documents and information were rec requirement within two consecutive years from the da	mplete the licensing process for two consecutive years. Includes but is not limited to: (1) failure to submit any e licensing authority within two consecutive years from quested; or (2) failure to complete an examination ate your application was approved; or (3) failure to nunication during two consecutive years indicating that If an application is deemed to be abandoned, the		

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 5)

STEP 4 – PAY REMAINING LICENSE FEES AND MAINTAIN YOUR LICENSE

 LICENSE FEES
 After obtaining a passing score on the examination, follow the instructions on your "Fees Due" notice to submit required fees.

 RENEWAL
 All licenses, regardless of date issued, expire on DECEMBER 31 of every ODD-NUMBERED year. Licenses must be renewed on or before the expiration date. Approximately two months before the expiration date, a "Renewal Application" is mailed to all licensees at their mailing address of record. If you do not receive a renewal application one month prior to the expiration date, contact the Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000.

 LAWS AND RULES
 To obtain a copy of the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology's laws and rules, submit a written request to the address on Page 2 of these instructions, or you may download them from cca.hawaii.gov/pvl.

 Barber law: Hawaii Revised Statutes chapter 438
 Barber rules: Hawaii Administrative Rules chapter 16-73

- Cosmetology law: Hawaii Revised Statutes chapter 439
- Cosmetology rules: Hawaii Administrative Rules chapter 16-78
- Professional and Vocational Licensing Act: Hawaii Revised Statutes chapter 436B

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.

APPLICATION FOR LICENSE	– BEAUTY INSTRUCTOR (BY EXAM)		Application Fee	600 hours
Read "Requirements & Instructions" before completing this form.				or
Please type or print <u>LEGIBLY</u> in black ink.			1,500 hours	O.S. license
Legal Name (First, Middle)	(Last)		Approved (Initials/date Eff Date:): Lic No.:
				1-
OTHER NAMES USED (Previous sur	names, maiden name, nicknames and aliases)			
		Z		
Email Address (Required for exami	nation)	NO		
		USE		
Residence Address (Include Ant. N	o., City, State, & Zip Code) - REQUIRED	FOR BOARD USE ONLY		
Residence Address (include Apt. N		AO		
		R B		
		5		
Mailing Address (ONLY if different	from residence location)			
Social Security No.	Phone No. (Days)			
,	Res:			
	Bus:	<u> </u>		L . (C
	ISE: Provide your Hawaii Beauty Operator license r			
BEO	Cosmetology Hairdressir		Esthetics	Nail Technology
(1) 600 Hours of Instructor Trai	our training/experience and <u>ATTACH</u> applicable do ning from Beauty School	cumer	ntation to show proof of tra OUT-OF-STATE TRAINI	-
(2) Out-of-State Instructor Licer		St		ngth of Training (Mo/Yr)
	<u>h</u> proof of one (1) year licensed Instructor exp.)			
Tot	al hours completed:		From	: То:
Check your answers. If answer is '	'YES" to Questions 5-7, refer to the instructions fo	or addit	tional documents that mus	st be submitted.
1. Are you at least 16 years of age	?			YES NO
2. Are you a U.S. citizen, a U.S. nat	ional, or an alien authorized to work in the United	States	?	🗌 YES 🗌 NO
3. Do you have at least one (1) yea	ar of experience as a licensed Beauty Operator?			🗌 YES 🗌 NO
If "YES", provide the jurisdic	tion and ATTACH "Experience Verification" form (S	State/C	Country):	
4. Have you ever held a beauty ins	structor license in Hawaii?			YES 🔲 NO
If "YES": Do not complete	e this form. Contact the Licensing Branch for a Res	toratio	on application at (808) 586-	3000.
5. Has any license/certification/re	gistration ever been suspended, revoked or otherv	vise sul	bject to disciplinary action	? 🗌 YES 🗌 NO
6. Are there are any disciplinary a	ctions pending against you?			🗌 YES 🗌 NO
7. Have you ever been convicted of	of a crime in any jurisdiction that has not been ann	ulled o	r expunged?	YES 🗌 NO

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2 – SIGNATURE REQUIRED ON APPLICATION)

Instructor:	Appl 141 \$20	Lic 146 \$22
	Permit 152 \$40	CRF 142\$50/\$100
		1/2 (ren) . 130 \$23
		Svc ChrgBCF \$25

Failure to provide all the requested information will delay the processing of your application.

PLOYMENT HISTORY	Name of Employer	Address of Employer	Dates Employed (mo/yr) From To		0 -		Average Hours Per Week	Position Title
EMPL								

INSTRUCTOR LICENSES	Name of State (submit copy of license)	Method of Licensure	Type of License Held	Date First Licensed
		State Exam Reciprocity		
		State Exam Reciprocity		

Affidavit of Applicant:

I hereby certify that the statements, answers and representations made in this application and in the documents attached are true and correct. I understand that any misrepresentation is grounds for refusal to grant or subsequent revocation of license and is a misdemeanor (Section 710-1017, Section 436B-19, and Section 439-19, Hawaii Revised Statutes). I further certify that I have read and will abide by the provisions of Hawaii Revised Statutes, Chapter 439 and Hawaii Administrative Rules, Chapter 16-78.

Signature of Applicant

Release of Information to Third Party

To assist me in the licensing process, I authorize DCCA's staff to release any and all information regarding my application (including but not limited to, application status) to:

Print Name of Individual who is assisting you: _____

Signature of Applicant

Date

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.

Date

APPLICATION FOR TEMPORARY PERMIT - BEAUTY INSTRUCTOR Read "Requirements & Instructions" before completing this form. Please type or print <u>LEGIBLY</u> in black ink. <u>ATTACH</u> \$40.00 fee to this form.			Permit No.		Eff. Date Exp. Date	
Legal Name (First, Middle)	(Last)		Mailed:		1	
OTHER NAMES USED (previous su	rnames, maiden name, nicknames and aliases)	FOR BOARD USE ONLY	ALL HA	AIR	ESTN	NAIL
Residence Address (Include Apt. No., City, State, & Zip Code) - REQUIRED						
Mailing Address (ONLY if different	from residence location)					
Social Security No.	Phone No. (Days) Res: Bus:					

Check your answers and give details when required:

1.	Are you aware that the temporary permit is a privilege to train and work <u>in Hawaii</u> while awaiting the examination?
2.	Are you a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the United States? YES NO
	If "NO": You will not be issued a Temporary Permit, therefore, do not complete this form .
3.	Are you aware that you are required to apply and qualify for the examination to become eligible for a Temporary Permit?
4.	Are you aware that the temporary permit is valid for three examinations scheduled by the Board (approx. one year), in which time you are required to take and pass the examination?
5.	Are you aware that once the temporary permit expires, the temporary permit may not be EXTENDED OR REISSUED , however, you are still eligible to take the examination, but not work? YES NO
6.	For this reason, are you aware that the Board encourages you, once approved for examination, to register with the testing agency and take the first available and all subsequent examinations?
	If "YES": Please provide the month and year of the examination you intend to register for:

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2 – SIGNATURE REQUIRED ON APPLICATION)

Signature of Applicant	Date
Release of Information to Third Party To assist me in the licensing process, I authorize DCCA's staff to application (including but not limited to, application status) to:	o release any and all information regarding
Print Name of Individual who is assisting you:	
Signature of Applicant	Date
DO NOT DETACH	
TEMPORARY BEAUTY INSTRUCTOR'S PERMIT	Board of Barbering and Cosmetology State of Hawaii P.O. Box 3469 Honolulu, HI 96801
This temporary permit authorizes the individual named in the block below the a beauty instructor in the category(ies) noted below. The individual shall be e the supervision of a licensed beauty instructor. This permit shall be valid for t ONLY ONCE AND WILL NOT BE EXTENDED OR REISSUED . The applicant is, the available and all subsequent scheduled examinations.	mployed in a properly licensed beauty school un the period stated, approximately one year, IS ISS
PRINT YOUR NAME & COMPLETE MAILING ADDRESS IN THE BLOCK BELOW:	Licensure Category
	☐ Cosmetologist
	Hairdresser
	Esthetician
	🗌 Nail Technician
	Effective Date:
	Expiration Date:
PERMIT NO	
VALID ONLY WHEN EXECUTED BY THE EXECUTIVE OFFICER OF THE BOARD OF BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY, STATE OF HAWAII.	Executive Officer

Affidavit of Applicant:

I hereby certify that the statements, answers and representations made in this application and in the documents attached are true and correct. I understand that any misrepresentation is grounds for refusal to grant or subsequent revocation of license and is a misdemeanor (Section 710-1017, Section 436B-19, and Section 439-19, Hawaii Revised Statutes). I further certify that I have read and will abide by the provisions of Hawaii Revised Statutes, Chapter 439 and Hawaii Administrative Rules, Chapter 16-78.

aii as nder UED first

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.

Date: ___

• • •

EXPERIENCE VERIFICATION FORM – BEAUTY INSTRUCTOR

Access this form via website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl

	COMPLETED BY AF				
	Instructions: A. Complete information in Part I only.				
		rson complete Part II and sign th	-		
	C. <u>ATTACH</u> the completed <u>ORIGINAL</u> form to the application. Copies are not acceptable.				
Applicant's Name: (F	irst, Middle)		(LAST)		
Complete Mailing Ac	dress: (include Apt. No.,	, City, State and Zip Code)	Phone N	lo.: (days)	
			Date:		
		MPLOYER OR SUPERVISOR W			
		PLETE THIS FORM AND ATTA			
		uested Information will dela			
-		ty instructor license in Hawaii.			
	-	ensed instructor. Please supply t	the following inf	formation, sign the form	n, then return this
	at the above address				
Employment Date	Termination Date	Total Length of Employment	Avg. Hrs. Per W	k. Applicant worked a	s an: (check one)
		yrs. mos.		OPERATOR	
Describe the work	nerformed by beauty	y operator or instructor:			
I hereby certify that the information provided on the above-named person is true and correct and that I am a licensed operator or qualified person. Print Name of Out-of-State Employer/Supervisor/Qualified Person Address of Employer (Line 1)					
					,
Signature of Out	-of-State Employer/Supe	ervisor/Qualified Person		Address of Employer (Lin	e 2)
— <u> </u>	malouor/Comparison to		[)		
t	mployer/Supervisor Lice	ense no.	Phone	Number	Date
This material can be m	ade available for individual	s with special needs. Please call the Lice	ensing Branch Mana	ager at (808) 586-3000 to sub	omit your request.

COSM-02B 0320