2021 GUARD EMPLOYEE REGISTRATION RESTORATION REQUIREMENTS AND FAQS

If you did NOT renew your Guard Employee Registration by midnight HST (Hawaiian Standard Time), June 30, 2021, your Guard Employee Registration expired and is forfeited. Holders of a forfeited registration are considered unregistered and may <u>NOT</u> engage in the trade or profession.

You may email your request for a restoration application to detective@dcca.hawaii.gov. Please include your name as it appears on your registration, your guard card number, current mailing address and phone number so that we can better assist you.

Guard Employees have until June 30, 2022 to restore their registration

RESTORATION REQUIREMENT: CONTINUING EDUCATION

Continuing Education Requirement

Requirement: Prior to the June 30, 2021 renewal and every renewal thereafter,

(2024, 2027, 2030, etc.) guard employees shall be required to take a 4-hour Board approved course during the triennial period given by

an instructor approved by the Board to renew the guard

registration.

CE Exemption: A guard employee issued a new registration within one-year prior to

the applicable renewal date (July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2021) shall not be required to complete the 4-hour CE training for the first renewal.

This guard employee shall, however, meet the continued competency requirements for all subsequent renewals.

Registrants who do not restore their registrations within the one (1) year period (by June 30, 2022) are required to file as new applicants.

You may call our Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000 or email the Board's office at: detective@dcca.hawaii.gov for the restoration application. Be sure to include your license name, address, license number and phone number.

You may also pick up a hardcopy restoration form at our office location:

King Kalakaua Building 335 Merchant St. Rm. 301 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Forfeited registrations may be restored upon written application within one (1) year and upon submittal of all required documents, continuing education requirements, fees, delinquent fees, and a penalty fee.

Guard Employee Registration Restoration FAQs

1. How long do I have to restore my registration?

Guard employees have until June 30, 2022 to restore their registrations.

2. What happens if I fail to restore my registration by June 30, 2022?

Registrants who do not restore their registrations within the one (1) year period (by June 30, 2022) are required to file as new applicants

3. How much is the restoration fee?

The fee for active status is \$120.00. The fee for inactive status is \$27.00.

4. Can I restore my registration online?

No. You must request a hard copy restoration form and submit the completed form with all applicable fees and required documents either through the mail or in-person. Please see the first page for more information on how to request a hard-copy restoration form.

5. How do I submit the application, supplemental documents, and payment for hard-copy restoration?

Mail the application, all required documents, and payment to:

BOARD OF PRIVATE DETECTIVES & GUARDS DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch P.O. Box 3469 Honolulu, HI 96801

OR

Deliver to office location at:

335 Merchant Street, Room 301 Honolulu, HI 96813

Phone: (808) 586-3000

Make checks or money orders payable to: "COMMERCE & CONSUMER AFFAIRS"

- 6. What am I required to submit in order to restore my registration?
 - 1) \$120.00 Restoration fee
 - Proof of completion of your CE's (4-Hour Continuing Education Certificate from a Board Approved Instructor teaching a Board Approved Curriculum)
 - 3) Supporting documents* if you answer "Yes" to any of the following questions:
 - a. I have been undergoing psychiatric/psychological treatment
 - b. Has psychiatric/psychological treatment been recommended?
 - c. In the past 3 years, has your license in this state or any other jurisdiction been formally disciplined by the was of fine, suspension, restriction or revocation?
 - d. Are there any disciplinary actions pending against you in this state or any other jurisdiction?
 - e. In the past 3 years have you been convicted of a crime in which the conviction has not been annulled or expunged?

Note: Misrepresentation on your application is grounds for board refusal to renew or subsequent suspension or revocation of license.

*Refer to Question #7 for more information on the required documents

7 I answered "Yes" to one of the questions above. What documents do I submit?

If you are presently suffering from a psychiatric or psychological disorder, please submit the following:

- An explanation of the underlying facts and circumstances surrounding your psychiatric/psychological disorder and treatment.
- Letters from your treating licensed health care practitioner (e.g. psychologist, psychiatrist, psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner, adult psychiatric and mental health clinical nurse specialist) regarding the diagnosis, status of your psychiatric or psychological disorder, and assessment of your ability to work in the registered/licensed profession (guard employee)
- Letters of recommendation from your current employer regarding your reliability, trustworthiness and ability to work as a guard employee.

If you answered "Yes" to the questions referring to complaints, charges of unlicensed activity, or pending disciplinary actions for any profession, occupation, or license, you must submit the following:

- A detailed statement signed by you explaining the underlying circumstances; and
- Copies of any documents from the agency, including final orders, petitions, complaints, findings of fact and conclusions of law, and any other relevant documents.

If you answered "Yes" to the question regarding a criminal conviction, you must submit the following:

- A detailed statement signed by you explaining the underlying circumstances leading to the conviction.
- A copy of all related court documents (i.e. indictments, judgments, guilty pleas, verdict, and terms of sentence) if applicable, proof of payment of fines.
- If applicable, a copy of the terms of probation and/or parole and a statement from your probation or parole officer as to your compliance with the court offers (terms and conditions imposed including any court documentation evidencing completion or discharge).

8. Do I need to submit my continuing education certificate with my restoration?

Yes. Pursuant to Hawaii Revised Statutes ("HRS") section 463-10.5(g), which states in relevant part:

"The failure, neglect, or refusal of any registered guard to pay the renewal fee or meet the continuing education requirements shall constitute a forfeiture of the guard's registration. A forfeited registration may be restored upon written application within one year from the date of forfeiture, payment of the required renewal fee plus penalty fees, and meeting the continuing education in effect at the time of restoration."

(Emphasis in bold added.)

9. Who is exempt from completing the continuing education requirements?

A guard employee issued a new registration from July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021.

10. Where can I find an example of what the 4-Hour Continuing Education Guard Training Certificate looks like?

Click on the "Guard Instructor Information" tab on the Board's website at: https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/private/.

Under the "Training Course Curricula Requirements" header, click on "4-Hour Continued Competency Guard Training Certificate."

11. Does the Board provide continuing education classes?

No. The Board only reviews and approves submitted curriculums.

12. Where can I find a list of Board approved continuing education course providers?

Click on the "Guard Employee Training and Education Information" tab on the Board's website at: https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/private/.

Under the "Guard Employee Renewal 4-Hour Continuing Education" header, click on "Board Approved Security Guard Continuing Education Training Curricula."

13. Where can I find a list of Board approved instructors who provide online classes?

Click on the "Guard Employee Training and Education Information" tab on the Board's website at: https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/private/.

Under the "Guard Employee Online Training and Education Resources" header, click on "Board Approved Security Guard Training Instructors and Curriculum Providers permitted to Use Remote Technologies"

14. I renewed my license online through MyPVL account but did not see a receipt button when I paid for my renewal online.

Please contact the Board of Private Detectives and Guards at: detective@dcca.hawaii.gov to request for a copy of your receipt.

Please include your name, license number and the date you renewed online so that we can better assist you.

15. How do I update my address or change my name on my license?

Please submit an Address/Name Change Request Form, which can be found at: https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/how-to-request-for-an-addressname-changeduplicate-license-request/.

Click on the link: <u>ALL OTHER LICENSE TYPES – Address/Name Change Request Form</u> for PDF copy of the Address/Name Change Request Form.

You may email the completed form to: pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov,

OR

Mail to: Professional and Vocational Licensing Division

P.O. Box 3469 Honolulu, HI 96801

OR

Deliver to: 335 Merchant Street, Suite 301

Honolulu, HI 96813

16. What does it mean to restore on inactive status?

Act 94, SLH 2004 established an inactive status which allows registrants, upon written request, to hold their registrations in abeyance if not currently being used in an effort to reduce a regulatory burden. This will result in lower renewal fees, the preservation of the previously met registration requirements (i.e. training) and reduce costs.

An active registration may be placed on inactive status by filing an "Inactivation Application" and paying the appropriate fee. While on inactive status, a registrant shall not act in a guard capacity.

17. How do I reactivate my license if it has been placed on inactive status?

The registration may be reactivated at any time by **filing an "Application for Reactivation"** and meeting all requirements established by the Board, including the payment of the appropriate fees, submittal of fingerprints to Fieldprint Inc. to obtain the FBI National and State Criminal History Record Check through the HCJDC, providing any information regarding any conviction of any crime that reflects unfavorably on the fitness of the registrant to engage in the profession, and information that the registrant, while on inactive status, has suffered a psychiatric or psychological disorder that is directly related and detrimental to the registrant's performance in the profession.