
Occupational Therapist “OT”) 
 and Occupational Therapy Assistant (“OTA”) 

 

Frequently Asked Questions 

1. How do I qualify for licensure? 
 

A license may be issued to applicants who have completed the 
educational requirements and supervised field work required for 
certification by the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy 
(“NBCOT”) and have passed a national certification examination 
administered by the NBCOT. 

 
In the case of foreign-trained persons, the applicant for an OT or an OTA 
license shall have completed the NBCOT eligibility determination process for 
OT or OTA and shall have passed a national certification examination 
administered by the NBCOT. 

 
Proof of current certification is required. Submit an original "Verification of 
Certification" (no photocopies please) issued by the NBCOT showing that 
your certification is current and sent directly to the Hawaii Occupational 
Therapy Program. 

 
2. Where do I obtain an application for licensure? 

 
Applications for licensure are posted on our web site 
at https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl. 

 

To request an application be mailed to you, please call the Licensing 
Branch at (808) 586-3000 and provide the following: 
*Name 
*Mailing address 
*Type of application 

 
3. How much are the licensing fees? 

 
For licenses issued between January 1 of an odd-numbered year 
to December 31 of an even-numbered year, the cost is $279 

 
For licenses issued between January 1 of an even-numbered year 
to December 31 of an odd-numbered year, the cost is $186 

 
4. How long does it take to process an application? 

https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl
https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl


 

It takes approximately 15 to 20 business days to process an application for 
completeness ensuring that all fields are completed and all requirements 
(i.e. fees, verifications, certification, etc.) are met. Provided that you have 
submitted a completed application and there are no deficiencies, a license 
may then be issued. (See Disciplinary Action below). 

 
5. How do I follow up on the status of my application? 

 
To check on the status of your application, please call the Licensing Branch 
at (808) 586-3000, between 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Hawaiian Standard 
Time. 

 
6. After licensure, how often will I have to renew? 

 
You will need to renew by December 31 of every even-numbered year. 
A notice of renewal will be sent to you approximately two months prior 
to the renewal. 

 
7. Are there continuing education (“CE”) requirements for licensure renewal? 

 
No, there are no CE requirements for renewal. 

 
8. Can I place my license on inactive status? 

 
Yes, occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants have the 
option to place their license on inactive status. Note that a license on 
inactive status shall be considered as “unlicensed” and shall not engage in 
the practice of occupational therapy. 

 
9. Where can I find the licensing law and administrative rules? 

 
Visit the Occupational Therapy home page at 
http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/programs/occupational/ and click on 
“Statute/Rule Chapter”. 

 
10. I did not renew my license. How do I restore it? 

 
Licenses that are not renewed by December 31 of every even-numbered 
year become forfeited. A forfeited license may be restored within one 
year of the forfeiture. To restore a license, you may call the Licensing 
Branch at (808) 586-3000 between 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Hawaiian 
Standard Time, and request to have a restoration application form sent to 
you. 
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11. Disciplinary Action 
a) Has any license/certification/registration ever been suspended, 

revoked or otherwise subject to disciplinary action? 
b) Are there any disciplinary actions pending against you? 
c) Have you ever been convicted of a crime in any jurisdiction that has 

not been annulled or expunged? 
 

If you answered “YES” to any of the above, you will need to submit: 
 

• A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances; and 
• Copies of any documents from the agency, including final orders, 

petitions, complaints, findings of fact and conclusions of law, and any 
other relevant documents. 

 
If your application indicates a criminal conviction, you must submit the 

following: 
 

• A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances leading to the 
conviction and detailing all activities since the conviction, including 
employment and business involvements. Include job title, period of 
employment, employer's name, description of duties, training attended, 
and educational courses attended. 

• A copy of the court order, verdict, and terms of sentence; and 
• A current criminal history record check in your name dated within six 

months of the date your application is received from the state where the 
conviction occurred and the state where you currently reside if different. 
In Hawaii, you may obtain a criminal history record check from the Hawaii 
Criminal Justice Data Center. Contact them at (808) 587-3100 or visit their 
website at: ecrim.ehawaii.gov to request a "Criminal History Record 
Check" form; 

• If applicable, a copy of the terms of probation and/or parole and a 
statement from your probation or parole officer as to your compliance 
with the court orders (terms and conditions imposed including any court 
documentation). 

 
For general questions (e.g., change of address, name changes, duplicate 
pocket card, etc.) please visit the Professional and Vocational Licensing 
Division’s website at http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/ FAQs (Frequently Asked 
Questions). 
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