
State of Hawaii 
Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs 

BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY 
335 Merchant St., 3rd Floor, Honolulu, Hawaii 96813 

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 3469, Honolulu, Hawaii 96801 
This form can also be obtained at: http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/massage/ 

 
APPLICATION – MASSAGE SCHOOL CURRICULUM LETTER 

FOR HAWAII STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION (“DOE”) 
 
 

To obtain massage school licensure from the Hawaii DOE, you may provide 
a letter from the Hawaii Board of Massage Therapy (“Board”), if the Board 
determines that your school’s curriculum meets the requirements to prepare 
a massage therapist for professional licensure. 

 
INSTRUCTIONS 

 

1. Submit a completed application form and all required documents at 
least 25 business days prior to the Board meeting date; 

2. Attach a completed "Education & Training Hours Coursework" form (MA-20). 
Attach additional sheets as needed for more courses. Courses that are listed on the coursework form 
must be found on the sample transcript. All courses listed must be accompanied by 
a course description; 

3. Attach a sample transcript; 
4. Attach a copy of your school catalog including course descriptions; and 
5. Submit a non-refundable application fee of $50.00. Make check payable to: COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS (check 

must be in U.S. dollars and from U.S. financial institution.) 
 

Mail the completed application and required documents to: 
 

Board of Massage Therapy 
DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch OR 
P.O. Box 3469 
Honolulu, HI 96801 

Deliver to office location at: 
 

335 Merchant Street, Room 301 
Honolulu, HI 96813 

 
 

 

SCHOOL NAME:    
 

NAME OF SCHOOL’S AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE:   
 

BUSINESS ADDRESS:   
 
 
 

TELEPHONE NO.:  EMAIL ADDRESS:   

 
Certification of Requestor: 

 
I certify that the statements, answers, and representations made in this application and in the documents attached are true and correct. I understand 
that this certification and any misrepresentation are grounds for the denial, refusal, or subsequent revocation of the letter by the Board, and is a 
misdemeanor (HRS section 710-1017, HRS section 436B-19, and HRS section 452-24). 

 
 
 

By   
(Date) Signature of School’s Authorized Representative 

 
Its   

(Title) 
 

App………………….…295 ............... $50 

MA-19 0419R Service Charge…….…BCF .............. $25 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
 

Reviewed on   

Approved on    

http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/massage/


EDUCATION & TRAINING HOURS COURSEWORK FORM FOR HAWAII 
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION MASSAGE SCHOOL CURRICULUM APPROVAL 

This form can also be obtained at: http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/massage/ 
 

School’s Name:  (Please Print) 
 

The MINIMUM massage education and training hours required is 570 hours which shall consist of at least: 
 
1. 50 hours of in-class coursework on human anatomy, physiology and structural kinesiology (“AP&K”) 
2. 100 hours of in-class coursework on the theory and demonstration of massage (“Theory”) which shall include the 

following: 
a. The proper procedure in massaging; 
b. Record keeping; 
c. Hygiene; 
d. Theory; 
e. Technique for specific conditions; 
f. Contraindications of massage for specific techniques according to conditions; 
g. Draping; and 
h. Assessment of the client's condition and the general technique to be applied. 

3. Not less than 420 hours of practical massage training under the supervision of a teacher in a school setting. 
 
LIST all courses in the curriculum for which you are requesting approval. Attach additional sheets if needed. 
ALL courses listed must be accompanied by a course description and must be listed on the sample transcript 
that is submitted with your  application.  For each course, the number of AP&K Hours, Theory Hours and Practical 
Massage Hours must equal the number of Total Hours in the Course. 

 
* FAILURE TO PROVIDE THE REQUESTED INFORMATION WILL DELAY THE PROCESSING OF 

YOUR APPLICATION * 
 

Course # COURSE TITLE No. of 
AP&K 
Hours 

No. of 
Theory 
Hours 

No. of 
Practical 
Massage 

Hours 

No. of Total 
Hours in 
Course 

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

 
MA-20 0419R  

http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/massage/
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