### **REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE - CONTRACTOR**

Access this form via website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl

Briefly, the requirements for a license are:

- 1) Registration with the Business Registration Division;
- 2) Have a good reputation for honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity and fair dealing;
- 3) Have liability and workers' compensation insurance; and
- 4) Have in your employ a licensed individual who is designated Responsible Managing Employee (RME).

This is the general licensure process and what you may expect after filing an application:

- 1) Applicant files application, fee and other required items on or before the first Tuesday of the month.
- 2) Board reviews complete applications the following month.
- 3) Board notifies applicant of approval/disapproval/deferral.
- 4) Approved applicant's RME registers with a separate testing agency for exam, if applicable.
- 5) RME takes exam the following month.
- 6) Upon RME passing the exam, Board notifies applicant of license requirements.
- 7) Applicant submits license requirements.
- 8) Board issues license to applicant.
- 9) Maintain license.

### APPLICATION FILING DEADLINE

Application, fee and all supporting documents to be presented to the Board must be received in the Board's Honolulu office <u>on or</u>

<u>before</u> the <u>first Tuesday</u> of the month prior to the scheduled meeting date. The Board is scheduled to meet once a month, except for the month of December. Refer to the schedule for all dates at: <u>cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/contractor/meeting\_schedule/</u>

Each application must be submitted with the following items for consideration by the Board: **FAXED or EMAILED COPIES WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.** 

Application fee
Financial statement
Credit reports of each officer/partner/manager/member
Tax clearance
Trade name registration, if applicable
RME appointment
Entity registration

### **INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING**

### **APPLICATION** Complete <u>all</u> pages of the application.

Failure to provide all the requested information will delay the processing of your application.

An entity (corporation, partnership, joint venture, LLC or LLP) cannot be issued a license without having in its employ a principal responsible managing employee (RME). The RME must file a separate application form if not already licensed.

### FEES Attach the \$50 non-refundable application fee for each application filed. Additional fees will be assessed after

board approval. Make checks payable to: COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS. (check must be in U.S. dollars and be from a U.S. financial institution.)

**NOTE:** One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to be issued is the payment of fees as set forth in this application. You may be sent a license certificate before the payment you sent us for your required fees is honored by your bank. If your payment is dishonored, you will have failed to pay the required licensing fee and your license will not be valid, and you **may not** do business under that license. Also, a \$25.00 service charge shall be assessed for payments that are dishonored for any reason.

If for any reason you are denied the license you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as provided by Title 16, Chapter 201, Hawaii Administrative Rules, and/or Chapter 91 Hawaii Revised Statutes. Your written request for a hearing must be directed to the agency that denied your application, and must be made within 60 days of notification that your application for a license has been denied.

#### **ASBESTOS CONTRACTOR**

The contracting entity (corporation, partnership, joint venture, LLC or LLP) shall submit proof of successful completion by the RME, and all asbestos abatement employees of the contracting entity, of Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) or board approved asbestos training courses. RMEs shall have taken a 4-day course; abatement workers shall have taken a 3-day course within two years prior to filing the application.

### FINANCIAL STATEMENT

<u>Submit</u> a current (not more than a year old) COMPILED, REVIEWED, OR AUDITED financial statement accompanied by an independent accountant's report. The accountant must be a licensed or certified public accountant holding a current permit to practice. If the accountant is licensed in another state, <u>provide</u> a copy of the license.

For COMPILED and REVIEWED financial statements: Applicant is required to sign the Board's Financial Statement Form whether or not your CPA uses the Board's Financial Statement Form.

#### **CREDIT REPORT**

<u>Submit</u> a current and complete credit report for each officer, partner, manager, or member, (from a credit reporting agency issued not more than 6 months ago) covering at least the previous 5 years. If a partner or member is a business entity, submit credit reports on the entity's officers or the business entity's credit report (i.e. Comprehensive Dun & Bradstreet report) covering at least the previous 5 years.

A complete credit report must contain, at minimum, detailed account information on each of your current and past debts, the status of those debts, whether you are current or delinquent in paying any of those debts, and the existence or not of any public records. A credit report that only provides a summary or a credit score is <u>not</u> a complete credit report. For more information on credit reports, please go to the Federal Trade Commission's website at: <a href="https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/0155-free-credit-reports">https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/0155-free-credit-reports</a> or go to <a href="https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/0155-free-credit-reports">www.ftc.gov</a> and enter "credit report" in the search box.

#### **TAX CLEARANCE**

<u>Submit</u> a current Hawaii State Tax Clearance (issued not more than 6 months old) with an original State Department of Taxation stamp. (Not applicable to corporations, partnerships, joint ventures, LLCs or LLPs registered in Hawaii less than 1 year).

#### TRADE NAME

If you are planning to use a trade name, **submit** a filed-stamped copy of **current** trade name registration approved by the Business Registration Division of the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs.

# ENTITY REGISTRATION: CORPORATION/ PARTNERSHIP LLC or LLP

All entities must be properly registered with the Business Registration Division (BREG), Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, State of Hawaii, P.O. Box 40, Honolulu, HI 96810. (Please call them for the proper forms at (808) 586-2727) or visit their website at: cca.hawaii.gov/breg to order Certificates of Good Standing, forms, etc.

If the entity has been registered in this state for LESS THAN ONE (1) YEAR, <u>ATTACH</u> a "filed-stamped" copy of the document filed with BREG; or the same certificate mentioned below.

If the entity has been registered in this state for MORE THAN ONE (1) YEAR, **ATTACH** a current "Certificate of Good Standing" issued not more than 1 year ago.

### RME/ENTITY APPOINTMENT

RME not licensed in Hawaii: RME must submit a Responsible Managing Employee application.

<u>RME licensed in Hawaii</u>: Have RME submit a letter confirming employment with applicant and confirming termination of employment with former employer or request to be the RME for both contracting entities ("dual" status). IF requesting dual status, provide documentation verifying one of the following requirements:

Common ownership if at least fifty-one percent of each contracting entity (Documentation of ownership
includes, but is not limited to, tax returns (Schedule C or Form 1065 for LLCs, Schedule K-1 or Form 1125E for
Corporations); Stock Certificates; Business Registration documents (for single member LLC's only); or Operating
agreement);

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 3)

### RME/ENTITY APPOINTMENT cont'd

- 2. A contracting entity is a subsidiary or joint venture with the other contracting entity;
- 3. Direct immediate family relationship between the RME and the officers, directors, members, managers or partners of the other contracting entity; OR
- Direct immediate family relationship between the officers, directors, members, managers and partners of all contracting entities.

If the applicant does not request to be licensed with **all** of the RME's active classes, those classes will be placed on inactive status.

Sole proprietor licensed in Hawaii and incorporating, forming a partnership, LLC or LLP: **Submit** a letter with the application stating change in status from sole proprietor to RME of new entity. After licensure, both the entity and RME licenses must be maintained.

#### **LAWS & RULES**

A copy of the Contractors laws and rules may be obtained by submitting a written request to: Contractors License Board, DCCA, P.O. Box 3469, Honolulu, Hawaii 96801. Chapter 436B, Hawaii Revised Statutes, the Professional and Vocational Licensing Act should be read in conjunction with the above statutes.

The laws and rules are also available on our website at: **cca.hawaii.gov/pvl**. Click on "Contractors". Then click on "Statute/Rule Chapter".

### **BOARD'S ADDRESS**

Mail the completed application, proper fee amount and other required documents to:

OR

Contractors License Board DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch P.O. Box 3469 Honolulu, HI 96801

Deliver to office location at: 335 Merchant St., Room 301 Honolulu, HI 96813 Phone: (808) 586-3000

### **CLASSIFICATIONS AS LISTED IN CHAPTER 77**

### HAWAII ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

General Engineering
General Building
Acoustical and insulation contractor;
Mechanical insulation contractor;
Asphalt paving and surfacing contractor;
Asphalt concrete patching, sealing, and striping contractor;
Play court surfacing contractor;
Boiler, hot-water heating, and steam fitting contractor;
Cabinet, millwork, and carpentry remodeling and repairs contractor;
Garage door and window shutters contractor;
Siding application contractor;
Carpentry framing contractor;
Carpet laying contractor;
Cesspool contractor;
Scaffolding contractor;
Drywall contractor;
Electrical contractor;
Sign contractor;
Electronic systems contractor;
Fire and burglar alarm contractor;
Telecommunications contractor;
Elevator contractor;
Conveyor systems contractor;
Excavating, grading, and trenching contractor;
Asbestos contractor;
Fire protection contractor;
Fire repressant systems contractor;
Flooring contractor;
Glazing and tinting contractor;
Glass tinting contractor;
Gunite contractor;
Building moving and wrecking contractor;
Institutional and commercial equipment contractor;
Landscaping contractor;
Hydro mulching contractor;
Tree trimming and removal contractor;
Masonry contractor;
Cement concrete contractor;
Stone masonry contractor;
Refractory contractor;
Tuckpointing and caulking contractor;
Concrete cutting, drilling, sawing, coring, and pressure grouting contractor;
Ornamental, guardrail, and fencing contractor;
Wood and vinyl fencing contractor;
Painting and decorating contractor;
Wall coverings contractor;
Taping contractor;
Surface treatment contractor;

C-34 Soil stabilization contractor;

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 5)

C-35 Pile driving, pile and caisson drilling, and foundation contractor; C-36 Plastering contractor; Lathing contractor; C-36a C-37 Plumbing contractor; C-37a Sewer and drain line contractor; Irrigation and lawn sprinkler systems contractor; C-37b C-37c Vacuum and air systems contractor; C-37d Water chlorination and sanitation contractor: C-37e Treatment and pumping facilities contractor; C-37f Fuel dispensing contractor; C-38 Post tensioning contractor; C-40 Refrigeration contractor; C-40a Prefabricated refrigerator panels contractor; C-41 Reinforcing steel contractor; C-42 Roofing contractor; C-42a Aluminum and other metal shingles contractor; C-42b Wood shingles and wood shakes contractor; C-42c Concrete and clay tile contractor; C-42e Urethane foam contractor; C-42g Roof coatings contractor; C-43 Sewer, sewage disposal, drain, and pipe laying contractor; C-43a Reconditioning and repairing pipeline contractor; C-44 Sheet metal contractor; C-44a Gutters contractor; C-44b Awnings and patio cover contractor; Structural steel contractor; C-48 C-48a Steel door contractor: C-49 Swimming pool contractor; C-49a Swimming pool service contractor; C-49b Hot tub and pool contractor; Tile contractor; C-51 C-51a Cultured marble contractor; C-51b Terrazo contractor; C-52 Ventilating and air conditioning contractor; C-53 Miscellaneous retail products; C-54 Interior design; C-55 Waterproofing contractor; C-56 Welding contractor; C-57 Well contractor; C-57a Pumps installation contractor; C-57b Injection well contractor;

Solar power systems contractor;

Solar energy systems contractor;

Pole and line contractor;

Pole contractor.

Classified specialist.

Solar hot water systems contractor;

High voltage electrical contractor; and

Solar heating and cooling systems contractor;

C-60

C-61

C-61a

C-61b C-62

C-62a

C-63

C-68

# LICENSE REQUIREMENTS Upon Receiving Board Approval

# WORKERS' COMPENSATION INSURANCE

<u>Workers' Compensation</u> - Submit a certificate of workers' compensation insurance from an insurance company authorized to do business in this State, and a statement from the insurance carrier that the board will be notified of any withdrawal, termination, or cancellation of the insurance.

Single member, member managed LLC's with **NO** employees may file a form prescribed by the board, in lieu of workers' compensation insurance.

Corporations may file a form prescribed by the board in lieu of workers' compensation insurance WHEN the RME owns at least 50% of the corporation and there are NO OTHER EMPLOYEES.

Joint Ventures must file workers' compensation certificates.

### LIABILITY AND PROPERTY DAMAGE INSURANCE

Submit a certificate of insurance from an insurance company or agency authorized to do business in this State, showing full policy coverage of the applicant for comprehensive bodily injury and property damage liability with the following minimum limits of liability:

Bodily Injury Liability \$100,000 each person

\$300,000 each occurrence

Property Damage Liability \$ 50,000 each occurrence

OUT-OF-STATE CONTRACTORS: The Board will accept **liability** insurance from a non-admitted carrier, if the producer qualifies for an exemption under HRS §431:9A-104(b)(6).

### **PLACE OF BUSINESS**

A licensed contractor shall have and maintain a definite place of business where the licensee may be served notice and legal process in the State and shall display therein the contractor's license. Post Office Box number is not accepted as a place of business.

**FEES** 

License fees will be due. Specific amounts will be given at the appropriate time.

# ENTITY-RME DEPENDENCY

A corporation, partnership, joint venture, LLC or LLP cannot be issued a license without having in its employ a responsible managing employee (RME). The entity must file a separate application from the RME and both must pay separate fees in order to be licensed.

### ATTENTION: CONTRACTORS APPLYING FOR ELECTRICAL OR PLUMBING RELATED CLASSIFICATIONS

Please be advised that in order to perform **electrical or plumbing** work in Hawaii, **an individual must also obtain an electrician (i.e. ES or EJ) or plumber (PM or PJ) license. IF your RME is not licensed as an electrician or plumber in accordance with Chapter 448E, you must employ a licensed electrician or plumber to actually perform the electrical or plumbing work. (Refer to Hawaii Revised Statutes Section 444-9.5 and Chapter 448E). <b>YOU MAY NEED THIS TYPE OF LICENSE TO GET A BUILDING PERMIT.** 

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 7)

### MAINTAINING THE LICENSE

### MAINTAIN INSURANCE

Maintain continuous insurance coverage throughout licensure and keep on file in the board's office evidence of such coverage.

Failure to maintain continuous liability and workers' compensation coverages causes automatic forfeiture of license, and if continuous coverage is not reinstated within sixty (60) days, shall require the entity and RME to apply as a new applicant.

Please inform your insurance agent that using the Insurance Certificate Electronic Online Submittal System at: **pvl.ehawaii.gov/inikua/public/welcome.html** provides faster processing of your contractor insurance certificates.

# ENTITY-RME DEPENDENCY

If for any reason the Responsible Managing Employee leaves the contracting entity, the contracting entity must notify the Board within <u>60 days</u>. Within 90 days of the RME leaving the contracting entity, the contracting entity must (1) file an application to qualify a new RME, (2) appoint an appropriately licensed RME, or (3) file an application to place the license on inactive status. Failure to notify the board and apply for a new RME or place the license on inactive status within the required time period causes the license to be **FORFEITED** automatically.

# PLACE OF BUSINESS

Maintain a place of business.

### BIENNIAL RENEWAL

All licenses, regardless of issuance date, are subject to renewal by **September 30 of each even-numbered year**. To ensure receipt of a renewal application, keep the board informed of your address. Applications are sent by mail before August 15, of each even-numbered year. Licenses not renewed by September 30 are forfeited and the holders of a forfeited license are considered unlicensed and may not practice. Restorations of forfeited licenses are accepted until November 30 of the even-numbered year with a penalty fee. After November 30, restoration is <u>not</u> accepted and a new application for a license is required.

# RELEASE OF INFORMATION

If an agency or individual is assisting you with the licensure process, we will not be able to release any information to them unless you provide us with authorization. If you wish to do so, please complete the portion on "**Release of Information to Third Party**", sign and date it.

### **APPLICATION FOR CONTRACTOR'S LICENSE - ENTITY**

Access this form via website at: **cca.hawaii.gov/pvl** 

CONTRACTORS LICENSE BOARD 335 MERCHANT ST., RM 301, P.O. BOX 3469 HONOLULU, HI 96801

INIST	FRUCTIONS - To avoid dela	v read all instruction	s carefully			Lic. No.	Eff. Date:
Each applicable guestion must be fully and truthfully answered. Any material misrepresentation is		_	CLASS(ES):				
1	h applicable question must b unds for refusal or subsequ	, ,	•	ial misrepresentation is	ONLY		
	ch sheets to this application cient.	when so instructed or	where the space prov	vided for the answer is not	USE		
	Answer all questions. <b>No license will be considered until this application is completed.</b> If a question is not applicable, indicate with "N/A".			8			
Арр	lications must be <b>printed</b> le	gibly in <b>black ink</b> or <b>ty</b>	pewritten.		FOR		
The	required \$50.00 application	<b>1 fee</b> must be attached	d and submitted with	this application form.			
(A)	Indicate the type of appl	ication being made	:				
	Corporation	Partnership	LLC	LLP		Joint Venture	
(B)	Name of Applicant:						
			(Name of corporation	, partnership, joint venture, L	LC or L	.LP as registered with BREG)	
	Name of Responsible	Managing Employe	ee (RME):				
	•			or Date Applied for Lice	nse:		
(C)	Trade Name or Business				-		
ŀ					•		
(0)	Phone: (days) (			pioyei identification is			
(E)	Mailing Address:						
			(Str	reet address or P.O. Box, City,	State, .	Zip Code)	
	Hawaii Business Addr	ess:					
			(Stree	t address, City, State, Zip Cod	le - P.O	. Box is not acceptable)	
				,			
(F)	PERSONNEL OF APPLICA					information on:	
a CORPORATION					all the <b>OFFICERS</b> <u>and</u> tall the MANAGERS/ME all the PARTNERS <u>and</u> to	MBERS <u>and</u> the RME	
	Full Name (First, I	Middle, Last)	Title/Positio	n Residence	Addr	ess (Give Location - P.O.	Box not acceptable)
							<u> </u>
(G)	Set forth in detail the kin	d of contracting bu	siness in which the	applicant intends to eng	age:	FOI	R OFFICE USE ONLY
							Financial Statement
(H)	Classification(s) requeste	ed (	)				— Tax Clearance
	Symbol - See list Name of classification						— BREGS
							<del></del>
			(CONTIN	UED ON PAGE 2)			RME Appointment
			(CONTIN	OLD ON PAGE 2)			
	Appl	115	. \$ 50 Entity:	Lic			100 \$ 95 e BCF \$ 25
				EF		\$ 10	<del>4</del> 23
				~: u		7 / 1/7   10	

Print	Name	of App	licant.
T I II I L	INAILIE		ilicarit.

(I)

(Name of Corporation, Partnership, Joint Venture, LLC or LLP)

EACH QUESTION MUST BE ANSWERED				
1.	. Has the entity previously applied for a Hawaii State contractor's license?	Yes	No	
	If "Yes", state month and year			
2.	Provide name, classification, number, date and copy of each contractor's license previously held in any state by the applicant, any person listed under " <i>Personnel of Applicant</i> ", or by any organization in which any such person was a co-partner or corporate officer, manager, or member.			
3.	Has any person listed under "Personnel of Applicant", been affiliated with a contracting entity whose license has been terminated due to issuance of a court order authorizing payment from the Contractors Recovery Fund of this state or any other state?  If "Yes", submit a detailed statement giving the date of the order and circumstances leading up to	Yes	□No	
	issuance of the court order.			
4.	Has the applicant, any person listed under "Personnel of Applicant", or any construction organization in which any such person was a member of the personnel, had a contractor's license or any professional or vocational license denied, fined, suspended or revoked by this state or any other state?	Yes	No	
5.	. Has any bonding or surety company ever completed or made a financial settlement upon any construction contract or work undertaken by the applicant, any person listed under "Personnel of Applicant", or any construction organization in which any such person was a member of the personnel?	Yes	□No	
6.	Are there now any unpaid past due bills or claims for labor, materials, or services, outstanding and unsatisfied, as a result of the operations of the applicant, any person listed under "Personnel of Applicant", or any construction organization in which any such person was a member of personnel?	Yes	No	
7.	Are there now any liens, suits, or judgments of record or pending, outstanding and unsatisfied, as a result of the operations of the applicant, any person listed under "Personnel of Applicant", or any construction organization in which any such person was a member of the personnel?  If "Yes", attach a detailed statement signed by you explaining the circumstances and current status, and if no payment or payment arrangement has been made, the reason; a resume of employment and business activities; and copies of the court complaint, judgment, documentation of payment arrangements, lien	Yes	∏No	
8.	documents, records of any payments, and other documents.  Has the applicant, any person listed under "Personnel Applicant", or any construction organization in which any such person was a member of the personnel ever been adjudicated as bankrupt, or is presently in the process of bankruptcy proceedings?  If "Yes", attach a detailed statement giving the number of bankruptcy proceedings, the location of the bankruptcy court, a schedule of creditors listed in the bankruptcy petition, the approximate date of the action and a statement of the final action upon the proceedings.	Yes	No	
9.	Has the applicant, any person listed under "Personnel of Applicant", or any construction organization in which any such person was a member of the personnel ever made an assignment of assets, either voluntary or otherwise, in settlement of construction obligations for less than the total amount of the indebtedness?	Yes	□No	
10.	Has any person listed under "Personnel of Applicant" ever been convicted of a crime in any jurisdiction that has not been annulled or expunged?  If "Yes", attach a statement signed by you explaining the circumstances leading to the conviction and detailing all activities since the conviction, including employment and business involvements. Include job title, periods of employment, employer's name, description of duties, and training attended. Also, attach certified court documentation on the date, place, violation of each conviction and fulfillment of conditions of each sentence.	Yes	No	

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 3)

	(Nam	e of Corporation, Partnership, John Venture, LLC of LLP)
	ntation is grounds for ref	made in this application and in the documents attached are true and fusal or subsequent revocation of license and is a misdemeanor (Section
I further certify that I have read and will al Chapter 77.	oide by the provisions of	Hawaii Revised Statutes, Chapter 444 and Hawaii Administrative Rules,
		Partner, officer of a Corporation, manager or member of LLC
Date		Signature
	Title:	
Date		Signature
	Title:	
2.4		Contract
Date	Title:	Signature
Date		Signature
	Title:	
Release of Information to Third Party:		
regarding my application (including, but r	not limited to, application	- ' '
Name of Organization:		
Signature	of Applicant	Date

Print Name of Applicant:

 $This \ material \ can \ be \ made \ available \ for \ individuals \ with \ special \ needs. \ Please \ call \ the \ Licensing \ Branch \ Manager \ at \ (808) \ 586-3000 \ to \ submit \ your \ request.$ 

### **CONTRACTORS FINANCIAL STATEMENT**

(Prescribed Form)

	Financial Statement as of	, 20	(not more than one year old) is for:	
	Name of Applicant:			
		(Sole Proprietor, Cor	poration, Partnership, Joint Venture, LLC, LLP)	
Note:	The name listed on this financial statem "Name of Applicant".	ent must be exactly t	he same name listed on your application under	
	ASSETS:			
CURRENT AS	SETS:			
Cash (incl	ude checking account) \$			
Saving	s Account			
Time c	ertificates (within 1 year)			
Depos	it with bids			
TOTAL	CASH\$			
Accounts	receivable (completed contracts)			
Earned es	timated & retainage (uncompleted contracts)			
Other acc	ounts receivable			
Work in p	rogress (unbilled)			
Notes rec	eivable			
Stocks an	d bonds			
Life insura	ance (cash value)			
Other cur	rent assets			
TOTAL	CURRENT ASSETS	\$		
OTHER ASSE	TS:			
Material i	n stock (not included in any items above) \$			
Inventory	or other materials			
Other ass	ets			
TOTAL	OTHER ASSETS	\$		
FIXED ASSET	S:			
Equipmer	nt at net book value\$			
Real estat	e			
Furniture	and fixtures at net book value			
Tools				
Other fixe	d assets			
TOTAL	FIXED ASSETS	\$		
TOTAL ASSET	rs	\$		
IOIAL ASSE	J			

(SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT REQUIRED ON PAGE 2)

LIABILITIES:		Financial Statement as of	,20	(not more than one year ol	<b>d)</b> is fo	
CURRENT LIABILITIES:		Name of Applicant:				
Notes payable (due within one year):		(Sole Proprietor, Corporation,	, Partnership, Joint Venture, LLC, LL	L <i>P</i> )		
To banks regular						
To material men						
To other (exclusive of Equipment)						
TOTAL NOTES PAYABLE	\$	<u>NET WORTH:</u>				
Accounts payable:		Capital stock (i	if corporation, show shares ued-par value)	Ċ		
Subcontractors	\$					
Material men		•				
Others				\$		
TOTAL ACCOUNTS PAYABLE	\$	TOTAL LIABILITIES	3 AND NET WORTH	\$		
Current maturities (long-term debt)	\$					
Accrued payrolls						
Federal and state income tax			THE STATEMENT BELO	OW MUST BE		
Payroll taxes (including F.I.C.A. S.U.I. and income taxes withheld)			SIGNED BY THE APPLI	- I		
Other accrued taxes, interest, etc			CPA USES THIS FORM	OR HIS OWN.		
Encumbrances on equipment (due within 1 year)			FINANCIAL STATEME			
Other Current Liabilities (specify):			AND ACCOMPANIED I			
	-		INDEPENDENT ACCOU	UNTANT'S		
			REPORT.			
TOTAL CURRENT LIABILITIES	\$					
ONG-TERM LIABILITIES:						
Long-term debt (less portion due within one year)	\$					
Encumbrances on equipment (due after 1 year)						
Encumbrances on real estate						
Billings in excess of cost on uncompleted contracts						
Other long-term liabilities (specify):						
	-					
TOTAL LONG-TERM LIABILITIES	\$					
TOTAL LIABILITIES	<u></u> \$					
For complied and reviewed fir	nanciai statements:	i nis statement must be	signed, whether CPA use	es this form or his own.		
hereby certify as owner, officer, partner, manager, memlefusal or subsequent revocation of license and is a misde				at any misrepresentation is grounds fo	or	
S	SIGNATURE OF APPLICAN	IT:				
1	ΓITLE (owner, president, et	c.):				
see accompanying independent accountant's report. The	e undersigned has no intere	st in the above enterprise.				
SIGNATURE OF C.P.A. or P.A.:			LICENSE NO.:			

SHALL BE PREPARED AND SIGNED BY A LICENSED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT (PA) OR CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT (CPA) HOLDING A CURRENT PERMIT TO PRACTICE. IF LICENSED IN ANOTHER STATE, PROVIDE COPY OF A CURRENT LICENSE. Note: Financial Statements prepared by bookkeepers and tax preparers are not acceptable.

PRINT NAME:

STATE:

Pursuant to §436B-9, Hawaii Revised Statutes, your application shall be considered abandoned and shall be destroyed if you fail to provide evidence of continued efforts to complete the licensing process for two consecutive years. The failure to provide evidence of continued efforts includes, but is not limited to:

- (1) failure to submit any required information and documents requested by the licensing authority within two consecutive years from the last date the documents and information were requested, or
- (2) failure to complete any additional requirements for licensure that remain after approval of your application, such as attempting to complete an examination requirement, within two consecutive years from the date your application was approved, or
- (3) failure to provide the licensing authority with any written communication during two consecutive years indicating that you are attempting to complete the licensing process.

If an application is deemed abandoned, the applicant shall be required to reapply for licensure and comply with the licensing requirements in effect at the time of the reapplication.

### **Frequently Asked Questions regarding Abandoned Applications**

- 1) Q: If after receiving my application the board or program requests additional information, how much time do I have to provide them with the requested information before my application is deemed abandoned?
  - A: You have two years from the date the information is requested.
- 2) Q: If I am an applicant who is required to take a licensing examination in order to complete the licensing process and my application to take the licensing examination is approved, how much time do I have to complete the examination requirement before my application is abandoned?
  - A: You must make an attempt to take the examination within two years from the date your application is approved.
- 3) Q: What is meant by "attempt to take the examination?"
  - A: You must register and take the examination.
- 4) Q: If the statutes or rules of the boards or programs do not set time limits on taking and passing the examination, and the only requirement left for me to become licensed is to pass the examination, and within the two year period I should fail the examination, re-register for the examination, but fail again, will my application be abandoned because I could not pass the examination within two years?
  - A: Your application will not be abandoned because you would have demonstrated your efforts to take the examination by registering for and taking the examination.

(NOTE: Our office will only be notified of your efforts if you take the examination as a Hawaii candidate. Examination results will not automatically be provided to our office if you sit for the examination via another state board. Therefore, if you are in this situation, please arrange for the test results to be sent to us).

- 5) Q: What does it mean if my application is abandoned?
  - A: It means that your application is no longer valid, will be destroyed, and you shall be required to reapply and comply with the requirements for licensure at the time of the reapplication. To reapply, you must submit a new application and you will be required to comply with the licensing requirements and pay fees that are in effect at the time you submit your new application.

- 6) Q: Will you be providing a notice to me before my application is abandoned?
  - A: It is not required that we notify you before your application is abandoned. However, some boards and programs have taken the initiative to send out notifications.
- 7) Q: Will any of the documents that supplemented my first application be saved in case I need to reapply?
  - A: No. When you reapply, you will need to again provide us with documentation.
- 8) Q: Will the application fee that I paid with my first application carry over to cover the application fee for my new application?
  - A: No. You will be required to again pay the non-refundable application fee.
- 9) Q: If my application has not been destroyed does this mean that it has not yet been deemed "abandoned?"
  - A: No. Simply because an application has not been destroyed does not mean that it has not been deemed abandoned.
- 10) Q: If I am currently unable to complete the licensing process (eg., no continued effort), how do I prevent my application from being abandoned?
  - A: You have two years to complete the licensing process. However, if you are unable to show continued effort for two consecutive years but you still intend to complete the licensing process, you must send a written communication to the board or program **prior** to the two year expiration explaining why you are unable to complete the licensing process within two years. Your written communication shall also request approval to complete the licensing process by a specific date after the two year expiration. You will be advised whether your request is approved or disapproved. If disapproved, your application will be destroyed and you will need to reapply for licensure.
- 11) Q: Who do I contact to find out if my application is soon to be abandoned?
  - A: You may contact the Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000.