REQUIREMENTS FOR COMMUNITY SERVICE LICENSE - DENTAL HYGIENIST

Access this form via website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/dentist

AGE	Be at least 18 years of age.
APPLICATION	Complete the on-line fillable application form by typing or print <i>legibly</i> in dark ink and sign application. Applicants are subject to requirements in effect at the time of filing.
	• Failure to provide the requested information will result in this form being returned to you for completion.
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER	Your Social Security Number is used to verify your identity for licensing purposes and for compliance with the below laws. For a license to be issued, you must provide your Social Security Number or your application will be deemed deficient and will not be processed further. The following laws require that you furnish your Social Security Number to our agency. <u>FEDERAL LAWS:</u> 42 U.S.C.A. §666(a)(13) requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and if you are a licensed health care practitioner, 45 C.F.R., Part 61, Subpart B, §61.7 requires the Social Security Number as part of the mandatory reporting we must do to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB), of any final adverse licensing action against a licensed health care practitioner. <u>HAWAII REVISED STATUTES ("HRS"):</u> §576D-13(j), HRS requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and \$436B-10(4), HRS which states that an applicant for license; and \$436B-10(4), HRS which states that an applicant for license shall provide the applicant's Social Security Number if the licensing authority is authorized by federal law to require the disclosure (and by the federal cites shown above, we are authorized to require the Social Security Number).
FEES	ATTACH fee of \$175 (\$75 - Application* + \$50 - License + \$50 - Compliance Resolution Fund) .
	Make check payable to: COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS . (check must be in U.S. dollars and be from a U.S. financial institution.)
	*Application fee is not refundable.
	NOTE: One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to be issued is the payment of fees as set forth in this application. You may be sent a license certificate before the check you sent us for your required fees clears your bank. If your check is returned to us unpaid, you will have failed to pay the required licensing fee and your license will not be valid, and you may not do business under that license. Also, a \$25.00 service fee will be charged for checks which are returned by the bank.
	If for any reason you are denied the license you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as provided by Title 16, Chapter 201, Hawaii Administrative Rules, and/or Chapter 91, Hawaii Revised Statutes. Your written request for a hearing must be directed to the agency that denied your application, and must be made within 60 days of notification that your application for a license has been denied.
FAILURE OF EXAMINATION	Any person who has failed the Hawaii Dental Hygiene licensure examination or one of the four regional clinical examinations specified in section 447-1(b), Hawaii Revised Statutes, <u>after 7/2/2004</u> shall not have the benefit of a community service license.
DENTAL HYGIENIST GRADUATE	Be a graduate of a dental hygiene program accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation. <u>ATTACH</u> a copy of diploma.
NATIONAL BOARD EXAMINATION	Pass National Board Dental Hygiene Examination. <u>Arrange</u> to have the final report of the National Board Examination Data Score Card forwarded to the Board or attach an <u>original</u> score card to license application. Copies are not acceptable. Contact the National Board at: (312) 440-2678 to request that scores be sent to the Board. If your examination is beyond the 5-year limit of recognition and unable to qualify pursuant to the alternative below, make arrangements with the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations to retake the examination, if applicable.
OR	

ACTIVE CLINICAL DENTAL HYGIENE PRACTICE	Alternatively, provide evidence of active clinical dental hygiene practice of not less than 1,000 hours per year for the 3 years immediately prior to the date of application by having another licensed dentist/dental hygienist complete the attached "Verification of active Clinical Dental Hygiene Practice" form.			
LICENSE VERIFICATION	All applicants for a community service license MUST hold an active, unrestricted license from another state. Have all jurisdictions where you hold or held a license at any time, complete the attached "Verification of License" form. This "Verification" form may be duplicated as needed. Allow at least 6 weeks for other jurisdictions to complete the form. Some jurisdictions charge a fee for verification service. Contact the appropriate licensing agency for information on requirements. The applicant is responsible for any fees incurred.			
EMPLOYMENT	<u>Attach</u> an original letter of employment prepared by your prospective employer giving specific employment dates. Also, have your prospective employer provide documentation of qualifying as a federally qualified health center, Native Hawaiian health care system, or post-secondary dental auxiliary training program accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation.			
TERMINATION OF EMPLOYMENT	Pursuant to Chapter 447, Hawaii Revised Statutes, a community service license authorizes the licensee to practice dental hygiene only within the employment of an eligible organization and shall be in force until the date the person leaves the employment authorized under the community service license. Therefore, employers shall inform the Board's office when the employment of the community service licensee expires or terminates.			
CONTINUING EDUCATION ("CE")	Community Service licensees shall actively participate in a formal and ongoing program of clinical quality assurance. Dental hygienists are required to complete 10 hours of CE credits.			
RENEWAL	Licenses expire after one (1) year and may be renewed prior to the expiration date on a year to year basis. It is the responsibility of the licensee to contact the Board's office at (808) 586-3000 to request a renewal application or you may download form from our website at: <u>cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/dentist</u> . The failure to timely renew a license, including payment of fees and completion of the continuing education requirement, shall cause the license to be automatically forfeited.			
RELEASE OF INFORMATION	If an agency or individual is assisting you with the licensure process, we will not be able to release any information to them unless you provide us with authorization. If you wish to do so, please complete the portion of <u>Release of</u> Information to Third Party, sign and date it.			
ADDRESS OF BOARD				
ADDRESS OF BOARD LAWS & RULES PUBLICATION	Information to Third Party, sign and date it. Mail all required items to: Deliver to office location at: Board of Dentistry 335 Merchant St., Room 301 DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch OR P. O. Box 3469 Phone: (808) 586-3000			
LAWS & RULES	Information to Third Party, sign and date it. Mail all required items to: Deliver to office location at: Board of Dentistry 335 Merchant St., Room 301 DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch OR P. O. Box 3469 Honolulu, HI 96813 Honolulu, HI 96801 Phone: (808) 586-3000 A copy of the laws, Chapter 447, Hawaii Revised Statutes, and Rules, Chapter 79, Hawaii Administrative Rules, relating to the practice of dentistry may be obtained by submitting a written request to the address above. Chapter 436B, Hawaii Revised Statutes, the Professional and Vocational Licensing Act should be read in			

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.

APPLICATION FOR COMMUNITY SERVICE	E LICENSE - DENTAL		🗌 diploma				
Access this form via website at: <u>cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/dentist</u>			□ NB (w/in 5 yrs) <u>OR</u>	Employmen	t Ltr		
Follow the instructions and read requirements.			Lic Verif				
Legal Name (First, Middle)	(Last)	_		Initials/Date:			
			Approved				
Residence Address (Include apt. no., city, state & zip c		_	License No.	Eff. Date:			
Residence Address (include apr. no., city, state & zip c			Freedower	Eve Deter			
		NON I	Employer: xxx-	Exp. Date:			
		USE					
Mailing Address (ONLY if different from residence)	Social Security No.	OFFICE USE ONLY					
		NOF					
	Phone No. (Days)	FOR					
Employer Name & Address:	Date of Birth	-					
Employer Name & Address:	Date of Birth						
		_					
	Other names used:						
Check answers and give details when required:							
1) Are you at least 18 years of age?				Yes	No		
2) Are you a U.S. citizen, a U.S. nationa	al, or an alien authorized to work in the	e Uni	ted States?	Yes	No		
3) Are you a graduate of an ADA accre	3) Are you a graduate of an ADA accredited program?						
4) Have you taken and passed all part	s of the National Board exam within t	he pa	ast five years?	Yes	No		
5) Do you presently hold or have you	ever held a license in any other state of	or cou	untry?	Yes	No		
Where?	Date Licensed:						
6) Has any license ever been suspend	ed, revoked or otherwise subject to di	scipli	nary action?	Yes	No		
7) Are there any disciplinary actions p	ending against you?			Yes	No		
(If "YES" to questions 6 or 7, attach documents sent to the Board.)	(If "YES" to questions 6 or 7, attach a detailed statement and arrange to have certified						
8) Have you actively practiced clinical	dental hygiene of not less than 1,000	hour	s per year for the three				
years immediately prior to the date	of application?			Yes	No		
	entist or dental hygienist complete th actice" form and attach to vour appli						
Active Clinical Dental Hygiene Practice" form and attach to your application if applicable.)							
9) Have you previously taken and failed the Hawaii dental hygiene licensure examination or one of the four regional dental hygiene examination after 07/02/04?				No			
If "YES", date of examination:							
10) Have you ever had or have pending				Yes	No		
personal or professional miscondu (If "YES", explain on separate shee	ct?	••••					
				Yes			
11) Have you ever been convicted of a crime in any jurisdiction that has not been annulled or expunged? \square^{Yes} \square^{No} (If "YES", attach a detailed statement and court documentation on the date, place,							
	ulfillment of conditions of each sente		F				

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2)

Appl	168	\$75
Lic	173	\$50
CRF	169	\$50
Service Fee	BCF	\$25

APPLICATION FOR COMMUNITY SERVICE LICENSE - DENTAL HYGIENIST

Print Name of Applicant:

Date:

	Dates (mo/yr)		Semester or	Degree Earned	Name of Institution	Location
	From	То	Credit Hrs	& Date Earned	Name of Institution	(City/Country)
					College/University (other than dental)	
TION						
EDUCATION					Dental	
					Graduate	

AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT:

I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them truthfully and completely, without reservations of any kind. I hereby authorize educational and other institutions, employers (past and present), business and professional associates (past and present), and all governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local, state, federal or foreign), to release to the Board of Dentistry of the State of Hawaii any information, files or records requested by the Board in connection with the processing of this application.

I hereby expressly waive all provisions of law forbidding any physician or other person who has attended or examined me, or who may hereafter attend or examine me, from disclosing any knowledge or information which is thereby acquired, and I hereby consent that any knowledge or information be disclosed to the Board of Dentistry in the State of Hawaii.

I hereby certify that the statements, answers, and representations made in this application and in the documents submitted are true and correct. I understand that any misrepresentation is grounds for refusal or subsequent revocation of license and is a misdemeanor (Section 710-1017, Sections 436B-19, and 448-17, Hawaii Revised Statutes).

I further certify that I have read, understand, and agree to the provisions of Chapters 447 and 436B, Hawaii Revised Statutes, and Chapter 79, Hawaii Administrative Rules.

Signature of Applicant

Date

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 3)

APPLICATION FOR COMMUNITY SERVICE LICENSE - DENTAL HYGIENIST

Print Name of Applicant:

Date:

Release of Information to Third Party:

To assist me in the licensing process, I authorize the Board of Dentistry and DCCA's staff to release any and all information regarding my application (including but not limited to, application status, examination scores, disciplinary or criminal history, National Practitioner Data Bank Report) to the following third party:

Name of Individual who is assisting you:

Name of Organization:

Address of Organization:

Signature of Applicant

Date

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.