FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

ELECTRICIANS & PLUMBERS

ELECTRICIANS

Q: What are the requirements for licensure?

A: 1) Provide verification of the following:

TYPE OF LICENSE	LICENSE TYPE CODE	REQUIREMENTS
Journey Worker Electrician	EJ	5 years but not less than 10,000 hours in residential or commercial wiring <u>and</u> satisfactory completion accepted by a University of Hawaii Community College offering an appropriate program of study of 240 hours of electrical academic coursework.
Supervising Electrician	ES	4 years experience as a licensed journey worker electrician or equivalent.
Journey Worker Industrial Electrician	EJI	4 years but not less than 8,000 hours and satisfactory completion accepted by a University of Hawaii Community College offering an appropriate program of study of 200 hours of electrical academic coursework.
Supervising Industrial Electrician	ESI	3 years experience as a licensed journey worker industrial electrician or equivalent.
Journey Worker Specialty Electrician	EJS	3 years but not less than 6,000 hours and satisfactory completion accepted by a University of Hawaii Community College offering an appropriate program of study of 120 hours of electrical academic coursework.
Supervising Specialty Electrician	ESS	2 years experience as a licensed journey worker specialty electrician or equivalent.
Maintenance Electrician	EM	1 year electrical maintenance wiring <u>and</u> satisfactory completion accepted by a University of Hawaii Community College offering an appropriate program of study of 80 hours of electrical academic

coursework <u>or</u> 2 years of schooling in the trade with not less than 1,000 hours of hands-on lab exercises.

- 2) Pass the Board's examination.
- Q: How do I submit my electrical academic coursework material for review to the Honolulu Community College if it is not on the list of Approved Academic Coursework (<u>http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/news-releases/ep_announcement/</u>) Required by HRS 448E-5?
- A: Provide the following when submitting material for academic course work review:
 - <u>Verification of Completion</u>: Honolulu Community College requires official verification of completion documents that you completed training through an apprenticeship program, collegiate program of study, Military training, or a combination of each.
 - Program and Course Description: Provide detailed program and course descriptions from your respective training program. These documents are used to determine if the appropriate electrical content areas as defined by Hawaii Revised Statutes, §448E-5(b), minimum requirements, are included as part of the training program.
 - 3) <u>Contact Information</u>: Name, primary phone, mailing address, email address
 - 4) Submit all documents and associated fees for review to:

Email: <u>honcet@hawaii.edu</u>

or

Mail to: Honolulu Community College Attention: Non Credit Registration Office 874 Dillingham Boulevard Honolulu, HI 96817

Q: How are applications obtained?

- A: You may:
 - Download the application at: <u>http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/electrician/application_publication;</u>
 - 2) Call (808) 586-3000 to request an application; or

3) Submit a written request to: Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs Professional & Vocational Licensing Branch P.O. Box 3469 Honolulu, HI 96801

Q: What are the fees involved in obtaining and maintaining licensure?

- A: Application Fee: \$40.00
 - Examination Fee: \$95.00
 - License Fee: \$306.00 if licensed between July 1 and June 30 of the 1st year of the triennium (2017, 2020, 2023, 2026); \$204.00 if licensed between July 1 and June 30 of the 2nd year of
 - the triennium (2018, 2021, 2024);
 - \$102.00 if licensed between July 1 and June 30 of the 3rd year of the triennium (2019, 2022, 2025).
 - Renewal Fee: for the biennium of July 2017 June 2020 the renewal fee is \$306.00

Q: What electrical code is being used in the current electricians' examinations?

- A: The 2008 National Electrical Code ("NEC").
- Q: When do licensed electricians renew their licenses?
- A: Licensed electricians are required to renew their licenses on or before June 30 every three years: 2020, 2023, 2026, etc.

Q: Are electricians required to meet continued competency requirements to renew their licenses?

A: All licensed electricians except the maintenance electricians must meet continued competency requirements to renew their license.

Q: What is required of electricians to show proof of completing the continued competency requirement?

A: The licensee shall submit (1) a copy of a certificate from a University of Hawaii Community College evidencing attendance at an update course of the "NEC". *Note: For the 2020 renewal, the course shall reflect updates to the 2017 National Electrical Code.*

UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII COMMUNITY COLLEGES

OAHU

Office of Continuing Education Honolulu Community College 874 Dillingham Boulevard Honolulu, Hawaii 96817 Phone: (808) 845-9296 Email: <u>honcet@hawaii.edu</u>

HAWAII

EDvance 1175 Manono St. Bldg. 379-A, Room 3 Hilo, HI 96720 Phone: (808) 934-2700 Fax: (808) 934-2701 Email: edvance@hawaii.edu https://edvance.hawaii.hawaii.edu

MAUI EdVenture 310 W. Kaʻahumanu Ave. Kahului, Hawaii 96732 Phone: (808) 984-3231 FAX: (808) 984-3874 Email: <u>info@edventuremaui.com</u> http://maui.hawaii.edu/edventure

KAUAI

Kauai Community College Office of Continuing Education & Training 3-1901 Kaumualii Hwy. Lihue, HI 96766 Phone: (808) 245-8318 <u>https://sites.google.com/a/hawaii.edu/officeof-continuing-education</u>

Q: Will taking a continuing competency course automatically renew my license?

A: No. In order to renew your license, you need to: 1) submit a renewal application; 2) pay your renewal fee; 3) submit proof of completing a continuing competency requirement.

Q: What is the easiest way to renew my license?

A: Renew online at <u>https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/mypvl</u>

Q: Does the Board accept any other National Electrical Code update course at another institute other than at any of the State's Community Colleges?

A: Currently, the University of Hawaii Community College system has deemed only two other update courses equivalent to their own: The Hawaii Electricians Training Fund and Associated Builders and Contractors ("ABC"). Further inquiries regarding equivalency of courses should be directed to the Honolulu Community College.

Q: If an electrician (other than a maintenance electrician) is newly licensed in the immediate 12 months before license renewal, is that electrician licensee required to meet the continued competency requirement to renew the license?

A: No, electricians licensed within one year of the renewal date are not required to submit proof of meeting the continued competency requirements.

PLUMBERS

Q: What are the requirements for licensure?

A:

TYPE OF LICENSE	LICENSE	HOURS / YEARS REQUIRED
Journey Worker Plumber	<u>TYPE CODE</u> PJ	5 years but not less than 10,000 hours of plumbing work in compliance with the Uniform Plumbing Code (UPC).
Master Plumber	PM	2 years experience as a licensed journey worker plumber or equivalent.

Q: How are applications obtained?

- A: You may:
 - 1) Download the application at http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/electrician/application_publication/
 - 2) Call (808) 586-3000 to request an application; or

3)	Submit a written request to:	Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs Professional & Vocational Licensing Branch
		P.O. Box 3469
		Honolulu, HI 96801

Q: What are the fees involved in obtaining and maintaining licensure?

- A: Application Fee: \$40.00
 - Examination Fee: \$90.00
 - License Fee: \$306.00 if licensed between July 1 and June 30 of the 1st year of the triennium (2018, 2021, 2024);
 - \$204.00 if licensed between July 1 and June 30 of the 2nd year of the triennium (2019, 2022, 2025);
 - \$102.00 if licensed between July 1 and June 30 of the 3rd year of the triennium (2023, 2026, 2029).
 - Renewal Fee: for the biennium of July 2015 June 2018 the renewal fee is \$276.00

Q: What plumbing code is being used in the current plumbers' examinations?

A: The 2006 Uniformed Plumbing Code ("UPC").

Q: When do licensed plumbers renew their licenses?

A: Licensed plumbers are required to renew their licenses on or before June 30 every three years: 2018, 2021, 2024, etc.

Q: Are plumbers required to meet continued competency requirements to renew their licenses?

A: Prior to every license renewal, all licensed plumbers must meet continued competency requirements to renew their license.

Q: What is required of plumbers to show proof of completing the continued competency requirement?

A: The licensee shall submit a copy of a certificate from a University of Hawaii Community College evidencing attendance at an update course of the "UPC".

UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII COMMUNITY COLLEGES

OAHU

Office of Continuing Education Honolulu Community College 874 Dillingham Boulevard Honolulu, Hawaii 96817 Phone: (808) 845-9296 Email: <u>honcet@hawaii.edu</u>

MAUI EdVenture 310 W. Kaʿahumanu Ave. Kahului, Hawaii 96732 Phone: (808) 984-3231 FAX: (808) 984-3874 Email: <u>info@edventuremaui.com</u> <u>http://maui.hawaii.edu/edventure</u> HAWAII EDvance 1175 Manono St. Bldg. 379-A, Room 3 Hilo, HI 96720 Phone: (808) 934-2700 Fax: (808) 934-2701 Email: edvance@hawaii.edu https://edvance.hawaii.hawaii.edu

KAUAI Kauai Community College Office of Continuing Education & Training 3-1901 Kaumualii Hwy. Lihue, HI 96766 Phone: (808) 245-8318 https://sites.google.com/a/hawaii.edu/officeof-continuing-education

Q: Does the Board accept any other Uniform Plumbing Code update course at another institute other than at any of the State's Community Colleges?

A: Currently, the University of Hawaii Community College system is the only institution approved to develop and teach these courses. Further inquiries regarding equivalency of courses should be directed to the Honolulu Community College.

Q: If a plumber is newly licensed in the immediate 12 months before license renewal, is that plumber licensee required to meet the continued competency requirement to renew the licensee's license?

A: No. Plumbers licensed within one year of the renewal date are not required to submit proof of meeting the continued competency requirements.

Q: Will taking a continuing competency course automatically renew my license?

A: No. In order to renew your license you need to: 1) submit a renewal application; 2) pay your renewal fee; 3) submit proof of completing a continuing competency requirement.

Q: What is the easiest way to renew my license?

A: Renew online at <u>https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/mypvl</u>

ELECTRICIANS & PLUMBERS

- Q: If an electrician or plumber licensee fails to restore a license w/in one year of the renewal date, will that licensee be made to reapply and retake the licensing examination?
- A: Yes. To avoid having to reapply and retake the examination, it is highly recommended that you restore your license within one year of the date of forfeiture.
- Q: What agency has jurisdiction over permitting requirements and electrical or plumbing codes?
- A: The various County Building Departments. (Honolulu, Hawaii, Maui, Kauai)

Q: Does Hawaii have reciprocal agreements with other states?

A: No. All applicants must meet the same licensing and examination requirements.

Q: Can a licensed electrician or plumber offer to perform or enter into a contract to perform electrical or plumbing work?

A: No. An electrical or plumbing contractor's license is required. There is only one exception when a licensed electrician or plumber may offer to perform or enter into a contract to perform electrical or plumbing work and that is if the project for which the aggregate contract price for labor, materials, taxes, and all other items is not more than \$1,000 and it does not require an electrical or plumbing permit.