# BEHAVIOR ANALYST LICENSURE Frequently Asked Questions

#### 1. How do I qualify for licensure?

A license may be issued to applicants who have passed the Board Certified Behavior Analyst (BCBA) examination and maintain active status with the Behavior analyst Certification Board (BACB) as a board certified behavior analyst or board certified behavior analyst-doctoral.

Alternatively, a license may be issued through licensure by endorsement. To qualify through this route, the applicant must hold a current and unencumbered license in another state, provided that the requirements in that state at the time the applicant was licensed are equivalent or higher than Hawaii's.

#### 2. Where do I obtain an application for licensure?

Applications for licensure are posted on our web site at <u>https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl</u>.

To request an application be mailed to you, please provide the following: \*Name

\*Mailing address

\*Type of application

#### 3. How much are the licensing fees?

For licenses issued between January 1 of an even-numbered year to December 31 of an odd-numbered year, the cost is \$310.00

For licenses issued between January 1 of an odd-numbered year to December 31 of an even-numbered year, the cost is \$200.00

#### 4. How long does it take to process an application?

It takes approximately 15 to 20 business days to process an application for **completeness** ensuring that all fields are completed and all requirements (i.e. fees, verifications, certification, etc.) are met. Provided that you have submitted a **completed** application and there are no issues with it, a license may then be issued.

Should there be "Issues" (i.e. disciplinary action in another state, criminal conviction, etc.) with an application, further review may be warranted.

### 5. How do I follow up on the status of my application?

To check on the status of your application, please call the Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000, between 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Hawaiian Standard Time.

## 6. After licensure, how often will I have to renew?

You will need to renew by December 31 of every odd-numbered year. A notice of renewal will be sent to you approximately two months prior to the renewal.

### 7. Are there continuing education (CE) requirements for licensure renewal?

No, there are no CE requirements for renewal.

### 8. Can I place my license on inactive status?

Yes, behavior analysts have the option to place their license on inactive.

## 9. Where can I find the licensing law and administrative rules?

Return to the behavior analyst home page and click on "Statute/Rule Chapter".

# 10.1 did not renew my license. How do I restore it?

Licenses that are not renewed by December 31 of every odd-numbered year become forfeited. A forfeited license may be restored within one year of the forfeiture. To restore a license, you may email the program (from the link on the behavior analyst home page) or call the Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000 between 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Hawaiian Standard Time, and request to have a restoration application form sent to you.