DAVID Y. IGE

SHAN S. TSUTSUI LT. GOVERNOR



CATHERINE P. AWAKUNI COLÓN DIRECTOR

CELIA C. SUZUKI LICENSING ADMINISTRATOR

BOARD OF PHARMACY

STATE OF HAWAII PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL LICENSING DIVISION DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS P.O. Box 3469 HONOLULU, HAWAII 96801 cca.hawaii.gov/pvl

April 2015

Continuing Education Requirement for Pharmacists Licensed in the State of Hawaii

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

1. When did the law take effect?

Governor Lingle signed Act 165 on July 2, 2004, officially making Hawaii the last state to require continuing education ("CE") as a condition for re-licensure for pharmacists. (See §461-8, Hawaii Revised Statutes ("HRS"))

2. What does the law require?

All Hawaii licensed pharmacists must complete a minimum of 30 hours of approved continuing education during each licensing biennium and prior to December 31 of every odd numbered year (when pharmacists renew).

3. When does a Hawaii licensed pharmacist need to meet these new CE requirements?

Regardless of the licensee's initial date of licensure, each licensee is required to complete 30 hours of CE, provided that a licensee who has graduated from an American College of Pharmaceutical Education nka Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education ("ACPE") accredited pharmacy school within one year of the licensee's first license renewal period, shall not be subject to the CE requirement for the first license renewal.

Continuing Education Requirement for Pharmacists Licensed in the State of Hawaii

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

4. What courses qualify as CE?

"Continuing education courses" mean courses approved by the ACPE.

"Credit hours", except as otherwise provided, means the value assigned to sixty minutes of instruction.

All ACPE approved courses are acceptable towards the CE requirement.

5. What happens if I do not complete the required 30 hours before my license is renewed?

You may not renew your pharmacist license nor will you be allowed to work as a pharmacist in this State until that time your license is restored by submitting the renewal/restoration application and your CE completion certificates, as well as any applicable fees.

Also, since the pharmacy permit has a dependency with the pharmacist-in-charge, as the pharmacist-in-charge of record, if your pharmacist license is not renewed, the permit for the pharmacy will not be processed and no business shall be conducted until the permit and license is renewed.

6. Are there exceptions for not completing the CE requirement?

Yes. The Board of Pharmacy *may* extend the deadline for compliance with the CE requirement based on any of the following:

- (1) Illness, as certified by a physician licensed under Chapter 453 or 460, or licensed in the jurisdiction in which the licensee was treated;
- (2) Military service under extended active duty with the armed forces of the United States;
- Lack of access to continuing education courses due to practice of pharmacy in geographically isolated areas; and
- (4) Inability to undertake continuing education due to incapacity, undue hardship, or other extenuating circumstances.

You must submit documentation to substantiate the reason for not being able to complete the CE requirement for Board review and approval of any extension request prior to the renewal and expiration of your license.

* If you renew you pharmacist license but have not completed the CE requirements, your license may be subject to disciplinary action.

Continuing Education Requirement for Pharmacists Licensed in the State of Hawaii

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

7. Do I need to submit proof of CE when I renew my license?

No. When you renew, if you completed the CE requirement, you will be able to sign an attestation that you completed the CE requirement. After the renewal period, the Board will conduct a random audit; those selected will be notified by mail to submit proof of their CE within 60 days of notification.

If you are selected and you fail to meet the CE requirement, disciplinary action will be taken against your pharmacist license for failing to comply with the CE requirement and for submitting a false statement on your renewal application which can result in a fine, revocation, suspension or other disciplinary action against your pharmacist license.