## HAWAII BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN OPTOMETRY

Frequently Asked Questions

# 1. What are the requirements to become licensed as an optometrist in Hawaii?

All applicants are required to:

- Be a graduate from an Accreditation Council on Optometric Education ("ACOE") optometric college, school, or university approved by the Board;
- Pass the National Board of Examiners in Optometry ("NBEO") Exam parts I, II, and III;
- Submit payment of the appropriate fees.
  If license is issued in an EVEN-NUMBERED year = \$242.
  If license is issued in an ODD-NUMBERED year = \$107

To become licensed in Hawaii via **reciprocity**, an optometrist who has a current and active license in another state or jurisdiction may seek licensure via reciprocity, subject to the following:

- The originating state accords like privileges to the licensees of this State;
- The education requirements of the originating state are equivalent or greater than those of this State, as specified in §459-7, Hawaii Revised Statutes ("HRS");
- The applicant has met the requirements of §16-92-10, Hawaii Administrative Rules ("HAR")';
- The applicant has passed the NBEO Exam parts I, II, and III;
- The applicant has been engaged in the practice of optometry continuously for not less than four of the five years immediately preceding the date of the application;
- The applicant has not committed acts which constitute professional misconduct, gross carelessness or negligence, or manifest incapacity in the practice of optometry;

A verification of license from all states or jurisdictions in which the applicant is licensed indicating that the license is in good standing and has not been or is not currently in the process of being investigated, suspended or revoked by that state.

# 2. What are the requirements to obtain a Therapeutic Pharmaceutical Agent ("TPA") certification in Hawaii?

All applicants are required to:

- Be a licensed optometrist in Hawaii;
- Complete a 100-hour board-approved course in the treatment and management of ocular diseases. Graduates from an approved optometric school after January 1, 1997, may satisfy this requirement by having the school submit written verification that the applicant has completed at least 100 hours of education in the treatment and management of ocular diseases.
- Pass the NBEO Treatment and Management of Ocular Disease ("TMOD") examination.
- Completion of 100 hours of preceptorship under the supervision of a licensed ophthalmologist. Preceptorship hours must be earned after July 2, 1997.
- > Submit payment of the appropriate fees of \$42.00.

### 3. Where can I get an application from?

You may download the application for Optometrist license and the application for TPA Certification forms and instructions from the Board's website at: <u>http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/optometry/</u>

To request an application be mailed to you, please call the Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000 and provide the following:

Name Mailing address Specify the type of application

### 4. How long does it take to process an application?

It takes approximately 15 to 20 business days to process an application for **completeness** ensuring that all fields are completed and all requirements (i.e. fees, verifications, certification, etc.) are met. Provided that you have submitted a **completed** application and there are no deficiencies, a license may then be issued. (See Disciplinary Action below).

# 5. How do I follow up on the status of my application?

To check on the status of your application, please call the Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000, between 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Hawaiian Standard Time.

## 6. After licensure, how often will I have to renew?

You will need to renew by December 31 of every odd-numbered year. A notice of renewal will be sent to you approximately two months prior to the renewal.

# 7. Are there continuing education ("CE") requirements for licensure renewal?

Yes. Each licensee shall submit the required CE hours upon renewal. For details on the Optometrist CE requirements, please visit the Board's website at <u>http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/optometry/</u> and click on "Optometry Important Announcements".

# 8. Where can I find the licensing law and administrative rules?

Return to the Board's home page and click on "Statute/Rule Chapter".

### 9. I did not renew my license. How do I restore it?

Licenses that are not renewed by December 31 of every odd-numbered year become forfeited. A forfeited license may be restored within four years of the forfeiture. To restore a license, you may call the Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000 between 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Hawaiian Standard Time, and request to have a restoration application form sent to you.

### 10. Disciplinary Action

- a) Has any license/certification/registration ever been suspended, revoked or otherwise subject to disciplinary action?
- b) Are there any disciplinary actions pending against you?
- c) Have you ever been convicted of a crime in any jurisdiction that has

not been annulled or expunged?

If you answered "YES" to any of the above, you will need to submit:

- A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances; and
- Copies of any documents from the agency, including final orders, petitions, complaints, findings of fact and conclusions of law, and any other relevant documents.

If your application indicates a **criminal conviction**, you must submit the following:

- A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances leading to the conviction and detailing all activities since the conviction, including employment and business involvements. Include job title, period of employment, employer's name, description of duties, training attended, and educational courses attended.
- A copy of the court order, verdict, and terms of sentence; and
- A current criminal history record check in your name dated within six months of the date your application is received from the state where the conviction occurred and the state where you currently reside if different. In Hawaii, you may obtain a criminal history record check from the Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center. Contact them at (808) 587-3100 or visit their website at: ecrim.ehawaii.gov to request a "Criminal History Record Check" form;
- If applicable, a copy of the terms of probation and/or parole and a statement from your probation or parole officer as to your compliance with the court orders (terms and conditions imposed including any court documentation).

For general questions (e.g., change of address, name change, duplicate pocket card, etc.) please visit the Professional and Vocational Licensing Division's website at <u>http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/</u> FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions).