HAWAII BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What are the requirements to become licensed in Hawaii?

Dentist: All applicants are required to:

- Be eighteen years of age or more;
- Be a graduate from a dental school accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation ("CODA");
- Pass the National Board Dental Examination; and
- Pass the ADEX dental examination.

<u>Permit to Administer Deep Sedation/General Anesthesia/Moderate</u> Sedation

In order to receive a written authorization or permit, the licensed dentist shall apply to the board, pay an application fee, and submit documentary evidence showing that the educational and training requirements are met, pursuant to Chapter 16-79, Subchapter 8 Anesthesia, Hawaii Administrative Rules.

Dental Hygienist: All applicants are required to:

- Be eighteen years of age or more;
- Be a graduate from a dental hygiene school accredited by CODA;
- Be certified in the administration of intra-oral infiltration local anesthesia and intra-oral block anesthesia from an accredited dental hygiene school or certification program approved by the board;
- Pass the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination; and
- Pass one of the four regional clinical examinations given after February 1, 2005.

<u>Certification in the Administration of Intra-Oral Block Anesthesia</u> In order to receive the certification, the licensed dental hygienist shall apply to the board, pay an application fee, and submit documentary evidence of meeting the education and training requirements, pursuant to §447-3.5 Hawaii Revised Statutes.

NOTE: In order to become licensed in Hawaii, a person shall be a U.S. citizen, U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the U.S., and have a U.S. Social Security number.

2. How much are the licensing fees?

Dentist

For licenses issued between January 1 of an even-numbered year to December 31 of an odd-numbered year, the cost is \$448

For licenses issued between January 1 of an odd-numbered year to December 31 of an even-numbered year, the cost is \$294

Dental Hygienist

For licenses issued between January 1 of an even-numbered year to December 31 of an odd-numbered year, the cost is \$246

For licenses issued between January 1 of an odd-numbered year to December 31 of an even-numbered year, the cost is \$164

3. Where can I get an application from?

You may download application forms and instructions from the Board's website at: http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/dentist/

To request an application be mailed to you, please call the Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000 and provide the following:

Name Mailing address Specify the type of application

4. How long does it take to process an application?

It takes approximately 15 to 20 business days to process an application for **completeness** ensuring that all fields are completed and all requirements (i.e. fees, verifications, certification, etc.) are met. Provided that you have submitted a **completed** application and there are no deficiencies, a license may then be issued. (See Disciplinary Action below).

5. How do I follow up on the status of my application?

To check on the status of your application, please call the Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000, between 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Hawaiian Standard Time.

6. After licensure, how often will I have to renew?

You will need to renew by December 31 of every odd-numbered year. A notice of renewal will be sent to you approximately two months prior to the renewal.

7. Are there continuing education ("CE") requirements for licensure renewal?

Yes. Each licensee shall comply with the CE program applicable to their profession upon renewal. For details on the CE requirements, please visit the Board's website at http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/dentist/ and click on "Dentist and Dental Hygienist Important Announcements".

8. Where can I find the licensing law and administrative rules?

Return to the Board's home page and click on "Statute/Rule Chapter".

9. I did not renew my license. How do I restore it?

Licenses that are not renewed by December 31 of every odd-numbered year become forfeited. A forfeited license may be restored within two years of the forfeiture. In addition, a forfeited license may be restored within five years with additional requirements pursuant to §16-79-3.1(b) Hawaii Administrative Rules. To restore a license, you may call the Licensing Branch at (808) 586-3000 between 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Hawaiian Standard Time, and request to have a restoration application form sent to you.

10. Can I place my license on inactive status?

Yes, dentists and dental hygienists have the option to place their license on inactive status. Note that a license on inactive status shall be considered as "unlicensed" and shall not engage in the practice of dentistry or dental hygiene.

Community Service and Temporary licensees **do not** have the option to place their license on inactive status.

11. Disciplinary Action

- a) Has any license/certification/registration ever been suspended, revoked or otherwise subject to disciplinary action?
- b) Are there any disciplinary actions pending against you?
- c) Have you ever been convicted of a crime in any jurisdiction that has

not been annulled or expunged?

If you answered "YES" to any of the above, you will need to submit:

- A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances; and
- Copies of any documents from the agency, including final orders, petitions, complaints, findings of fact and conclusions of law, and any other relevant documents.

If your application indicates a **criminal conviction**, you must submit the following:

- A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances leading to the conviction and detailing all activities since the conviction, including employment and business involvements. Include job title, period of employment, employer's name, description of duties, training attended, and educational courses attended.
- A copy of the court order, verdict, and terms of sentence; and
- A current criminal history record check in your name dated within six months of the date your application is received from the state where the conviction occurred and the state where you currently reside if different. In Hawaii, you may obtain a criminal history record check from the Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center. Contact them at (808) 587-3100 or visit their website at: ecrim.ehawaii.gov to request a "Criminal History Record Check" form;
- If applicable, a copy of the terms of probation and/or parole and a statement from your probation or parole officer as to your compliance with the court orders (terms and conditions imposed including any court documentation).

For general questions (e.g., change of address, name changes, duplicate pocket card, etc.) please visit the Professional and Vocational Licensing Division's website at http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/ FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions).

12. Community Service License for Dentist or Dental Hygienist

The Board may issue, without examination, a community service license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene in the employment of the department of health, a federally qualified health center, Native Hawaiian health systems center, or post-secondary dental auxiliary training program accredited by CODA.

In order to be eligible for a community service dentist or a community service dental hygienist license, the licensed dentist or licensed dental hygienist shall apply to the board, pay and application fee, and submit the documentary evidence showing that the education and training requirements are met, pursuant to §448-9.6 or §447-1.5 Hawaii Revised Statutes.

13. Temporary License for Dentist or Dental Hygienist

The board of dental examiners may issue a temporary license without examination to any resident or nonresident otherwise qualified to be examined a temporary license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene in the employment of or while under contract with the State or any county, or any legally incorporated eleemosynary dispensary or infirmary, private school, or welfare center. The temporary license shall authorize the person to whom the license is issued to practice dentistry or dental hygiene exclusively while engaged in that employment, pursuant to §448-12 or §447-2 Hawaii Revised Statutes.

In addition, the Board of Dental Examiners may issue a temporary license without examination to any person otherwise qualified to be examined, who is enrolled in a post-doctoral residency program that is accredited and recognized by CODA.

For general questions (e.g. change of address, name change, duplicate pocket card, etc.) please visit the Professional and Vocational Licensing Division's website at http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/ and review the PVL FAQs.