
INFORMATION & INSTRUCTIONS – BARBER OR BEAUTY APPRENTICE 
(RETAIN FOR FUTURE REFERENCE) 

Access this form via our website at: http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/ 

This apprentice application is to be used for either Barber or Beauty Apprentice registration. Act 87, effective 
April 29, 1997, created a cross-over training provision that allows licensed barbers to train beauty apprentices in the 
hairdresser category, and licensed beauty operators in the hairdresser category to train barber apprentices.  The training 
can occur in either a licensed Barber or Beauty Shop. The trainers for the other beauty operator categories (esthetician and 
nail technician) shall be licensed beauty operators in the appropriate categories. 

Barber or Beauty apprenticeship is another pathway, other than schooling, to obtain training towards licensure.  The 
apprenticeship program provides the Registered Apprentice with an opportunity to learn and train in either the practice of 
barbering or cosmetology. 

Barber or Beauty Apprenticeship training information is as follows: 

1. 	 Apprenticeship training shall begin only after issuance of an Apprentice Permit that includes assignment of the
Apprentice Registration Number along with an effective date and an expiration date.

2. 	 The apprentice permit will be MAILED TO and ISSUED IN CARE OF THE SHOP identified on the application. Be
advised that apprentice registrations are mailed to the official mailing address of the shop as filed with the
Board.  If you prefer that your registrations be mailed directly to your Hawaii business address on record, we
ask that you provide either a self-addressed envelope or attach a mailing label with your Hawaii business
address when submitting your Apprentice Registrations for processing.

3. 	 Apprenticeship training shall occur only at licensed shops under supervision of licensed barbers or beauty
operators in the appropriate license category. It is the responsibility of the apprentice applicant to seek the shop
and supervisor willing to participate in the apprenticeship training.

4. 	 The apprenticeship training curriculum is provided for in the Administrative Rules of the Board of Barbering and
Cosmetology: 
 

HAR §16-73-20.5 for barber apprentices, and 
 
HAR §16-78-19 for beauty apprentices. 
 

5. 	 These are the minimum hours of apprenticeship training required for the following license categories:

LICENSE CATEGORIES	 APPRENTICESHIP HOURS

Barber.......................................................................................................... 1,500 
 
Cosmetologist (Hairdresser, Esthetician and Nail Technician) .............................. 3,600 
 
Hairdresser (Hair only) ................................................................................... 2,500 
 
Esthetician (Skin Care and Makeup)................................................................. 1,200 
 
Nail Technician (Manicure and Pedicure) .......................................................... 700 
 

6. 	The MAXIMUM length of time of apprenticeship training for the beauty apprentice is 42 months at a minimum
of 20 hours a week; the MAXIMUM for the barber apprentice is 12 months for initial training and 6 months for
remedial training.

7. 	 The licensed beauty operator shall be able to train only one (1) apprentice per apprenticeship period, and the
licensed barber shall be able to train two (2) apprentices during the apprenticeship period.  In order to be the
licensed supervisor, the beauty operator or barber must have at least one year of licensed experience.

8.	 Training Progress Reports provide condensed information about the progress of the apprentice by subject,
hours, and/or number of operations and procedures on a monthly basis.  The SHOP OWNER and SUPERVISING
OPERATOR SHALL BE RESPONSIBLE for the accuracy and submission of the apprentice's Training Progress
Reports which are to be turned in to the Board on a periodic basis, and copies of the report should be also
provided to the apprentice, supervisor and shop owner.  The "CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION/Withdrawal from
Apprenticeship Training" form should be used to indicate the total amount of training credited to the apprentice.

9. 	Any CHANGES that impact the apprenticeship program, the registered apprentice, the supervising operator,
and/or the shop must be reported to the Board. A new application and fees must be submitted when changing
supervisors and/or shops.

10. 	 Prior barber/beauty training (schooling or apprenticeship) will generally be recognized provided the training is not
more than three (3) years old and verification of the training is provided to the Board.  The Board relies on the
shop and supervisor after an evaluation to determine the amount of hours that can be credited.
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11. 	 UPON COMPLETION of the apprenticeship training, the apprentice is responsible to apply for a barber or beauty 
operator license by completing a Barber or Beauty Operator Application.  The type and amount of training should 
determine the appropriate license category.  For applications, call our office at (808) 586-3000 or access an 
application via our website at:http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/. Click on "Barbering and Cosmetology".

Apprentice Registration Requirements 

AGE	 	 17 years of age for Barber apprentices. 
16 years of age for Beauty apprentices. 

EDUCATION	 	 COSMETOLOGY (All categories) applicants only: 

Provide evidence of having an education equivalent to the completion of high school.  All 
documents must be in ENGLISH. Any of the following may be acceptable: 

1. 	 Photocopy of a high school diploma or a General Education Certificate (GED);
2. 	 Transcript of high school record;
3. 	 Official statement of having a high school education from an official of the school or

other authority; or
4. 	 Evidence of graduating or attending college.

NOTE: Documents written in a FOREIGN language must be translated into English. Submit 
a copy of the foreign document, an original English translation, which includes a statement 
that the translation is accurate AND that the translator is fluent in that foreign language and 
English. The translator must be someone other than the applicant AND sign the letter. 

Example of translator's statement:  The following is an example of a translator's statement 
and contains all of the elements required by the Board. 

"I certify that I am competent in both the English language and the 
language (language of the document) and that this is a true and complete translation of the 
foreign language original." 

APPLICATION FORM	 	 Type or print legibly in dark ink.  Illegible writing could result in processing delays. Complete 
the application form and answer all questions. Only a completed application is acceptable. 
If a question or item is not applicable, then indicate "Not applicable" or "NA". Sign and date 
the application. 

Failure to provide all the requested information will delay the processing of your application. 

SOCIAL SECURITY 	 Your social security number is used to verify your identity for licensing purposes and for 
NUMBER	 	 compliance with the below laws. For a license to be issued you must provide your social 

security number or your application will be deemed deficient and will not be processed 
further. 
The following laws require that you furnish your social security number to our agency: 
FEDERAL LAWS: 
42 U.S.C.A. §666 (a)(13) requires the social security number of any applicant for a 
professional license or occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and 
If you are a licensed health care practitioner, 45 C.F.R., Part 61, Subpart B, §61.7 requires 
the social security number as part of the mandatory reporting we must do to the Healthcare 
Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB), of any final adverse licensing action against a 
licensed health care practitioner. 
HAWAII REVISED STATUTES ("HRS"): 
§576D-13(j), HRS requires the social security number of any applicant for a professional
license or occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and 
§436B-10(4) HRS which states that an applicant for license shall provide the applicant's
social security number if the licensing authority is authorized by federal law to require the 
disclosure (and by the federal cites shown above, we are authorized to require the social 
security number). 

FEES	 	 Attach the fee of $57 payable to COMMERCE & CONSUMER AFFAIRS, which includes a 
non-refundable $20 application fee and $37 registration fee. 

NOTE:  One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new 
registration to be issued is the payment of fees as set forth in this application.  You may be 
sent a registration before the payment you sent us for your required fees is honored by your 
bank. If your payment is dishonored, you will have failed to pay the required fee and your 
registration will not be valid, and you may not do business under that registration. Also, a 
$25.00 service charge shall be assessed for payments that are dishonored for any reason. 
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LAWS & RULES	 	 Copies of the laws and rules are available by submitting a written request to the Board's 
address below. 

Barber laws, Chapter 438, HRS, and administrative rules, Chapter 16-73, HAR. 
Cosmetology laws, Chapter 439, HRS, and administrative rules, Chapter 16-78, HAR. 
Chapter 436B, HRS, Professional and Vocational Licensing Act. 

The laws and rules are also posted on our website at: http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/ Look 
under "Barbering and Cosmetology". 

Apprenticeship training should include training on the laws and rules, and the licensing 
examination includes questions regarding the laws and rules. 

Instructions for "Yes" Answers to questions (6) thru (8) of the Application for License (BACOS-01) 

A. 	 The following documentation must be submitted with the license application.  Applications for license will not be 
considered without this material. 

1) 	 Questions 6 and 7 refer to complaints, charges of unlicensed activity, or pending disciplinary actions for any
profession, occupation, or license. If your answer is "yes" to one or more of these questions, read
paragraph "B" below, AND you must submit the following:

i. 	 A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances; and

ii. 	 Copies of any documents from the agency, including final orders, petitions, complaints, finding of facts
and conclusions of law, and any other relevant documents;

2) 	 If your application indicates a criminal conviction, read paragraph "B" below, and you must submit the
following:

i. 	 A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances leading to the conviction and detailing all
activities since the conviction, including employment and business involvements. Include job title,
period of employment, employer's name, description of duties, training attended, and educational
courses attended;

ii. 	 A copy of the court order, verdict, and terms of sentence; and

iii. 	 If applicable, a copy of the terms of probation and/or parole and a signed statement from your
probation or parole officer as to your compliance with the court orders, reputation for or record of
experience, competency, honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair dealing;

iv. 	 Signed statements from employers, business associates/clients, and others who can attest to your
business dealings, including a statement as to your reputation for or record of experience, competency,
honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity and fair dealing.

v. 	 A current criminal history record check in your name, which you may obtain from the Hawaii Criminal 
Justice Data Center. Contact the department of the Attorney General, Hawaii Criminal Justice Data 
Center, Kekuanao'a Building, 456 S. King Street, Rm. 101, Honolulu, HI 96813.  Ph: (808) 587-3100 
or visit their website at: http://ag.hawaii.gov/hcjdc to request a "Criminal History Record Check" form.

B. 		 If you answered "yes" to questions (6) through (8), your application may be reviewed at a Barbering and 
Cosmetology Board meeting if you have provided all applicable information and documents as described above. 
The Board will not review incomplete applications. If you wish to present oral testimony at the meeting, submit a 
written request with your application. 

RELEASE OF 	 If an agency or individual is assisting you with the licensure process, we will not be able to 
INFORMATION release any information to them unless you provide us with authorization. If you wish to do 

so, please complete the portion on Release of Information to Third Party, sign and date it. 

BOARD'S ADDRESS 	 Mail or deliver the complete application and appropriate fees to: 

 Mailing Address: OR Deliver to Office Location: 

BOARD OF BARBERING & COSMETOLOGY BOARD OF BARBERING & COSMETOLOGY 
DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch 
P.O. Box 3469 335 Merchant Street, Room 301 
Honolulu, Hawaii 96801 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813 
Phone: (808) 586-3000 
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OTHER INFORMATION Apprentice registrations will not be issued the same day the application is received. 
Therefore, it is the applicant's responsibility to allow sufficient time for the review and 
approval of all documents submitted. 

ABANDONED 	 Pursuant to HRS §436B-9 your application shall be considered abandoned and shall be 
APPLICATIONS destroyed if you fail to provide evidence of continued efforts to complete the licensing 

process for two consecutive years. The failure to provide evidence of continued efforts 
includes but is not limited to: (1) failure to submit any required information and documents 
requested by the licensing authority within two consecutive years from the last date the 
documents and information were requested, or (2) failure to complete any additional 
requirements for licensure that remain after approval of your application, such as attempting 
to complete an exam requirement, within two consecutive years from the date your 
application was approved, or (3) failure to provide the licensing authority with any written 
communication during two consecutive years indicating that you are attempting to complete 
the licensing process. If an application is deemed abandoned the applicant shall be required 
to reapply for licensure and comply with the licensing requirements in effect at the time of 
the reapplication. 

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit 
your request. 
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Application for Registration - BARBER OR BEAUTY APPRENTICE 
Read the instructions and information on the attached sheet before completing 
this form. 

SECTION 1 - To be completed by the APPRENTICE APPLICANT 

Approved 

Reg # Barber Apprentice: 

R 
Eff. Date 

Legal Name (First, Middle) (LAST) 

Y
 

Reg # Beauty Apprentice: 

R 
Exp. Date: 

What other names have you used? (Maiden name, nickname, aliases, etc.) 

Mailing Address 

FO
R
 O
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S
E 
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BAR ALL HAIR 

Terminated: 

DOL: 

ESTN NAIL 

Social Security No. Phone No. (days) 

What License Category are you applying for? 

( ) Barber 

( ) Cosmetologist (Hairdresser, Esthetician & Nail Technician) ( ) Nail Technician 

( ) Hairdresser only ( ) Esthetician 

SECTION 2 – To be completed by a currently licensed SUPERVISING BARBER OR BEAUTY OPERATOR AND SHOP OWNER 
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Print Name of Supervisor (licensed operator) License No. 

BEO-

BAR-

Category Expiration date of license 
(on pocket ID) 

Were you licensed 
in another state? 

YES NO 
Affidavit of Supervisor: 

I hereby certify that I will supervise the above-named individual.  I have at least one year of applicable experience, and 
I understand my responsibilities as supervisor which includes the number of apprentices a licensee is able to supervise. 

Date Signature of Supervisor 
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Print Name of Shop Owner (If owner is licensed operator) 
License No. 

Expiration date of license 
(on pocket ID) 

Print Name of Shop Shop License No. 

BSH-

BAS-

Expiration date of license 
(on pocket ID) 

Business Address of Shop on file with DCCA: Mailing Address of Shop on file with DCCA: Business Phone No. (days) 

Affidavit of Shop Owner: 

I hereby certify that the statements, answers, and representations made in this section of the application are true and 
correct. I understand my responsibility as an owner. 

Date Signature of Shop Owner 

CONTINUED ON REVERSE SIDE – ANSWER QUESTIONS AND SIGN 

BARBER 	 Appl   .................. 040 ..... $20 COS Appl  ................. 141 ..... $20 
Reg ................ 045 ..... $37 Reg .................... 146 ..... $37 
Service Charge ..... BCF .....  $25 Service Charge ....  BCF ..... $25 
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Name of Applicant: ____________________________________________________________________________ 

SECTION 3 – To be completed by the APPRENTICE APPLICANT 
Circle your answers. If response is "Yes" to questions 6 to 8, refer to the instructions for additional documents that must be 
submitted with this application. 

1) Are you at least 17 years of age for barber apprentice, or 16 years of age for beauty apprentice? ....................... YES NO

2) Are you a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the United States? ................................ YES NO

3) Cosmetology (includes cosmetologist, hairdresser, esthetician & nail technician) Apprentice Applicant only.
Do you have an education equivalent to the completion of high school? ATTACH VERIFICATION OF HIGH SCHOOL. ...... YES 
(Foreign graduates attach both foreign diploma and translation with translator's statement.)

NO 

• When did you complete?
• How many hours did you complete?

Note:  Submit copy of your transcript(s) showing a breakdown by subjects and hours. 

5) Do you hold or have you ever held or applied for a barber or beauty license, permit, or apprentice
registration in Hawaii or any other jurisdiction? .............................................................................................. YES NO 
If "yes": What state or country?
Type of license held Do you have 1 year of licensed experience? ................... YES NO 

6) Has any license ever been suspended, revoked or otherwise subject to disciplinary action? ................................. YES NO

7) Are there any disciplinary actions pending against you? .................................................................................. YES NO

8) Have you ever been convicted of a crime in any jurisdiction that has not been
annulled or expunged? ...............................................................................................................................YES NO 

4) Have you every attended or are you now attending barber or beauty school? ..................................................... YES NO
If "yes", • Name of school? 

• Name of state?

Affidavit of Applicant: 

I hereby certify that the statements, answers, and representations made in this application and in the documents attached are 
true and correct. I understand that any misrepresentation is grounds for refusal to grant or subsequent revocation of license and is 
a misdemeanor (Section 710-1017, Sections 436B-19, 438-14, and 439-19, Hawaii Revised Statutes).  I further certify that I have 
read, understand, and will abide by all laws and rules pertaining to the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. 

Date 
Signature of Applicant 

Release of Information to Third Party: 

To assist me in the licensing process, I authorize the staff to release any and all information regarding my application (including but 
not limited to, application status) to: 

Print Name of Individual who is assisting you: 

Signature of Applicant Date 

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request. 
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IMPORTANT NOTICE 


BOARD OF BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY 

New License Requirement 

Effective June 17, 2003 and pursuant to Hawaii Revised Statutes 
section 436B-10 and federal law, it is the policy of the State of Hawaii 
("State") Board of Barbering and Cosmetology ("Board") that, in addition to 
meeting the education, experience, and examination requirements for 
licensure, an applicant for a Hawaii barber's, cosmetologist's, hairdresser's, 
esthetician's, or nail technician's license is required to be either a United 
States citizen, a United States national, or an alien authorized to 
work in the United States. 

This means that, even if an applicant meets the education, 
experience, and examination requirements for licensure, that 
applicant shall not be issued a license if that applicant is not a U.S. 
citizen, a U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the U.S. 

However, the Board will issue the applicant a conditional approval 
that signifies that the applicant has met the education, experience, and 
examination requirements for licensure; provided that this conditional 
approval shall not be considered a license to engage in the profession and 
shall not authorize the applicant to work in our State.  To obtain
authorization to work in our State, the applicant shall be required to contact 
the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services ("USCIS").  In addition,
federal law [42 U.S.C.A. 666 (a)(13)] requires that once an applicant is 
authorized by the USCIS to work in the U.S., the applicant must supply 
his/her Social Security Number ("SSN") so that states can use this 
information for child support enforcement purposes. 

Once the applicant submits evidence to the Board that the USCIS has 
authorized the applicant to work in the U.S. (without conditions or other 
encumbrances), provides a SSN, and meets all of the licensing 
requirements in effect at that time (including, but not limited to, the 
requirement that the applicant has not been convicted of any crime that is 
directly related to the profession), the applicant shall be issued a full and 
unrestricted license. 

This conditional approval shall be valid for two (2) years.  An applicant 
must obtain the appropriate USCIS authorization within this two (2) year 
period in order to have a license issued.  If the applicant is unable to meet 
this deadline, the applicant may be required to reapply for licensure and 
meet all of the requirements in effect at that time. 
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