REQUIREMENTS AND INSTRUCTIONS - PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT

Access this form via website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl

APPLICANTS ARE SUBJECT TO REQUIREMENTS IN EFFECT AT THE TIME OF FILING.

APPLICATION FOR Complete the on-line fillable form or print legibly in black ink. Sign the application.

LICENSURE

SOCIAL SECURITY Your Social Security Number is used to verify your identity for licensing purposes and for compliance with the below
NUMBER laws. For a license to be issued, you must provide your Social Security Number or your application will be

deemed deficient and will not be processed further.
The following laws require that you furnish your Social Security Number to our agency:

FEDERAL LAWS:

42 U.S.C.A. §666(a)(13) requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or
occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and

If you are a licensed health care practitioner, 45 C.F.R., Part 61, Subpart B, §61.7 requires the Social Security
Number as part of the mandatory reporting we must do to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank
(HIPDB), of any final adverse licensing action against a licensed health care practitioner.

HAWAII REVISED STATUTES ("HRS"):

§576D-13(j), HRS requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational
license be recorded on the application for license; and

§436B-10(4), HRS which states that an applicant for license shall provide the applicant's Social Security Number if
the licensing authority is authorized by federal law to require the disclosure (and by the federal cites shown above,
we are authorized to require the Social Security Number).

FEES Attach appropriate fee payable to: COMMERCE & CONSUMER AFFAIRS. (check must be in U.S. dollars and be from a
U.S. financial institution.)

If you wish to be licensed during this period, pay:

February 1, even-numbered year through January 31, odd-numberedyear................... $182
(Application fee - $20%, License fee - $32, Compliance Resolution Fund - $110,
1/2 renewal for second year of two-year license period - $20)

If you wish to be licensed during this period, pay:

February 1, odd-numbered year through January 31, even-numbered year................... $107**
(Application fee - $20*, License fee - $32, Compliance Resolution Fund - $55)

*The application fee is not refundable.
**Subject to renewal January 31, even-numbered year regardless of issue date.

NOTE: One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to be issued is the
payment of fees as set forth in this application. You may be sent a license certificate before the payment you sent us for
your required fees is honored by your bank. If your payment is dishonored, you will have failed to pay the required
licensing fee and your license will not be valid, and you may not do business under that license. Also, a $25.00 service
charge shall be assessed for payments that are dishonored for any reason.

If for any reason you are denied the license you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as provided by Title 16,
Chapter 201, Hawaii Administrative Rules, and/or Chapter 91, Hawaii Revised Statutes. Your written request for a hearing
must be directed to the agency that denied your application, and must be made within 60 days of notification that your
application for a license has been denied.

RELEASE OF If an agency or individual is assisting you with the licensure process, we will not be able to release any information
INFORMATION to them unless you provide us with authorization. If you wish to do so, please complete the portion on Release of
Information to Third Party, sign and date it.

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2)
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FEDERATION
REPORT

EDUCATION

VERIFICATION
OF NCCPA
CERTIFICATION

VERIFICATION OF
LICENSE

VERIFICATION OF
SUPERVISING
PHYSICIAN

FILING DEADLINE

MAILING ADDRESS

COMPLETE
APPLICATION

TEMPORARY
LICENSE

INACTIVE
STATUS

REACTIVATION
STATUS

ARRANGE to have the Federation Discipline Report sent directly to the Hawaii Medical Board (HMB). Email the
"Federation Discipline Report" form (MD-04) to the Federation of State Medical Boards (Federation -
boardinquiry@fsmb.org) and request that they send the form directly to the HVB.

ATTACH a copy of your certificate from the institution where you completed a training program for physician
assistant.

ARRANGE to have the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) send a verification
of current certification to the HMB.

NCCPA may be contacted at:
NCCPA
1200 Findley Rd., Suite 200
Duluth, GA 30097

Phone: (678)417-8100
Fax: (678) 417-8135
www.nccpa.net

On the application, list all the licenses you hold or held.

ARRANGE to have verification of licensure sent directly to the HMB. To do this, contact all the jurisdictions that you
are/were licensed in and request that they send a verification of licensure directly to the HMB.

ATTACH a completed verification form signed by you and your supervising physician who must be currently
licensed in Hawaii. This form may be duplicated as needed.

Submit all required items (application, fees and supporting documents) at least 20 business days prior to
employment starting date.

Mail to: Deliver to:
DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch
335 Merchant Street, Room 301
Honolulu, HI 96813

Phone: (808) 586-3000

Hawaii Medical Board

DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch OR
P.O. Box 3469 o
Honolulu, HI 96801

We are unable to take action on an application unless it is complete. Therefore, please ensure that we have received
all the documents necessary. In the event the response to any of the questions numbered 5 and 6 is "YES", please
file a typewritten or legible handwritten detailed explanation as directed on the application.

To do this, you may call (808) 586-3000 to inquire about the status of your application.

A temporary license to practice as a physician assistant may be granted to an applicant who has graduated from an
approved training program within 12 months of the date of application and has never taken a national certifying
examination approved by the Board. The applicant shall file a complete application with the Board and pay all the
required fees. If the applicant fails to apply for, or to take the first examination scheduled following the issuance

of the temporary license, fails to pass the examination, or fails to receive licensure, all privileges shall automatically
cease. Contact the Board's office at (808) 586-3000 for more information on this type of license.

If an applicant is not under the supervision of a licensed physician, the license will be placed on an inactive status.

To reactivate your license, complete the "Reactivation" application and submit completed form and reactivation fee
of $12 and completed Verification - Supervising Physician (AMD-03). Fillable forms are located on the Board's
website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl. Click on "Medical and Osteopathy".

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 3)
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LAWS AND RULES The pertinent laws and rules are posted on our website free of charge at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl. Click on
Medical and Osteopathy.

You may also obtain copies by sending a written request to: Licensing Branch, PVL, P.O. Box 3469, Honolulu, HI 96801.

1. Chapter 453, Hawaii Revised Statutes
2. Chapter 85, Hawaii Administrative Rules
3. Chapter 436B, Hawaii Revised Statutes

ABANDONMENT Pursuant to HRS §436B-9 your application shall be considered abandoned and shall be destroyed if you fail to

OF APPLICATION provide evidence of continued efforts to complete the licensing process for two consecutive years. The failure to
provide evidence of continued efforts includes, but is not limited to: (1) failure to submit any required information
and documents requested by the licensing authority within two consecutive years from the last date the documents
and information were requested, or (2) failure to complete any additional requirements for licensure that remain
after approval of your application, such as attempting to complete an exam requirement, within two consecutive
years from the date your application was approved, or (3) failure to provide the licensing authority with any written
communication during two consecutive years indicating that you are attempting to complete the licensing process.
If an application is deemed abandoned, the applicant shall be required to reapply for licensure and comply with the
licensing requirements in effect at the time of the reapplication.

LICENSE DENIAL If for any reason you are denied the license you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as provided by
Title 16, Chapter 201, Hawaii Administrative Rules, and/or Chapter 91, Hawaii Revised Statutes.

Your written request for a hearing must be directed to the agency that denied your application (BME), and must
be within 60 days of notification that your application for a license has been denied.

BIENNIAL To maintain licensure by the Board, a renewal fee is due by January 31 of each even-numbered year. Your certificate
RENEWAL from NCCPA must also be current to maintain licensure.

About 2 months before the license expiration date, a renewal application is mailed to all licensees at their address
of record. If you do not receive a renewal application approximately one month prior to the license expiration
date, contact the Licensing Branch (808-586-3000) for assistance. To ensure that you receive a renewal
application, keep the Board informed of your address. Licenses that are not renewed by the deadline are forfeited
and the holders of a forfeited license are considered unlicensed and may not practice. After two years license
forfeiture, reapplication is required.

Print Form

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit
your request.



Application for Licensure - PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT Approved: [[]  'nitials/Date:

Access this form via website at: cca.hawaii.gov/pvl
CHECKOUT:

Legal Name (First, Middle) (Last) [] Lic. Ver.

[] s1070rs182 [ ] Supervisor Verification

Other names used [] PAcert [] Fed. Disc. Report
> |[] Current NCCPA certification
4

Residence Address (include apt. no., city, state & zip code) % Date issued: Cert. No.
w AMD -
=)

MD -

[a]
oc
<
o
[+2]

Mailing Address (only if different from above) S
rd

PERSONAL E-Mail Address Birthdate:

Social Security No. Phone No. (days) Sex:

CMm CF

OPTIONAL

Check answers and provide details as directed for any "YES" response to the questions below:

1) Areyou at least T8 ¥Ears Of Ag7 . ...ttt ittt ettt et ettt et e e e e e e DYES D NO
2) Areyoua U.S. citizen, a U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the United States? .............c.cooiiiiini. DYES DNO
3) Have you graduated from a physician assistants training program approved and accredited by the Committee on

Allied Health Education and Accreditations of the American Medical Association (AMA)? ...........coiiiiiiiiiinne.. DYES DNO
4) Have you passed the National Certifying Exam developed by the NCCPA? ... .. . it DYES DNO

e Provide date certification was requested to be sent to HMB:

5) Has any license you hold or ever held ever been suspended, revoked or otherwise subject to disciplinary action?...... DYES DNO
6) Is any disciplinary action presently pending against you? . ... ...ttt e DYES DNO

(Ifresponse is "YES" to question 5 or 6, give jurisdiction, dates and nature on a separate sheet and have
licensing authority send documents including final orders, findings of fact and conclusion of law and any other
relevant information.)

7) Inthe past 5 years, have you been addicted to, dependent on, or a habitual user of alcohol or a narcotic, barbiturate,
amphetamine, hallucinogen, or other drug having similar effects? ...........c.oiiiiiii i i [ JYES [JNO
(Ifresponse is "YES", attach a detailed explanation on a separate sheet.)

8) Have you ever been convicted of a crime in any jurisdiction that has not been annulled or expunged?............... |:|YES |:|NO
(Explain "YES" response on a separate sheet with detailed information and attach certified court
documentation on the date, place, violation of each conviction and fulfillment of conditions for each sentence.)

Dates (mo/yr)

Name of Program/College Location Major and Degree Earned Entry | Graduated

Physician Assistant Program & Name of College

EDUCATION

Other College/University

(SIGNATURE REQUIRED ON PAGE 2)

Appl 323 $20 CRF 324 $55/5110
Lic 312 $32 1/2 Renewal............... o[ —— $20
Service Charge.......... [ @ S— $25
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Physician Assistant Name: Date:
Name of Jurisdiction A . Date Verification

(Attach additional sheets if necessary) Date Issued Expiration Date License Number Requested
[%2]
[N}
w
P
[N}
Y
—

] . Dates (mo/yr)

Name and Address of Employer Duties Name of Supervisor F

rom To
L
U
P
w
o
(NN}
o
>
[NE]

Affidavit of Applicant:

| hereby certify that the statements, answers, and representations made in this application and in the documents attached are true
and correct. | understand that any misrepresentation is grounds for denial, refusal or subsequent revocation of license and is a misdemeanor
(Section 710-1017, and Sections 436B-19, and 453-8 Hawaii Revised Statutes). | further certify that | have read and will abide by the provisions of

Chapter 453, 436B, and Chapter 85.

Signature of Applicant

Release of Information to Third Party:

Date

To assist me in the licensing process, | authorize DCCA's staff to release any and all information regarding my application (including, but not

limited to application status) to the following third party:

Print Name of Individual who is assisting you:

Name of Organization:

Phone Number:

Signature of Applicant

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.

-2-

Date

Print Form




REQUIREMENTS AND INSTRUCTIONS - PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT
Access this form via website at:  cca.hawaii.gov/pvl
APPLICANTS ARE SUBJECT TO REQUIREMENTS IN EFFECT AT THE TIME OF FILING.
APPLICATION FOR
LICENSURE
Complete the on-line fillable form or print legibly in black ink.  Sign the application.
SOCIAL SECURITY
NUMBER
Your Social Security Number is used to verify your identity for licensing purposes and for compliance with the below
laws.   For a license to be issued, you must provide your Social Security Number or your application will be
deemed deficient and will not be processed further.
The following laws require that you furnish your Social Security Number to our agency:
FEDERAL LAWS:
42 U.S.C.A.  §666(a)(13) requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or
occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and
If you are a licensed health care practitioner, 45 C.F.R., Part 61, Subpart B, §61.7 requires the Social Security Number as part of the mandatory reporting we must do to the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB), of any final adverse licensing action against a licensed health care practitioner.  
HAWAII REVISED STATUTES ("HRS"):
§576D-13(j), HRS requires the Social Security Number of any applicant for a professional license or occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and 
§436B-10(4), HRS which states that an applicant for license shall provide the applicant's Social Security Number if the licensing authority is authorized by federal law to require the disclosure (and by the federal cites shown above, we are authorized to require the Social Security Number).
FEES
Attach appropriate fee payable to:  COMMERCE & CONSUMER AFFAIRS.  (check must be in U.S. dollars and be from a U.S. financial institution.)
If you wish to be licensed during this period, pay:
 
         February 1, even-numbered year through January 31, odd-numbered year . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .         $182
         (Application fee - $20*, License fee - $32, Compliance Resolution Fund - $110,
         1/2 renewal for second year of two-year license period - $20)
If you wish to be licensed during this period, pay:
 
         February 1, odd-numbered year through January 31, even-numbered year . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .         $107**
         (Application fee - $20*, License fee - $32, Compliance Resolution Fund - $55)
*The application fee is not refundable.
**Subject to renewal January 31, even-numbered year regardless of issue date.
NOTE:  One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to be issued is the 
payment of fees as set forth in this application.  You may be sent a license certificate before the payment you sent us for
your required fees is honored by your bank.  If your payment is dishonored, you will have failed to pay the required
licensing fee and your license will not be valid, and you may not do business under that license.  Also, a $25.00 service
charge shall be assessed for payments that are dishonored for any reason.
If for any reason you are denied the license you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as provided by Title 16,
Chapter 201, Hawaii Administrative Rules, and/or Chapter 91, Hawaii Revised Statutes.  Your written request for a hearing
must be directed to the agency that denied your application, and must be made within 60 days of notification that your
application for a license has been denied.
(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2)
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RELEASE OF
INFORMATION
If an agency or individual is assisting you with the licensure process, we will not be able to release any information
to them unless you provide us with authorization.  If you wish to do so, please complete the portion on Release of
Information to Third Party, sign and date it.
EDUCATION
ATTACH a copy of your certificate from the institution where you completed a training program for physician
assistant.
ARRANGE to have the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) send a verification
of current certification to the HMB.
 
NCCPA may be contacted at:
         NCCPA                                    Phone:  (678) 417-8100
         1200 Findley Rd., Suite 200                  Fax:  (678) 417-8135
         Duluth, GA  30097                           www.nccpa.net
VERIFICATION
OF NCCPA
CERTIFICATION
VERIFICATION OF
SUPERVISING
PHYSICIAN
ATTACH a completed verification form signed by you and your supervising physician who must be currently
licensed in Hawaii.  This form may be duplicated as needed.
FILING DEADLINE
Submit all required items (application, fees and supporting documents) at least 20 business days prior to 
employment starting date.
Mail to:
         Hawaii Medical Board
         DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch
         P.O. Box 3469
         Honolulu, HI  96801
MAILING ADDRESS
Deliver to:
         DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch
         335 Merchant Street, Room 301
         Honolulu, HI  96813
         Phone:  (808) 586-3000
OR
COMPLETE
APPLICATION
We are unable to take action on an application unless it is complete.  Therefore, please ensure that we have received
all the documents necessary.  In the event the response to any of the questions numbered 5 and 6 is "YES", please
file a typewritten or legible handwritten detailed explanation as directed on the application.
 
To do this, you may call (808) 586-3000 to inquire about the status of your application.
FEDERATION
REPORT
ARRANGE to have the Federation Discipline Report sent directly to the Hawaii Medical Board (HMB).  Email the
"Federation Discipline Report" form (MD-04) to the Federation of State Medical Boards (Federation -  
boardinquiry@fsmb.org) and request that they send the form directly to the HMB.
TEMPORARY
LICENSE
A temporary license to practice as a physician assistant may be granted to an applicant who has graduated from an
approved training program within 12 months of the date of application and has never taken a national certifying
examination approved by the Board.  The applicant shall file a complete application with the Board and pay all the
required fees.  If the applicant fails to apply for, or to take the first examination scheduled following the issuance
of the temporary license, fails to pass the examination, or fails to receive licensure, all privileges shall automatically
cease.  Contact the Board's office at (808) 586-3000 for more information on this type of license.
If an applicant is not under the supervision of a licensed physician, the license will be placed on an inactive status.
INACTIVE
STATUS
REACTIVATION
STATUS
To reactivate your license, complete the "Reactivation" application and submit completed form and reactivation fee of $12 and completed Verification - Supervising Physician (AMD-03).  Fillable forms are located on the Board's website at:  cca.hawaii.gov/pvl.  Click on "Medical and Osteopathy".
(CONTINUED ON PAGE 3)
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VERIFICATION OF LICENSE
On the application, list all the licenses you hold or held.
 
ARRANGE to have verification of licensure sent directly to the HMB.  To do this, contact all the jurisdictions that you are/were licensed in and request that they send a verification of licensure directly to the HMB.
LAWS AND RULES
The pertinent laws and rules are posted on our website free of charge at:  cca.hawaii.gov/pvl.  Click on
Medical and Osteopathy.
 
You may also obtain copies by sending a written request to:  Licensing Branch, PVL, P.O. Box 3469, Honolulu, HI 96801.
Pursuant to HRS §436B-9 your application shall be considered abandoned and shall be destroyed if you fail to
provide evidence of continued efforts to complete the licensing process for two consecutive years.  The failure to
provide evidence of continued efforts includes, but is not limited to:  (1) failure to submit any required information
and documents requested by the licensing authority within two consecutive years from the last date the documents
and information were requested, or (2) failure to complete any additional requirements for licensure that remain
after approval of your application, such as attempting to complete an exam requirement, within two consecutive
years from the date your application was approved, or (3) failure to provide the licensing authority with any written
communication during two consecutive years indicating that you are attempting to complete the licensing process.
If an application is deemed abandoned, the applicant shall be required to reapply for licensure and comply with the
licensing requirements in effect at the time of the reapplication.
1.  Chapter 453, Hawaii Revised Statutes
2.  Chapter 85, Hawaii Administrative Rules
3.  Chapter 436B, Hawaii Revised Statutes
ABANDONMENT
OF APPLICATION
LICENSE DENIAL
If for any reason you are denied the license you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as provided by
Title 16, Chapter 201, Hawaii Administrative Rules, and/or Chapter 91, Hawaii Revised Statutes.
 
Your written request for a hearing must be directed to the agency that denied your application (BME), and must
be within 60 days of notification that your application for a license has been denied.
To maintain licensure by the Board, a renewal fee is due by January 31 of each even-numbered year.  Your certificate
from NCCPA must also be current to maintain licensure.
 
About 2 months before the license expiration date, a renewal application is mailed to all licensees at their address
of record.  If you do not receive a renewal application approximately one month prior to the license expiration
date, contact the Licensing Branch (808-586-3000) for assistance.  To ensure that you receive a renewal
application, keep the Board informed of your address.  Licenses that are not renewed by the deadline are forfeited
and the holders of a forfeited license are considered unlicensed and may not practice.  After two years license
forfeiture, reapplication is required.
BIENNIAL 
RENEWAL
-3-
This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit
your request.
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Application for Licensure - PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT
Initials/Date:
FOR  BOARD  USE  ONLY
Access this form via website at:  cca.hawaii.gov/pvl
Sex:
OPTIONAL
CHECKOUT:
Date issued:
Cert. No.
Check answers and provide details as directed for any "YES" response to the questions below:
1)    Are you at least 18 years of age? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
2)    Are you a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the United States? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
3)    Have you graduated from a physician assistants training program approved and accredited by the Committee on
        Allied Health Education and Accreditations of the American Medical Association (AMA)? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
4)    Have you passed the National Certifying Exam developed by the NCCPA? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
•
5)    Has any license you hold or ever held ever been suspended, revoked or otherwise subject to disciplinary action?. . . . .
6)    Is any disciplinary action presently pending against you? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
         (If response is "YES" to question 5 or 6, give jurisdiction, dates and nature on a separate sheet and have
         licensing authority send documents including final orders, findings of fact and conclusion of law and any other
         relevant information.)
8)    Have you ever been convicted of a crime in any jurisdiction that has not been annulled or expunged? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
         (Explain "YES" response on a separate sheet with detailed information and attach certified court
         documentation on the date, place, violation of each conviction and fulfillment of conditions for each sentence.)
CRF.................................         324.............          $55/$110
1/2 Renewal................         300.............         $20
Service Charge...........         BCF.............         $25
EDUCATION
Name of Program/College
Location
Major and Degree Earned
Dates (mo/yr)
Entry
Graduated
(SIGNATURE REQUIRED ON PAGE 2)
Appl...............................         323.............         $20
Lic...................................         312.............         $32
Provide date certification was requested to be sent to HMB:
7)    In the past 5 years, have you been addicted to, dependent on, or a habitual user of alcohol or a narcotic, barbiturate,
        amphetamine, hallucinogen, or other drug having similar effects? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
         (If response is "YES", attach a detailed explanation on a separate sheet.)
EXPERIENCE
Name and Address of Employer
Duties
Name of Supervisor
Dates (mo/yr)
From
To
         I hereby certify that the statements, answers, and representations made in this application and in the documents attached are true
and correct.  I understand that any misrepresentation is grounds for denial, refusal or subsequent revocation of license and is a misdemeanor
(Section 710-1017, and Sections 436B-19, and 453-8 Hawaii Revised Statutes).  I further certify that I have read and will abide by the provisions of
Chapter 453, 436B, and Chapter 85.
Release of Information to Third Party:
 
To assist me in the licensing process, I authorize DCCA's staff to release any and all information regarding my application (including, but not
limited to application status) to the following third party:
-2-
This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request.
Affidavit of Applicant:
LICENSES
Name of Jurisdiction
(Attach additional sheets if necessary)
Date Issued
Expiration Date
License Number
Date Verification Requested
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