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 §16-23-1  Definitions.  Unless the context 
indicates otherwise, as used in this chapter:  
 "Chapter 431", and reference to sections therein, 
refer to the insurance code contained in the Hawaii 
Revised Statutes (HRS).  
 "Commissioner" means the state commissioner of 
insurance as defined in section 431:2-102, HRS.  
Pending the appointment of a person to or during any 
vacancy in that office, it refers to the state 
director of commerce and consumer affairs.  
 "County" means the counties of Hawaii, Maui, and 
Kauai and the City and County of Honolulu.  
 "Motor vehicle insurance law" refers to the motor 
vehicle insurance law, chapter 431:10C, HRS, and 
sections therein.  
 "Prepaid health care plan" means a health care 
plan approved by the department of labor and 
industrial relations and meeting the requirements of 
chapter 393 and the rules of the department in effect 
on January 1, 1998, or thereafter.  
 "Provider" or "health care provider" means any 
person providing medical or rehabilitative services to 
a claimant covered by a motor vehicle insurance 
policy.  [Eff 9/1/74; am 9/1/77; am 9/1/78; am 9/1/79; 
am and ren §16-23-1, 7/7/80; am and comp 9/1/82; am 
and comp 9/1/85; am 9/1/87; am and comp 9/1/88; comp 
9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; am 9/1/91; am and comp 6/1/93; 
am and comp 1/1/98; am and comp 1/8/99; am and comp 
11/11/12; comp 7/02/22]  (Auth:  HRS §431:10C-214)  
(Imp:  HRS §§431:10C-103, 431:10C-304)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-2  Repealed.  [R 1/8/99]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-3  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 

SUBCHAPTER 2  REPEALED 
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 §16-23-4  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-5  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-6  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-7  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-8  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-9  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-10  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-10.1  Repealed.  [R 1/8/99]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-10.2  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12] 
 
 
 
 §16-23-10.3  Repealed.  [R 1/8/99]  
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SUBCHAPTER 3  

 
OPTIONAL ADDITIONAL INSURANCE  

 
 
 
 §16-23-11  Required optional additional coverage.  
(a)  Each insurer shall offer to each policyholder or 
applicant for a motor vehicle insurance policy the 
optional coverage as well as the basic motor vehicle 
insurance coverage, with the applicable premiums 
therefor, as set forth in Exhibit 1 entitled "Required 
Optional Additional Coverage," dated 10/17/12, located 
at the end of this chapter, which is made a part of 
this section.  Nothing in this subchapter shall limit 
the use of forms substantially similar to the exhibit.  

(b) Every insurer shall fully disclose in 
writing to each policyholder upon the first renewal 
after January 1, 1998, or to the applicant, at the 
issuance or delivery of the policy, the availability 
of all required and optional coverages and 
deductibles.  

(c) An applicant or policyholder shall in 
writing decline uninsured motorist coverage and 
underinsured motorist coverage.  

(d) Increased limits for residual bodily injury 
coverage in the amount of $300,000 per person with an 
aggregate limit of $300,000 per accident and for 
property damage coverage in the amount of $50,000 per 
occurrence shall be available to all motor vehicles 
required to be insured for those limits by contract or 
rule of the State of Hawaii or any political 
subdivision.  

(e) Except as provided by section 431:10C-
302(a)(9)(D), HRS, the benefits of any optional 
additional coverages elected by the policyholder are 
applicable to all eligible insureds.  [Eff 9/1/74; am 
and ren §16-23-11, 7/7/80; am 9/1/81; am and comp 
9/1/82; am 9/1/84; am and comp 9/1/85; am 9/1/87; am 
and comp 9/1/88; am and comp 9/15/89; am and comp 
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9/1/90; am 9/1/91; am and comp 6/1/93; am and comp 
1/1/98; am and comp 1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; am and comp 
7/02/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:10C-214, 431:10C-302)  
(Imp:  HRS §431:10C-302)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-11.1  Naturopathic, acupuncture, and 
nonmedical remedial care and treatment.  (a)  Subject 
to the exceptions allowed under section 431:10C-302, 
HRS, an insurer shall make available optional coverage 
for naturopathic, acupuncture, and nonmedical remedial 
care and treatment rendered in accordance with the 
teachings, faith or belief of any group which relies 
upon spiritual means through prayer for healing.  The 
coverage shall provide for appropriate and reasonable 
treatment and expenses necessarily incurred as a 
result of the accidental harm and shall provide an 
aggregate total among and between the types of 
providers of thirty visits at no more than $75 per 
visit. 

(b) An insurer may make available additional 
coverages for services provided under subsection (a).  
These coverages shall be for additional blocks of 
thirty visits at no more than $75 a visit.  

(c) An insurer may make available at 
appropriately reduced premium rates, and provide at 
the option of the named insured, deductible, 
coinsurance or copayment arrangements for this 
coverage.  [Eff and comp 1/1/98; am and comp 1/8/99; 
comp 11/11/12; comp 7/02/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:10C-
214, 431:10C-302)  (Imp:  HRS §§431:10C-301, 431:10C-
302)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-11.2  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-11.3  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
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 §16-23-11.4  Repealed.  [R 1/8/99]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-12  Other optional coverages.  An insurer 
may offer other optional terms, conditions, 
exclusions, deductible clauses, coverages, and 
benefits displayed in Exhibit 2 or upon approval by 
the commissioner.  The commissioner shall not approve 
the same unless they are consistent with the 
provisions required of a motor vehicle insurance 
policy, are fair and equitable, and limit the variety 
of coverage available so as to give buyers of 
insurance reasonable opportunity to compare the cost 
of insuring with various insurers.  [Eff 9/1/74; am 
and ren §16-23-12, 7/7/80; am and comp 9/1/82; comp 
9/1/85; comp 9/1/88; comp 9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; comp 
6/1/93; am and comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; comp 
11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:10C-214, 
431:10C-302)  (Imp:  HRS §431:10C-302)  
 
 
 

SUBCHAPTER 4  
 

REJECTION, CANCELLATION, NON RENEWAL  
 
 
 
 §16-23-13  Application for motor vehicle 
insurance policy, rejection of application, JUP 
placement.  An insurer and its producer shall within 
fifteen working days of a request for an appointment 
provide the applicant an application and rate quote 
for a motor vehicle insurance policy.  Failure to 
service an applicant within the fifteen working day 
period shall be deemed a rejection.  Upon rejection of 
an application for motor vehicle insurance policy or 
optional additional insurance by the affirmative act 
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of the insurer or by a failure to service the 
applicant within fifteen working days, an insurer and 
its producer shall meet with the applicant within ten 
working days of the rejection and offer to place the 
requested insurance coverage with the joint 
underwriting plan.  [Eff 9/1/74; am and ren §16-23-13, 
7/7/80; am 9/1/81; comp 9/1/82; am 9/1/84; comp 
9/1/85; am 9/1/87; comp 9/1/88; comp 9/15/89; am and 
comp 9/1/90; am and comp 6/1/93; am 1/30/95; am and 
comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; am and comp 11/11/12; comp 
7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §431:10C-214)  (Imp:  HRS 
§§431:10C-106, 431:10C-110)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-14  Repealed.  [R 1/8/99]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-15  Repealed.  [R 1/8/99]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-16  Review of failure to offer JUP 
placement, cancellation, or refusal to renew.  A 
person who is not offered a JUP placement after that 
person's application is rejected, or believes that the 
person's motor vehicle insurance policy has been 
canceled or refused renewal without legal 
justification may file an appeal with the commissioner 
within ten days after the person has been rejected or 
received notice of cancellation or refusal to renew.  
The grievance shall be heard and determined in 
accordance with chapter 91, HRS, and chapter 16-201.  
[Eff 9/1/74; am and ren §16-23-16, 7/7/80; am and comp 
9/1/82; comp 9/1/85; am and comp 9/1/88; comp 9/15/89; 
comp 9/1/90; am and comp 6/1/93; am 1/30/95; am and 
comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  
(Auth:  HRS §431:10C-214)  (Imp:  HRS §§431:10C-110 
through 431:10C-114)  
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SUBCHAPTER 5  

 
LICENSING OF INSURERS  

 
 
 
 §16-23-17  Repealed.  [R 6/1/93]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-18  Repealed.  [R 9/1/82]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-19  Licensing of health insurers.  An 
insurer may be licensed by the commissioner to provide 
those personal injury protection benefits described in 
section 431:10C-103.5, HRS, or to provide optional 
major medical coverages in excess of personal injury 
protection benefits coverages, or both, if the 
commissioner finds that the insurer meets the 
requirements of section 431:10C-119, HRS.  In 
addition, before licensing an insurer to provide the 
personal injury protection benefits, the commissioner 
must be satisfied that the insurer has made adequate 
provision to assure that any person obtaining personal 
injury protection benefits will simultaneously be 
obtaining the other coverages required under a motor 
vehicle insurance policy and will be provided adequate 
claims processing and payment services.  
 An insurer licensed hereunder to provide personal 
injury protection benefits shall also provide those 
optional major medical coverages which motor vehicle 
insurers are required to provide under section 
431:10C-302, HRS.  
 A person licensed hereunder to provide personal 
injury protection benefits or optional major medical 
coverages shall comply with those provisions in 
chapter 431:10C, HRS, relating to insurers, such as, 
but not limited to, those relating to setting of rates 
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and submission of information and reports to the 
commissioner.  
 An insurer licensed hereunder shall be assessed 
its equitable proration of costs and claims paid under 
the joint underwriting plan (JUP) and the assigned 
claims program.  [Eff 9/1/74; am and ren §16-23-19, 
7/7/80; am and comp 9/1/82; comp 9/1/85; am and comp 
9/1/88; comp 9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; am and comp 6/1/93; 
am and comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; comp 
7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:10C-119, 431:10C-214)  
(Imp:  HRS §§431:10C-119, 431:10C-201, 431:10C-202, 
431:10C-203, 431:10C-205, 431:10C-209, 431:10C-215, 
431:10C-216, 431:10C-302, 431:10C-404, 431:10C-408)  
 
 
 

SUBCHAPTER 6  
 

REQUIREMENTS FOR SELF-INSURANCE  
 
 
 
 §16-23-20  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-21  Agreement.  The applicant for a self-
insurer shall execute and file with the commissioner 
an agreement in a form prescribed by the commissioner, 
that if certified as a self-insurer the applicant 
will:  
(1) In accordance with and to the extent prescribed 

in the motor vehicle insurance law as amended 
from time to time: 
(A) In case of injury, arising out of a motor 

vehicle accident, to a person, including, 
but not limited to, an operator, occupant, 
or user of the self-insured motor vehicle or 
any pedestrian who sustains an injury as a 
result of the operation, maintenance, or use 
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of the vehicle, pay without regard to fault 
to the health care provider of medical-
rehabilitative services an amount equal to 
the personal injury protection benefits then 
payable as a result of the injury; and  

(B) Pay on behalf of the applicant or any 
operator of the insured motor vehicle using 
the motor vehicle with the express or 
implied permission of the named insured, 
sums which the applicant or the operator may 
legally be obligated to pay for injury or 
death or damage to property of others which 
arise out of the ownership, operation, 
maintenance, use, loading or unloading of 
the self-insured motor vehicle;  

(2) Permit the commissioner or an authorized 
representative to inspect and copy records and 
provide them copies of records pertaining to the 
self-insurer's financial condition, processing 
and payment of claims, and any other matters 
pertinent to the administration and enforcement 
of the motor vehicle insurance law; and  

(3) Comply with all requirements of the motor vehicle 
insurance law, rules, and directives of the 
commissioner, including, but not limited to, 
those relating to processing and payment of 
claims and payment of assessments and fees.  [Eff 
9/1/74; am and ren §16-23-21, 7/7/80; am and comp 
9/1/82; comp 9/1/85; comp 9/1/88; am and comp 
9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; am and comp 6/1/93; am and 
comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; am and comp 11/11/12; 
comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS  §431:10C-214)  (Imp:  
HRS §§431:10C-119, 431:10C-301, 431:10C-304)  

 
 
 
 §16-23-22  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
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 §16-23-23  Amount of cash, securities, or bond.  
The commissioner shall consider the number of vehicles 
involved, the exposure, the financial condition of the 
applicant, and other factors appropriate to 
determining adequacy of security in fixing the amount 
of the bond or the amount of cash or securities.  [Eff 
9/1/74; am and ren §16-23-23, 7/7/80; comp 9/1/82; 
comp 9/1/85; comp 9/1/88; am and comp 9/15/89; comp 
9/1/90; am and comp 6/1/93; comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; 
comp 11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:10C-
119, 431:10C-214)  (Imp:  HRS §§431:10C-119, 431:10C-
602, 431:10C-603; 431:10C-604)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-24  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12] 
 
 
 
 §16-23-25  Supplemental bond or excess liability 
insurance requirement.  The commissioner may require 
any self-insurer to provide a bond or additional bond, 
cash, and securities or additional securities in a 
reasonable amount whenever the commissioner finds that 
the same is necessary or appropriate.  The 
commissioner may also require the self-insurer to 
provide evidence of excess liability insurance (in 
excess of the self-insured retention) in a licensed 
insurer in an amount the commissioner finds 
appropriate in light of such factors as the exposure, 
the number of vehicles involved, and the financial 
condition of the self-insurer.  [Eff 9/1/74; am and 
ren §16-23-25, 7/7/80; am and comp 9/1/82; comp 
9/1/85; comp 9/1/88; am and comp 9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; 
comp 6/1/93; comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; 
comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §431:10C-214)  (Imp:  HRS 
§§431:10C-119, 431:10C-602, 431:10C-603; 431:10C-604)  
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 §16-23-26  Service of process.  A self-insurer 
shall appoint an agent, who is a natural person, 
domiciled in the State of Hawaii to accept service of 
process and legal documents provided that in the event 
of a conflict between this chapter and any other 
statute or rule of civil procedure, the statute or 
rule of civil procedure shall prevail.  [Eff 9/1/74; 
am and ren §16-23-26, 7/7/80; comp 9/1/82; comp 
9/1/85; comp 9/1/88; am and comp 9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; 
am and comp 6/1/93; comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; comp 
11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:10C-119, 
431:10C-214)  (Imp:  HRS §431:10C-119)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-27  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-28  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-30  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-31  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-32  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-33  Reporting requirements.  A self-
insurer shall submit the reports prescribed by 
subchapter 12 of this chapter.  [Eff 9/1/74; am and 
ren §16-23-33, 7/7/80; am and comp 9/1/82; comp 
9/1/85; am 9/1/86; comp 9/1/88; comp 9/15/89; comp 
9/1/90; am and comp 6/1/93; am and comp 1/1/98; comp 
1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  
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HRS §431:10C-214)  (Imp:  HRS §§431:10C-119, 431:10C-
215)  
 
 
 

SUBCHAPTER 7  REPEALED  
 
 
 
 §16-23-34  Repealed.  [R 9/1/80]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-35  Repealed.  [R 9/1/80]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-36  Repealed.  [R 9/1/80]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-37  Repealed.  [R 9/1/80]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-38  Repealed.  [R 9/1/80]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-39  Repealed.  [R 9/1/80]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-40  Repealed.  [R 9/1/80]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-41  Repealed.  [R 9/1/80]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-42  Repealed.  [R 9/1/80] 
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 §16-23-43  Repealed.  [R 9/1/80]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-44  Repealed.  [R 9/1/80]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-45  Repealed.  [R 9/1/80]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-46  Repealed.  [R 9/1/80]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-47  Repealed.  [R 9/1/80] 
 
 
 
 §16-23-48  Repealed.  [R 9/1/80]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-49  Repealed.  [R 9/1/80]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-50  Repealed.  [R 9/1/80]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-51  Repealed.  [R 9/1/80]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-52  Repealed.  [R 9/1/80]  
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 §16-23-53  Repealed.  [R 9/1/80]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-54  Repealed.  [R 9/1/80]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-55  Repealed.  [R 9/1/80]  
 
 
 

SUBCHAPTER 8  
 

DRIVER EDUCATION FUND  
 
 
 
 §16-23-56  Payment and expenditure.  There is 
assessed and levied upon each insurer and self-insurer 
a drivers' education fund underwriters' fee on each 
motor vehicle insured by each insurer or self-insurer.  
This fee is set by statute and is due and payable on 
an annual basis from July 1, 1998 by means and at a 
time to be determined by the commissioner.  Motor 
vehicles insured under the joint underwriting plan 
shall be excluded from the drivers' education fund 
assessment.  The commissioner shall deposit the fees 
into a special drivers' education fund account to be 
expended for the operation of the drivers' education 
program provided for in section 286-128, HRS, and the 
drivers' education program administered by the 
department of education.  [Eff 9/1/74; am 9/1/78; am 
and ren §16-23-56, 7/7/80; am 9/1/80; am 9/1/81; comp 
9/1/82; am 9/1/84; am and comp 9/1/85; comp 9/1/88; am 
and comp 9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; comp 6/1/93; am and 
comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; am and comp 11/11/12; comp 
7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:10C-115, 431:10C-214)  
(Imp:  HRS §431:10C-115)  
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SUBCHAPTER 9  
 

MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS  
 
 
 
 §16-23-57  Administrative hearing on denial of 
claim.  If an insurer or self-insurer denies a claim 
for personal injury protection in whole or in part, it 
shall mail to the claimant in triplicate a notice of 
the denial as required by section 431:10C-304(3)(B), 
HRS.  In the case of benefits for services specified 
in section 431:10C-103.5, HRS, the insurer or self-
insurer shall also mail a copy of the denial to the 
health care provider or alternative health care 
provider.  
 If the claimant or health care provider desires a 
review of any action on the claim for benefits, the 
claimant or health care provider shall file with the 
commissioner two copies of the notice of denial of the 
claim, a request for review and a statement in 
duplicate giving specific reasons for the request 
within sixty days after the date of denial of the 
claim.  
 The commissioner shall forthwith notify the 
insurer or self-insurer of the request for review, 
enclosing a copy of the claimant's or health care 
provider's statement of reasons therefor.  
 The review hearing shall be held or conducted in 
the county in which the claimant or health care 
provider resides; provided, that the commissioner, 
upon a showing of good cause, may hold the hearing in 
another county.  The hearing may be held by telephone 
with the consent of the parties.  The commissioner may 
appoint an impartial referee to hear the matter.  
 The review shall be heard and determined in 
accordance with the provisions of chapter 91, HRS, and 
chapter 16-201.  The commissioner shall assess the 
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cost of the hearing upon either or both of the 
parties.  
 Nothing in this section precludes determination 
of any dispute relating to a motor vehicle insurance 
policy by arbitration and judicial review pursuant to 
chapter 431:10C, HRS.  [Eff 9/1/74; am 9/1/79; am and 
ren §16-23-57, 7/7/80; am and comp 9/1/82; comp 
9/1/85; am and comp 9/1/88; comp 9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; 
am 9/1/91; am and comp 6/1/93; am and comp 1/1/98; am 
and comp 1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  
HRS §§431:10C-212, 431:10C-214)  (Imp:  HRS §§431:10C-
212, 431:10C-214)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-58  Notice of claim.  Written notice of 
claim under a motor vehicle insurance policy and any 
optional coverage shall be given to the insurer within 
a reasonable time after the date of the accident on 
which the claim is based or when the claimant first 
became aware of the ailment or disability resulting 
from the accident, subject to the statute of 
limitations, 431:10C-315, HRS.  [Eff 9/1/74; am and 
ren §16-23-58, 7/7/80; am and comp 9/1/82; comp 
9/1/85; am and comp 9/1/88; comp 9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; 
comp 6/1/93; am and comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; comp 
11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §431:10C-214)  
(Imp:  HRS §431:10C-214)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-59  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-60  Motor vehicle insurance policy 
endorsements.  Any policy issued or renewed on or 
after January 1, 1998, shall provide the coverage 
required of a motor vehicle insurance policy in 
accordance with chapter 431, HRS, and administrative 
rules as amended from time to time.  The endorsement 
as drafted by the insurer shall be subject to approval 
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by the commissioner.  The commissioner may require a 
certification from the insurer that, to the best of 
the certifier's knowledge and belief, such form meets 
the requirements of all applicable Hawaii laws and 
rules.  
 Subject to section 431:10C-308.5, HRS, the 
endorsement may provide that a person eligible for 
personal injury protection benefits shall submit to 
medical or related examination by health care 
providers as often as, the insurer may reasonably 
require.  A person eligible for personal injury 
protection benefits may be required to submit, at the 
insurer's expense, to a medical or related examination 
in a county other than the county in which the subject 
person resides.  [Eff 9/1/74; am and ren §16-23-60, 
7/7/80; comp 9/1/82; am 9/1/84; comp 9/1/85; comp 
9/1/88; am and comp 9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; comp 6/1/93; 
am and comp 1/1/98; am and comp 1/8/99; am and comp 
11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §431:10C-214)  
(Imp:  HRS §431:10C-214)  
 
 
 

SUBCHAPTER 10  REPEALED 
 
 
 
 §16-23-61  Repealed.  [R 9/1/85]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-62  Repealed.  [R 9/1/85]  
 
 
 

SUBCHAPTER 11  REPEALED  
 
 
 
 §16-23-63  Repealed.  [R 9/1/86]  
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SUBCHAPTER 12  

 
STATISTICAL AND REPORTING REQUIREMENTS  

 
 
 
 §16-23-64  Revision of current statistical plans.  
Statistical plans currently utilized for the 
collection and compilation of experience under motor 
vehicle insurance policies shall be revised and 
refiled to meet the following additional requirements 
of this section:  

(1) Compilations made by statistical agents 
shall be filed with the commissioner within 
ninety days of the evaluation date of the 
data contained therein.  Accident year 
experience shall be evaluated as of March 
31, and the statistical agent's compilation 
filed on or before June 30 of each year.  In 
the event that an individual company does 
not provide proper input data to its 
designated statistical agent on a timely 
basis, the statistical agent shall 
nevertheless file the compilation of such 
data as has been properly filed on or before 
June 30 together with a detailed explanation 
of the incomplete data and the steps being 
taken to remedy the incompleteness.  Every 
thirty days thereafter, the statistical 
agent shall file an updated compilation 
together with a deficiency report, until a 
complete compilation has been filed;  

(2) Statistical agents shall make available to 
the commissioner, at request, compilations 
for any or all individual companies 
reporting to them;  

(3) Coverage codes shall provide for separate 
identification of each mandatory option, as 
specified in section 16-23-11; 
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(4) Type of loss codes shall provide for 

separate identification of each mandatory 
option as specified in section 16-23-11;  

(5) Provision shall be made to separately 
identify benefits paid for chiropractic and 
acupuncture treatments under personal injury 
protection benefits;  

(6) The definition of excess loss shall be 
amended to include provision for claims 
where the amount of personal injury 
protection benefits incurred equals or 
exceeds $10,000, less any applicable offset 
or deductible;  

(7) Experience under each of the various 
deductibles, co-payments and managed care 
options for personal injury protection 
benefits shall be separately coded and 
compiled;  

(8) Provision shall be made to separately 
identify the amount of covered loss 
deductible offsets to bodily injury 
liability coverage losses; and  

(9) Experience under each of the various 
deductibles and optional additional coverage 
for physical damage shall be separately 
coded and compiled.  [Eff 9/1/74; am and ren 
§16-23-64, 7/7/80; am and comp 9/1/82; comp 
9/1/85; am and comp 9/1/88; comp 9/15/89; 
comp 9/1/90; am and comp 6/1/93; am and comp 
1/1/98; am and comp 1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; 
comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §431:10C-214)  
(Imp:  HRS §431:14-114)  

 
 
 
 §16-23-65  Quarterly report.  (a)  Each insurer 
shall maintain a quarterly report covering the matters 
described in this section.  Groups of companies shall 
also maintain quarterly reports on a combined basis.  
Each insurer and group of companies shall make 
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available and submit quarterly reports to the 
commissioner at the commissioner's request.  

(b) A census of vehicles insured as of the end 
of each calendar quarter shall be maintained.  Within 
forty-five days of the end of the fourth quarter, the 
fourth quarter census shall be filed with the 
commissioner.  The census of the vehicles insured 
shall indicate the following characteristics:  

(1) Territory;  
(2) Private passenger non fleet, motorcycle, or 

commercial;  
(3) Number in paragraph (2) with optional 

additional coverage for:  
(A) Limits of personal injury protection 

benefits;  
(B) Limits of bodily injury liability 

benefits;  
(C) Alternative providers benefits;  
(D) Wage loss benefits;  
(E) Death benefits;  
(F) Funeral benefits;  
(G) Comprehensive, fire, and theft; and  
(H) Collision.  

(4) Number in paragraph (2) with personal injury 
protection benefits subject to:  
(A) Deductibles;  
(B) Co-payments; or  
(C) Managed care; and  

(5) Number of insured vehicles charged a rate 
for basic coverage above the insurer's basic 
rate for the use classification, mileage, 
and territory of the vehicle.  

(c) Experience under Hawaii motor vehicle 
insurance policies shall be maintained by accident 
quarter, developed through the end of the quarter of 
the report:  

(1) Experience shall be filed separately for 
private passenger non fleet, motorcycles, 
and commercial;  

(2) Experience shall be filed separately for 
personal injury protection, alternative 
providers, wage loss, death, funeral, bodily 
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injury liability, property damage liability, 
uninsured motorist, underinsured motorist, 
and for physical damage; and  

(3) The following data shall be shown for each 
classification:  
- Car years: written (except earned 

commercial)  
- Gross premiums: written  

earned  
- Number of claims: incurred pending as of 

report date  
- Losses & allocated loss adjustment 

expense: 
 Paid on closed claims  
 Paid on open claims  
 Reserve for outstanding 

reported losses  
 Reserve for incurred 

but not reported losses  
(Number of claims, in the case of personal injury 
protection, alternative providers, wage loss, 
death, funeral, uninsured motorist, and 
underinsured motorist benefits means the number 
of injured persons receiving benefits.  Paid 
losses should be net of any salvage or 
subrogation received.  Reserve for outstanding 
reported losses is the amount unpaid as of the 
report date.)  
(d) Data relating to number of policies canceled 

or refused renewals shall be maintained.  Within 
forty-five days of the end of the fourth quarter, the 
data for the fourth quarter shall be filed with the 
commissioner.  Data shall be maintained and filed 
relating to number of policies cancelled or refused 
renewals due to the following:  

(1) Nonpayment of premium;  
(2) License suspended or revoked;  
(3) Policyholder request;  
(4) Policyholder eligibility;  
(5) Notices of non-renewal;  
(6) Notices of conditional renewal; 
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(7) Cancellation within sixty days of policy 

period for paragraphs (1) or (2); and  
(8) Other conditions which shall be described.  
(e) Data relating to claims for personal injury 

protection benefits shall be maintained as follows:  
(1) Number of claims closed without payment;  
(2) Number of claims in suit at end of the 

quarter;  
(3) Number of claims where suit was instituted 

during the quarter;  
(4) Number of claims where accrued benefits were 

unpaid thirty days after reasonable proof 
had been received, and the amount of 
interest penalty paid as a result thereof; 
and  

(5) Number of claims denied during the quarter.  
 This section of the report shall contain an 
analysis of the reasons for the resistance to or 
denial of the claims in paragraphs (2), (3), and (5).  

(f) When requested by the commissioner, reports 
shall be filed in a format prescribed by the 
commissioner.  [Eff 9/1/74; am and ren §16-23-65, 
7/7/80; am 9/1/80; am and comp 9/1/82; comp 9/1/85; 
comp 9/1/88; am and comp 9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; am and 
comp 6/1/93; am and comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; am and 
comp 11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §431:10C-214)  
(Imp:  HRS §431:10C-215)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-66  Annual report.  By April 1 of each 
year, each insurer shall file an annual report 
covering the business of the preceding year.  The 
report shall contain a summary of Hawaii motor vehicle 
insurance experience in a format prescribed by the 
commissioner.  The experience shall be reported for 
six major classes of motor vehicle insurance:  

(1) Private Passenger Personal Injury 
Protection;  

(2) Private Passenger Liability;  
(3) Private Passenger Physical Damage; 
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(4) Commercial Personal Injury Protection;  
(5) Commercial Liability; and  
(6) Commercial Physical Damage.  

 This report shall contain a detailed explanation 
of the methods used to assign expenses and investment 
income to Hawaii motor vehicle classifications, and 
those used to develop reserves for losses and loss 
adjustment expenses.  Groups of companies shall also 
file an annual report on a combined basis.  [Eff 
9/1/74; am 9/1/76; am 9/1/77; am and ren §16-23-66, 
7/7/80; am and comp 9/1/82; comp 9/1/85; comp 9/1/88; 
am and comp 9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; am 9/1/91; comp 
6/1/93; am and comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; comp 
11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §431:10C-214)  
(Imp:  HRS §431:10C-215)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-66.5  Repealed.  [R 1/1/98]  
 
 
 

SUBCHAPTER 13  
 

THE JOINT UNDERWRITING PLAN  
 
 
 

Historical Note:  Subchapter 13 of chapter 16-23 is 
based substantially upon subchapter 7 of chapter 16-
23.  [Eff 9/1/74; am 9/1/76; am 9/1/77; am 9/1/78; am 
9/1/79; am and ren §16-23-34 to §16-23-55, 7/7/80; R 
9/1/80; comp 7/2/22]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-67  General description.  (a)  The joint 
underwriting plan (JUP) is intended to provide motor 
vehicle insurance and optional additional insurance in 
a convenient and expeditious manner for those persons, 
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uses, or motor vehicles in certain "high risk" 
categories with respect to which insurance cannot 
reasonably be obtained in the market at rates not in 
excess of JUP rates, or persons who otherwise are in 
good faith entitled to, but unable to obtain, motor 
vehicle insurance and optional additional insurance 
through ordinary methods.  Insurers will pool their 
losses and bona fide expenses under JUP to prevent the 
imposition of any inordinate burden on any particular 
insurer.  

(b) Another part of the JUP consists of the 
assignment thereto of claims of victims for whom no 
policy is applicable, such as the hit-and-run victim 
who is not covered by a motor vehicle insurance 
policy.  The losses and expenses under the assigned 
claims program are pro-rated among and shared by all 
motor vehicle insurers and self-insurers.  [Eff 
9/1/80; comp 9/1/82; comp 9/1/85; comp 9/1/88; comp 
9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; am and comp 6/1/93; am 1/30/95; 
am and comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; comp 
7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:10C-214, 431:10C-406)  
(Imp:  HRS §§431:10C-401 through 431:10C-412)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-68  Membership in JUP.  (a)  Each insurer 
shall be a member of the JUP.  As a condition of 
licensure, it shall:  

(1) Maintain its membership at a minimum fee of 
$1,000 per year or part thereof; and  

(2) Accept appointment as a servicing entity if 
the commissioner finds it necessary in the 
public interest and that the insurer is 
capable of performing as a servicing entity.  

(3) This section shall not apply to those 
insurers writing motor vehicle insurance 
exclusively under section 431:10C-106, HRS.  

(b) The commissioner shall notify the insurer of 
its membership in the JUP at least thirty days before 
the extension date of the insurer's membership.  If 
the fee is not paid on or before the extension date, 
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the fee shall be increased by a penalty in the amount 
of fifty per cent of the fee.  If the fee and the 
penalty are not paid within thirty days after the 
extension date, the commissioner may revoke the 
insurer's certificate of authority and reissue the 
certificate of authority when the penalty and the fee 
have been paid.  [Eff 9/1/80; am and comp 9/1/82; am 
and comp 9/1/85; am 9/1/87; am and comp 9/1/88; comp 
9/15/89; am and comp 9/1/90; am and comp 6/1/93; am 
and comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; am and 
comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:10C-214, 431:10C-406)  
(Imp:  HRS §§431:10C-401 through 431:10C-404)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-69  Repealed.  [R 1/8/99]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-70  Allocation of JUP costs.  All costs 
incurred in the operation of the joint underwriting 
plan bureau and the operation of the plan, such as 
administrative, staff, and claims (other than assigned 
claims) paid, shall be allocated fairly and equitably 
among the JUP members.  
 The allocations shall be computed on a "share of 
the voluntary market" basis.  
 Allocation of private passenger non-fleet 
experience will be on the basis of net direct written 
car years.  
 Allocation of commercial and all other experience 
will be on the basis of net direct written premiums.  
 Member insurers or the statistical agencies 
designated by them shall report all of the data 
necessary to comply with the allocation procedures to 
the commissioner or agent designated by the 
commissioner.  Each insurer shall permit its 
statistical agent to release such data to the 
commissioner or agent designated by the commissioner.  
[Eff 9/1/80; am and comp 9/1/82; comp 9/1/85; comp 
9/1/88; comp 9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; comp 6/1/93; comp 
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1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  
(Auth:  HRS §§431:10C-214, 431:10C-406)  (Imp:  HRS 
§§431:10C-401 through 431:10C-404)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-71  Selection of servicing entities.  (a) 
The commissioner shall select certain insurers or 
persons as servicing entities, who will provide JUP 
coverage and perform direct insurance operations on 
behalf of JUP members.  A servicing entity shall be 
one of the following: 

(1) An insurer as described in section 16-23-68, 
with the abilities to provide services as 
described in section 16-23-77, or 

(2) A person as described in section 431:1-212, 
HRS, authorized to provide services as 
described in section 16-23-77. 

(b) In making the selection, the commissioner 
shall consider:  

(1) Whether the servicing entity is able to 
process and maintain a high level of service 
for all risks submitted through agents;  

(2) Whether the servicing entity has the 
facilities to provide JUP policyholders and 
assigned claimants a high level of service;  

(3) Whether the servicing entity is able to 
service private passenger or commercial 
lines and to process fluctuating work 
volumes and maintain quality of service 
through peak periods;  

(4) Whether the servicing entity’s claims 
service is adequate, including an adequately 
decentralized adjusting staff, a claims 
examining staff resident in Hawaii, and 
local authority to settle claims at least up 
to the statutory basic motor vehicle 
insurance limits; and  

(5) Whether the servicing entity is capable of 
producing accounting and statistical reports 
and other data as required.  [Eff 9/1/80; am 
and comp 9/1/82; comp 9/1/85; comp 9/1/88; 
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comp 9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; comp 6/1/93; am 
and comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; 
am and comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:10C-
214, 431:10C-406)  (Imp:  HRS §§431:10C-401 
through 431:10C-404)  

 
 
 
 §16-23-72  Classifications eligible for JUP.  (a)  
In addition to the classifications established in 
section 431:10C-407, HRS, the JUP shall provide motor 
vehicle insurance policies for the following classes 
of persons, motor vehicles, and uses:  

(1) Motor vehicles owned by licensed drivers, 
defined as follows:  
(A) The applicant or any person who resides 

in the same household as the applicant 
and customarily operates the automobile 
or any other person who regularly and 
frequently operates the motor vehicle 
to be insured, who:  
(i) Within thirty-six months prior 

to the date of the application 
has been convicted of operating 
a motor vehicle without motor 
vehicle insurance;  

(ii) Within the eighteen months prior 
to the date of the application, 
has been convicted of or 
forfeited bail for two or more 
moving traffic violations; or  

(iii) Has been convicted of any felony 
involving a motor vehicle;  

(B) The applicant or any operator of an 
automobile in the same household who 
customarily operates the automobile or 
any other operator who customarily 
operates the automobile has been 
involved during the thirty-six month 
period prior to the date of the 
application in: 
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(i) Two or more accidents involving 

bodily injury or death if there 
is one car in the household or 
an average of more than one such 
accident for all cars in the 
household, provided that a loss 
payment has been made or a loss 
reserve has been established for 
such accidents;  

(ii) Two or more accidents involving 
damage to any property, 
including their own, of $1,000 
or more if there is one car in 
the household, or an average of 
more than one such accident for 
all cars in the household, 
provided that loss payments or 
reserves under the comprehensive 
physical damage coverage shall 
not be counted; or  

(iii) A combination of two or more 
such accidents of the type 
specified in subparagraph (B)(i) 
or (ii).  
 

Accidents under subparagraph (B)(i), 
(ii), or (iii) shall not be counted 
unless it can be clearly demonstrated 
that the applicant or other operator 
referred to therein was at fault.  
Accidents occurring under the following 
circumstances would tend to demonstrate 
that the applicant or operator was not 
at fault:  
 
Automobile was lawfully parked (an 
automobile rolling from a parked 
position shall not be considered as 
lawfully parked, but shall be 
considered as the operation of the last 
operator); or 
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Applicant or other operator residing in 
the same household, was reimbursed by, 
or on behalf of, a person responsible 
for the accident or has judgment 
against that person; or  
 
Automobile for the applicant or other 
operator resident in the same household 
was struck in the rear by another 
vehicle, and the operator has not been 
convicted of a moving traffic violation 
in connection with the accident; or  
 
Operator of the other automobile 
involved in the accident was convicted 
of a moving traffic violation and the 
named insured or other operator 
resident in the same household was not 
convicted of a moving traffic violation 
in connection therewith; or  
 
Automobile operated by the applicant or 
other operator resident in the same 
household was damaged as a result of 
contact with a hit-and-run driver, if 
the accident was reported to proper 
authority within twenty-four hours; or  
 
Accidents involving contact with 
animals or fowl; or  
 
Accidents involving physical damage, 
limited to and caused by flying gravel, 
missiles, or falling objects; and  

 
(2) All other motor vehicles, not classified 

under paragraph (1) or section 431:10C-407, 
HRS, owned by licensed drivers who are 
unable to obtain motor vehicle insurance 
policies and optional additional insurance 
through ordinary methods. 
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(b) The JUP shall also provide required optional 

additional insurance for the above classes, with the 
exception of licensed drivers receiving public 
assistance benefits and unlicensed permanently 
disabled individuals who own their motor vehicle and 
receive public assistance benefits.  

(c) The JUP shall provide a named non-owner 
policy for any applicant.  [Eff 9/1/80; am and comp 
9/1/82; am and comp 9/1/85; comp 9/1/88; comp 9/15/89; 
am and comp 9/1/90; am 9/1/91; am and comp 6/1/93; am 
1/30/95; am 8/12/96; am and comp 1/1/98; am and comp 
1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; am and comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  
HRS §§431:10C-214, 431:10C-406)  (Imp:  HRS §431:10C-
407)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-73  Public assistance benefits recipients.  
(a)  The state department of human services (DHS) 
shall provide a certificate of eligibility for JUP 
coverage to eligible licensed drivers and unlicensed 
permanently disabled individuals unable to operate 
their motor vehicle, who are receiving public 
assistance benefits from the department or from the 
Supplemental Security Income program under the Social 
Security Administration and who desire basic motor 
vehicle insurance policy coverage under JUP; provided 
such licensed drivers and unlicensed permanently 
disabled individuals unable to operate their motor 
vehicle are the sole registered owners of motor 
vehicles to be insured under the JUP.  The applicant 
shall submit the certificate in person or by mail to 
the servicing entity of the applicant's choice for a 
motor vehicle insurance policy.  Certificates received 
by the servicing entity within thirty days from the 
date of certification of eligibility by the state 
department of human services shall be accepted and 
treated as if it were payment in full for the 
requested motor vehicle insurance coverages.  The 
servicing entity shall certify this certificate which 
will function as a motor vehicle insurance policy and 
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issue the applicant a motor vehicle insurance 
identification card.  The servicing entity shall 
develop the information necessary to validate the 
eligibility of the applicant.  Only basic motor 
vehicle insurance policy coverages, as defined in 
section 431:10C-301(a) and 301(b)(1) and (2), HRS, 
shall be bound, and the effective date of coverage 
shall be the same date as the signature date on the 
certificate by the applicant; however, the effective 
date shall not precede the time and date of the 
certification of eligibility by the state department 
of human services, the date that the servicing entity 
receives the certificate, or the second day after 
postmark, whichever is later.  In the event that the 
applicant fails to date the certificate, the date that 
the servicing entity receives the certificate or the 
second day after postmark, whichever is earlier, shall 
be considered the date the applicant signed the 
certificate.  The servicing entity shall promptly 
notify the director of human services of public 
assistance recipients which it insures.  

(b) An applicant shall first exhaust all paid 
coverage under any motor vehicle insurance policy then 
in force before becoming eligible for JUP coverage.  

(c) Upon termination of public assistance 
benefits, the DHS shall:  

(1) Notify the recipient upon termination of 
public assistance benefits and instruct the 
recipient that the recipient must 
immediately notify the servicing entity of 
the termination of benefits and obtain 
timely insurance for the recipient's 
vehicle;  

(2) Give written notice to the recipient that 
the recipient's JUP basic motor vehicle 
insurance policy will terminate thirty days 
from the date of termination of public 
assistance benefits.  This notice of 
cancellation shall be considered as proper 
notification under section 431:10C-112, HRS, 
and section 16-23-15, providing the 
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recipient with thirty days’ notice of 
cancellation; and  

(3) Notify the servicing entity of the 
termination of public assistance benefits 
and the date the termination was effective.  
[Eff 9/1/80; am and comp 9/1/82; comp 
9/1/85; am 9/1/86; am and comp 9/1/88; am 
and comp 9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; am 9/1/91; am 
and comp 6/1/93; am and comp 1/1/98; am and 
comp 1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; am and comp 
7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:10C-214, 431:10C-
406)  (Imp:  HRS §431:10C-407)  

 
 
 
 §16-23-74  Application for JUP, placement; 
reporting disposition.  A person may apply for 
coverage under the JUP to any motor vehicle insurance 
producer who shall inform the applicant whether or not 
the applicant is eligible for JUP coverage. 
 Any eligible certified public assistance insured 
(CPAI) shall apply for motor vehicle insurance 
coverage directly to the servicing entity of the 
insured's choice. 
 If the applicant qualifies for and desires JUP 
coverage, a producer who represents servicing entities 
in the voluntary market shall use these servicing 
entities in placing JUP applications, giving 
preference to the applicant's choice.  A producer who 
does not represent any servicing entity in the 
voluntary market may place the JUP insurance with an 
appropriate servicing entity, giving preference to the 
applicant's choice.  A producer licensed to write 
motor vehicle insurance shall automatically be 
licensed and authorized to bind eligible applicants on 
behalf of the JUP and shall communicate the fact of 
such binding directly to the affected servicing 
entity. 
 A producer shall inform the commissioner in 
writing of each application for JUP coverage received 
by it, showing the disposition thereof, i.e., whether 
the application was denied (and the reason therefor) 
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or approved, and if approved, the servicing entity 
with which the application was placed within two 
working days after the date of disposition.  The 
commissioner may inquire into the propriety of any 
disposition and when indicated by the circumstances 
may, after affording the applicant, insurer, and any 
other affected persons an opportunity to be heard, 
take such action as may be appropriate.  [Eff 9/1/80; 
am and comp 9/1/82; comp 9/1/85; comp 9/1/88; comp 
9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; am and comp 6/1/93; am and comp 
1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; am and comp 11/11/12; am and comp 
7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:10C-214, 431:10C-406)  
(Imp:  HRS §431:10C-407)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-75  Denial of application; appeal.  If an 
insurer denies an applicant JUP coverage under section 
16-23-72(a)(1) or (a)(2) or section 431:10C-407, HRS, 
the insurer, by the next working day, shall mail or 
deliver to the applicant in triplicate a notice of the 
denial, of the applicant's right to appeal, and of the 
appeal procedure.  If the applicant desires a review 
of the denial of the application, the applicant shall 
file with the commissioner two copies of the notice of 
denial, a request for review, and a statement in 
duplicate giving the applicant's reasons for the 
request within seven calendar days after the date of 
denial of the application.  
 The commissioner shall forthwith notify the 
insurer of the request for review, enclosing a copy of 
the statement of reasons therefor.  
 The appeal shall be heard and determined in 
accordance with the provisions of chapter 91, HRS, and 
chapter 16-201.  [Eff 9/1/80; am and comp 9/1/82; comp 
9/1/85; am and comp 9/1/88; comp 9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; 
am and comp 6/1/93; am 1/30/95; am and comp 1/1/98; am 
and comp 1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  
HRS §§431:10C-214, 431:10C-406)  (Imp:  HRS §431:10C-
402) 
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 §16-23-76  Administration by JUP bureau.  If the 
commissioner determines that the method of assignment 
of JUP applicants described herein is not operating in 
an effective and fair manner, the commissioner may 
have the JUP bureau directly receive, assign, and 
supervise the servicing of all applications for JUP 
coverage.  [Eff 9/1/80; am and comp 9/1/82; comp 
9/1/85; comp 9/1/88; comp 9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; comp 
6/1/93; comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; comp 
7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:10C-214, 431:10C-406)  
(Imp:  HRS §431:10C-402)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-77  Servicing entities’ duties.  A 
servicing entity shall:  

(1) Accomplish confirmation of rating criteria, 
such as an applicant's or policyholder's 
driving record;  

(2) Issue, sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance 
policies and endorsements approved by the 
commissioner, and certify the eligibility 
certificates within fifteen working days 
after receipt of an application for JUP 
coverage;  

(3) Effectively and efficiently perform all 
necessary accounting and statistical 
procedures set forth in the JUP manual;  

(4) Collect the necessary data to disburse 
commission payments to producers and be able 
to store the data and transmit it to the 
Internal Revenue Service annually; and  

(5) Account to the commissioner as required, and 
take such action as the commissioner may 
properly require.  [Eff 9/1/80; am and comp 
9/1/82; comp 9/1/85; comp 9/1/88; comp 
9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; am and comp 6/1/93; 
comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; am and comp 
11/11/12; am and comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS 
§§431:10C-214, 431:10C-406)  
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(Imp:  HRS §§431:10C-401 through 431:10C-
404)  

 
 
 
 §16-23-78  Allowances to servicing entities.  
Servicing entities shall be reimbursed for their 
servicing expenses.  The commissioner shall establish 
the fees for reimbursement of the servicing entity’s 
administrative and loss adjustment expenses associated 
with its handling of certified public assistance 
insured and non-certified public assistance insured 
business on new business after June 2022, after 
consultation with the JUP board of governors.  The fee 
schedule approved by the commissioner will define any 
direct reimbursement of operating costs to the 
servicing entity for both administrative and claims 
handling responsibilities.  [Eff 9/1/80; am and comp 
9/1/82; comp 9/1/85; comp 9/1/88; comp 9/15/89; comp 
9/1/90; comp 6/1/93; comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; comp 
11/11/12; am and comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:10C-
214, 431:10C-406)  (Imp:  HRS §§431:10C-401 through 
431:10C-404)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-79  Commissions.  A servicing entity shall 
pay a producer commission for business written 
pursuant to the JUP. 
 The rate of commission payable by the servicing 
entity for business written pursuant to the JUP shall 
be paid at market rates as presented by the JUP board 
of governors and approved by the Commissioner. 
 No commission shall be paid for certified public 
assistance insured business.  
 All risks transferred from one servicing entity 
to another under the JUP or reinstated policies are to 
be considered renewal business.  [Eff 9/1/80; am and 
comp 9/1/82; am and comp 9/1/85; comp 9/1/88; comp 
9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; comp 6/1/93; am 1/30/95; am and 
comp 1/1/98; am and comp 1/8/99; am and comp 11/11/12; 
am and comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:10C-
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214, 431:10C-406)  (Imp:  HRS §§431:10C-401 through 
431:10C-404)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-80  JUP rates.  The commissioner shall 
establish rating rules, refinement of classifications, 
rates, rating plans, territories, and policy forms for 
use under the JUP after consultation with the JUP 
board of governors and in accordance with the 
requirements and standards prescribed in sections 
431:10C-409 through 431:10C-412, HRS.  [Eff 9/1/80; am 
and comp 9/1/82; comp 9/1/85; am and comp 9/1/88; comp 
9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; am and comp 6/1/93; comp 1/1/98; 
comp 1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS 
§§431:10C-214, 431:10C-406)  (Imp:  HRS §§431:10C-409 
through 431:10C-412)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-81  JUP private passenger manual.  The 
private passenger manual of the Hawaii joint 
underwriting plan (HJUP) and any amendments approved 
by the commissioner, published by the Automobile 
Insurance Plans Service Office (Rhode Island), is 
adopted as the private passenger automobile manual of 
the HJUP.  Copies of the HJUP private passenger 
automobile manual are available at the Automobile 
Insurance Plans Service Office (Rhode Island), and are 
available for inspection at the insurance division, 
department of commerce and consumer affairs.  The 
private passenger manual may be combined with the 
commercial manual to produce one manual.  [Eff 9/1/80; 
am 9/1/81; am and comp 9/1/82; am 9/1/83; am 9/1/84; 
am and comp 9/1/85; am 9/1/86; am 9/1/87; am and comp 
9/1/88; am and comp 9/15/89; am and comp 9/1/90; am 
9/1/91; am and comp 6/1/93; am 1/30/95; am and comp 
1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; am and comp 11/11/12; comp 
7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:10C-214, 431:10C-406)  
(Imp:  HRS §§431:10C-409 through 431:10C-412)  
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 §16-23-82  JUP commercial manual.  The commercial 
automobile manual of the Hawaii joint underwriting 
plan (HJUP) and any amendments approved by the 
commissioner, published by the Automobile Insurance 
Plans Service Office (Rhode Island), is adopted as the 
commercial automobile manual of the HJUP. Copies of 
the HJUP commercial automobile manual are available at 
the Automobile Insurance Plans Service Office (Rhode 
Island), and are available for inspection at the 
insurance division, department of commerce and 
consumer affairs.  The commercial manual may be 
combined with the private passenger manual to produce 
one manual.  [Eff 9/1/80; am 9/1/81; am and comp 
9/1/82; am 9/1/83; am 9/1/84; am and comp 9/1/85; am 
9/1/86; am 9/1/87; am and comp 9/1/88; am and comp 
9/15/89; am and comp 9/1/90; am 9/1/91; am and comp 
6/1/93; am and comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; am and comp 
11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:10C-214, 
431:10C-406)  (Imp:  HRS §§431:10C-409 through 
431:10C-412)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-83  Repealed.  [R 1/8/99]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-84  JUP assigned claims; application; and 
assignment of claims.  The claimant shall apply to the 
JUP bureau, which shall promptly assign the claim to 
an appropriate servicing entity and notify the 
claimant thereof.  The assignment shall be made so as 
to minimize inconvenience to the claimant.  The 
claimant and the assignee carrier shall have rights 
and obligations as set forth in part II of chapter 
431:10C, HRS.  [Eff 9/1/80; am and comp 9/1/82; comp 
9/1/85; am and comp 9/1/88; comp 9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; 
comp 6/1/93; comp 1/1/98; am and comp 1/8/99; comp 
11/11/12; am and comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:10C-
214, 431:10C-406)  (Imp:  HRS §§431:10C-401 through 
431:10C-404, 431:10C-408) 
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 §16-23-85  Proration of costs and assigned claims 
paid.  The commissioner shall annually prorate among 
and assess all insurers and self-insurers all costs 
and claims paid under the assigned claims program.  
 Proration shall be based upon a pro rata 
distribution for each premium dollar actually or 
theoretically received.  A self-insurer shall be 
assessed that prorated amount based upon the total 
premium cost for the coverage and vehicles stated in 
its certificate of self-insurance, as if the self-
insurer had sold such coverage at JUP premium rates.  
[Eff 9/1/80; comp 9/1/82; comp 9/1/85; comp 9/1/88; 
comp 9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; comp 6/1/93; comp 1/1/98; 
comp 1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS 
§§431:10C-214, 431:10C-406)  (Imp:  HRS §431:10C-408)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-86  JUP membership termination.  A member 
may terminate membership in the JUP upon termination 
of its licensure to transact motor vehicle insurance 
business in this State.  With respect to all policies 
in effect on the effective date of a member's 
termination, the liability of the terminating member 
shall cease on the anniversary date of each policy 
during the succeeding year.  Termination of membership 
shall not discharge or otherwise affect liabilities 
incurred prior to the expiration of these policies and 
the member shall continue to pay assessments until its 
proportionate share established by its writings prior 
to discontinuance of business has been determined.  
However, if the motor vehicle liability, personal 
injury protection, or physical damage business of an 
insurer discontinuing the writing of motor vehicle 
liability, personal injury protection, or physical 
damage insurance in this State has been purchased by, 
transferred to, or reinsured by another insurer, the 
latter shall pay the assessments of the former until 
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the proportionate share of the former as established 
by its writings prior to such transfer has been paid.  
 In the event that an insurer is merged with 
another insurer or there is a consolidation of 
insurers, the continuing insurer shall pay the 
assessments of the insurer merged or consolidated.  
Groups of insurers under the same ownership and 
management shall be treated as a single insurer under 
these provisions.  Groups of insurers under either the 
same ownership or management, but not both, may elect 
to be treated separately.  [Eff 9/1/80; am and comp 
9/1/82; comp 9/1/85; comp 9/1/88; comp 9/15/89; comp 
9/1/90; am and comp 6/1/93; am and comp 1/1/98; comp 
1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS 
§§431:10C-214, 431:10C-406)  (Imp:  HRS §§431:10C-401 
through 431:10C-404)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-87  Joint liability for JUP business.  In 
the event of the failure of any member, through 
insolvency or otherwise, to pay promptly its portion 
of any loss or expense, after the JUP has made written 
demand upon it to pay the loss or expense, the 
commissioner shall take appropriate action.  If the 
loss or expense remains unpaid beyond a reasonable 
period, all of the other motor vehicle insurance 
insurers, upon notification by the commissioner shall 
promptly pay their respective pro rata shares, based 
upon the predetermined participation ratios.  Members 
which have made contributions shall have the right to 
recovery thereafter against the member in default, 
provided, that the commissioner may enter into an 
agreement with the member in default, or with its 
legal representative, upon an amount which shall 
constitute a full settlement of all of the obligations 
of the member to the remaining members.  [Eff 9/1/80; 
am and comp 9/1/82; comp 9/1/85; comp 9/1/88; comp 
9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; comp 6/1/93; am and comp 1/1/98; 
comp 1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS 
§§431:10C-214, 431:10C-406)  (Imp:  HRS §§431:10C-401 
through 431:10C-404)
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 §16-23-88  Auditing of members.  The commissioner 
may audit the records of any member relating to the 
JUP and may prescribe policies, and the keeping of 
records, books of account, documents, and related 
material that the commissioner deems necessary to 
carry out JUP functions.  This material shall be 
provided by the members in the form and with the 
frequency required by the commissioner.  [Eff 9/1/80; 
am and comp 9/1/82; comp 9/1/85; comp 9/1/88; comp 
9/15/89; comp 9/1/90; am and comp 6/1/93; comp 1/1/98; 
comp 1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS 
§§431:10C-214, 431:10C-406)  (Imp:  HRS §§431:10C-215, 
431:10C-401 through 431:10C-404)  
 
 
 

SUBCHAPTER 14  REPEALED  
 
 
 
 §16-23-89  Repealed.  [R 1/1/98]  
 
 
 

SUBCHAPTER 15  
 

COMPLIANCE RESOLUTION FUND  
 
 
 
 §16-23-90  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-91  Allocation of cost of motor vehicle 
insurance administration.  (a)  Each insurer 
authorized to transact motor vehicle insurance in this 
State shall be assessed by the commissioner an amount 
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computed on the basis of the motor vehicle insurance 
premiums written in this State by the insurer during 
the previous calendar year.  Each self-insurer shall 
be assessed based upon the total premium cost for the 
coverage and vehicles stated in its certificate of 
self-insurance as if the self-insurer had sold the 
coverage at the premium rates applicable under the 
Hawaii Joint Underwriting Plan.  Annually, on April 1 
of each year, the commissioner shall determine the 
amounts due based on the amount needed for that year 
to administer the commissioner's obligations under 
article 10C of chapter 431, HRS.  The commissioner 
shall give written notice to each insurer authorized 
to write motor vehicle insurance in this State and 
each self-insurer.  The amounts required by this 
subsection shall be due on September 1 of each year. 

(b) The commissioner may pay out of the 
compliance resolution fund moneys to cover the cost of 
administering article 10C of chapter 431, HRS.  [Eff 
12/28/92; comp 6/1/93; am and comp 1/1/98; comp 
1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; am and comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  
HRS §§431:2-202, 431:10C-214)  (Imp:  HRS § 431:2-215) 
 
 
 

SUBCHAPTER 16  REPEALED 
 
 
 
 §16-23-92  Repealed.  [R 1/1/98]  
 
 
 

SUBCHAPTER 17  
 

FEE SCHEDULE AND UTILIZATION GUIDELINES  
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 §16-23-93  Fee schedules.  Subject to the time 
limitations set forth in section 431:10C-315, HRS, 
this subchapter shall apply to treatment occurring 
after May 31, 1993.  Charges and treatment rendered 
for emergency services during the initial seventy-two 
hours following the motor vehicle accident resulting 
in injury shall not be subject to this subchapter; 
provided, however, that charges for emergency 
treatment shall not exceed the health care or 
alternative care provider's usual and customary fee 
and shall be appropriate, reasonable, and necessarily 
incurred.  Charges for treatment of a primarily 
palliative nature shall be subject to the requirements 
of this subchapter in the same manner as any other 
treatment.  [Eff and comp 6/1/93; am and comp 1/1/98; 
comp 1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS 
§§431:2-201, 431:10C-214)  (Imp:  HRS §431:10C-308.5)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-94  Definitions.  As used in this 
subchapter:  
 "Claimant" means a person entitled to the 
benefits described in section 431:10C-103.5, HRS, 
under a motor vehicle insurance policy. 
 "Emergency treatment" or "emergency services" 
means treatment or services which are performed within 
the initial seventy-two hours following the motor 
vehicle accident because the condition is life 
threatening or could cause serious harm.  
 "Physician" includes a doctor of medicine, a 
dentist, a chiropractor, an osteopath, a psychologist, 
an optometrist, and a podiatrist. 
 "Specialist" means a physician or surgeon who 
holds a certificate as a diplomate issued by a 
specialty board approved by the American Medical 
Association or the American Dental Association.  [Eff 
and comp 6/1/93; am and comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; am 
and comp 11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:2-
201, 431:10C-214, 431:10C-308.5)  (Imp:  HRS §431:10C-
308.5) 
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 §16-23-95  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-96  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-97  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-98  Repealed.  [R 1/1/98]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-99  Concurrent treatment.  (a)  Concurrent 
treatment by more than one health care or alternative 
care provider may be allowed if the attending health 
care provider determines the claimant's injury 
involves more than one body system, and requires 
multidiscipline care, or is so severe or complex that 
services of more than one health care or alternative 
care provider are required.  

(b) Whenever a request for concurrent treatment 
is submitted, the insurer shall respond within five 
working days after postmark of such request, giving 
authorization or stating in writing the reason for 
refusal to each attending health care provider and the 
claimant.  Any such refusal shall be filed 
concurrently with the commissioner.  Failure by the 
insurer to respond within five working days after 
postmark of the request shall constitute approval of 
the request.  [Eff and comp 6/1/93; am and comp 
1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; am and comp 11/11/12; comp 
7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:2-201, 431:10C-214, 
431:10C-308.5)  (Imp:  HRS §431:10C-308.5)  
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 §16-23-100  Change in health care or alternative 
care providers.  The application of the frequency of 
treatment guidelines set forth in this subchapter 
shall not be affected when the claimant changes the 
health care or alternative care provider.  If a 
claimant receives treatments in excess of those 
specified in the guidelines, regardless of whether the 
treatments are performed by one health care or 
alternative care provider or by more than one health 
care or alternative care provider, the excess 
treatments may be subject to prior authorization.  
[Eff and comp 6/1/93; am and comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; 
am and comp 11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS 
§§431:2-201, 431:10C-214, 431:10C-308.5)  (Imp:  HRS 
§431:10C-308.5)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-101  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-102  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-103  Rules of decision for allowable fees 
for medical, surgical, and hospital services and 
supplies.  (a)  When all the required care for a case 
reasonably falls within the range of qualifications of 
one health care provider, no other health care 
provider may claim a fee, except for consultation 
service or for surgical assistance.  For groups of 
health care providers or hospitals with satellite 
clinics, when service is rendered by a group member of 
the same specialty, the group shall submit bills as 
though one health care provider had cared for the 
claimant.  

(b) Medical, surgical, or hospital care of an 
unusual type or unlisted fee may occur which 
represents a type of service over and beyond listed 
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procedures.  Appropriate fees may be allowed if the 
treatment was reasonable, appropriate, and necessary.  

(c) Medical conditions or symptoms which are 
pre-existing and are not aggravated or affected by and 
do not result from the injury covered by motor vehicle 
insurance benefits shall not be compensable.  
Palliative treatment of these unrelated conditions 
shall be allowed, provided that these conditions 
directly retard, prevent, or endanger the surgical 
care or recovery from the injury covered by motor 
vehicle insurance benefits.  In addition, pre-existing 
conditions which did not require treatment before the 
motor vehicle accident resulting in accidental harm 
but which do require treatment as a result of the 
accident shall be compensable.  Pre-existing 
conditions which required treatment at the time of the 
accident and which are aggravated or affected so as to 
require additional treatment shall be compensable to 
the extent of the additional treatment.  

(d) Certain of the procedures listed in medical 
fee schedules are commonly carried out as an integral 
part of a total service and do not warrant a separate 
charge.  When such a procedure is carried out as a 
separate procedure, not immediately related to other 
services, the indicated fee is applicable.  

(e) Minimal dressings, counseling incidental to 
treatment, etc., are covered by the office visit fee.  
Necessary drugs, supplies, and materials provided by 
the health care provider may be charged for separately 
in accordance with section 16-23-114.  

(f) Fees including office visits shall not be 
paid for more than one visit per day by the same 
health care provider of service regardless of the 
number of injuries or conditions treated.  [Eff and 
comp 6/1/93; am and comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; comp 
11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:2-201, 
431:10C-214, 431:10C-308.5)  (Imp:  HRS §431:10C-
308.5)  
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 §16-23-104  Health care providers.  (a)  
Frequency and extent of treatment shall not be more 
than the nature of the injury and the process of 
recovery requires.  Authorization is not required for 
the initial fifteen treatments of the injury during 
the first sixty calendar days, except for 
naturopathic, chiropractic and acupuncture treatments 
which are governed by section 431:10C-103.6, HRS.  

(b) A bill for no more than four hours for 
psychometric, projective, and other psychological 
testing and the resultant reports shall not be subject 
to prior authorization.  

(c) Conservative care extending beyond one 
hundred twenty calendar days from the date of first 
treatment may be subject to prior authorization. 

(d)(1) If the injury is the result of an 
accident on or after January 1, 1998, 
chiropractic and acupuncture visits shall be 
limited to the number of and costs for 
treatments in section 431:10C-103.6, HRS.  

(2) A "visit" shall include all examinations or 
chiropractic manipulative treatments 
involving one or more regions, spinal, and 
authorized physiotherapy modalities and 
procedures or acupuncture treatments 
provided on the same date.  

(3) The Hawaii state chiropractic guidelines are 
those guidelines in effect on January 25, 
1997 (light green cover).  

(4) Payments to a chiropractor or an 
acupuncturist for visits shall conform to 
paragraph (1) and shall not be reduced or 
revised by an insurer or its agent(s).  

(5) Chiropractic treatments shall not exceed the 
scope of practice permitted by chapters 431 
and 442, HRS.  

(e) If the injury is the result of an accident 
occurring on or after January 1, 1998, for physical 
medicine and rehabilitation, treatments may include up 
to four procedures, up to four modalities, or a 
combination of up to four procedures and modalities, 
and the visit shall not exceed sixty minutes per 
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injury.  When treating more than one injury, 
treatments may include up to six procedures, up to six 
modalities, or a combination of up to six procedures 
and modalities, and the entire visit shall not exceed 
ninety minutes.  

(f) If the injury is the result of an accident 
occurring on or after January 1, 1998, an insurer or 
its agent(s) shall not reduce payments to health care 
providers under this section through the withholding 
of moneys for the payments of taxes.  This subsection 
shall not exempt an insurer or its agent from 
complying with the Internal Revenue Code.  [Eff and 
comp 6/1/93; am and comp 1/1/98; am and comp 1/8/99; 
am and comp 11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS 
§§431:2-201, 431:10C-214, 431:10C-308.5, 431:10C-B)  
(Imp:  HRS §§431:10C-308.5, 431:10C-B ) 
 
 
 
 §16-23-105  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-106  Physician assistants.  Attending 
health care providers may prescribe treatment in their 
discipline to be carried out by persons certified or 
licensed to provide the service.  Fees for services 
provided by certified or licensed physician assistants 
under Hawaii law shall be sixty per cent of the fees 
authorized by section 16-23-115.  Fees for services 
provided by assistants not certified or licensed shall 
be fifty per cent of the fees authorized by section 
16-23-115.  [Eff and comp 6/1/93; am and comp 1/1/98; 
comp 1/8/99; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:2-201, 
431:10C-214, 431:10C-308.5)  (Imp:  HRS §431:10C-
308.5)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-107  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
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 §16-23-108  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-109  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-110  Anesthesia services.  (a)  A base 
unit is listed for all procedures in the medical fee 
schedule in accordance with section 16-23-115.  This 
includes the base unit of all anesthesia services 
except the value of the actual time spent 
administering the anesthesia or in unusual detention 
with the patient.  

(b) As allowed under Medicare, the anesthesia 
charges are equal to the sum of the base and time 
units for the service multiplied by a geographical 
adjusted anesthesia-specific conversion factor.  

(c) The total value for anesthesia services 
includes pre- and post-operative visits, the 
administration of the anesthetic, and the 
administration of fluids and blood incident to the 
anesthesia or surgery.  

(d) The time units are computed by dividing the 
total anesthesia time by fifteen minutes.  

(e) Calculated values for anesthesia services 
shall be used when the anesthesia is administered by 
an appropriately licensed health care provider and a 
fee shall be paid only for the individual anesthetic 
service.  

(f) If the general or regional anesthetic is 
administered by the attending health care provider, 
the value shall be fifty per cent of the calculated 
value.  

(g) A separate charge may be made for necessary 
drugs and materials provided by the health care 
provider or anesthetist in accordance with section 16-
23-114.  

(h) When unusual detention with the claimant is 
essential for the safety and welfare of the claimant, 
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the necessary time will be valued on the same basis as 
indicated for anesthesia time.  

(i) No additional fee shall be allowed for local 
infiltration or digital block anesthesia administered 
by the operating physician.  

(j) When either a hypothermia or a pump 
oxygenator, or both, are employed in conjunction with 
an anesthetic, the anesthetic "basic" value will be 
equal to that of procedure code 00560.  

(k) Where anesthesia is administered for dental 
services, if the above rules are not applicable, a fee 
equal to that of the procedure code 00122 for 
inhalation anesthesia and equal to that of procedure 
code 00102 by an intravenous route will be allowed.  
[Eff and comp 6/1/93; am and comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; 
comp 11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  §§431:2-201, 
431:10C-214, 431:10C-308.5)  (Imp:  HRS §431:10C-
308.5)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-111  Radiology services.  (a)  Taking of 
anterior-posterior (A-P), lateral, and oblique x-rays 
shall be discretionary for one hundred-twenty days 
following the initial treatment and may be allowed 
without authorization.  Prior authorization from the 
insurer shall be obtained for x-rays subsequent to the 
initial one hundred-twenty days of treatment.  

(b) Diagnostic tests and x-rays shall be taken, 
reported, and marked for identification and 
orientation in accordance with the accepted standard 
of radiologic practice.  X-rays shall be taken on 
machines with a current certification by the 
department of health.  

(c) Where contrast x-ray examinations are 
performed, fees shall include the usual contrast 
media.  When special trays or materials are provided 
by the health care provider, rather than by the 
hospital, an additional charge is warranted.  

(d) Injection procedures, including major 
surgery, for the purpose of performing needed 
radiological studies, are covered in the section on 
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surgery.  The fee shall be paid to the health care 
provider actually performing the service.  

(e) Fees shall include both the technical and 
professional components.  In the absence of any prior 
agreement between a radiologist and a hospital or 
other facility furnishing technical radiology 
services, the professional component shall be thirty-
five per cent of the scheduled radiology fee.  The 
technical (-TC) and professional (-26) components may 
be billed separately using the appropriate modifiers 
as indicated by Medicare.  Billings for x-rays are not 
reimbursable without a report of the findings.  

(f) Radiotherapy includes the use of x-ray and 
other high energy modalities (betatron, linear 
accelerator, etc.), radium cobalt, and other 
radioactive substances.  Fees for therapy include 
follow-up care, and concomitant office visits, but not 
concomitant surgical, radiological, or laboratory 
procedures.  [Eff and comp 6/1/93; am 1/30/95; am and 
comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  
(Auth:  HRS §§431:2-201, 431:10C-214, 431:10C-308.5)  
(Imp:  HRS §431:10C-308.5)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-112  Repealed.  [R 1/1/98]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-113  Hospital services.  (a)  Subject to 
the terms of the motor vehicle insurance policy, when 
hospitalization is required for further treatment of a 
claimant, that claimant shall have a free choice of a 
licensed hospital in the county where the injury 
occurred or in the county where the claimant resides.  
If the claimant is in critical condition or unable to 
express a choice, then the attending health care 
provider may designate the hospital to which the 
claimant will be taken.  

(b) Hospital charges shall be limited to ward 
rates or the lowest prevailing rate at the hospital 
where the claimant is confined, except if the nature 
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of the injury requires private care, intensive care, 
or isolation, as determined by the attending health 
care provider, in which case the prevailing private 
rates may be charged.  

(c) When a claimant is treated in the emergency 
facility of a hospital, the allowable hospital charge 
for the use of the emergency room shall be the 
established emergency room charge for that particular 
hospital.  

(d) All hospital charges shall be itemized when 
a bill is submitted.  [Eff and comp 6/1/93; am and 
comp 1/1/98; am and comp 1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; comp 
7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:2-201, 431:10C-214, 
431:10C-308.5)  (Imp:  HRS §431:10C-308.5)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-114  Drugs, supplies and materials.  (a)  
All charges for prescribed drugs, supplies, or 
materials for the use of the claimant shall be 
separately listed and certified by the health care 
provider, or a duly authorized representative that the 
charges for the drugs, supplies, or materials were 
required or prescribed for the injury covered by motor 
vehicle insurance benefits.  

(b) Dietary supplements such as minerals and 
vitamins shall not be reimbursable unless a specific 
compensable dietary deficiency has been clinically 
established in the claimant as a result of the injury 
covered by motor vehicle insurance benefits.  

(c) Payment for covered prescription drugs and 
supplies shall be made at the average wholesale price 
plus forty per cent of the average wholesale price 
when sold by a health care provider, hospital, 
pharmacy, or alternative health care provider of 
service.  Billings for prescriptive drugs shall 
include the national drug code number listed in the 
current American Druggist Red Book followed by the 
average wholesale price listed at time of purchase by 
the health care provider of service.  Approved 
generics shall be substituted for brand name 
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pharmaceuticals unless the prescribing health care 
provider certifies no substitution is permitted 
because the claimant's condition will not tolerate a 
generic preparation.  [Eff and comp 6/1/93; am and 
comp 1/1/98; comp 1/8/99; comp 11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  
(Auth:  HRS §§431:2-201, 431:10C-214, 431:10C-308.5)  
(Imp:  HRS §431:10C-308.5)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-115  Workers' compensation medical fee 
schedule.  (a)  Charges for medical services shall not 
exceed one hundred ten per cent of participating fees 
prescribed in the Medicare Resource Based Relative 
Value Scale System applicable to Hawaii (Medicare Fee 
Schedule) or Exhibit A at the end of Title 12, Chapter 
15, entitled "Workers' Compensation Supplemental 
Medical Fee Schedule" (Exhibit A).  The Medicare Fee 
Schedule and Exhibit A, together herein referred to as 
the "medical fee schedule," is made a part of this 
chapter and shall be used to determine the maximum 
allowable fees using the procedure codes and unit 
values established by the department of labor and 
industrial relations pursuant to section 386-21, HRS.  
Any subsequent amendment by the department of labor 
and industrial relations to the Medicare fee schedule 
and Exhibit A, shall be incorporated into this chapter 
by reference.  

(b) If the maximum allowable fees for medical 
services are listed in both the Medicare Fee Schedule 
and Exhibit A, charges shall not exceed the maximum 
allowable fees allowed under Exhibit A.  

(c) For the purposes of this section "private 
patient" means a patient not covered by insurance.  If 
the charges are not listed in the medical fee schedule 
or in Exhibit A, the health care provider shall charge 
a fee not to exceed eighty per cent of the health care 
or alternative care provider's usual and customary fee 
for the same service rendered to a private patient.  
Upon request by the insurer, a health care or 
alternative care provider shall submit a statement 
itemizing the lowest fee charged for the same health 
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care, services, and supplies furnished to any private 
patient during a one-year period preceding the date of 
the particular charge.  Requests shall be submitted in 
writing within twenty calendar days of receipt of a 
charge allegedly in excess of the allowable amount.  
The health care or alternative care provider shall 
reply in writing within ten calendar days of receipt 
of the request.  Failure to comply with the request of 
the insurer shall be reason for the insurer to deny 
payment.  

(d) Fees listed in the Medicare Fee Schedule 
shall be subject to the current Medicare Fee Schedule 
correct coding initiative ("CCI") and follow-up rules.  
The Health Care Financial Administration Common 
Procedure Coding System alphabet codes adopted by 
Medicare shall not be allowed unless specifically 
adopted by the director of labor.  [Eff and comp 
6/1/93; am and comp 1/1/98; am and comp 1/8/99; comp 
11/11/12; comp 7/2/22]  (Auth:  HRS §§431:2-201, 
431:10C-214, 431:10C-308.5)  (Imp:  HRS §431:10C-
308.5)  
 
 
 
 §16-23-116  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 

SUBCHAPTER 18  REPEALED  
 
 
 
 §16-23-117  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-117.5  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-118  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
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 §16-23-119  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 
 §16-23-120  Repealed.  [R 11/11/12]  
 
 
 



 

 

 Amendments to and compilation of chapter 16-23, 
Hawaii Administrative Rules, on the Summary page dated 
May 9, 2022, were adopted on May 9, 2022, following a 
public hearing held on the same date, after public 
notices were given in the Honolulu Star Advertiser and 
also posted on the State of Hawaii, Public Meetings 
Calendar on April 8, 2022.  
 
 These amendments and compilation shall take 
effect ten days after filing with the Office of the 
Lieutenant Governor. 
 
 

APPROVED: 
 
 
/s/ Catherine P. Awakuni Colón 
CATHERINE P. AWAKUNI COLÓN  
Director of Commerce and 
Consumer Affairs  
 
Date: 6/16/2022 
 
 
/s/ David Y. Ige 
DAVID Y. IGE 
Governor 
State of Hawaii 
 
Date: 6/22/2022 

 
 
 
APPROVED AS TO FORM:  
 
 
 
/s/: John E. Cole 
Deputy Attorney General 
 

‘22 JUN 22 P12:55 
Filed  



 

 

 

EXHIBIT #1 
REQUIRED OPTIONAL ADDITIONAL COVERAGES 

 
 

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) 
Benefits Limits 

(per person) 
$10,000 (basic) 

Insurers may offer higher limits 
 

PIP Deductibles 
$ 100 
$ 300 
$ 500 
$ 1,000 

 
Property Damage Liability Limits 

(per accident) 
$ 10,000 (basic) 

$ 15,000 
$ 20,000 
$ 30,000 

$ 50,000 * 
 
 

Bodily Injury Liability Limits 
(per person/per accident) 

$ 20,000/40,000 (basic) 
$ 50,000/100,000 
$ 100,000/300,000 

$ 300,000/300,000 * 
 
 

Uninsured Motorist Limits 
non-stacked and stacked 
(per person/per accident) 

$ 20,000/40,000 (basic 
offer) 

$ 50,000/100,000 
$ 100,000/300,000 

$ 300,000/300,000 * 
 
 

Underinsured Motorist Limits 
non-stacked and stacked 
(per person/per accident) 

$ 20,000/40,000 (basic 
offer) 

$ 50,000/100,000 
$ 100,000/300,000 

$ 300,000/300,000 * 
 

* where required by law 

 
Collision Deductibles 

$ 50 
$ 100 
$ 250 
$ 500 
$ 1,000 
$ 1,500 
$ 2,000 

 
 
 

Comprehensive Deductibles 
$ 50 
$ 100 
$ 250 
$ 500 
$ 1,000 
$ 1,500 
$ 2,000 

 
Death Benefits ** 

$ 25,000 
$ 50,000 
$ 75,000 
$ 100,000 

 
Funeral Expenses ** 

$2,000 
 

Wage Loss Benefits ** 
(maximum per month/per accident per person) 

$ 500/3,000 
$ 1,000/6,000 
$ 1,500/9,000 
$ 2,000/12,000 
 
 
 

Alternative Provider Services Limits ** 
maximum:  $75 per visit 

maximum:  30 visits 
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EXHIBIT #2 
OPTIONAL CONDITIONS & LIMITATIONS 

 
 

PIP Benefits Limits 
(aggregate per person) 

$ 20,000 
$ 30,000 
$ 50,000 

 
 

PIP Co-Payments 

 10% 
 20% 
 30% 

 
 

PIP through Managed Care 

Health Maintenance Organization; or 
Preferred Provider Organization 

 
 

Managed Care Deductibles 

$ 100 
$ 300 
$ 500 
$ 1,000 

 
 

Managed Care Co-Payments 

 10% 
 20% 
 30% 

Or no more than $10.00 

Additional Chiropractic 

Maximum:  $75 per visit 
Maximum:  30 visits 

 
 
 
 

Preferred Repair Provider 

No less than two 
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